You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 05 01Article 272552

Asante History; Akyem Abuakwa And Dagomba Wars. Part 4

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Agyeman 11 years ago

Phew,such a great history.Now this explains the roots of today's Akan hegemony which in my opinion should be made as strong and as influential as the kikuyu hegemony in kenya.

• AZAR 11 years ago

This was a time when the Akans were slaughtering and selling each other like there was no tomorrow. Such practices were normal then but I wont be too proud of it now.

This also tells us that people are not too different an ...

• Barfuor 11 years ago

People are different. ,depending on where they came from .Akans are believed to come from one place. ,whether Ashanti, Fanti , Akwapim ,Kwahu ,Akyim ,Nzima,Bono etc they all came from one place and settled at Takyiman before ...

• ma 11 years ago

Massa.stop using precious space writing this garbage.most of us do not really care whatever the Ahantis did,this doesn't redeem your ancestors lack of bravery especially when it had to take a woman to lead all male Ashantis t ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Yaa Asantewaah, the Queen mother of Ejisu, riled her men to fight. She did not lead no army to any war.

Whether you care or not, that part of Ashanti history and Ghana as well. During those days, where and what is Ghana? ...

• Bernard 10 years ago

When one of the most powerful leaders in the west is a woman - Germany, astounded and bewildered to even read this comment. Come out of your ignorance massa - there is nothing wrong with a woman leading

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

After all these..the Ashantis were granted independence by the DENKYERAS.

• Barfuor 11 years ago

They fought with the Denkyera,s and defeated them at Fayiase. That was when The king Ntim Gyakari was killed.The kola that he had in his mouth dropped and became a big tree at Fayiase.you need to learn Ghana history so that o ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

Sophistry!!!

• kojo brew 11 years ago

i dont know your title, but trust me you know your stuff iam a fante born leaving in America but you have schooled me tonite ,thank you and keep feeding us with more of those, i've been following you for some time now,i felt ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Please don't re-write history.After all these noise you have written it's the GREAT DENKYIRA that granted ASSantes their freedom and independece. The Gas also defeated the Asantes at the Akatamanso (Wo ka tam a wo be su)war i ...

• Amakom 11 years ago

By: Kwame Ampene

The town of BODWESEANWO forms an integral part of the Adanse Traditional Area, and lies south-east of Fomena behind the Kusa hills. It is situated some 11 kiometers inland from Obuasi junction through ...

• C.Y ANDY-K 11 years ago

Why refer to Anlo as Awuna, as not even some Anlos will know that you're referring to Anlo as such?

Anyway, the 1874 war you referred to was known as the Glover War, fought alongside the Sagrenti War. It wasn't b/n the Anl ...

• Barfuor 11 years ago

This is false ,don't write things you yourself don't know.You are rewriting history cut it out.

You knew less about nothing. Andy was dead right.

• Amakom 11 years ago

Awuna/Anwona is still refered to Anlo by Akans and thanks for clarifying the other side of the story,C.Y ANDY-K.

• C.Y ANDY-K 11 years ago

Be a man enough to write under your own moniker instead of taking on Akadu's!

The writer claims said clearly who is he, the son of the current Denkyirahene, so why shld he go looking for Osei Tutu's head?

He has just ...

• Barfuor 11 years ago

You are not aware of don't say most;because every school going child during Dr.Nkrumah's time read about Ghana history which consisted Ashanti kingdom Denkyera,Akwamu , Ga, Fanti ,Akyim and Akwapim no mention of what you are ...

I'd rather refer you to Ward's Short History of Ghana as well. The Anlo were mentioned in that book as well. Your dark conceit and disdain has blurred your senses. Just get a bath, please!!

• DYB 11 years ago

My brother, I'm and Asante but I disagree with you when you say others were not mentioned. W. E. Ward's "Short History of the Gold Coast" gives detailed account of Ghana's history.

• ekow Edwumadzi 11 years ago

All lies...stop telling lies and save your soul..Akyem's really defeated asantes..

• Barfuor 11 years ago

Even the Isrealites were defeated at a certain point but came back to defeat their enemies so don't say it sarcastically,because they formed a kingdom and thereafter a nation.Had it not been the British they would have been a ...

• ekow Edwumadzi 11 years ago

What is good about these fake story...what was his references
    please we can better than these self immaginary story

• 1 mam 1 machet 11 years ago

YOU THIS ASHANTIS ALLWAYS TALKING ABOUT WAR,WAR,WAR,WHY,WHY,WHY,GUST TRIGER THE WAR AND WE WILL SLOTER YOU UGELY BIST AND GIVE YOUR BUDYS TO THE FISHES IN THE SEA TO FEED ON,HABA,WHY AR YOU PEOPLE SO BACKWORDS,YOU PEOPLE ALW ...

• Agyeman 11 years ago

Go learn proper english first then you'll have a slight chance to understand the complex matters in this report.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

What is wrong with knowing your history? Don't we talk about Sgt Adjetey and the rest? Go to any developed country and see how they place emphasis on their history and archaeology. Americans continue to teach the American Civ ...

• George 11 years ago

Miranda rights

• Barfuor 11 years ago

Kwasea hwe borofo fon bi wo keka wa ha you think it is easy the way you are saying it.Do you think they will stay quiet for you to do that you people talk from your stomach ,you try it and see if your people in any Akanland w ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

You need free education to polish your writing. Did you read over what you wrote before posting?

