You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 03 14Article 267495

Who Are The Akans of Ghana?

Read Comments Comments (114)

• Shamu 11 years ago

Akans are decendant of Northern and central Africa. Some came from Sudan while others came from Chard. Actually Akan are very dark skin people. For instance, if you look at Ashantis, the original ones are very dark skin. Comp ...

• william 11 years ago

Shamu, yours complements Clement's account. You re talking of an earlier migration from the Nubian lands to present Mali from where the descent southwards to present day Ghana. Clement, thanks for this history. It is a pity t ...

• Enimful 11 years ago

Busia was neither Ashanti nor Akyim so how come one has to be Ashanti or an Akyim in other to lead my great party. the truth is that NO TANI can be a good president b'cos of their lack of understanding. How can a common guine ...

• KOFI KYERE 11 years ago

WHO CARES WHAT TRIBE YOU ARE, WE ARE ALL GHANAIANS. WE ARE ALL INTERMARRIED.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

An ungrateful visitor. Why do not you go back to your people who fight over every little thing. Spend your energies to save your north instead of attacking others. The man is job less and hoping this shit will get Mahama's at ...

• AKANLAND 11 years ago

WHY DON'T TALK ABOUT TROKOSI HISTORY

• JOE TECH 11 years ago

HOW WE FINE PEOPLE FROM WESTERN REGION HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THIS DARK,SHORT & PROUD FOR NOTHING ASHANTIS

• rockson,columbus 11 years ago

joe,
    why insult me,an ashanti when you do not even know who i am? will it be fair to also insult the people of western region?it is illogigal to generalise by particularization.if a few ashantis are proud{and it cut across o ...

• OBREMPONG 11 years ago

YOUR RECENT NEGATIVE COMMENTS DEPICTS HOW LOW YOU'RE BENEATH THE RADIAL. AS AN ASHANTI,I WILL RESERVE MY RIGHT NOT TO STEP LOW LIKE YOU AS I BELIEVE WE ARE ALL GHANAIANS.BUT YOUR INSULTING COMMENTS PROVE YOUR LACK OF WISDOM T ...

• Real Black Man 10 years ago

If you are not dark, it means you are not african at all and a foreigner not only in Ghana but in the african continent as well. A real black man will be proud of dark colour.

• TANI 11 years ago

You idiot why do you insult Asantes. Blame asantes for allowing your Dankate father to carry Asante Shit in other to bring a shit like you for you to write such shit against them.

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED-GERMANY 11 years ago

AKANS ARE NORTHNERS PERIOD:;;;

• OSAGYEFO 11 years ago

YOU'RE ONLY TRYING TO FEEL BIG AND GREAT TO BE A BLOOD OF THE AKANS BUT IT'S NOT TRUE.

• Pastor Isaiah 11 years ago

Who cares who is who? That means calling the ewes Togolese is rubbish .The ewes also came from the same source as the Akans of today since they all came from the fringes of the same location.We are too much idiotic in our app ...

• Kofi Asante-Nyamekye 10 years ago

Ghana is the centre of the earth, did any one know this? This is for a reason. God has a special place in his heart for our country; He wants to use this nation of ours in ways that only the divinely discerning can perceive, ...

• AKANLAND 11 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT GHANA? I DON'T HATE ANYBODY, BUT THIS IS THE WAY I AM.I DON'T HAVE GHANAIAN CULTURE IN ME. I HAVE AKAN CULTURE

• JOE TECH 11 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE DIRECT FROM GHANA MONKEYS

• Amanii 11 years ago

But your father comes to Kumasi to carry monkeys shit on his head and your mother is a kayayei. You are worse than animals because animals don't even carry shit on their heads.

• NASHA KOKO 11 years ago

Don't you believe that Terribly Specific alias Kola is embeded ?

• Alhaji Saani 11 years ago

Busia first became leader of the Akyem/Ashanti group when Brong-Ahafo was part of the Ashanti Region.The United Part chose him over Dombo a northerner.

• Enimful 11 years ago

So surprising that most of the Alhajis who contribute to discussions both on Ghanaweb, radio&Tv are idiots with Bature topping the group. Saaani! you are suppose to be selling chin-chin-ga kebab in Allah-Bar than to come and ...

