You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 08 09Article 281854

Will Nana Akufo-Addo be Crowned King on August 29?

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Dynamo 10 years ago

The Supreme Court will not overturn the original verdict, as there is not enough evidence for that august body to do so. The NPP simply needs to re-group and fight another day - in 2016.

• nico 10 years ago

Case closed! The NPPians are worrying themselves for nothing. We all know what the outcome will be.

• TOMATO 10 years ago

THEN WAR FOR GHANA

• TOMATO 10 years ago

THAT MEANS WAR IN GHANA

• Nana Akuffo Addo - WEE SMOKER 10 years ago

..NPP - A PARTY FOUNDED ON CRIMINALITY ARE THE BIGGEST THIEVES IN GHANA. IN JUST OVER 8 YEARS ALL OF THEM HAVE MILLIONS OF GHANA'S MONEY STASHED AWAY!!! EVEN CHIEF KUFFUOR WAS GIVING OUT CONTRACTS!! THESE CRIMINALS MUST THANK ...

• nico 10 years ago

who will crown this thief president of Ghana?

• GOD DEY 10 years ago

then u will die first, kwasia ba. u fool like ur useless father

• moyo 10 years ago

Nana Addo will need majority in parliament to to be President. The fact NPP are minority in Parliament is a clear indication that President Mahama won the elections free and fair.

• TOMATO 10 years ago

WHAT A KIDDING COUNTRY?

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

As usual, pretending to be neutral, his Caption is about Nana Addo and not Mahama. Even though, Akufo is the petitioner here, he is still the underdog in this race. However, Kofi wants everyone to know that, this is about Nan ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Hello Nyansasem I admire your critical analysis. However the other time you did not critically answer my question which is; why should anybody praise Nana Addo and also ask others to do same for going to court which is the du ...

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

Very well written article, unbiased and fair but the notorious controversial Kofi Atta pronounced the winner in his article that there is no chance Akuffo Addo can win his case.

Kofi also did a good analysis and drew his c ...

• NANA KUFUOR 10 years ago

The fact is NPP has no case. Ghanaians!!!! put up your thinking caps. Can anybody give me a single reason why Nana Addict should be declared winner? NONE. They did not bring a single evidence to prove that Mahama or someone ...

"Kofi also did a good analysis and drew his conclusion from the addresses orally by each contender."

You are an illiterate indeed. Next time write in your dialect because English is not kind to you.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Baffour, I can only talk about myself and not what others think. But I don't see why someone should praise Nana for going to court or others attacking him for going to court.

It is his constitutional rights to go to court ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Nyansaesm or whatever your name is, I am not sure if you take delight in taking me on or this is part of a personal attack on me. I note that from your responses to my comment on Otabil's claims, when you accused me of intell ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

" People will talk of you" If you are tall, theynwill talk. If you are short they will talk, if you are thin they will talk, fat they will talk, balck they will talk so just let him talk

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I wouldn't bother responding to this idiot called "Nyansasem" who has declared himself a "self-styled cyber warrior". I believe he is an NPP propagandist along with a small group he belongs to who have nothing tangible to con ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I will just say wow. You could not debate with Ama, and decided not to deal with her again. You told me you are not going to respond to me because I had the temerity to challenge you on issues. Cardinal and Ama will bear me w ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Kofi, why would you think I will make it my mission to attack you. There is not much here to debate on so I just try to find a better article to "chew" on. Yours probably might be the only one I found it interesting to debate ...

• boobuoo 10 years ago

we can experience heart attacks after the judgement day and korle bu cardio department must prepare for this,it will be more than earth quakes and its after shocks,this will happen SO LET MINISTRY OF HEALTH PREPARE FOR THAT!

• boobuoo 10 years ago

"NO PATAPAA PRESIDENT IN GHANA,NANA CANNOT FORCE HIS PATAPAA AGENDA ON GHANAIANS PERIOD!

• JUDA 10 years ago

ATA KOFI CROWN HIM KING FOR WHAT? MAYBE KING OF WEE,PRIDE, ARROGANCE & "TRUMU".HOW IS THAT, KOFI? .

• Ama Serwah in Mampong 10 years ago

WOFA ATA PAA! December 9, 2013. ?
    PAY ATTENTION TO DETAILS

• Steve 10 years ago

I was shocked when the NPP withdrew the vote padding allegations. From then on I knew the unknown.

• Ghanaian, NY 10 years ago

I incline to agree with you on some of your observations and analyis, which seem to be fair, except your disagreement of the right to vote "a God given right".

If you agree that life is God given right to mankind why then ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

An infamous Gigolo with a long list of conquests walked into his neighborhood bar and ordered a drink. The bartender thought he looked worried and asked him if anything was wrong."I'm scared out of my mind," the stud replied ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Prince.. and who is a Gigolo? I feel too lazy to google.

• Kwaku asimenu-forson 10 years ago

Lawyer Addisson would have been rightin the calculations if there only two parties. Now, there were many independent parliamentary candidates , some winning actually.Did those who voted for them also voted for any Prez Candid ...

