You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 07 27Article 280668

The shocking and sad life story of Mario Balotelli

Read Comments Comments (121)

• muk 10 years ago

dont mind that crazy boy.

• KKK 10 years ago

WHAT TRIGGERED THE ADOPTION HAS BEEN LEFT OUT OF THE STORY.....LETS KNOW THAT TOO.

• bb 10 years ago

read the passage well.

• Cap'n Planet 10 years ago

Most Ghanaian parents sign over their children without realizing so.There are hundreds of such incidents.As most Ghanaians will realize,their grand children comes on vacation to Ghana,with their adoptive parents in tow.
    They ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

THEREIS NOTHING WRONG WITH PLAYING FOR ITALY, BUT TO TOTALLY DESPISE UR FAMILY IS WRONG. BLOOD IS THICKER THAN WATER. WE ALL KNOW THAT THESE ITALIANS ARE RACIST N UNFAIR. THERE R REAL REPORTS OF HOW ITALINAN NURSES STEAL AFRI ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

MY BROTHER.
    BLOOD CAN BE THICKER THAN WATER BUT IF HIS FAMILY LOVE HIM,THEY WOULD NOT HAVE GIVEN HIM FOR ADOPTION.
    YOUR ENEMIES WILL NOT COME FROM OUTSIDE TO HUNT YOU,ITS THE FAMILY THAT WILL DESTROY YOU.
    WHEN I BROUGHT MA ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

All over the world, nations do their best to steal players from Ghana. Just to name a few:
    Freddy Adu, Quincy Abeyieh, Danny Walbeck,
    and now Balotelli. Our boys are that good. Must be protected by GFA & FIFA.
    Watch out Eb ...

I WAS A GHANAIAN PLAYER WHO WAS STOLEN BY AN ITALIAN FAMILY.
    WHEN I SAID IN A HOTEL THAT I WANT SHEET ON MY BED,THEY SAID I WANT TO SHIT ON THE BIRD.
    SADLY DURING DINNER WITH MY ADOPTED PARENTS I SAID I WANT FORK ON THE TAB ...

• Kuuku Amonoo 10 years ago

Have to agree to an extent with this writer; if you have the child, then it's your responsibility to feed, clothe, and nurture the child as best as possible. Once you have the child adopted, it's up to the child to decide, as ...

• krikri 10 years ago

Most Ghanaians, and Africans, who have lived in Europe, scrubing drains, washing dead bodies, etc know the struggle they go through. How can a woman carry her baby for 9 months in her womb and neglect him in a hospital?Barlot ...

• mario 10 years ago

If you love your child you don't give him up for adoption.

• Africanus 10 years ago

Giving out your child for adoption does not always means you do not love him. Sometimes it is in the child's best interest. The problem with the Mr. Barwuah was that he had no knowledge of Italian adoption laws, so he may hav ...

• paull siaw 10 years ago

I LOVE YOUR COMMENTS AND TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU!! BLOOD WE KNOW IS THICKER THAN WATER THAT IS WHY FAMILY PEOPLE BEHAVE LIKE THICK IDIOTS!!

• Moses 10 years ago

Italians are so racist, they make Mario understand he is not Italian even though he was born there. As they say, there cannot be black Italian. His national team coach recently told him during the confederation cup tournament ...

• VINCEY,NJ 10 years ago

Oh to you JJ, Mahama stashed money overseas. What about your Kufuor? Didn't he stashed lots and lots parcel of cocaine in the manhyia Palace?

• DR. Bokor Jnr 10 years ago

If you cant care for a kid, they dont have one. It is the fundamental responsibility of any parent. I dont blame Mario or his foster parents. i blame his biological parents. This should be a lesson to all parents, they have k ...

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

Don't be surprised If Mahama does not storm Manhyia palace to seize the cocaine .
    His govt. is in bed with the cocaine smugglers
    They hv appealed the Kennedy agyepong case .
    while Tagor and walk free,

• Kofi Gbadegbe 10 years ago

Only those who don't understand the processes and the meaning of FOSTERING and of ADOPTION would believe this story. There is always a big gap between fostering and then adoption of which the parents could have filled their p ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

What's the difference between what they said and what you are saying? Like all Ewes, you are creating arguments for arguments sake. You are no different from Kpegah, Senanu, Amekudzi or Ashawo-ba JJ.

• Moses 10 years ago

Italians will do anything to their advantage. There is nothing like moral conscience among many of them.

