You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 09 28Article 287208

Time to Legalise Okada

Read Comments Comments (23)

• abenayankey@gmail.com 10 years ago

Biker Bob went to visit his buddy Biker Jim in Japan. They met each other at the airport and after a great meal, Biker Jim decided to treat his friend to a good time at the local whore house. He walked in and picked out a y ...

• The Stallion 10 years ago

...fucked an anus the night before? Or I dey beat about the bush?!!!

In any case, I want the Okada to be banned, as well as those who sell in the streets. When you are driving and want to overtake or change lane, either a ...

• Kay 10 years ago

it will be like legalising galamsey or illegal abortion. All countries that have okada has regreted it and wish they never started it.

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

Every day "One Step Forward-Two Steps Back". That is the dilemma in Ghana today. We have made so many strides to become relevant and civilized among the civilized and advanced nations of the world, but every instance, majorit ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

It is mainly NPP supporters who hate to see a motor cycle. Sometimes some just want to hit you for no reason at all. Drilling down further, you can also note that 95% of motor cycle haters are Ashantis.

Please leave motor ...

Ghana is already chocked with vehicles, s why must we legalize Okada? Go to a country like Nigeria and see for yourself the NOISE and the MESS Okada is causing on their streets. It used to be one of the main transportation sy ...

• messa 10 years ago

in ghana we need the money to feed our familys stop the nonsense

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

There is nothing wrong with okada. Our cry should be to the police to enforce the traffic law so that the okada operators do the right thing.

The fact is that okada is the solution to our traffic problem. If the operators ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

Nii we dont want Okada to be legalized. it is like legalizing arm robbery. This are criminals and they will rob anyone that they suspect has money on him.
    They rape our women. The police should impound all Okada bikes.

• KANAWU 10 years ago

OKADA IS A MESS AND PRIMITIVE. MY FRIEND DREAM BIG. WE DON'T NEED THAT MUCH CONGESTION AND DISORDERLINESS ON OUR ROADS.

• KWAKU DACOSTA-KASAPIN 10 years ago

EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE SOME NEGATIVE SIDE OF THE OKADA TRANSPORT SYSTEM BUT NOTWITHSTANDING,THERE ARE ALSO POSITIVE SIDE.IT HELP REDUCE TRAFIC BECUASE IT CAN GO THROUGH EVERY STREET AND CONNER AND ALSO SERVES AS EMPLOYEMENT. B ...

• Richard, Kumai 10 years ago

Nii, I am befused by your submission. Have you considered the issues of translating one hundred people from Accra Central to Adenta by: 1. Okada, or, by 2. Bus ? Think just about the chaos, pollution, the consumption of fuel, ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

Nii,
    I am also surprised by your point of view. You are supposed to put up more intellectually convincing arguments than allowing ineffective and dangerous transportation system like Okada to be legalized in an urban setting ...

• NIma boy 10 years ago

Yes let legalize it,so the poor people can also have a job...you people claims there are no jobs and now that the poor people are doing okada as their jobs,you are there shouting with you sticking mouth....because you have a ...

• abongo 10 years ago

THAT WOULD BE THE WORST MISTAKE,HOW MUCH TAXES WILL THEY BRING IN? HOW SAFE ARE THEY?LOOK AT THE RATE OF BAG & PHONE SNATCHES. THIS IS NOT A MODE OF TRANSPORT FOR A NATION ASPIRING TO BE A MIDDLE INCOME COUNTRY OR AN AFRICAN ...

• messa 10 years ago

IN GHANA PEOPLE NEED MONEY TO EAT

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A crusty old Okada biker walks into a bar to have a ice cold beer after a hot, dusty ride. Down at the end of the bar, he spies a mighty fine looking chick in a sailor suit. She heads his way, smiles and asks if he's lookin ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

This okada menace should be nipped in the bud.

You don't want this in a country where lawlessness already reigns supreme.

• KOBCAN 10 years ago

I do not think anybody in his/her right thinking mind shd recommend the legalisation of okada? In fact, where in the civilised world has okada been legalised? Let's grow up stop creating problem on society.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Nii Moi,

I fully support this call to legalise the okada biz even though I've reservations about someof your suggestions.

I never miss an opportunity to advocate the greater use of bicyles, triycles and rickshaws (padd ...

• David 10 years ago

Legalise Okada? Look at the mess they create in traffic even without legalization. Do you think we want to retrogress as a country? Think twice

• Justice Dotse Snr 10 years ago

THEY ARE JUST A NUSIANCE TO SOCIETY. MOST OF THE BIKES USED ARE DEATH TRAPS AND VERY DANGEROUS. MR. PRESIDENT, DO NOT TRY TO LEGALIZE THE OKADA BUSINESS IN GHANA FOR IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS AVENUE FOR THE YOUTH TO TURN THEMS ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

What death traps? What's the mortality rates from deaths caused by okada compared to vehicles?

Sccooters have been used in Togo perhaps even far longer than Nigeria for transporting people for a fee? What's their experienc ...