Yes I was born in Alaba not Allah bar.I was a member of the UP Action Groupers at KO49 during those days and worked at the Castle on special duties for Busia in 1970.I am Tani and that is my contribution.What is yours.By the ...

• HMMMMMMMMMM 11 years ago

THEY TRIED CEASING THE PARTY AFTER BUSIA. WHO ARE THE FOUNDING MEMBERS OF THE BUSIA/DANKWA TRADITION? WHERE ARE THE FANTIS? SEKONDI!!!!!!!!

• Ankrah 11 years ago

Why dont you fight for your Ga-Trokosi people rather than for the none complaining Fantis ?

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Where did this idiot get the 60% of exports coming from Western Region? Gold is the biggest foreign earning natural resource eaning Ghana about 4 billion a year and 90% of it comes from Ashanti region. Tarkwa gold mines produ ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

"It was then that Victor Owusu retorted than"

SHOULD READ

"It was then that Victor Owusu retorted that"

• william 11 years ago

Clement and Cardinal, let's discuss this important issue with less passion! Clement, I am afraid you asked for it! Your otherwise informative article was also injected with emotions and politics! Cardinal, cease-fire!

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

I am not being emotional but the truth should be told because some people read this trash and lies and chomp on it like it s filet mignon. He should provide the right information because he tried to write on a subject he has ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

CARDINAL, I know you just came back from Rome while reading this fact finding article. Just take your time and relax. You need to sleep very well, then get up the ff day. By that time you can be able to understand what norble ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

What is norble? Read what Ghana also wrote and you will get the real understanding. There is nothing wrong being dark skinned. It's just sad the James Brown anthem, "I AM BLACK AND PROUD" has been redone by Black Africans who ...

• AKANLAND 11 years ago

IF YOU DON'T KNOW OUR HISTORY,DON'T WRITE IT.WRITE ABOUT EWE HISTORY

• OSAGYEFO 11 years ago

THIS SANGAPAREE IS A TRIBALISTIC F**L. WHY DONT YOU WRITE ABOUT YOUR ANCESTERS TOO FOR US TO KNOW YOUR HISTORY? I'LL BE HAPPY TO KNOW ABOUT YOUR ANCESTERS. YOU'RE ENJOYING A BETTER LIFE IN OBUASI AND AT THE SAME TIME SHOWING ...

• Ankrah 11 years ago

NTAFUO ARE VERY UNGREATFUL BUT THAT WILL NOT DETERE US FROM HELPING THOSE OF THEM WHO NEED IT.

To start with i'm not asante. If this guy does not like people with dark skin what is doing in Ghana, the land of black people?

I like your point.

• Yaw 11 years ago

Williams, are you for real? Why didn't you tell Clement his article was too emotional in your first comment but heaped praises on him until Cardinal corrected him for you to realise Clement was emotional? Clement was just not ...

• Nana Bonsu, Boston, USA 11 years ago

Good reply Cardinal. This Sangaparee man lives in Obuasi, an Asante gold town but behaves like the gold over there comes from Nanpanduiri. He is a distortionist and should not be taken seriously. He has no clue who Akans are. ...

• WISEMAN 11 years ago

WELL DONE CARDINAL, YOU KNOW THIS IDIOT FOOL WELL. CURSE BE UNTO HIS DESCENDANTS FOR HIS EVIL THOUHTS AGAINST ASANTES. HE IS THE ONLY DAGARTI FOOL I KNOW.

• Ghana 11 years ago

Hahahahahahahaha, you have an inferiority complex about dark skin. Have you been to the North? The darkest Ghanaians come from the North because of the scorching sun and the savannah vegetation. The sun and the dust have dark ...

Very true, properly his mum was a prostitute for an arab or european. So he became a light skinned. Since we black people are not racist we accepted him. Now he is being racist towards as black people. What unthankfull person ...

Properly= probably

And to Ghanaians, we are brothers=And to other Ghanaians, we are all brothers!

• Burger Pee. 11 years ago

Are Ghanaians from AKAN origin not Aware that, there aremore han just the akan tribe in Ghana? And that, each and every tribe here in Ghana has a culture? And that, a language an intergral part of a culture is? It seems to m ...

