Ewes at War with Akans: Kpegah vs Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (94)

• Kweku Duah 12 years ago

None of the people who have written articles have said categorically that they represent any of the parties mentioned in the court. Let people make comments so far us they are not inflaming tribal tendencies. The discourse sh ...

• Azar 12 years ago

Emmanuel Sarpong Owusu-Ansah thanks for the article, but a cursory look at the articles writen by the named above confirms one thing. With the exception of Clement all the other NDC writers write to attack Akufo Addo as an i ...

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

unfortunately this infantile attempt of equating blame is the most destructive of all as a grave injustice is being done to the innocent . the motives and timing of kpegah are most suspect and seemingly very malicious. no mat ...

• srome 12 years ago

Thanks for promoting peace, let us love our country and stop the division, too many people have stuggled and died in order for this generation to get to where we are today, it is the responsibility of each one of us to push f ...

• KOJOVIE 12 years ago

I AM 1/2 EWE AND 1/2 AKAN. AM FIGHTING AGAINST MYSELF. FOOLISH FOOLISH FOOLISH HEADING.

• LARYEAH 12 years ago

MOTHERFUCKER, YOU ARE NOTHING BUT A TOGOLESE TROKOSI. FOOL!

• FK 12 years ago

If you are an investigative journalist, then you must give the right colour to things and tell the truth. You are writing about articles which all of us have read and understood and don't have to depend on you for the truth. ...

• bex 12 years ago

I was in Nana's corner until he said his certificates are missing! From the beginning, I thought he was rope-a-doping and would spring a surprise and nail Kpegah and others in the end with an embossed certificate.

I was re ...

• S.K. AMANKWA 12 years ago

NO EWE IS AT WAR WITH AKANS. We, Akans are our own enermies, we tend to look down on this humble, god fearing BUT VERY PRINCIPLE group of FEARLESS PEOPLE. I've live among them and know what they are capable of. What we akans ...

• Blankson 12 years ago

Listen to this idiotic trokosi calling himself AKAN. You really have to be stupid to pull this elementary prank.

• S.K. AMANKWA 12 years ago

if it possible to choose one's lineage and ancestary I would gladly choose to be an ewe thousand and over times. It is this sort of attitude I alluded to earlier on that the less written about them the better.

• JUST STAY IN YOUR REGION 12 years ago

WE DON'T WANT YOU IN OUR REGIONS

• Wiseman 12 years ago

I don't think you're an Ewe.

• Wiseman 12 years ago

Hi, Amankwa, don't reply to incendiary articles if you want to make sense. Some people come here for virulent exchanges of insults. Fortunately, Ghanaweb does not represent Ghana.

• Hudu Yaya Amevor 12 years ago

What is Ewe men good at? Akans have no time to fight these group of primitive Ghanaians. The only evil thing Ewe men are good at it; is to fuck their own sisters, nieces,daughters. Akans are not at war with these beings. I am ...

• WOYOME 12 years ago

empty barrels must make most noise...awonaga exposed...bokor...bokor...bokor...

Ewe men are jealous of Akans to an extent that they exhibit this jealousy on their own sisters, daughters and nieces. Read about Prosper Dzakpasu of Dzodze Ablorme. That is what Ewe men are good at. Their women and some chris ...

• Mania. 12 years ago

Another empty head. Boring

That is very interesting. When Ewe men are boring, they fuck their own daughters, sisters and nieces. That is what you are best at it.

• Objective 12 years ago

Stupid heading!

• AKANIBA 12 years ago

Hypocrites: Is there any reasonable Ghanaian who does not know that Ewes are responsible for the problems and pains of Akans? How many innocent Akans have they not killed including our former heads of state and the judges? Wh ...

• Nana Kofi Gyasi 12 years ago

I KNOW ONE MAN JATO RAWLINGS WHO IS AN EWE, THIS MAN IS AN IMPOSTER,SKINPAIN(AHOCYAA),HE LIKES JUJU AND A WEE AND AKPETESHIE DRINKER.HE IS CORRUPT AND A CHEETER.HE IS MARRIED TO AN ASANTE WOMAN BUT AT THE SAME TIME OBTRUCTING ...

• BOMBER 12 years ago

Look at this ignoramus called Akaniba.I guess you look like a chimpanzee too. You know? the solution to the points you raised lies in the following;advise your monkey brothers to go to school or learn trade as the Ewes do and ...