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

It is true brother look at how waterville has Connived with a currupt JDM regime to steal monies in the name of judgement debt

• Sada 10 years ago

Let us all face it both as parents and as a regular fellow we all have and continue to make stupid decisions in our lifes which has very serious ramifications but the matter is what is done can not be undone.What we need to a ...

• Hamas 10 years ago

Hmm! This is a lesson for all ghanaians, we(ghanaians)easily think somebody is better than us! Ballotelis were even poorer than the bawuas, yet they gave up! If I were mario I even bring court charges against bawua for neglec ...

• KK 10 years ago

Idiot
    Read the passage well ande shut your smelling proboscis

• Koo 10 years ago

Hi Bro,
    Do not blame his parents, adoption is a wise decision than abortion. Listen, there are too many ways God use to turn our situations around. The bible says in all things, we should give thanks to God because he under ...

• TOM-THUMB 10 years ago

MARIO, PLEASE TRY AND FORGIVE YOUR PARENTS, REGARDLESS OF WHAT THEY MIGHT HAVE DONE AGAINST YOU, ''FA ASEM KYE''

• Kingsley Brako 10 years ago

I believe the Barwuah's, this is sad. I know the Balotelli's did polluted the Barwuah's son during his infancy and showered him with toys initially. One thing Mario should know is his parents did not meant it for evil. Loo ...

• bb 10 years ago

wise saying. hope Mario would read this too.

• nana osei 10 years ago

mario had a health condition when he was young thats why they gave him up for adoption cause they couldnt afford for the medicAl expenses ...and mario should ask himself if his parents hadnt have given him up wud he be who he ...

HE WAS LUCKY THAT PEOPLE LIKE ZIMMERMAN DIB NOT ADOPT HIM.
    THE BAWUAH'S SHOULD BE GREATFUL THAT GOD FEARING WHITES ADOPTED HIS SON.
    IF HIS SON WAS TO BE A BUM[KUBOLOR]HE WILL NOT GO LOOKING FOR HIM.

• knowledge 10 years ago

Mr. and Mrs. Barwuah:

As a Ghanaian, shame on you for initially giving up your child for foster care. Do not blame the Balottelis. You initiated all this, so face the facts.

Good night

• kululu 10 years ago

Poverty does ruin visions and plans. parents become powerless when held within the strings of poverty. children also turn their back to parents sometimes in the face of poverty. The only way forward is forgiveness, when the ' ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

IT IS NOT NECESSARILY POVERTY, MY PPL. WHY CANT THE ITALIAN GOVT PROVIDE POOR IMMIGRANT AFRICANS WITH THE RESOURCES THEY NEED TO BE ABLE TO KEEP THEIR KIDS? HOW OFTEN DO U HEAR ABOUT SUCH CASES IN THE UK, US, CANADA? THE WICK ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Imagine what action a person like Berlisconi would take in matters like this. His actions would always have been against the interest of Black African families knowing his utterances.

• Seth Manu 10 years ago

Mario is an idiot.God works in misterious ways. Had his parents not given him up for adoption, would he be what he is today? Of his siblings who were not adopted, who is richer than him? In the bible, Joseph was sold into sla ...

• Ben 10 years ago

I believe both parties are being economical with the truth. The Barwuahs are not telling the world how in the world did a Ghanaian parent give up their son to a rich Italian family? For safe keeping? There was a reason, illne ...

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

Better days are coming for the B and B's. With forgiveness comes healing.

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Mr. Barwuah, don't you mourn don't you cry, for we shall overcome someday, oh Barwuah family don't you cry.

• Kingsley 10 years ago

Ghanains always shy away from the truth and never take responsibility for their actions.We always twist the truth and because majority of Ghanians are stupid we tend to believe . The Barwuahs are not his family the moment the ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Why not train Enoch to play like Balotelli to bring in the loot, just to glorify the Barwuahs?

• kolabi Aidoo 10 years ago

This is ridiculous,Balotalli,blood is blood.

• Sansaboa 10 years ago

The Bawuh's shld God knows the best. They shld keep on praying.

• Maxi A 10 years ago

Hi, when Mandela was stronger they should have gone to him for reconciliation. The Ghanaian parents need to find Kofi Annan now to help deal with this Ghana-Italy issue.. that's my take on this

• BILE 10 years ago

MARIO B,YOU YOU HAVE TO THINK 2S,THE MATER HOW,NOTHING IS TRUTH,BUT WHAT I WILL SAY TO YOU BALOTELLI BEE VERY VERY CERFUL;MONEY IS NOTHING RESPERT YOUR LOVE THEM AS THEY LOVES YOU,GOD PASSES THAT WAY TO MAKE YOU WHO YOU ARE,G ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

This is recycled news from the archives. I read this over three years ago. These days the Ghanaian media, especially the electronic media, have been churning out old news for reasons best known to themselves.