We have implemented western democracy but don't want to follow it. According to this, it is the langauge of the majority which should be the official language and not a foreign one. This does not means that we should abolish ...

Continuation:

So what we actually have implemented is Western Democrazy.

• jb 11 years ago

I left Ghana in the early 1980s and was a proud ghanaian, period. I was disgusted by the tribalism I saw in Nigeria. I moved to the US from Nigeria and only started following ghanaian politics when ghanaweb came online but I ...

• jb 11 years ago

how about a lesson or a paper on how ghana was formed?

• post 11 years ago

It would have been good if this writer can tell the 60% composition of all export from Ghana that comes from the western region, please include the monetary value of the 60% exports. Also tell us whether it is the indegins of ...

• Koomson 11 years ago

That is a patently lie.Western Region does not contribute more than 30% of all exports including the oil.

• 4 Year Old 11 years ago

What is this? Is this history or a fable? It's bogus and has no merit. Make proper research and write well.

Send in your contribution if you have any.Habanasenyi.

• Kwame 11 years ago

There was not any mention of people they met. So, the story is incomplete.
    However, when Akans migrated to Ghana, there were people in Ghana. So, those people are the natives of Ghana today. And to your sueprise, they stil ...

• william 11 years ago

The Guans are believed tp have been the earlier settlers. wHAT IS IMPORTANT IS THAT OUR ETHNIC IDENTITIES COME FROM LARGER COMMON IDENTITIE; NOT PROPERLY DOCUMENTED BECAUSE ORAL HISTORY WAS OUR SYSTEM OF ARCHIVING!

• DKlondon 11 years ago

These fake socialist and revolutionist are always wagging about with their tribal nuisance. I wonder how did a ''lecturer'' at ''Hendon College'' become an authoritative scholar on Akan and Ghanaian history???

We are tired ...

• James Abram.. 11 years ago

DKLondon, you are intellectually naïve. You don't need to have Phd, MOT,BBC, ITV, DVLA, Order of the VOlta(OV) ETC to be an authority. Besides, you don't know the academic/intellectual background of Addo Adjei. DKlondon try ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

come down James. You can better understand this subject if you read the first comment ok? go there.

• FORTURE TELLER 11 years ago

THANK YOU. I PRAY THE YOUTH WILL BE READING THIS. I HOPE YOU WILL EXTEND THIS FURTHER AND SERIALISE WHO IS AN ASHANTI

• FORTURE TELLER 11 years ago

CLEARLY AKUFO ADDO AND CO WANTED TO SET GHANA ABLAZE AFTER THE ELECTIONS, BUT FOR FEAR THAT THE INTERNATIONAL COURTS WOULD PROSECUTE AND CONVICT HIM IF ANYTHING HAPPENED TO GHANA, HE QUICKLY CHANGED HIS MIND AND WENT TO COURT ...

• Ankrah 11 years ago

NDC FORTURE TELLER INDEED

• Grandpa 11 years ago

This is a beautiful nonsense. If you are not well-versed in a subject, don't try to distort history. This is nothing but a poor commentary on a misplaced agenda.

Tell us what you know.Kusie boy

• Yaw Manu 11 years ago

Your article has produced water,electricity,jobs,education for all Akans and has stop us from migrating to plces like Accra,London,US,Canada for better opportunities in life.
    Thank you Sir.

• the truth 11 years ago

why are we wasting energy on tribalism? This is sad... no wonder we never move forward.

• Mina 11 years ago

If this guy is over 70yrs then he might suffer from dimentia,hence this propaganda article.

• Nana Bonsu, Boston, USA 11 years ago

Because of your personal hatred for Asantes, you intentionally took them out of the migration down south to modern Ghana. "Ntafo" is Akan word for twins and it was originally used to describe the migrants from Taani, a popula ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Thank you Nana. Sangaparee skewed historical facts to fit into his hateful twaddles here. At his ripe age of 74, he is still writing hate articles. Can any Asante live amongst his people and write such hateful articles withou ...

• Okponglo Guy 11 years ago

The NDC has been baiting Akans to insult Northerners, Gas, and Ewes to make the NDC unpopular. Any Akan who falls for the bait is not astute.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

Ahantis will not stoop so low to insult other tribes. The NDC is doing the same thing we accused white colonials of in Africa. Divide and rule on tribal lines. They want to pitch every tribe against the Ashantis for politica ...

