You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 04 03Article 269764

Is this the Beginning of the End for Nana Akufo Addo?

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Concerned Citizen 11 years ago

How do you relate or interpret the term STATUTORY in terms of the stipulations in the Constitutional Instrument(CI75) that set out the rules for election 2012? Are you conversant with the terms therein and the details of the ...

• NAA DEDEI 11 years ago

thank you very much my dear citizen. you have said it all. i think i have to pass this one for now cos i don't want to waste my time to comment on such silly and bias articles like this particular one.

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

If the national looting brigade and cocaine barons want to keep the 70 year old evil dwarf as their leader then they should be prepared to remain in opposition forever

• Okocha 11 years ago

These legal war won't help those of us who are alien when it comes to legal issues especially at the top level.All what we are waiting for the SC is their final ruling,PERIOD.

• srome 11 years ago

you dont need to thank anyone, the article is an opinion of the author, engage him and present your rebuttal and stop complaining about biaseness and calling people silly.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 11 years ago

No comment!

• CA 11 years ago

As much as the 1992 constitution guarantees people the right to vote, does it mean that whoever claims to be Ghanaian Citizen should be allowed to vote during elections?
    Let us say, Togolese who speaks Ewe perfectly, claims ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

What about Ivorians who speak Twi,arew they also allowed to vote??

• Okocha 11 years ago

Though I don't belong to the wig family but what I know is that is only the constitution that determines whether a person is a national of a country or not but not the number of languages the person can speak.We have Ghanaian ...

• Kankam 11 years ago

Any one turning up with a fake ID could not vote because it had to tally with the one in the voting register.You therefore can turn up to vote with any ID.The same in Europe as you are talking there no biometric.Can an illega ...

• GIDO like MIDO 11 years ago

The fundamental question inyour post is can any one prove that illegal people voted? it is assumed that all who voted are ghanaians, and nobody can prove that a togolese voted. can the petitioners prove that some people voted ...

• Kankam 11 years ago

Please I beg to differ.The constitution supersedes any statutory law,Therefore it is impossible to disfranchise a voter once his vote is counted.The none utilization of biometric machine is not an infringement since it was no ...

• CROSS 11 years ago

Mr Concerned Citizen, kindly spare Kofi Atta for this is the first balanced article i have read on GhanaWeb and not the crap from some Dr Borkor. This is an intellectual piece that allows you to think through every angle of t ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

The right to vote is enshrined by the constitution.

The constitution is the supreme law of the land, and supersedes all arrangements that were made by the EC and the political parties prior to the elections.

The fact t ...

• Mania. 11 years ago

No need for insults and sarcasm. Statutory, is in the context that, all subsidiary legislation, are subject to the provisions of the constitution. In the context that a provision of a sub legislation is in conflict with the c ...

• Marlin 11 years ago

... than Akufo-Addo?

• DAN 11 years ago

so he has to write down what he see's on the toilet walls and publish that

• Ghanaian Nationalist. 11 years ago

Kofi Ata, thank you for your informative piece.It clarifies the issues at stake for those of us who do not belong to the wig fraternity.

• Kankam 11 years ago

He does not make sense.Read my other comments.

• DAN 11 years ago

even tho the supreme court is taking 10 times longer than Kenya..maybe they will do the right thing

• kofi 11 years ago

very nice one

• Okocha 11 years ago

Those for and against the analysis put before the public domain by Kofi are making mockery of themselves. My question is, does his analysis make finality of the case before our SC?

• Speedy 11 years ago

Go back to your job at pizza hut.idiot.no sense in your article.

• srome 11 years ago

is this all you can offer after reading such a lengthy article, be a better Ghanaian and stop the insult, we want to read your intelligent contribution.

• mensah abrampa 11 years ago

Kofi, flashes of your intellectual cred. and political neutrality in some of your articles don't fail to attract the attention of your readers.There's no question about your patriotism.
    I've seen the fire in your belly but s ...

• David Atugiya 11 years ago

Talking to one of my NPP legal friends after the SC ruling and direction on the trial of the petition before it, it was clear from both us that Nana and his co-petitioners will loose the case.

Our verdict on the issues to ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Mensah Abrampa, would it have been ok if I had used President Mahama instead of Nana Akufo Addo in the title? As I indicated in the article, the same analysis could have been true for President Mahama. It is interesting how s ...

