You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 03 06Article 266842

Ghanaians view on referee's performance in Madrid's win over United

Read Comments Comments (65)

• Busumbru 11 years ago

The referee was as bad as the word if not worse

• Tetteh 11 years ago

The referee was just doing his job. Shut up you Ghanaians who do not know anything just living in corruption and deception.

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

ghana people make you mind your own problems,1)no light in ghana,(2)no water to drink in ghana,(3)klb hospital is falling and many more,but all the same make you kuku die finish so that we can have our peace.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

NANI SHOULD HAVE HELD HIS HEAD WIGTH HIS 2 ARMS BEFORE HE MADE THAT STUPID TACKLE. NOT AFTER....HOW MAY TIMES HAVE OTHER TEAMS SUFFERED FROM BIAS REFEREEING TO MAN U'S ADVANTAGE? EXACTLY...TOO MANY FUCKING TIMES. THEY SHOULD ...

• John Doe 11 years ago

the same thing happend to ghana in the semi final in afcon the ref was on GH side and yet burkiina still beat them so why is it that MAN U coudnt do the same

• Frank 11 years ago

Oh United fans, give us a break, Madrid would have won regardless. Did you see the possession percentage? 68% to 32% until Madrid scored the second goal and resorted to play defence. Madrid despite being down had dominated pl ...

• Sage 11 years ago

Yes, the referee a mistake in showing Nani the red card for that unintentional challenge. But that is no good excuse for losing the match. Great teams go ahead to win crucial matches with ten men. We've seen that many times b ...

• Eric - England 11 years ago

This is a very poor reportage. Real conceded an own goal in the first half. But real dominated even the first half, creating more chances/short at goal than Man U. There was no way Man U would have won the match with Nani. We ...

• Redd 11 years ago

A dangerous high boot is not allowed in the rules. A player and his management team earning ridiculous amounts to donothing but live football should know this.

The rule against such dangerous acts is there to prevent trage ...

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 11 years ago

It may not be intentional but Nani might have seen him from the corner of his eye or he didn't care that he was doing a malicious act.When that affects a vulnerable part of the body,most referees would apply the rules rigidly ...

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

the united fans wanted to see a broken rib to accept a red card , good luck in your local league .

• Redd 11 years ago

Is the wriet a disgruntled Man U fan or what???????

• NANA KUFUOR 11 years ago

I dont know what you guys are complaining about. In the late eighties when Argentina were the World Champions, Cameroon played them in the world cup group stages. The referee showed red card to two Cameroonians but they still ...

• Sas 11 years ago

it was red, they want to downplay the ref.look at the stastics, real played better than them, english man oh oh

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 11 years ago

SORRY I EMPARTHISE WITH UTD FANS.HOWEVER,MADRID HAD OUTCLASSED UNT.IN ALL STANDARDS AND DEPARTMENTS,I URGE YOU TO JUST EAT YOUR HUMBLE PIE AND STOP SCAPE GOATING.

• Kaakyire, USA 11 years ago

Thank God this was a Turkish referee who would not bulge.Almost all the referees in the English League are under the intimidation of the HATE-AFRICA, Sir Furguson.You want a proof?Check the history of the AFCON and tell me ho ...

• hahaha 11 years ago

They think this is English premier league; sorry this is champs league so it would be difficult for referees to cheat for u. all their trophies worn are as a result of cheats from ref's, thus free penalties and red cards, so ...

• NANA YAW BAWUAH 11 years ago

It was a clean call from the ref , the boot was high and a malicious intent.Alex ferg can go to HELL.

• bing 11 years ago

man united have soon forgotten what they did to chelsea some yes back by a bad refering? today u guys are complaining?

• kenki 11 years ago

Oh Oh Oh so it is painful eh? Which team receives all the favors from referees than Man U? Which team plays more penalties, go free with fouls? I stopped watching Man U matches long ago. Stop crying and come and continue your ...

• MANDER 11 years ago

That is why our soccer standard is so damn low. What has Man u and Madrid got to do with us? Dzi wo fie asem.
    What about Ghana vs Burkina? Let us have a serious agenda to return fans to watch our league and return the passio ...

• Nala 11 years ago

And all dis while i thought they had better referees. I guess its MTN - Everywhere u go.

• Krisika 11 years ago

When controling mid air ball u hav to be careful because u hav to jump dat wht cause de red card , he did not see RM players coming , to nani foot was too high and to de ribs it was a dangerouse play ( karate play )

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

FOOLISH FANS

• ALHASSAN MOHAMMED MAAHEY. ITALY 11 years ago

every body has seen the down fall of my belove club man u. 12 agaist 10 man u. we will be back strong next season. that is football. hmmmmmmmmmmm. odi gu beri.

• A.M. 11 years ago

Manchester United fans please stop complaining. The same thing happened to Chelsea and Manchester United were the beneficiary.

• kwabena boadi 11 years ago

look foks, chelsea handled almighty barca with ten men at the latter's favorite background yet they progressed....

• k.gyasi.com 11 years ago

stop this argument, go and see a lawyer, and ask him the difference between ,'intention' and 'recklessness' and ask him if the referee was right or wrong.Why don't we talk about Burkina who appeared to have taken drugs in ...