• Nii Kofi 11 years ago

brilliant peace of mind on such nonsense , but can you cut the demeaning cling to palestine. civilisation and homo sapiens are from the mainland of africa not from a appendage of it. we are black and the desperate linkage we ...

• Dani 6 years ago

Chale where did u get this history from. Dis one de333. Aniwaes we want truth so dat we can build a better future for ourselves n d future generations.

• Lamie USA 11 years ago

The lesson here is we are all one people, now lets but aside this tribal nonsense and all contribute in making our nation great and strong. Peace.

• ASA 11 years ago

thanks clement. the truth must be told however bitter it is.Go take the DNA of most of the top NPP people and you will surely find some of them with "tani" blood running in them.

• Yaw 11 years ago

Is it a crime to have a "tanii" blood running in the top NPP people or it just makes you as a "tanii" feel like a human being?

• GIWA 11 years ago

OBOY ARE THERE YOU DISAPPEARED AFTER THE DEAD OF PRESIDENT MILLS BUT ARE SAYING STEALING ELECTIONS IS OK EH ! WHAT ARE WE TEACHING TOMORROW'S PEOPLE

• WISEMAN 11 years ago

SANGAPAREE, I AM VERY SORRY YOUR NAME SOUND LIKE A DAGAARE MAN BECAUSE I KNOW DAGAARES TO BE WISE AND REASONING PEOPLE.
    YOU ALWAYS POST ARTICLES TO GHANAWEB THAT ALWAYS SEEM TO DIVIDE THE NATION. IT IS THAT COMMUNIST INFERIO ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 11 years ago

Ewia bia as my Ashantis people will say tu tu bra

• Nene Adekerker 11 years ago

Why are some people interested in senseless issues. Instead of talking about Unity they talk about tribe. Look Akans are the majority so whatever you do they will be in the lead

• kazaure 11 years ago

So what, put all the akan population together is still less than half of my tribe.

• dotse 11 years ago

i dont think u did any research before u wrote this article. who told u npp lost 2012 election because of tribal politics. ndc and electoral commission stole this election, thats why the case is in surreme court. so stop tell ...

• DONG LEE JNR, CHINA 11 years ago

IF I HAD A GUN, FOOLS LIKE YOU WONT EXIST. GOD HELP YOU. PEOPLE LIKE YOU KEEP DIVIDING OUR NATION. MAY GOD DEAL WITH YOU

• Nana From Ghana 11 years ago

Prof, stick to what the Akan people are and what their origins are. You are certainly not God and will not be able to add 600 years to O O T II life.

• KWEKU SIKA 11 years ago

TAKE UR PEPESEM AWAY

• Nana From Ghana 11 years ago

Absolute nonsense. Dr. Kofi Abrefa Busia was from the Brong Ahafo and they do not consider themselves Ashanti's. The Danquah Busia party has a tradition of seniority and all the rest have to do is to join in time to inherit ...

• Kweku Van Der Kwaak 11 years ago

Do you know where the American Blacks came from? Do you think they give a shit about Africa? Tell us at all where did your Dargati and Nothern tribes came from mr no.9 idiot? Ashantes came from African,we know that, that's ...

• joel 11 years ago

Hi my brother you^ve touched my heart with your comment. Thanks God bless you.

• Nii Kofi 11 years ago

Great comment

• Francis(London) 11 years ago

I AGREE WITH THE WRITER ON MOST ISSUES RAISED IN HIS ARTICLE.
    THE SLAVE TRADE(I CANNOT EXPLAIN HERE FOR LACK OF SPACE)DID NOT ALLOW VARIOUS KINGDOMS TO DEVELOP A UNIFORM LANGUAGE LIKE MOST OF THE DEVELOPED COUNTRIES.
    IT IS ...

• nana 11 years ago

In fact this writer is very stupid, who told you the ndc won the election. continue portraying npp as Asante/Akyem party, we are proud of that. I don't think you wanna compare Mahama to Kufour.We want somebody who can do the ...