• razak seini 11 years ago

a very good write up.
    our elders says that "the cultural dance of monkeys does not concern the dogs" I registered and voted as a ghanain -ah what is my concern whether afari gyan's men signed the pink sheets or a machine did ...

• Egbeze Mintah 11 years ago

Yea, i agree with you that Nana Akufo Addo has a long way to go. But a journey of a mile begins with a step. This is just the begining to a glorious end. This story of bravery and Justice will be passed on from generation to ...

• KING TWALA 11 years ago

I SHARE THE VIEW THAT THE END RESULTS WILL BE RE-ELECTION AND NO OTHER WAY OUT UNLESS THERE IS A PROVE THAT MAHAMA GOVERNMENT CONDOLE AND CONNIVED TO MANIPULATE THE ELECTION RESULTS. THIS CASE CANNOT BE PREDICTED EASILY BUT F ...

• Timbuktu 11 years ago

Your 'analysis' is utter rubbish!

• Kwesi Agbenu 11 years ago

Kofi Ata looks scared

• Jim Jones 11 years ago

It is just the end of the beginning so dont worry and be happy.

• FKM 11 years ago

Thanks - one of the few insightful commentaries I have read in months.

• NanaAddo 11 years ago

Akuffo Addo should respond to justice Kpegah

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Akufo-Addo's cup is full

• Luther King 11 years ago

i always admire the way u try to be objective in your analyses of issues. however, i need to make a little correction - the petitioners are not alleging fraud, or vote rigging, but irregularities. NPP has two positions, one i ...

• FireMan 11 years ago

I believe people like you should lead our great NPP.Our party needs intelligent people to run and not the lokes of Sir John and Jake.

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

Looks like you like your country than you do your party, which makes me think you're a very intelligent person, honest and discerning.

Ghana is for us all; we must defend its values.

• :):). . . 11 years ago

Luther King wo mame twem. You foolish ndc old boy. You speak from your ANUS. Kwasea bi ba kwa.

• Olando Nawia 11 years ago

He also has to prove that he is not an imposter, another albastross on his neck,

• Asem Beba Dabi 11 years ago

If the constitution guarantees the right of eligible Ghanaians to vote, CI 75, which is inferior to the constitution, cannot abolish that right to vote. Even if people voted without biometric verification, it is their right t ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 11 years ago

Some of you are hoping to take shelter behind the Constitution. If it is adjudged that your cliam is right, then the recourse would be to cancel the entire elections rather than let the results of an unconstitutional act prev ...

• Mania. 11 years ago

You are damn right.read my earlier comment,

• Luck 11 years ago

I have had to often advance the argument that the SC is case managing this process very well.Considering the initial tension and the potential chaos and destabilization.The SC's role was not only the law but also to help safe ...

• Matthew 11 years ago

The right to vote is the basis of democracy.The SC cannot remove that.

• Adongo 11 years ago

What an insidious, superfluous hypocrit, Kofi Ata.

Adongo

• AbasZ 11 years ago

We live to see.

• JAK 11 years ago

A valid registered voter with voter ID who goes through biometric verification is the one who can vote. The fact the one is a Ghanaian does not give one the right to vote.The writer got all wrong.I am Ghanaian and therefore I ...

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN 11 years ago

ELECTIONS HAVE LAID DOWN RULES THAT MUST BE OBEYED. AMONG THEM, VOTER IDENTIFICATION/VERIFICATION, TICKING CLEARLY THE PERSON OF YOUR CHOICE.
    THOUGH ONE MAY HAVE THE RIGHT TO VOTE, HE BALLOT PAPER COULD BE REFUSED IF THE RUL ...

• Katakyie Kwame Opoku Agyemang, London 11 years ago

Kofi, I think you're ignorant to what actually transpired at the court room last Tuesday. I would advise you not to bank all your information on the rented media. They will always mislead you as they have done to you today wh ...

Good morning Katakyie, you claim that the word "Statutory" was not in the ruling of the SC but coined by the media, so I was misled and that made my analysis naive and irrelevant.

Katakyie, I will not argue with you on whe ...

Sorry, I should have responded to the role of Parliament in approving the CI74.

The fact that CI74 went before Parliament was approved does not mean it cannot be unconstitutional. A good example was my classmate's case on ...