You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 05 25Article 274999

KPMG Fails In Its Professional Duty

Read Comments Comments (48)

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Three men are sitting on the beach in Miami.
    Moishe says; "So, I had a lumber business.
    Huge inventory. Then one night a tragic fire swept through my yard, leaving me nothing to sell but ashes. I collected the insurance, an ...

• jon 10 years ago

this writer is an idiot!!!!

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Are you markerting yourself or what?

• SARPONG KUMAKUMAH 10 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH GHANA AND ITS CITIZENS? THERE IS SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG HERE. THE POINT BEING MADE BY THE WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE IS SIMPLY COMMONSENSIBLE. WHAT WOULD THE KPMG HAVE DONE IF THEY HAD GONE TO THE REGISTRY T ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

I could not believe it when I read it. An INTERNATIONAL audit and accounting Firm ? What a shame?

• Danny 10 years ago

THE NPP JUSTICES ON THE PANEL PUSHED FOR KPMG TO BE CONTRACTED TO DO THE AUDITING KNOWING VERY WELL WHAT THEY WILL DO FOR THE NPP.THE CHIEF JUSTICE, THAT CRIMINAL OF A WOMAN PLAYED A MAJOR ROLE.

• Kokompe 10 years ago

That Akyem crook has managed to accomplish his task this time. His ockokobila infested arse should be behind bars in Nsawam

• Kokompe 10 years ago

That Akyem crook has managed to accomplish his task this time. His ockokobila infested arse should be behind bars in Nsawam

• Kokompe 10 years ago

• JB 10 years ago

Hi David. You are on point on this. Our political system in Ghana is so polarized. And it appears to me that this is eating into all spheres of social life including professionals (i.e. Lawyers, Accountants and others) who ar ...

• JB 10 years ago

Hi David. Haven read some of the comments emanating from your original contribution, another moral fabric in our society comes up --intolerance-- Please, I think you should ignore such contributions that do not add any subst ...

• Kojo Emma 10 years ago

Politics and bribery have killed honesty in Ghana. NPP HAS COMPROMISED THE WHOLE EXERCISE WITH BRIBES AND ADDITION OF BOXES TO THE ORIGINAL NUMBER. GOD, SAVE GHANA NOW.

• Tuffour Agyemang 10 years ago

In what way did KPMG fail? The terms of reference was agreed to by all affected parties and do not think that they will compromise their integrity.Tsikata had deposed to the SC. that they received an unknown of pink sheets ...

• David Mensah 10 years ago

The failed in not securing the boxes of pink sheets. David is right, KPMG ought to have had a head count of the number of boxes on first day they met with all the parties. At things stand no one including all the parties in t ...

• GHANA MAN 10 years ago

you are either naïve, dubious, stupid or just ignorant of the truth. whichever way, you know NDC and Tsatsu has failed in their allegations. lies at its highest level. SHAME TO YOU ALL FOR YOUR DIABOLIC PLANS. GOD BLESS GHAN ...

• kwaa akyem 10 years ago

This article is pure speculation! It is bogus and a waste of time and mesia space. KPMG said they did not take inventory meant they had not started the process. If you doubt the integrigy of the court registry then why start ...

• Atua Kofi 10 years ago

Kwaa, David talking about the standard professional practice that KPMG failed to apply in their work.

• Jnfak 10 years ago

Got the post through wofa worhor. Pass his audit papers through chew and pour. Has no understanding of audit process

• kanawu 10 years ago

before the counting it was SHORTAGE just after they started ADDITIONAL boxes and now OVERAGE how did they know all these, don't forget that they have 6 representatives in there and also what these people can do.

• dave 10 years ago

Indeed i never believed my ears when i heard winful stated categorically that they didn't take inventory and that it was not part of their work. It was a shock to hear this from a so called reputable institution. One would ha ...

• Ka na wu 10 years ago

They were asked to count/audit pink sheets... not boxes.

• Ka na wu 10 years ago

They were asked to audit pink sheet not boxes

• Atiah Akolgoma 10 years ago

The pink sheets were in boxes. So even to start counting KPMG needed to secure the boxes that contained those pink sheet. And you can only do that by counting the boxes in
    the presence of all parties.

• SARPONG KUMAKUMAH 10 years ago

GOD FORGIVE YOU FOR BEING SO STUPID. THE KPMG WAS ASKED TO COUNT PINK SHEETS COOKING IN KNRUMAHNKWAI SOUP AT KEJETIA. SO THEY HAVE TO RETRIEVE THE SHEETS FROM THE KNRUMAHNKWAI SOUP BEFORE THEY CAN COUNT THEM.

• Eric 10 years ago

Mr David, are u sure u obtained your degrees credibly, cos the substance of your argument could only belong to that of a twelve year old, you run down an organization unfairly, just to justify the lies being perpetrated by yo ...

• Thomas TJ 10 years ago

Eric, were in the article has David run down KPMG. You are rather childish in your perusal of the article. If a reputable organisation fails to follow standard proceedure in under taking its work are suggesting that it should ...