• Ghana Massai, France 10 years ago

Exactly so, Gyamfi! I kept the TIME magazine which brought to

• Ghana Massai, France 10 years ago

Exactly so, Gyamfi! I kept the TIME magazine which brought to light the shocking revelations. I'll fish it out from my archives just to compare.

• pink sheet president 10 years ago

K Gyamfi et all,
    What is your problem ?Recycled news and so what ?
    Too Known ! This is what you do in Europe and give your children for adoption.

• Odopa.com 10 years ago

The family are doing fine in Manchester, Mario has a good relationship with his family and goes to the family home when he was in Manchester to eat his Ghanaian food. Those of who live in Wythenshaw have seen him coming and g ...

• mame anna 10 years ago

ghanauiomjhg

• Eric - England 10 years ago

I am not surprised at all, white man is good in brain washing people. That is what they did to Maria Bawuah to see his real parents and devils. Don't forget that they brain washed our fore-fathers that everything black is evi ...

• ATTA BEMPONG 10 years ago

just pray for him,mr&mrs Bawuah,cuz Italians 'er bad in that aspect.

• always 10 years ago

should be an example for run away fathers - come in future crying and begging - idiot

• Togbe 10 years ago

That's aburokyire for U.
    Poverty sometimes make people behave in strange ways some that border on criminality.We may not know the real Barwuah story.But the son should learn to forgive no matter what? After all, he is alive ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

It seems there is a big gap in Mr Barwuah's part of the story. Whilst I agree it is painful to have this type of relationship with one's child, Mr Barwuah must be courageous enough to find a better way to reconcile with his s ...

• jacksson 10 years ago

as am writing the same thing is happening today in another italian city of bologna. husband and wife are divorced and their male football son have been sent to live with a white couple hhhhmmmmmm.

• KWASI IN EUROPE 10 years ago

Children who were completely abandoned by their irresponsible fathers know how right Mario is. These fathers come when they hear the children are rich. I can give 20 examples.

• MAKA 10 years ago

Oyiwa, now when this kid gets to stardom, you will see the parents showing their ugly heads. You got to be ready for this treasures people, you can't just make em'

• MAKA 10 years ago

Even though the Bawuah's are the biological parents, Ballotelli has to break the emotions he went through with parents giving him away. It is not easy for, people can say all the sh@t they want. But he will have to decide and ...

• Humanity 10 years ago

As a youth protector and family supervisor in the Netherlands, i can only say that your parents love you unconditionally. Because the best parents are those who protect the interest of their children and put the interest of t ...

• sikabillion 10 years ago

Sad but move on, he is brain washed.I got to know my senior brother when he was 21years just Kumasi-Ho and it's LOVE.

• T,JAKE 10 years ago

Whatever it is the so called Super Mario is not normal...

• JOHNNY 10 years ago

MARIO, REMEMBER THE TALENTS YOU INHERITED FROM YOUR PARENTS AND FORGIVE THEM

• Kobena 10 years ago

Balootelli's is a tragedy and it is cultural. There are poor Ghanaians in Ghanaw ho struggle to keep body and soul together and most times manage to pull at least one child through, to pull the rest of the family with them.

• Ofosu 10 years ago

What ever parents have done to a child as long as did did not abort you and kill you..they are your parents...if they hurt you as a child, is time to learn to forgive, or you life is short as Christ will never forgive your si ...

• natty 10 years ago

Sorry Mr. Bawuah!!! I was there, I know whats you mean!!!!!This Babylon!!!!

• ASAASE 10 years ago

No matter how sickler he was, they shouldn`t have given him up for adoption. After all they brought him to this world. His adoption parents might have brain-washed him. Well life goes on.

• Moses 10 years ago

This is the third time I have read this story. They never gave him up for adoption that you suggest. Due to Mario's health conditions they sought help from the Italian Government to offer them a craetaker's help for their chi ...

• Ghanaboii 10 years ago

Thank you! Someone who actually knows the truth. The Barwuahs never gave him up for adoption. Mario was ill, so he was put up for temporary care. However that care turned permanent unfortunately. These italians played the gam ...

• Kingsley Brako 10 years ago

Thank you Moses, people should be informed of what life used to be like in the 80s and 90s when we couldn't even buy properties. Look you guys should ask the living conditions that we endured during those years, I left Ital ...

