You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 04 20Article 271594

Why N.P.P’s petition is dangerous!

Read Comments Comments (49)

• MR. FIGURE - OUT 11 years ago

"Can we project what is likely to happen to this country’s ethnic cohesion if say the Supreme Court decides the current Northern President should be replaced by an Akan President?" What will happen? You tell us what is on y ...

• EBE 11 years ago

Thanks MR.FIGURE-OUT. I used to engage these people in politacal arguments but I have stopped long time. The only criterion for joining the NDC party is being mentally demented and incapable of any cohesive reasoning ability. ...

• KOO 11 years ago

This writer is just preaching tribalism.Ghanaians want the truth in the 2012 elections and who cares if it is a northern or an Akan president that emerges afterwards?.

• UGLY ASHANTIS IN IRELAND 11 years ago

WHY SHOULD TRIBAL LORD ASHANTIS POINT TRIBAL FINGERS TO OTHER TRIBES IN GHANA WHILES THEY ASAHNTIS HAVE SHOWN OR DEMONSTRATED TRIBAL ATTITUDES TOWARD ALL OTHER TRIBE IN GHANA.ASHANTIS SHOULD ASK THEMSELVES WHY ALL TRIBES HAAT ...

• EBE 11 years ago

You know what? It is better for a fool to remain quiet rather than speak and eliminate all doubts. You have said enough about who you are and the mentality of your people. No need to respond to subhuman entity like you

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Inferiority complex is killing you softly. You are the first to comment negatively about Ashantis. You can write all this rubbish and it will not influence or change anything. No minority tribe will be allowed to steal the co ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

pepeni can not be trusted period , in this world today when Muslims and their undercover agents disguised as Christians have the agenda to destroy all virtues and values we uphold we must be vigilant and not be deceived. Bost ...

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

This has nothing to do with a Norther or Akan. This is about NPP and NDC. This is about fairness and authenticating the real winner.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

so why all the propaganda and cloak and dagger ideological games . why do the ndc continually taunt and provoke as if they were getting hyped up for a fight? why all the lies and suspicious cover up stories that poorly camou ...

• Steve 11 years ago

The Ashanti are the most enterprising and self-dependent of all the Ghana tribes. No wonder the uncivilized Northerners and Ewes are jealous and so envious. They all all migrate from the north and Volta regions to work "by da ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

U like cheating! Pray you are not oen of those chiefs who supported Woyome!

• OSOFO 11 years ago

THERE WILL BE WAR IN GHANA WITH THIS SO CALLED DEMOCRACY. WE ARE TIRED OF THESE POLITICAL PARTIES. WE ARE GHANAIANS AND NOT NPP,NDC,CPP'S OR WHAT HAVE YOU. RAWLINGS SHOULD COME BACK AND REDEEM US.

• Prof Lungu 11 years ago

Mr. Henry Kpakpo Allotey,

Not quite good food for thought, we dare say!

For one, you seem to have no respect or confidence in that Court, their leadership, or the law of evidence.

Looks like it is you who seems to ha ...

• DANIÑE 11 years ago

ARE U READY TO DIE THEN AM NOT.
    DON'T PUSH VIOLENT IDEAS INTO UR
    HEAD

• Kofi Mensah . Tepa Ashanti. 11 years ago

I agree with Henry Allotey. The judges must use wisdom. Sometimes we as humans must reason and use wisdom over laws.King Solomon used WISDOM and not LAW to settle the issue between the two women and the baby.

• Dr T 11 years ago

So what is wisdom in this case? So you think someone can steal electoral votes and go scot-free? What about if President Kuffuor had refused to hand over power in 2008? Please put up your thinking cap. Go for it if you threw ...

• Egya 11 years ago

Anything to win - that is NDC. Such warped crap and he calls that "food for thought"? Ghana does should not eat such poison.

• FOOLISH DR.BORKOR 11 years ago

MAHAMAH HAS NO MORALS-SLEEPS WITH ANY WOMAN

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Nana destroyed a lot of women

• yaw, USA 11 years ago

THEY ARE CHALLENGING THE AUTHENTICITY OF THE RESULT DECLARED BY THE EC BASED ON THE EVIDENCE THEY HAVE. ITS UP TO AFARI GYAN TO PROVE BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT THAT HE WAS FAITHFUL TO GHANAIANS BY DOING US A PROPER DUE DILIGENC ...

• yaw, USA 11 years ago

My bro. Kpakpo, this is not about disrespecting the seat of the president just because he is a northerners. The petitioners are challenging the authenticity of the results declared by the EC based on the evidence they have. I ...

• PK 11 years ago

Looking at the electoral figures, it appears claims of ethnic voting in Ghana are overstated. Nearly in all the regions, the NDC and NPP obtain significant votes, sometimes almost neck to neck. In the NPP stronghold of Ashant ...

