Bawumia Does Not Know Uniform Transaction Code

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Akadu Mensema 12 years ago

Your arguments are vague! The fact that someone is a banker does not mean that they specialize in commercial and financial law!

• Yes we can 12 years ago

I don't think you are called by this name,you steal everything including names oh NDC be a little bit matured what are you afraid of?Koku Anyidoho is Margaret Jackson and another one Nana Akua Tweneboah-Kodua what is really w ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

"The code also seeks to avoid confusion on the figures and words written on cheques. Sometimes the figure of the amount written on a cheque may not match the words. For instance somebody may issue a cheque and may write 100 G ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago

For instance if i am a Tilapia thief and i write cheque of 100 GHC in figures but in words may state just 10 GHC do my check have to be nullified?
    Remember i am a pen thief from Akad's Gomoa University.

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

PrinceWilly, as a pen thief and per this stupidy strict adherence of book theory, if I am working at the bank in Ghana, the law allows me to give you just GHC 10. A glib Bank employee can add Thousand in words infront of the ...

MY GIRL FRIEND SAID YOU TOLD HER THAT HER ASS IS BIG AS A GRILL.
    SHE IS AFRAID TO TAKE COINS FROM YOU BECAUSE YOUR KALABASI{SAUSAGE] IS TOO BIG FOR HER GRILL.SHE WILL PREFER TO HAVE CHECKS FROM YOU SO THAT SHE CAN BUY TILAPI ...

• KWASI OWUSU 12 years ago

Cardinal, can you please stop ridiculing yourself with this obtuse statement that when there is a conflict between words and figures on a check, the latter survives?

Dr. Bawumia is a total disgrace to his profession.

T ...

• Anonymous Coward 12 years ago

So discrepancies on a cheque issued can now be likened to so-called 'administrative errors' on EC pink sheets. No wonder after 50 + years of independence the country is still in the wilderness. Buului

Anonymous Coward, Need I say more? Your name defines you.

Tsatsu's question was specific to the issue and Bawumia butchered it to the shock of all. The dishonesty being displayed by Bawumia is shocking. He is not only a di ...

The least said about this 'thing' called kwasi owusu the better. You're fucking far less like a man than an ape. Onye aye egunaa onu.

Anonymous Coward, Coward is your surname. That explains why you are hiding behind your computer to sell your ignorance to the world. Did I say you are selling your stupidity to the world? Oh yes!

Only a coward and wailing ...

It's very unfortunate there's no vaccine to prevent stupidity. Anyway, I will not be surprise to hear you've committed suicide as it is clear you are demonstrating all the signs and symptoms. I will also not be surprise if yo ...

surprised

You see how stupid you are? Who is telling you you can't make little, little mistakes in life? In life we all make mistakes but the honesty and candor display thereafter should be the yardstick to judging you. What an idot an ...

Onye sormi onu. Anamu tom)bo.

Gyimi tabaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Next time think hard before you insult anybody.

Odwan funu@

Odwan funu m333333333333333!

Did you learn any lesson from the tutorial I just gave you? If you don't even understand such basic banking principles as being discussed here, who told you you could come here and display igno ...

• JOHNSON ADDO 12 years ago

KWASI OWUSU WHY HAVE YOU WASTED YOUR TIME TO RESPOND TO THIS MAN WHO CALLS HIMSELF ANONYMOUS COWARD. THERE ARE SO,E PEOPLE YOU SHOULD NOT ENGAGE IN ANY SERIOUS DEBATE. THIS COWARD NEVER COMPLETED SCHOOL

Johnson, thank you. I just wanted to send him a clear message. He is going to think before insulting anybody ever again.

I am sorry.

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

Kwasi Owusu or whatever you call yourself, I said if that is the law in Ghana, then it is a bad law and it allows the Bank employees to steal clients money. Such a check with two different figures in words and figure will not ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

Sorry, I meant 10.00 not 10.10

Do you write before you think, Cardinal? Take your time in dealing with this public issues else you come off as an unintelligent human being.

We have forgiven you this time

Cardinal, I am not going to call you "dumb" because I know you are "buulu". The reason is simple: The law says what I told you earlier on. There is nothing you can do. For your information, any teller who contravenes that sta ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

Idiot, it is not a law but a code. Do you illiterate fool understand the difference between a code and a law? Fools like you become more Catholic than the Pope.

It is only in Ghana where you dumb illiterates adhere to theo ...

What is the difference between a "code" and a "law"? There is practically no difference. The difference lies in the names. They are both enforceable in Ghana. Instead of calling it law, the legislature called it "code".