• akora oteng 10 years ago

Mario is being brainwashed. His statements prove it. First, he says his parents left him at hospital at birth. Now, he says his parents beat him when he was child.
    There are many instances where European adoptive parents ...

• SUMBRUNGU 10 years ago

None should reap where they've not sown. If the Barwuah's really loved young Mario as they're now claiming why didn't they give any of their other children out for adoption instead of Mario when indeed they knew that he neede ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

BARWUAH ARE JOKER, THEY GAVE THE CHILDREN UP. IN ABROAD IF SOMEONE FOSTER A CHILD THEY EVEN ENCOURAGE PARENTS FOR VISIT. BARWUAHS DID YOU VISITED? OF COURSE NO BECAUSE YOUR IDEA WAS FOR SOMEONE TO CARE FOR THEM SO THAT YOU CA ...

• bb 10 years ago

be wise

• Kwame Ansah 10 years ago

shit old story. invalid now

• OGYAM USA 10 years ago

forgive ur parents super

• josh 10 years ago

shame

• NKWASIASEM 10 years ago

Mario u better give a great thanx to ur original parent. i am very proud of them. for an african parents or africans to start life in europe is not easy atall.sometimes being as a forigner in someones country,its a difficult ...

• Kaakyirenua 10 years ago

There is always both side of a story

• pink sheet president 10 years ago

Bawuah,
    To hell with you !Would you have attempted to reclaim him, if he were not a star today ?Too Late .Stop crying over spilt milk.

• bb 10 years ago

you will understand when it happens to you. be wise

• KK 10 years ago

You're an idiot with smelling mouth.
    Talk sense

• mohammed amin abdallah,adenta,fafraha 10 years ago

mario the ice choc baby,you are silly to deny your parent anything bout you.

• Nana Butubutu Kantanka 10 years ago

I'm searching for the reasons why anything Black is a hate to the White except when the bank account go black and the GUCCI dress is black.

Black who are the originality of human race are today maginalized and deprived of ...

We Ghanians understand and believe all what you are saying because we have a culture as a people. In Ghana if you do not get pregnant and give birth, no others child could become yours. Family members, friends or even strange ...

• lydia.usa 10 years ago

just forgive them they are still your
    parent no matter what.blood is thicker
    than water

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Mr. Bawuah--stop crying and rejoice for your son. He has good adopted family and obviously he is doing very well. Just let him be. In time--when he gets older and (hopefully, not poorer) he will come and find you and his si ...

• angle man 10 years ago

A SAD STORY,pls donts blamed the italians cus there were plentyfull of such cases concerning African children.and i hear no one Africa leader,or Ghana Govts talking about it.this case is more biger than this poor woman.is onl ...

• KOFI KOFI 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOU GIVE A CHILD UP WHILE LIVING IN EUROPE? MR BAWUAH THIS IS NOT DAFAUR OR SUDAN. THERE IS NO FAMINE HERE IN EUROPE.ANYWAY HE WOULD COME BACK BUT NOT NOW.ITS JUST LIKE YOUR WIFE TAKING YOUR KIDS AWAY AND NOT SEEING T ...

• Mr.B 10 years ago

SO IF THE LAD HAD TURNED OUT TO BE A TOMATO PLANTATION WORKER WIL THE SO CALLED PARENTS BE GOING ON ABOUT THIS AND THAT? WHAT DO THEY REALLY WANT FROM THIS BOY, IM SURE THERE'S MORE TO THIS WHOLE SAGA THAN MEETS THE EYE, JUST ...

• obeng 10 years ago

You sold him but not the rest of his children and now that he is rich, you want to know him again. Why didn't you make a big deal until he became rich. Want to reap from where you did not sow

• o.d 10 years ago

let as see the pic sir

• Kojo Henne 10 years ago

Ghanaweb... a bunch of a lazy-ass mother-fucking journalists. This is OOOLLLLD news !!!

• DOME HOTEL2 10 years ago

IF THE BAWUAHS ARE ABLE TO LOOK AFTER THREE CHILDREN IN AN IMPOVERISH CIRCUMSTANCE WITHOUT DOUBT THEY HAVE THE CAPABILITY TO LOOK AFTER FOUR.THE ISSUE IS NOT MONEY, IT IS FOR HIM TO REACH HIS POTENTIALS. THE BALOTELLI PROVED ...

• koo 10 years ago

How many times does this writer wants us read this story?He should find something else to write.This is mere waste of readers time!