• Annan 12 years ago

U stupid idiot EWE. If you feel people disrespect your tribe because of how envious and wicked you are, just say it and dont hide under other people's tribe and pretend you are one of them. Obviously, choosing a name like Ama ...

• wis 12 years ago

u are intelligent

Ewe men are jealous of Akans to an extent that they exhibit this jealousy on their own sisters, daughters and nieces. Read about Prosper Dzakpasu of Dzodze Ablorme. That is what Ewe men are good at. Their women and some chris ...

• Wiliam 12 years ago

Emma I say attempt because written in good spirit and I share your concern in general terms. But I am not sure the issue is one of an inter-ethnic battle. e.G, WHAT IS cLEMENT'S ETHNIC AFFILIATION? i SUGGEST A FOCUS ON THE PE ...

• vibro 12 years ago

i nevr read dis bcos of th caption. leav tribalism behind cos it belongs to th past

• ATAKORA BEDIAKO 12 years ago

Many thanks for your article.Shame on Bokor, Okoampa and Sangaperee.

• G. K. Berko 12 years ago

This is a great piece for somber reflection. We must be more tolerant of one another even when we need to vehemently repel unjustified attacks from others.

While some of these prominent academicians might claim to be defe ...

• Akosua Tabuwaa 12 years ago

Please cut the shit.Akuffo Addo does not represent Akans.He may represent Asante/Akyem and that is his own business but never Akans.He only won in Ashanti and Akyem and not in other Akan areas.

• FK 12 years ago

Kpegah too does not represent Ewes. His suit is not being pursued on behalf of Ewes. The man is following his own agenda. No Ewes have asked him to do what he is doing. I hear even the NDC is not supporting him.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 12 years ago

And though I identify with the writer's intention to foster peace between Ewes and Akans, his heading for this article is most misleading! It naturally led to his reductionist approach to seeing the commentators on this case ...

• FK 12 years ago

I don't know what kind of journalist he claims to be. Anybody can call himself a journalist. This case is more political than tribal.

His title is very misleading. The writer doesn't seem to even understand the difference ...

Indeed, at times, things get worse before getting better, in an attempt to correct them. That's my own take and view on how we shall tackle this mutual ethnic antagonism. So, I am preparing to muddy the waters like most haven ...

• FK 12 years ago

And Hohoe is as cosmopolitan as any town in VR can be. It has always been so and is even more so now because of all the banks, schools, and other businesses where people from other parts of Ghana have been posted to work. And ...

• bex 12 years ago

I am simply not understanding this. What Nana is alleged to have done is to be universally condemned by all. If we can't say what should be said then I am sorry we lost our way.

Why should an Akan be angry because some one ...

• Wiseman 12 years ago

Andy, Kpegah's court resolve has nothing to do with party affiliations. Kpegah must have his own bone to pick with Akufo-Addo, and making inferences and deduction one sees a long-awaited and hidden personal agenda that must h ...

• FK 12 years ago

You may be right that Kpegah's suit is personal between him and Akufo-Addo and may not have anything to do with parties. The rumours I have heard is that Kpegah is frustrated that he is not getting any help from NDC in this m ...

• Wiseman 12 years ago

I don't see why Kpegah should count on anyone's assistance in a "nondescript" and senseless fight he started all alone. Now, there is no escape for him; he is tied to it. He must prove to us all he is right in his pretensions ...

• WOYOME 12 years ago

ndc fiaffitor...ewes and anlos are murderers and thieves...they just came to Ghana in 20th century when they walked backwards from notsie to escape from agforkoli...ewes and anlos include myself woyome, kojo murderer tsikata, ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 12 years ago

They had a healthy debate without insult to anybody or tribe until you came up with this trash.
    Stupid fool.Go hide in your cave.

• Agyeman 12 years ago

The way things are going we might see in Ghana some Tutsi/Hutu or Kikuyu/Luo bloodfest like in east africa.We pretend too much that we're above it all and all these tribal undertones would never spark a tribal fire in Ghana.D ...

• Amoah Ayisi. 12 years ago

What a stupid idiot writer! Who told you that Ewes are at war with Akans? You are completely pout of your twisted clown mind.You seriously need a psychiatrist.I am a hundred percent Akan and a better one than you are.The last ...

• me 12 years ago

Why this fury? I agree that the title is not appropriate but the content is perfect. The theme is very relevant and we need to encourage writers to adopt such approaches. Some of the authors listed are subtle in bringing fann ...