• venom 10 years ago

I thought you were going to prove to David how you genuinely acquired your auditing certificate, and outline the best practice approach to debunk his argument. Unfortunately, you rather displayed a low level of reasoning, and ...

• Andrew Kyereh 10 years ago

Fellow countrymen, let us be fair to KPMG. If KPMG took custody of the boxes without taking inventory of it, then that would have definitely been unprofessional. But, if all parties went in, to be shown at a glance, what is t ...

• Nii Noi 10 years ago

Andrew, KPMG is still blameable. The basic auditing proceedure ought to have been applied irrespective of whether or not the pink sheets were in the custody of the SC

• Theo 10 years ago

How can you blame KPMG when they have not started their work yet? Why don't you lay the blame where it should be, Tsatsu and Ndc telling SC that they and KPMG took inventory of the boxes when they knew it was a lie?

• Justman 10 years ago

THIS IS NOT A CONCERT PARTY OR FUNFAIR AT LA BEACH. WE ARE TALKING ABOUT SOMETHING BORDERING ON OUR VERY EXISTENCE AS HUMAN BEINGS.IF WAR BREAK OUT RIGHT NOW OVER THIS WHO CAUSED IT. THIS IS AN UNPARDONABLE MISTAKE.THE FEUDIN ...

• Jack 10 years ago

I have totally agreed with this comment. Mr Wilful should bow down his head in shame for the loose comment made on the boxes. I wonder if he is actually an auditor. How can he be a senior partner when he does not know primary ...

• Deed 10 years ago

Is KPMG really an international body? I doubt if it has credibility. why didn't they recruit well composed personel? this is a group in Ghana that can't even follow simple auditing rules.shame onto KPMG.fire your entire staf ...

• YEBOAH 10 years ago

IN FACT, EVEN BACK YARD AUDIT FIRMS IN GHANA WOULD HAVE DONE BETTER THAN WHAT THE INTERNATIONAL AUDIT FIRM, KPMG HAS DONE. THESE ARE THE REASONS WHY THE FINANCES OF BIG COS ARE IN SHAMBLES AS A RESILT OF THIS KIND OF USELESS ...

• Justman 10 years ago

WE ALL AGREE THIS CANNOT BE ACCETED ANYWHERE.ATUGIYA YOUR POINT IS WELL ARTICULATED.FREE THINGS ARE MORE COSTLY.WE BETTER PAY SOMEBODY 200,000USD TO DO A GOOD JOB FOR US RATHER USELESS MEDIOCRE,LACKDAISICAL, IT IS NOT PART OF ...

• Kofi Asaase Asa--- Mantukwa 10 years ago

This writer has a logical problem. He has to go to the psychiatrist for examination.

And I quote:

"..For KPMG that prides its self as a reputable international accounting and auditing firm to be quoted by XYZ News (ref ...

• Kofi Tutu 10 years ago

You are ilogical your self. Once the acceptance was made by KPMG and a meeting was conveyed by them at SC in the strong room work had began. The logic is that what was the purpose of the meeting. It was because of the pink s ...

• HONESTY 10 years ago

The writer is perfectly right. I have indicated this basic failure by KPMG in my comments against Ghana web's reports on Gloria Akuffo's interviews about some boxes being left behind and later traced and Winful's interview in ...

• ASEM 10 years ago

WHAT A SKIN PAIN ARTICLE.
    KPMG WILL ONLY COUNT AT THE COMMENCEMENT. THE DATE AND TIME AND PLACE AND MODALITIES OF COMMENCEMENT IS SET BY THE COURT AND THE LITIGANTS. KPMG COMMENCEMENT IS NOT WHEN NDC SAYS BUT WHEN ALL THE P ...

• Ndebugri!, USA 10 years ago

The NDC has all along argued that the Petitioners did not have enough pink sheets as declared and that is why the submitted duplicates, triplicates and quardleplicates. This is why they called for a recount. So why and from w ...

• Klovi 10 years ago

I agree with the one who brought this, its like playing football and you wan't to bring in a player,the refree has to inspect the boots of the player coming in to play.so if you are given this important pink sheet to audi and ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Those 7 extra boxes were CRIMINALLY added with the assistance of KPMG who shockingly visited the vault unaccompanied by the respondents prior to the outset of the counting. Is it any wonder why they didn't want to charge? Be ...

• David kk.uds 10 years ago

KPMG knows best as an independent referee in the discharge of its duties.

• Evans 10 years ago

Counting and auditing of the Pink sheets are surely not the bone of contention at the SC. Though KPMG might have proceeded the process with that degree of recklessness. They will surely present a report to the SC, and bet me ...

• TNC 10 years ago

David,
    You have said it all !
    KPMG has simply been negligent in their duty.

• M.TAHIRU 10 years ago

I agree with the writer.Professional duty ought to be carried/handled by competent staff,for this negligence is unprofessional and unethical and calls for their demotion.