• OYIRIFI AMPASACHI 11 years ago

KPAKPO, IF GHANAIANS VOTE ON TRIBAL LINES, THEN AS THE AKANS ARE BY FAR THE MAJORITY, WHERE DID THEY GO WHEN LIMAN AND RAWLINGS BECAME PRESIDENT? AS A MATTER OF FACT, FROM YOUR THINKING, MAHAMA SHOULD NEVER BECOME PRESIDENT, ...

• FRANK 11 years ago

Akuffo-Addo is just power drunk and the nation will never be peaceful if the Supreme Court reverses a dceision that the majority of ghanaians have taken through the ballot box.Ghana is heading towards uncharted political wate ...

• Steve 11 years ago

The majority of Ghanaians did not vote for John Mahama. The true results prove that majority voted for Akufo Addo. That's the reason why the SC will overturn Afari Gjan's declaration. Mahama is a THIEF and he knows it.

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

This is also my anxiety. Only one of the SC judges comes from the North and he was the one NPP did not want on the panel.

God save this country and the SC shd not take us into tribal mayhem. They shd throw Bawumia and his ...

• DAN 11 years ago

Are we persuing tribal interest or rule of law?.Use your time wisely.

• Benjamin Jimah Adams 11 years ago

Both NDC & NPP should try to calm down the temper of their sopporters before and after the ruling.

• J.B Carter 11 years ago

politicians should be aware of the fact that all their actions are geared towards the betterment of the people .. so they should strive especially the two political divides.. in order to enhance peace and unity among its mem ...

• Bulla 11 years ago

Sit down and fold our hands and chafe inside? That will stop ethnic feelings?
    My friend, think before you write.

• akora oteng 11 years ago

Do you really believe in what you have just written, Mr. Allotey? If you think that Akans who form the majority of the population in Ghana are tribalistic, how could we have had many more of our leaders since Independence, fr ...

• Kobena 11 years ago

What an idiot! If someone comes to your house steal your cow and an eye witness says it was only a chicken that was stolen and that it doesn't really matter. What will you do?

Typical blackman, he does not take the troubl ...

• mensah abrampa 11 years ago

Are you saying that Akuffo Addo should have in the interest of peace let sleeping dogs lie even if Mahama got more fingers than he won votes? Ridiculous ! Nothing in our system of things is perfect and won't ever be until "th ...

• Emmanuel (J.B) Carter 11 years ago

it could be seen as dangerous but actually this is what should happen..
    because if there is a decision which someone is not happy with no matter the objectivity of the decision.. one has the right to seek clarification with ...

• kbb 11 years ago

Hjk

• azin 12 11 years ago

HENRY ALLOTEY KPAKPO, isn't it disingenious when you use Akuffo Addo's call on his supporters to stand up for their rights and spin in that manner when you refuse to see Atta Mills call on fantes to vote for him because he is ...

• J.B Carter 11 years ago

rule of law is all about the fact that nobody is above the law. therefore if any of the citizens of the country is faced with a difficulty in understanding some decisions which have been made by some state institutions, he ha ...

• Dabuo 11 years ago

"Can we project what is likely to happen to this country’s ethnic cohesion if say the Supreme Court decides the current Northern President should be replaced by an Akan President?" I'm a northerner myself, from upper west a ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 11 years ago

You are probably the most trustworthy person in Ghana. You should seek political office. I will support you.

kenntiamoa@yahoo.com

• Steve 11 years ago

Mahama must clear his name if he honestly believes he truly won the 2012 election. The problem is that he stole the election with Afari Djan's help. Mahama and NDC know they did not win the election.

• U r more tribalistic than d accused 11 years ago

THIS WRITE IS RATHER FANNING TRIBAL TENDENCIES. POOR ARTICLE.

• Justman 11 years ago

THIS CASE HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH TRIBE BUT ABOUT THE TRUTH OF WHAT HAPPENS MUST PREVAIL.
    IF YOU CHOOSE TO READ TRIBE INTO IT THAT IS YOUR BUSINESS.

• navro 11 years ago

Tell us what you imagine for a reasonable person has to think than imagining. You're not reasonable and so can seek refuge in imagination.

• ohene 11 years ago

Perhaps the article should have been written when chiefs from one region went to the central region to solicit for votes. Remember adze wo fie. Your thoughts are as late as thent latest dumsor

• .... 11 years ago

FOR NDC, NOT GHANAIANS OH LORD HAVE MERCY ON YOUR CHILDREN WHY GHANAIANS /*4

M ... ;

• John Toy 11 years ago

What you forget is the Presidency is not a monarchy. Akufo Addo thinks it is his destiny to rule Ghana. That is not the case. He lost this election fair and square. The SC should prudently by throwing away this silly case. I ...

• Takyi 11 years ago

So we should condone cheating for tribal backlash reasons?kwasea !

• prince 11 years ago

this piece is not good at all

• Victor 11 years ago

1 republic saw truncation of multi party system for one party state.2 republic saw Busia exiting , but don't forget rural development concept, in just 27 months.3 republic also saw Limman exiting in just over 25 months,reaso ...