Du ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

"What is the difference between a "code" and a "law"? There is practically no difference. The difference lies in the names. They are both enforceable in Ghana"

The essential difference between Code and Law, is that Co ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

"Cardinal, can you please stop ridiculing yourself with this obtuse statement that when there is a conflict between words and figures on a check, the latter survives?"

KWASI OWUSU, stop lying, I never said that in my comme ...

• Amma 12 years ago

In any case isn't the point of words as well as figures there to remove any doubt of what the intended amount is? What is the point of having both if in time of conflict one will supersede the other. In the case of this elect ...

• gq 12 years ago

Amma, I am sure you don't even understand what you are saying. It is not what Bawumia says but the universally accepted banking code called "Uniform Transaction Code" that is what is adhered to all over the world.

Educate ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

No, that is not followed in the world. Nowhere in USA can you get any check accepted if you have the figure wrong from the written words. The check will be rejected. Now you can understand why people in Ghana don't like putti ...

• gq 12 years ago

CARDINAL please educate yourself. Uniform Transaction Code falls under the general Uniform Commercial Code that has been in operation since the turn of the 20th century. The rules and regulations are used everywhere and falls ...

ANOTHER FOOL WHO ASSUMES A NOBLE TITLE. HE WRITES A LOT OF NONSENSE SUCH THAT I DONT READ ANY ARTICLE CARRYING HIS NOBLE TITLE (NOT NAME)

• Kwame Yeboah 12 years ago

Stop blinding us writing in caps, it shows your lack of education and etiquette. I guess you too is proud of your slave name Johnson, aren't you.

Stop talking about matters you don't know. The same rule applies in the USA AND BRITAIN.

Just read the following to educate yourself kakra:

If there is a conflict between the printed part and a typewritten part, the ty ...

• LEVI 12 years ago

Tsatsu once issued a cheque on behalf of GNPC. The cheque supposed to be 1,000 Cedis, but in actual fact, he wrote Ten thousand in words and 1,000 in figures. The bank consulted Tsatsu and he instructed the bank to apply Unif ...

• tegare 12 years ago

thanks sir, Levi. the purpose of this article is to disinform. the uniform transaction thing is not applied by law. it just gives guidelines to harmonise transactions. besides several items keep being taken out and others add ...

• gq 12 years ago

What Levi says will not happen period!!!
    What is sad is Bawumia does not know of such a code when he is a banker of repute. A BRILLIANT young FOOL this Bawumia.

• LEVI 12 years ago

Who says the Uniform Commercial Code has legal jurisdiction? It does not have legal binding, and even if it does, it is not up to Bawumia to intepret the law. In fact, Tsatsu should have known better; it was unfair for a lawy ...

• gq 12 years ago

Can you tell me why it falls under the purview of the U.S Attorney General's Dept. ie administrator of the laws of the land.

• Yaw Amofa 12 years ago

Are you trying to say all Akans are NPP? Such idiotic deductions really infuriates me. Because someone has Akan name doesn't necessarily mean they can't. be NDC members. 3y3 a monnwene s3 nipa, na mo y3 mmoa dodo! Agyimifo) m ...

• tiger shark 12 years ago

Should I be a banker I will reject such a cheque if prsented by an NPP thug.No wonder Bawumia is the only ghanaian who did not know that the
    election results were broadcasted

• De Waliata 12 years ago

I agree with Akadu. International Bankers deal in paper trails(transfers), equities, etc. Again, a check should be 'certain' in an amount; if both columns don't match it is returned for a re-issue. Commerce & Accounting 101

De Waliata, that is not what the UCC tells us! Go back and collect your fees from your teacher in Commerce & Accounting 101!

Why are we destroying ourselves because of partisan politics? When are we going to stand up for p ...

• Photosy. 12 years ago

Uniform Commercial Code
    MAIN PAGEABOUTSEARCH
    UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE

U.C.C. - ARTICLE 3 - NEGOTIABLE INSTRUMENTS
    ..PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

§ 3-114. CONTRADICTORY TERMS OF INSTRUMENT.

If an inst ...

Bingo.

Hope Dr. Bawumia is reading you. What a dishonesty man and he wants to be the vice president of our country. You see why we are in trouble as a nation?

HISTORY IS HIS STORY NOT HER STORY.
    IF I AM A PEN THIEF,I CAN CHANGE THE HISTORY OF THE CHECK.

Akadu, why are you always defending the indefensible?

The problem with the Dr Bawumias of Ghana is that they are so dishonest. No wonder we are in this mess as a nation.

Did you say you are a doctor? It shows

• Repugnant. 12 years ago

According to Bawumia the law is the law when it favors, but will resort to commonsense and incredulous attitude to circumvent the truth. We have been making heroes of sincere dupes!