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

In the unlikely event of Nana Addo being declared president, how is going to rule, when most of his bills will pass through parliament? His appointees would never pass the parliamentary vettings. NDC majority will block his e ...

• Bomfaboy. 10 years ago

Agya Atta, why are you picking and choosing, concerning the "knowns', as were revealed during the trial? is it because if you were to list the known irregularities and violations it will overwhelm and make you dizzy, that is ...

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Stop the false claims. This is an election. And elections everywhere in world are never perfect. What do you expect from near illiterate election presiding officers. Fix the root cause of the problem--which is poverty, il ...

• Bomfaboy. 10 years ago

all what some people are pleading now bothers on ignorance. The problem is that ignorance of the law is no defense. Why di Afari Djan and the EC decided to use NDC illiterates instead of TEACHERS who has been part of election ...

• Bomfaboy. 10 years ago

You failed to recognize that there are over 20 parliamentary results that are in the various high courts. I believe the courts are waiting on the Supreme court to decide on the various issues. As the lawyers call Star decisis ...

• Nana B 10 years ago

?????????????????

• joe bee 10 years ago

Nana should go on pension.not to become president in nowhere

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

MASSA KOFI, there's no doubt that the final Supreme Court decision will have far-reaching implications for the future of NPP, NDC and the long held ambition of Nana Akufo-Addo and the Presidency of John Mahama. Should Nana Ak ...

• Konfanko 10 years ago

Is also a craqture of thissame 1992 Constitution. How can the SC make changes to the administrative structure and operations of the EC,that is intertere with the functions of the EC without exceeding its own powers? I mean yo ...

• concerned ghanaian 10 years ago

This issue of the MPs votes as against the result of the Presidential results is most unfortunate.

A desprate lawyer trying to hold on to any thing that will save his case from drowning.

The differences in MP votes are ...

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

KOFI - CAMBRIDGE?
    DO YOU MEAN CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY OR LIVING IN CAMBRIDGE?
    Hmmmmmmmm - GHANAIANS WITH QUALIFICATIONS!!!!!!

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

Cambridge is a city in Englland and anyone can choose to live there,work and educate.What`s your problem?

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

England.

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

AKUFFO-ADDO WILL BECOME PRESIDENT AND RETRIEVE ALL STOLEN MONIES, MAJORITY OR NO MAJORITY. THERE WILL BE NO WAR IN GHANA. WE ARE NOT AFRAID OF ANYBODY!

• Kwobia ( Toronto ) 10 years ago

Well done Kofi.The quote got me thinking of the
    Unknown issues that might cause JDM to lose God forbid.

• Nurdeen 10 years ago

No bcos it has already occupied by H.E JM.

• tiger shark 10 years ago

ghana is not a kingdom so nobody will be crowned king least of all conmann akufo addo

• Zaga 10 years ago

I should think that The right to life means and is actualised by the right to choose who should lead and govern you. Who should harness and harmonise the various human and natuaral resources belonging to you, the State, the B ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Mr Kofi Atta could you please explain what is a republic? (1st, 2nd, ...)

Baffour Agyemeng, did you ask the question because I used the word King instead of President? I know Ghana is a constitutional republic and not a constitutional monarchy. That was just for the sake of the article.

The simp ...

• Alex 10 years ago

Your articles are always interesting reading. A careful analysis of the way you write always show that you write in favour of NDC. I like your articles but always try and stay neutral as much as possible.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Ghanaians don't elect or are not ruled by Kings/Queens and your use of King in place of President leaves some bad taste in the mouth of some of us.

I did rebuke someone just yesterday for using the same word. We run a bl ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

PARAGRAPH 3.
    ....., no one in Ghana is born a 'leader'.

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

There is every evidence put forward by the petitioners making the known unknowns clearly known that the elections was flawed by a number of statutory violations, irregularities, malpractices,thievery and rigging as admitted b ...

• KWAKU DARLING 10 years ago

"The “known unknowns” among others include the fact that, had it not been this petition, most Ghanaians would not have known that, the 2012 presidential election or perhaps the general elections were supervised by polling ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Nana Addo cannot be crowned as King because Ghana is not a monarchy.He will niether not be declared as the president of the Republic because his petition is based on falsehood.The KPMG audit exposed all the anomalies in the e ...

• David King A. 10 years ago

A blnced n fair observation. I like this piece but the right to vote shld b seen as the right to make a choice or decision - it's natural n on higher realm, supernatural. God bls Ghana!

• jam nalerigu 10 years ago

to ur knowledge 38 parlimentry seats are been challenged at the law court.do not be deceive by 'know and know,known and unknown or unknown and unknown'' theory.

• maxwell, u.k. 10 years ago

Kofi, i think you have been quite objective in your analysis. KUDOS

• AKAY 10 years ago

when ever i hear people talking about war in Ghana,i can feel very bad, is because we never fight war before or what? you people should go and ask our African brothers,Liberia Sudan and Mali to tell you how war is like,the on ...