Do you think Ashantis are the only tribe that engaged in wars? I do not know where you live presently but, if you live in ...

• Isaac Boateng Alexandria USA 11 years ago

you have good article. Asante and Denkyira are the same family we love the denkyira .The king call Ntimjakare who call the war.

• Nhyiraba 11 years ago

I believe most slaves were sold during this period. They will capture their enemies and sell them.

• AKASI MARTHA ARIZONA UAS. 11 years ago

PRESIDENT KUFOUR IS SAHWI NOT ASANTE, HIS MOTHER WAS MISS KUFOUR. KUFOUR TOOK HIS UNCLE'S NAME. THANKS AGAIN FOR THE GHANA HISTORY, WE NEED MORE.

• kojo 11 years ago

Thank you A M Kufuor. This is well informing. God bless you.

• Wilhelm Agbeli 11 years ago

You were all over the place. You never finished one train of event.

You get an F mark.

• Concerned Citizen 11 years ago

Trokosi inferiority complex.

• --- 11 years ago

In all I think the history is good, large parts not found in history books I have read so far. But it needs re-phrasing by better writers to make it more presentable.

• Addobea 11 years ago

Factual and detailed indeed,Kuffuor looks honestly different in all aspects from a typical Asante.You have come a long way with this your master piece to unearth the myth surrounding Asante Kingdom at that time.But to questio ...

• KOFI NKRABEA ANTOBAM 11 years ago

THANKS A. M. KUFOUR.THIS IS AN EXCELLENT PIECE FOR MY KIDS.

• CAPII 11 years ago

GREAT HISTORICAL FACTS; I'M FROM ATWIMAGREAT AND CHIEFS IN OUR AREA ARE SWORN-IN AT "NSWAAYIM" IN DENKYIRA. MOST OF MY COUSINS ARE CALLED BOA AMPONSEM (AMPONSEM NANA) NANA AGYEI-BI.

• onipa ba kyere 11 years ago

good history. We need more because we the you people don't know anything about our nation. Thank u

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Keep on bringing these articles to Ghanaweb readers. It refreshes our memory about history in Ghana. Thanks a lot.

• VAQ 11 years ago

WE ARE EAGER TO LEARN NEW THINGS ABOUT OUR COUNTRY. WHEN YOUR MOTHER'S LAST NAME IS ALSO YOUR LAST NAME IT MEANS YOU DONT KNOW YOUR FATHER. ALL THESE KILLINGS AND WARS I AM NOT SURE MAKE ME PROUD BUT I UNDERSTAND IT WAS THE O ...

• Eweman 11 years ago

"Kusi Obodum did not order an invasion, until learning that the Akyems had sought out aid from the Oyo Empire. Hence in 1764, Asante army led by the Juabenhene, Dankwa marched out to invade Dahomey now Benin. Unfortunately, t ...

• owusu 11 years ago

Mr Kuffour thanks for this great history. Most of the Asantes do not know they are Denkyiras and this will teach them. I hope you will bring us the other towns in addition to the Atwimas. Denkyirahene's road weeders built th ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 11 years ago

Owusu,

Brilliant perception! I was contemplating whole day if I should return and hammer on what I wrote briefly above, that some Denkyiras also constituted foundation members of the new Asante polity, not as the vanquish ...

• James Bamfo 11 years ago

Thank you very much Mr. Kufour for this history. Most of the information are accurate. Can you enlighten us on who Yim Awere was, and why Nana Oduro Apeako II has been installed as the Kyidomhene and installer of Odeefoo when ...

• danger 11 years ago

idiot n ignorant.liar

• Eno 11 years ago

Well done AM Kuffour

• Peace 11 years ago

Awesome history we have! I ve been reading ur post silently and i believe therer are a lot out there like me. Pls keep educating us.

• Frimpong in Canada 11 years ago

In fact this is a stories that peoples want to hear

• Frankie Dwumaah 10 years ago

Well written but you ought to give credit to T.C. McCaskie and Ivor Wilks. I believe that you benefitted immensely from his artcle regarding Denkyira in the making of Asante.

• Joshua 10 years ago

Thanks for the historical facts...does Akrokere and Fomena play prominent roles in the Denkyira wars?

• Kyeremeh Maxwell 10 years ago

After reading all this history, i never did heard the major cause of the war between the Asantes and the Denkyria.
    what i know was that Ntim Gyakari was killed before, he was defeated by the asantes at feyiase

• ZACK WASHINGTON ( KWAKU SEKYIAMAH) 9 years ago

Dear A.M.,
    I have read through your article and have found no extortion in it. This the truth since my late father was a friend to the late KUFFUOR sawmills ( KING OF NKAWIE) and have residence at Nhyiaso BOAMPONSEM FIE.... ...

• MAXWELL ANOKYE 7 years ago

Great, this I called "
    THE ROOT OF THE HISTORY"
    Am proud to come from Denkyira...
    We will defind our role in African tradition very soon.

• seanehia Bibiani 6 years ago

Those voicing out filthy words don't know about abakwasem all these story are found in a palace ,it is oral history which is transferred from generation to generation thank you for sharing with us

• Jilma 6 years ago

Haahaa in history only one tripe was rubbing sholders with dagombas (gonjas) dagomba never war with Ashanti (our history is kept by our drummers ) before white man we where already having our writers (drummers)so nothing is m ...