• Kojo London 12 years ago

Can 10 be the same as 100.Dr said the cheque should be returned and correction made.That I think is right.remember theory and practical are not the same.Dr is right. The said cheque must sent back for correction to be made.

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

I know no Bank in USA will accept such a cheque, that is for sure. Such a cheque will be rejected.

Now I understand why Ghanaians don't patronize the Banks especially the less educated ones because such nonsense leaves lo ...

PLEASE DONT MISQUOTE BAWUMIAH. HE DID NOT SAY THAT THE CHEQUE MUST BE SENT BACK TO THE ONE WHO ISSUED IT. HE SIMPLY SAID THAT THE CHEQUE IS UNACCEPTABLE. THESE ARE TWO DIFFERENT ISSUES. WHY HAVE YOU ALL CLOSED YOUR EARS AND E ...

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 12 years ago

He said "The check must be annulled". Annul means to void. The banker should return the check for correction but can't annul or VOID it.

• Okofo 12 years ago

Please don't be blinded by partisan politics and disgrace yourself as Dr Bawumia has done to his character and profession. For your information Law Relating to Banking is one of the core subjects of Chartered Institute of Ban ...

• Nana 12 years ago

Nana Ekua- if your student write different words for different numbers will you mark him right. U need to start schooj again

• JAMES 12 years ago

You are a stupid foolish idiot! A clown bigot like you imposter! If as a banker as he claimed he is,and he did not know jsut that,then there is something seriously wrong with him.I am happy for his future emplyees would see t ...

• Aplasnke 12 years ago

Mr. AKurang-Parry there are some fundamental concepts that a professional should know about his field. It is disingenuous for you as a historian and college associate professor to say that 'DR' of Banking and economist should ...

SHAME ON YOU AND YOUR QUESTION

• Herbo 12 years ago

Nana Akua, what if the amount in words was greater than the amount in figures. Which bank did you say you worked for? No wonder the cocoa board lost so much due to people like Nana Akua Tweneboah-Koduah. If she is still at th ...

• KOFI BRUCE 12 years ago

Akadu,
    Its about time you bring respect to yourself and your so-called PhD. Just stop your silly comments on the web and get lost. You are a shame to the academia. No PhD holder worth his/her sort will be roaming on the web ...

• Gadhafi verona Italy 12 years ago

You are very stupid,u are rather unculture not nana akua

• Sewornu Quame 12 years ago

Ah this Nana's boy called Bawumia who always needs a calculator just to calculate just nine and twelve digit numbers. It is only block headed people like Owusu Afriyie, Kwaku Baaku, Egbert Faible Jnr, Fredua and co it is thos ...

• VINCEY,NJ 12 years ago

Bawumia dazzles the NPP. Because with exception of few others in the party, the rest are blockheads. case in point . The kookoase lawyer secretary Gen of the party. He is such a dunderhead and destroying the party's few credi ...

• AbasZ 12 years ago

Kwasea. Go and learn how to spell your own name -kwame. If Bawumia doesnt know, you what do you know? You BASTARD PIKIN.

• AbasZ 12 years ago

Kwasea. Go and learn how to spell your own name -kwame. If Bawumia doesnt know, you what do you know? You BASTARD PIKIN.

• Me 12 years ago

This writer is just finding fault with Bawumia. What hs this got to do with the price of an egg?
    Whether you NDCFolks like it or not Bawumia is who he is and you cannot change that with your nonsense.

• koby 12 years ago

JESUS CHRIST DID NOT ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS FROM HIS ENEMIES,WHICH IS NOT

• Ghanaba 12 years ago

What may be right in the banking sector in Ghana, must not be right in the electoral world. Bawumia knows how to avoid Tsikata's traps. The witness stand is not a banking forum. In most parts of the developed world, a cheque ...

• Bandit 12 years ago

what is HE Bawumia afraid of??? If traps, which one precisely???....pink shit...pinksheets??? Yeah, Bawumia bloated something over there, and he has course to avoid 'TRAPS'.

There are 4 people on an airplane: the pilot, the smartest man in the world, a preacher, and a teenager. About halfway through the flight the engines cut out so they’re going to have to exit the plane. The problem: there we ...

• Frimpong, USA 12 years ago

princewilly you always put smiles on my face, thank you.

• Kwa.... 12 years ago

Prince, you always find jokes to suit each article. Keep it up buddy you are amazing......!

NO I DONT AGREE. PRINCE BORES ME TO DEATH. HE TAKES THE RELEVANT ISSUES INTO LIMBO AS IF HE WANTS TO TEASE HIMSELF. I SIMPLY IGNORE HIS DISTRACTIONS

• NYANSAYENA 12 years ago

The ground Master of Law, Professor Tsatsu Tsikata is Educating all of us Law and Mathematics in Supreme Court but NPP and Dr. Bawumia arrogantly don't want to accept it. Tsatsu No size.