• AbasZ 11 years ago

Ntafo is not a tribe . When the northners came to the south,they moved in groups especially in twos . Hence they were given the name "NTAAFO"means Twins in Akan language. The northners have taken the word as disrespect from T ...

Ntafo does not mean twins though Ntaafo is.The word Ntafo was an abbreviation of the NT 'Northern Territories in twi Nnn Te.So it was Nnn Te foo.So was Number 9 for the voltarians for being the last region when we had 9 regio ...

• AbasZ 11 years ago

Ok. It could be. But most from the north consider it(NTAFO)as disrespect or insult which is not.

• U-Turn 11 years ago

Call an Ashanti by that name and see what he'll do to you, if you say it is not disrepectful.

Yes but the Ashantis are not from the Northern Territories.It is like saying B.A. to the Brong Ahafo man.Some take it to be insulting.It is not but the way it is said makes it look like it is.

Yes but it is the way it is said.Normally there is nothing disrespect saying Ntafo but they way the Akans twist their mouth in saying that makes it look insulting.I am not bothered because I know what it means.

• SAMUEL AQ-WEN. 11 years ago

GOD BLESS U BROTHER.

• Kwame 11 years ago

You fulllllllll, you want the Asantes and Akyems to be eliminated eh! Ok, Don't you know you are rather eliminating yourselves by killing yourselves up there. God punish you and your thought. Thief.

• Kwame 11 years ago

You fulllllllll, you want the Asantes and Akyems to be eliminated eh! Ok, Don't you know you are rather eliminating yourselves by killing yourselves up there. God punish you and your thought. Thief.

• Kwame 11 years ago

• Jommo 11 years ago

This buffoon thinks he knows the Akan history
    but infact he is showing his ignorance in the n history. The Akans in Modern Ghana constitute the majority of the population
    It behooves me as to why we have allowed ourselves t ...

• Goza Go Toro 11 years ago

'' The real tribes in Ghana are the Northerners, including the AKANS as one body, the Gas, Ewes and Krobos totalling FOUR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!''

• AKAN 11 years ago

ABOABA GO TO YOUR MAMA!

• SUMBRUNGU 11 years ago

Probably the most compelling and reasoned piece yet by Mr Saangare who, by the way, has built a solid reputation of attracting to himself praise and hatred in equal measure.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Thank you very much. The so called Asante-Akyims don't even know their history. Fellow Ghanaians, Ashantis are Northners, their ancestors are from the North.

• awuku 11 years ago

u wish

• Busia 11 years ago

This Akan tribe must be erased from the Ghanaian ethic groups. They are not intelligent and we dont need weak pple in the country which mahama seeks to build.

• Agyapong 7 years ago

I will sell u in slavery

• AMARIYA 11 years ago

This comes straight from the worst history book published in Ghanaian "A short of History of Ghana."
    Without even wasting time,on oral historical inacurracies, as we all know, this Singapare Clements thinks he knows all, he ...

• Akora Oteng 11 years ago

I knew that bastard was jealous. Now he wants to claim ancestory to the AKAN tribe after all the condemnation.
    My friend, your history master did not tell you the truth or is it you who fell asleep at class. Anyway you are D ...

• gariba 11 years ago

may God ALMIGHTY shed his blessings on the former president his excellency john kufour and his family,amen.

• TWEEAAAA 11 years ago

AOO CLEMENT U'VE SAID IT ALL BUT CAN U HELP ME OUT? I AM BEING MADE TO UNDERSTAND THAT DURING KUFUOR'S TIME , HE PROMOTED THE ASANTEHENE INTERNATIONALLY BY PUTTING ONLY AND ONLY THE ASANTEHENE'S PICTURE AND ASANTE EMBLEMS IN ...

• LAWSON 11 years ago

KWASIA ! DID YOU WANT HIM TO PUT EXTINCT GA ON THE EMBLEMS ?

• Kwame 9 years ago

is true,Asantes sold northerners to the Europeans as slaves.look at black Americans,the resemble the northerns
    the Akans,gonjas and the Dagombas migrated from the then Ghana empire in Mali
    the rest of the northerners have n ...

• issaka Aisha 8 years ago

What are the features of akan

• Agyapong 7 years ago

2 legs, 2 hands, four hands.

• zak 7 years ago

where from this nonsense politics in this