• nhyira 10 years ago

dont mind that man, most ghanaian men re like that. when they give birth they refuse to take care of their children and if GOD bless the children they try to come out with all kinds of stories.please ask mr barwuah for me if ...

• Zekey 10 years ago

The parents can sue the adopted Balotelli farmily for defamation of character. They may have a case.

• 911 10 years ago

YES I SAID SO NO COMMENTS

• Soso 10 years ago

Your biological father is your father no matter who cared for you.

• Nana Ekow Coleman 10 years ago

Leave him for the almighty if he trust that life is as it is U will always reap what U sow on this earth . This world is a stage he will go through them

• lea 10 years ago

some of you talk rubbish, what's wrong in giving a child for adoption, yous guys wasn't there with the parents and don't know why they did that, life here is very hard so may be that's the only solution they had at that time, ...

• lea 10 years ago

Mario is too arrogant, that boy thinks Italian love him, remember all the insults he had when he wanted to play for the national, he was only accepted when he started scoring goals for them, they are rather after ya money Mar ...

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 10 years ago

THIS IS JOSEPH AND HIS BROTHERS,JUST FOR GIVE AND FOR GET BECAUSE OF WHAT THEY DONE TO YOU ARE A SUPER MARIEO ,ITS GOD MAKE IT HAPPEN SO THAT ONE DAY BETTER LIFE WILL COME,NO ONE SERIOUSE CARE ABOUT ME WHEN I ,MY MOTHER D ...

• drogba 10 years ago

selfishness is a dengerous sikness

• focus 10 years ago

Mario must forgive his parents even if they abandoned him for blood is ticker than money o!

Mario will always be troubled until he reconciles with his mother and father. He is playing with his life right now...after his fo ...

• muntari 10 years ago

Mario your parents didn't have you by accident,think about the 9 month your mother carried you in the womb is most difficult time a woman to go true,than when you where adopted from 2 years old, i guest your parent went true ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

dear reader, take a few minutes of breath and march this family story with the colonial master, who saw all the potentials of africa loaded with resources. monkey african immediately declared the whiteman energy waster. the w ...

• KOFI FELIX CASHIOUSE LEE 10 years ago

THIS IS REALLY A SAD STORY MR BARWAUH.GOD IS IN CONTROL,LET HIM BE YOUR LAWYER IN THIS CASE.

MARIO,YOU CAN NEVER HAVE TWO BOILOGICAL PARENTS,BE WISE

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist blogspot com

• CADUTO IN PIEDI 10 years ago

Mario I think you are making the right choice. I been in Italy for more than thirty years, I am African with Italian passport. I was married to Italian woman with a 27 years old son
    The day I got divorced let say 20 years ag ...

• Dr Wise,of new york 10 years ago

If the parents are so evil as the wicked italians have portrayed them, what about the other 3 siblings? shame unto the Balotelli family.

• JH New York 10 years ago

What's shocking and sad about this rented press story.
    Leave the Balotelli family alone with this trash.You gave Mario out for adoption.What are you crying about now?. Yes,Mario is right. You want his money.Don't you know th ...

• Kayode 10 years ago

Msrio's father is lying. Why is it that of the 4 children he had to let Balotelli go? We have these crazy ideas about family/blood without considering the emotional/psychological effects of our actions on other 'family' membe ...

• Azonto Man 10 years ago

Mario was not adopted by the Balotelli's. It was guardianship but he chose to take up their surname. Something is rotten in this story and I wonder if the guardianship papers are unsealed and can be looked at. That will an ...

• sya mbambo 10 years ago

If Mario was raised by foster parents than what happened to his siblings.

• RASTAMAN 10 years ago

The truth of the matter is that the Barwuahs gave away their son to the balotelli family because he was a sickler and the ugliest child among their children.They rather expected greatness from the other children.If you really ...

• Ciz 10 years ago

He's so ugly. Mr. Barwuah, you're better off without this ungrateful boy.

• Wanlov 10 years ago

African fathers have this mentality, that no matter what they do ( take care of their kids or not) in the end, the kids should be the ones looking for them and all the other bullshit. If you are not sick, or dead, nothing sho ...

• B B 10 years ago

Mario becareful no mater what they are your parent

• Kwame Ninson 10 years ago

The story is a little bit confusing. Did they give the boy up for adoption or did they place him in foster care. It seems the former may be right. If it's then the parents should note that most often, the legal relationship b ...

• Ben Rompwa 10 years ago

money hungry! Leave him with the Balotellis!