• your point is baseless 12 years ago

go and fuck yourself

• Photosy. 12 years ago

UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE

U.C.C. - ARTICLE 3 - NEGOTIABLE INSTRUMENTS
    ..PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

§ 3-114. CONTRADICTORY TERMS OF INSTRUMENT.

If an instrument contains contradictory terms, typewritte ...

• Looksharp 12 years ago

SHAME... IS 24 EQUALS TO 14. YOU JUST ENVY DR. BAWUMIA

• KOMKOM 12 years ago

I dare say that no bank will honour a cheque that has difference in the amount in words and figures. What is this nana akua talking about. Especially when the bearer is not bthe account holder

• BOY KOFI 12 years ago

The mountain of Bawumia's evidence has become valley of lies.Where did we hear Bawumia showing the number of votes Prez Mahama stole from Nana Addo?Where did we see EC stealing votes for Prez Mahama?The truth is Prez Mahama b ...

• Plumber 12 years ago

I am a Ghanaian in Nigeria. As soon as Bawumia gave this answer I put the same question to a cashier at ECOBANK Nigeri ltd. ie What happens when there is a discrepancy between the words on a cheque and the figures? According ...

• Kofi Asaase Asa--- Mantukwa 12 years ago

Nana Akua Tweneboah-Koduah, please don't get a heart attack for the answer from Dr. Bawumia. He knows better than you do!

In the bible when Jesus was asked by the pharisees about stoning to death an adultrous woman, Jesus ...

• scarecrow 12 years ago

Bawumia is a banker who dosen't understand mathmatics.

• Whatever 12 years ago

I'm a banker. That day when I heard Bawumia gave that answer, I felt so embarrassed. I knew that if other bank workers were watching, they would laughed at him. Choosing words over the figures is something a student of bankin ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

If that is what Ghanaians do, then no wonder only about 15% Ghanaians use the Bank because such a law leaves more loopholes for theft. Nowhere in the developed Western country can you get such a cheque honored as enumerated i ...

• Whatever 12 years ago

The Rule or Code are meant for purposes of legal clarification in case someone introduce litigation into a dispute over a cheque. That does not mean in practice, a bank won't exhaust other preliminary options like requesting ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

Whatever, I think the question Tsatsu asked Br Bawuniah was, if somebody present a cheque to a Bank with a figure different from the written words, what will happen and Dr Bawuniah said such a cheque will not be honoured or ...

• Whatever 12 years ago

You have to separate the law from practice. In law, any time figures and words on a cheque conflicts, the words overrides the figures. In practice however, the cheque could be rewritten properly at the behest of the bank befo ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

Have you heard of voided cheque? What do you mean by a cheque cannot be voided? Have you ever had a Bank accoutrements? And do you know what a voided cheque is? Don't say a cheque cannot be voided.

Voided cheque might not ...

• CARDINAL 12 years ago

No reputable Bank in the world will accept a cheque with two different amounts one in figures and other in words. Your idea that a Bank will win any lawsuit for honouring such a cheque is a misnomer.

There is no law that ...

• tegare 12 years ago

my dear whatever u are 100% wrong. the so called uniform whatever code is not a legal code, its use is not obliged by law. it refers to specific commercial trnsactions which are usually listed under the code. this cheque ex ...

• Whatever 12 years ago

Every banker is taught to rely on words instead of figures because that is the law and also because wording has a lot of purposefulness than figure writing. A lot of case laws on it exist. I suggest you attend a banking class ...

• tegare 12 years ago

guys, theres a big difference between whats written and whats practised. i dont remember using a cheque over past 6 years or so, but guys u make that mistake on a cheque, it will not be cashed by any bank. JUST TRY IT. by the ...

A husband and wife had been having a difficult time financially for quite awhile. The wife, who was of course very attractive and who had a healthy sexual appetite, was getting a little restless sitting home all the time. She ...

• Be serious 12 years ago

Everyone is prone to mistakes.If you live in a glasshouse don't throw stones.

• James B. Otafregya 12 years ago

If you live in UK and her colonies, it is CHECQUE. If you live in US it is CHECK.

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 12 years ago

Thanks for correcting this ignorant gentleman.

• tegare 12 years ago

.......but then why is tsatsu trying to prove that that there were errors with the election and results....

• Spiky 12 years ago

The code may say that the figures prevail but commonsense tells me to reject such a cheque, and ask for a fresh cheque to be issued. The reason: Avoid controversy that can arise later. The precautionary note, read between the ...

• Jorotara 12 years ago

It is so basic a rule to be ignorant of.

• HABa 12 years ago

even mahama has a job a thief like him