• Tsatsu Tsikata LLB 10 years ago

This article is baseless and lacks common sense because forming a government in Ghana is not by proportional representation like the system in Germany,UK,France,Australia and others.Ghana's System is similar to the system in ...

• Konfanko 10 years ago

Our hybrid model of executive presidency! I hope you have not forgotten about the unpardonable errors the army 'legal luminaries',who handled the petitioners case in the relative comfort of air-cooled offices,also made in thi ...

• Adongo 10 years ago

Unwarranted and uncalled for... the whole episode! A mountain out of a mole hill1 by the abominable NLM/MATE MEHO "offspringers" What a ride this hyenas has put this country through. A loss is a loss, Kofi Atta. Nana and his ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

VERY VERY BALANCED ANALYSIS,KEEP IT UP

• Humility 10 years ago

Thanks for your objectivity Kofi,Cambridge, Uni ,UK.

Humility, I have no connection with the famous Cambridge University. I only reside in the city of Cambridge and I add the UK to differentiate it from Cambridge in Massachusetts, USA.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

There are 26,002 polling stations in Ghana.
    Why would any petitioner of a sound mind, ask the Supreme Court to declare him President based on a sample of 24,000 polling station pink sheets citing for adjudication and delibe ...

still leaves 2006 pink sheets un-sieved

• K Gyamfi 10 years ago

Are you that stupid? Nowhere did the petitioners say that they are basing their case on 24000 pink sheets. They said they could only have access to 24000 pink sheets out of which they have problems with 10,119. Indeed the pet ...

They only has access? They had all the pink sheets from the North but not their stronghold in Ashanti and Eastern Region. Does it take rocket science for you to figure that they were being economical with the truth and evasiv ...

• K Gyamfi 10 years ago

You insulted the petitioners that they were not of sound mind but you don't like it when I used the same on you. If you cannot stand the heat don't stand in the kitchen.

The Kwasia was in in relation to "they did not have access" When did they ever say that?

have you ever heard of the principle of equity which says if you come to equity you must come with clean hands. The EC's responsibility to look for the remainder? How daft can you get.
    ? The only presumption worth making if ...

• K Gyamfi 10 years ago

They applied to the court to compel EC to produce all the pink sheet but they were denied. That is not the behaviour of someone who wants to hide. In any case why couldn't the Ec produce the pink sheets to counteract the peti ...

Collation forms not pink sheets and they were told that copies were issued to all the parties. Copies of Pink sheets were also issued to all the parties. What did they do with the 2002? Incinerate them?

• K Gyamfi 10 years ago

The petitioners did ask the Supreme court to compel the EC to provide the original pink sheets and also the collation sheets but the SC did not grant any of them. Did you follow the proceedings?

If you wish to know the truth, why not start by being truthful yourself? The petitioners were not denied copies of pink sheets for all polling stations which they already had!! They were asking the court to compel the EC to p ...

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Kofi Atta, do u know the unknown knowns of knowledge of the 'KAPWEPWE ? Nonsense.

Mahama osafo President and u say wetin ? Even the ANUS of the pink sheets can't give NPP the victory.

HAIL. HAIL . HAIL the 'KAPWEPWE' ...

• Nana Otchere 10 years ago

First and foremost , Mahama will not be the shortest ever ELECTED president since if removed by SC, his election will be void . ...and if Mahama wins the SC case and wins a second term in 2016 , he will not be the the longe ...

• Pinkus 10 years ago

Indeed, who dash monkey banana? Elections are won during elections by majority votes not through the law court. The winner of the elections is already known. Nobody is waiting to know the legally elected president. What we ar ...

• K Gyamfi 10 years ago

I just want to draw Kofi Ata's attention to the fact that the authorities cited by the petitioners and respondents were also not pleaded. Addison's use of the NPP and NDC parliamentary numbers is logic that can sway some mind ...

The Courts decide cases based on EVIDENCE not suspicions and unsubstantiated allegations.

K Gyamfi, who told you authorities are pleaded? They may be cited in support of pleadings or defence but their proper place is in written or oral submissions.

How do you explain the fact that in the US often the Democrats ...

• K Gyamfi 10 years ago

So what is so wrong for Addison to cite the figures?

In advocacy you don't make statements and leave them hanging is suspended animation. You demonstrate causal links and show proof.

Addison just cited figures. What did he prove? What evidence did he present?

• CHE 10 years ago

I do not see how the Supreme Court judges will muster the courage to disenfranchise a large swarthe of qualified Ghanaian voters asthe petitioners seek them to do.The human errors pointed out by the petitioners are not of suc ...

Kofi, I have only just read your 'scenario analysis' in the opinion piece. I too was amazed that Counsel Addison could make such a weak argument based on total number of votes cast for MPs. I simply cannot see the logic here ...

It should have read "...despite rejecting the NDC candidate..."

Paul, the scenario you described in the Nabdam Constituency is a typical skirt and blouse voting, which I understand is becoming common in Ghana for various reasons. A similar thing happened in Central Region where a candidat ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

As for this one, you might as well as stuck the tongue out than writing this tongue-in-cheek which has sent me laughing. You made my day.