• Concern citizen 12 years ago

well said my brother. we are all praying that one day these stupid tribal and political affiliations uterances will not lead us into temptation (WAR). God help mother Ghana

• bex 12 years ago

This is a very easy case to adjudicate. Nana shows up in court without a lawyer but with his certificate. Kpegah is so ashamed he can't find his way home. Or...

Nana shows up and plead to be allowed some time--a month or t ...

• Good citizen 12 years ago

If you know Francis Kpegah well, you will know that he is a strong anti Akan. The man simply hate Akans from his days as a judge in Kumasi. Everybody who worked close to him knows that.

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 12 years ago

This is about two individuals not two tribes.lets get the facts and stop this nonsense.When Nana Konadu challenged Akuffo Addo was it Ashanti's against Akyems?.Stupid fool.

• Boye Chico 12 years ago

zss

• Boye Chico 12 years ago

her

• ZAPATERO 12 years ago

STOP CALLING BOKOR'S NAME KWAME OKOAMPA IS ANTI-EWE APOLOGIST......."STUPIDO FACISTA".

• Kofi Lawson 12 years ago

Senseless piece.

• EFO DODZI KPO. 12 years ago

IT'S HIGH TYME WE STOP TRIBAL STATEMENTS.WE ARE ALL GHANAIANS FOR GOD SAKE.

Not only his caption was bad, his analysis too was reductionist and bad. Read my comments above.

It is the same thing that Awoonor did in his "Ghana Revolution," (an opportunistic title for a book said to be written befor ...

• TEGLI 12 years ago

Hi Andy, I have been trying to get a copy each of those two books of Awoonor but all my efforts have been to no avail. Shockingly, isn't it, in this age of internet and easy access to material!!! Could you, please, tell me wh ...

I wish I can help you. The books are out of print and he has stopped re-printing them cos of the repercussions.

I regrettably shipped to Ghana my copies, made for me by no less a person than the late Dr Francis Appiah of ...

• TEGLI 12 years ago

Well, thank you for your response!

• JUST STAY IN YOUR REGION 12 years ago

DO NOT LIVE AMONG AKANS THEN

• Roy Rogers 12 years ago

This headline is really really misleading and dangerous.

• Kofi Mensah 12 years ago

Akufo-Addo has had his fair share of problems in his life.
    He was kicked out of Oxford University for smoking dope, so he did not include it on his CV.
    Since then it has been going wrong all along.
    He was admitted into Le ...

• Kofi Sarpong, Peckham, London 12 years ago

How do you know he was kicked out of Oxford for smoking dope?

• ADDO 12 years ago

Ewes at War with Akans??? Oh God save this Country of Ours called Ghana....

What a caption, this cheap methods of journalism would not take you any where!!

Wise up and come again if you wanna be identified as a qualifie ...

• rem 12 years ago

madness at its best. who told you that Ewes are at war with Akans. Are you hallucinating or what? It you want a caption to attracts readers attention think of something better.

• Adjei Accra 12 years ago

Stop that foolishness.We are all Ghanaians. War mongers should be jailed.Whatever is going on at the supreme court is for the good on the nation.

• BOMBER 12 years ago

I read the articles written by Bokor and Okuampah. Why import tribe into this case at all. This is simply a tango between two individuals.You know? Akuffo Addo deserves what is happening to him. We need people like Kpega to t ...

• S. KWABENA AMANKWA 12 years ago

When I recap what our people did to capture political power in 2000 election, it leaves so much distaste in my mouth. Because this time they couldn't repeat those atrocious, devilish and hideous games again, we now LAY THE BL ...

• Koomson Teshie- Nungua 12 years ago

VERY INSIGHTFUL ARTICLE BUT WRONG TITLE.
    BECAREFUL OF TITLES

• Emmanuel Etornam Kumah 12 years ago

Owusu-Ansah, Emmanuel Sarpong should be advised that Kpegah vs Akufo-Addo does not mean "Ewes at War with Akans".
    An investigative journalist, a researcher, an educator and the author of Fourth Phase of Enslavement and In My ...

• Kofi Sarpong, Peckham, London 12 years ago

I almost did not bother to read you article because of the caption. Having read it, I am at a loss as to your real intentions.
    I am not sure if most people who read the cited articles feel any tribal flames burn in their be ...

• Kofi Mensah 12 years ago

Mr Kofi Peckham. You seem to have a good attitude. I applaud you.I arrived in London in the seventies, got to why Akufo-Addo was kicked out of Oxford for smoking dope. You bet? Hmmmmmm.Silence is silver.

