You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 05 17Article 274223

Shameful Diseases Disappear From Ghana

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Sugar Man 10 years ago

It's good to now and then read something different from the usual topics of Akufo, NPP, NDC, Mahama, Kpegah etc that are the staples of Okoampa, Adofo, Bokor, M. Jackson, Akadu and a few others. Ghana is surely a lot larger t ...

• Joni 10 years ago

Interesting observation about the killing off of deformed babies in the past. In certain societies even in the early 19th centuries, twins were left to die in the bush by certain tribes. Didn't we read some of this in Chinua ...

• Kb 10 years ago

Thank God for that too.

• xyz 10 years ago

Thgis was not for all societies... for example among the Akan and among the Yoruba twins were held in high esteem.

For example in the akan society females were often bethrod to future kings.
    For example twins would be c ...

• Sugar Man 10 years ago

No, not all tribes performed similar customs. I think the contributor said "certain societies" and "certain tribes" so he is aware that not all tribes killed twins. Perhaps this didn't happen in Ghana.

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

Some of these shameful aflictions may have reduced or disappeared from Ghanal but our hygeine and sanitation seems bad as ever.The stench,the litter/fecal matter and even the polluted ai/water with unknown chemicals means we ...

• OZA 10 years ago

Thanks Stephen for your nice piece. I think the disapearace of lice is also due to the chemical treatment our women give to their hair these days. The men and boys keep their hair down and clean, while the women constantly ke ...

• chokor 10 years ago

The mosquito problems will continue to be prevalent especially in the urban areas as long as we continue to build open gutters. The gutters intended purpose is to carry water runoff but they have become refuse dump locations ...

• Ajit Babu 10 years ago

Though not supported by any scientific statistics, my friend, you have done well with this write up that is purely based on personal observation. You have done extremely better than what the Ministry of Health would do, if as ...

• OBIBA JK 10 years ago

BRO YOU'VE DONE A GREAT WORK, LETS PUT ALL HANDS ON DECK TO FIGHT THE REMAINING KILLER/DISGRACEFUL DISEASES.
    BRAVO

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

Very interesting article. It brought back my childhood. Personally I had forgotten about these dieseases because I had come accross them for so long. One shameful disease to try and get rid of will be madness. Not only madnes ...

• Maxwell Iddrisu 10 years ago

A disease is a disease. Some cannot be said to be shameful and thus others palatable. It will surprise you to know that many people still have pubic lice, various forms of skin diseases which are all embarassing to the carrie ...

• MR. FIGURE - OUT 10 years ago

Atta Wusu should probably apologize to you for making a little joke about stammerers. Else i dont see the reason why this piece is not a brilliant one. By the way did you know that orchitis is the english word for etwo? What ...

• James 10 years ago

You have never seen a stammer in Europe for all the years you spent there, right? How did you come by the association of stammerers in europe ?

Arent they stammeres as well? Please clarify.

Very good piece. Quite diffe ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

These two Lice are sitting in Florida. One is shivering like crazy, saying "that has got to be the coldest ride I have ever had in my life!"
    "How did you get here?" asks the other Lice.
    "I was in the moustache of some guy r ...

• Mackinnon 10 years ago

Princewilly kwasia!

• The Eye Germany 10 years ago

This is one of your ever-green and flag-bearer articles which give us good reading materials aside from the over-blown political diatribes we read from Ghanaian newspapers/web sites everyday.

Congratulations, my brother,S ...

• AYISAM 10 years ago

It is a good article for public information, but check again your point on GUINEA WORM DISEASE, indications are that no reported case has been documented for over a year or two in the indemic areas of the country

• Edward 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana has interrupted GW transmission and the last case was seen and contained in May 2010. There is a Cash Reward of GHC 200.00 for anyone who sees and reports any hanging worm to the nearest health facility.

• Joni 10 years ago

That means three years now without any reports of GW infection. That is great indeed. Is it only Ghana that has eradicated that pest? What about in the neighbouring countries?

• Atambila 10 years ago

Well done, we have come far as a people.
    But i think gout is rather in the increase becuase of modern lifestyles of eating red meat and consumption of bear or alcohol.

• Honesty-the best policy! 10 years ago

Thanks for writing to remind us indirectly that our independence has not been meaningless as some cynics would want us to believe.We should count the little achievements too and we would not fail to admit that we are not abso ...

• Gbamido 10 years ago

I lkie this article.For once I have read something which is worth the energy I spent on it.I am happy not have read on either the NPP or the NDC.Thanks my brother.However,I am not too sure if it was only the Central region wh ...

• JOHN FRIMPONG. CANADA 10 years ago

WHAT A SPECIAL ARTICLE. VERY DIFFERENT FROM THE REST, WHICH IS POLITICS HERE, POLITICS THERE. STEPHEN YOU ARE GREAT.

• Dr. Kologah 10 years ago

The only educative piece i've read from an ashanti,the rest are all evildoers.

• Kwasi Obeng 10 years ago

Ii is true. I saw a man with elephantiasis when I was young and I took to my heels too.

• Joshua Apenteng 10 years ago

A great article. Very educative indeed. We should salute our medical researchers.

• Sam Akuetteh 10 years ago

How I wish HIV will also disappear. Nice article.

• Oti Akenteng 10 years ago

Interesting article well done Stephen and keep it up.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

1. Goitre is a general term used to describe the 'thyroid swelling' and although most cases are benign, please note that some thyroid disorders may be cancerous.

It is true that most goitres are caused by chronic iodine d ...

• Joni 10 years ago

... and you seem to be an expert. It is good that you have put up the caveats and reminders so that the general reader will be better informed. That is the spirit!

Thanks for that, Paul, but when you said NCD, I was going ...

• kwame 10 years ago

You forgot BURULI ULCER. It is still seen in Amansie West

• Dr Adu-Aninkorah 10 years ago

Thanks for this well researched and educative piece. Some of us are tired of this dirty politics and tribalistic tendencies. Instead of us reading and informing ourselves, look at what some of us are writing.
    thanks once aga ...

• Frank 10 years ago

Thanks Papa for this piece. Your science knowledge still intact

• Dr Adu-Aninkorah 10 years ago

Thanks for this well researched and educative piece. Some of us are tired of this dirty politics and tribalistic tendencies. Instead of us reading and informing ourselves, look at what some of us are writing.
    thanks once aga ...

• Kobby 10 years ago

Hmm story of our lives !!!

• Ya0 10 years ago

Ghana has future

• Seth, USA 10 years ago

Good job....my brother. You are a great asset to Ghana. Keep it up!

• Stoph 10 years ago

Great Job "Dr" Owusu

• Joanna Owusu (daughter) 10 years ago

Great article Papa! I took my time to actually read it twice. What i kept wondering about what the difference between disorders and diseases. Your topic was mainly about diseases and i dont see how stammering is part of it? I ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

For starters, what a pleasure to read an article on a pertinent issue, by a friend whom I recognize to be the "Doyen of Ghanaweb Op-Eds". Even more so -a source of pleasure- is to note that his daughter takes time to not only ...

• Oheneba of Simpa 10 years ago

Really enjoyed reading this one. Keep it up, Old Boy.

• YAFFA YAFFA UK 10 years ago

BRAVO BRO, LETS KEEPOUR ENVIRONEMENT CLEAN ALWAYS TO ENJOY A HEALTH LIFE.TRY TO ADVISE GHANAIANS TO BE PRACTICAL CHRISTIANS AND NOT VERBAL OR CHURCH GOERS.LASTLY HOPE OUR HEADS IN GOVERNMENT WILL BE MORE CREATIVE OURSELVES OT ...