• papillon 12 years ago

Just try to listen to news from any media platform on planet earth and you will realise that ethnic strife is the current norm. People who have lived peacefully together for centuries have suddenly realised they are enemies. ...

• mat 12 years ago

this is a stupid headlines in the sense that it's the individuals and not the ewes and akans. Who ever wrote this report is a foolish person. He/she is not promoting peace

• Paa Kwesi Obeng 12 years ago

This headline is very bad. it preaches tribalism. So please remove or change. Thanks.

• TETTEH NTOASO 12 years ago

THE MOST SENSIBLE ARTICLE SO FAR IN THE YEAR.SENSIBLE GUYS LIKE THIS WRITER ARE RARE.KEEP IT UP.

• osei yaw - london 12 years ago

Emmanuel Sarpong Owusu-Sarpong, i should think you are not able to say anything sensible with this head line of your article

- i am a true blue Asante maternally, going back time immemorial from Ejisu-Juaben; and, as an As ...

• Kofi 12 years ago

Very unfortunate title. Neither of the men you mentioned represent any of the ethnic groups. I know Akuffo-Addo does not represent me. And I can say without any fear of lying that Kpegah does not represent my good friend, Maw ...

• Dee 12 years ago

And you're pathetic enough to report on it with such a caption. Assess yourself mr journalist

• KERRY NARTEY 12 years ago

THIS IS A BALANCED AND AN OBJECTIVE WRITE-UP. WE NEED JOURNALISTS LIKE U TO SAVE OUR DEAR COUNTRY.KEEP IT UP AND WRITE OFTEN SO THAT NATION WRECKERS DO NOT OVERPOWER US.

• Tönyi h 12 years ago

My bro I share ur sentiments, if our elder generation have issues they shd deal with it at their level and stop poisoning the minds of innocent youth with unnecessary tribal spats, At least they owe us that !

• EZEKIEL 12 years ago

EWES are NOT at war with AKANS !
    It IS Kpegah vrs Akufo Addo. It is that simple!!How many Ewes say Akufo ADDO is an impostor and banza Lawyer ???Fool.

• PAULA 12 years ago

After 56 years of our independence, it is unfortunate that some Ghanaians still play tribal cards.

We should be more united because we have inter-married. Our Ghanaianness should help in national cohesion but not disunity ...

• James Armstrong 12 years ago

If you are an investigative journalist as you claim then you arenot an intelligent one or is it the usual lies which when repeated again and again to confuse the people as the truth. Look at the history of Ghana it is not the ...

• Zongo Maama 12 years ago

Look at the civil service today in particular the the uniformed ones(Police, customs, army etc). Thanks to Jato julo these places are overflowing with very corrupt ewes and northerners. Are they the only tribes in Ghana. Thes ...

• Komla 12 years ago

Well said my friend.

• Osei Akoto 12 years ago

Stupid Journalist, you are foolish enough to caption your writing like that.

• EXISTENTIALIST 12 years ago

THE SO-CALLED WAR BETWEEN AKANS AND EWES IS ONLY ON GHANAWEB. PEOPLE HIDE BEHIND THE INTERNET TO SAY UNFORTUNATE THINGS. THIS IS AN ABUSE OF FREEDOM. SOME PEOPLE DO NOT KNOW HOW TO USE THEIR FREEDOM OF SPEECH. MANY AKANS ARE ...

• Efo 12 years ago

Ghana eventually will/SHOULD break up on tribal lines. We can not build a nation when leaders run election on ethnic lines.

Indeed Ghana should allow each region to form an independent government. Ewes can join the GREAT ...

• Trebi Asafoatse 12 years ago

WELL PUT.WE NEED MORE PEOPLE LIKE YOU.
    BRAVO AND GOD BLESS.

• Concern Ghanian 12 years ago

THIS IS TWO GHANA NATIONALS

• Nii 12 years ago

It is interesting and amazing how people manage to draw conclusions from no premises - commenting on the content of an article without reading it; are you God? What a nation!

• Appiah 12 years ago

Ewes cannot come near Akans in terms of anything.mind you without Akans Those Ewes are nothing in Ghana. Let everybody stay in their region without moving to another region and see if those fuckin Ewes can survive in ghana. F ...

• Ghanaman 12 years ago

Akadu's poem in question was class based and had nothing to do with ethnicity!

• Emmanuel Sarpong Owusu-Ansah 12 years ago

It is quite obvious to me, that about 80% of those who have left abusive comments did not even open the page let alone reading the article.

It’s amazing how people draw conclusions from no premises. Why on earth would o ...