• PHISCUS,USA 11 years ago

IT ANNOYS ME ANYTIME I SEE THIS FLAG BY FIFA AND UEFA WITH THE INSCRIPTION "MY GAME IS FAIR PLAY"THIS IS AN INSULT TO THE GAME.WHY SHOULD IT BE LEFT FOR CRAZY IGNORANT REFEREES LIKE THIS TO DECIDE ALONE WITHOU THELP.THIS SHOU ...

• EG 11 years ago

NANI SAW HIM COMING.WHY HE NANI FAKED INJURY?HE KNEW THE WEIGHT OF THE OFFENCE.DONT LISTEN TO MOURINHO HE IS A CLEVER GUY.WHAT MADE MAN U THE BEST TEAM WHILE PLAYING DEFENSIVE AT HOME?THAT MEANS MAN U KNEW THE NATURE OF THE G ...

• Yaw 11 years ago

Just want to draw to the attension of the writer that the real madrid win over man utd was not controversial but rather the red card. Both real madrid goals were well taken ones and asuch can not attribute the win to a contro ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

BALL WAS WAY TOOO HIGH FOR NANI TO PRACTICE HIS KUNFU KARATE.THE GUY IS A PINHEAD

• seaman 11 years ago

The defeat was a payback for Manchester united for all the cheatings refrees have help them with at Oid Trafford.You reap what you sow,well done Rear Madraid.

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Our local leagues are in a state of disarray. Meanwhile we focus on these European leagues!

• Papa Appiah (Ghanansemsem) 11 years ago

For once

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

Your'e perfectly right madam.
    But who do you blame?
    Is it the cream we Africans are made of OR just that we are born good but not smart enough?

For Reminders:
    The white man came over to Africa and condemned our religio ...

• Togbe Nana 11 years ago

Did the ref take a penalty against United? He just sent out somebody for dangerous play. I have seen teams win with ten players. Remember Chelsea did it last year with ten players. Why are people talking as if a bad goal was ...

• EG 11 years ago

AJAX PLAYED THE SAME WAY BY DEFENDING AT HOME AND LOST TO REAL LAST YEAR.SIMPLY AFRAID OF REAL COUNTER ATTACK.

• straightTalkexpress 11 years ago

look at them? who cares what u monkeys say about a game? go to sleep

• OTE KOKOSO NANA 11 years ago

foooooooooooooooooool what an intellectual and sane person will not make such comments stupid fool long live GHANA long live AFRICA

• Kojo Andoh 11 years ago

You guys were not at the stadium. The referees saw it better than you did. How can you say the 'foul' was unintended when you're not in Nani's mind? Good job, referee!!!

• EG 11 years ago

NANI KNEW WHAT HE DID AND KNEW THAT HE WILL BE PUNISHED SO HE FAKED INJURY.CHEATERS NEVER WIN."Never lie,
    cheat or steal,
    always strike
    a fair deal.''

• ALL 11 years ago

IF YOU PLAYED DEFENSIVE,WHATS YOUR CHANCE OF WINNING.Effort only fully releases its reward.

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

THE REFEREE TOOK THE RIGHT DECISION.PLAYING 10 AGAINST 11 IS NOT THE CAUSE.UNITED PERFORMED POORLY

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

The referee is a disgrace.FIFA should ban the referee for life.

• Kwame - UK 11 years ago

I don't understand while people think English club should be treated like kings of europe soccer. The match was european championship and for that matter English Karate style of playing does not come in here. The reference wa ...

• Staph 11 years ago

Please try and watch over the clip again,it's a clean red card but I dont know why some people saying is not,bcos after trying to cool the ball and he did not get the ball he try to hit the player with his foot

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

IN 90 PLUS 5 MINUTES. MAN BABIES COULDNT SCORE. YET U BLAME THE REF FOR YOUR WOES...

• LETS SAVE BLACK STARS 11 years ago

And I am Ghanaian

• Danchest 11 years ago

Not straight Red Card please. Check it

• Gyasi Osei Ernest 11 years ago

Diz waz a crucial match buh de referee spoilt de whole show.....i learnt man united has never won a match in de hands of diz turkish referee.

• ebenezer tei 11 years ago

there is nothing wrong with the referee dicicion,i want to remember man u fans for their recent macth between chelsea when chelsea was shone two red card better luck nest time.man u

• KUKURANTUMI 11 years ago

what re u pple saying? Real Madrid won on merit. we saw several matches in which 10 man team even came from behind to win matches when play well. am sorry United, better luck next time.

• DORBIN EMMANUEL 11 years ago

in fact the referee did very well, he deserved a straight red card. please can re-watch what happened before condemning the referee OK

• SIKA 11 years ago

Tanks joese Real all the way

• ALEXANDER AYIM{Ammonia} 11 years ago

I don't think the ref was correct there, but we have to forget that and face future matches.

• Analyst 11 years ago

Obviously, the referee erred by showing Nani red card but Manchester United did not help themselves by their immediate reaction of anger and self-pity. Both the Coach and the players were all very angry at the referee showing ...

• MD 11 years ago

I love NANI as a player but not a fan of MAN-U. I must say that his attitude called for the straight red. why was he down as though he was injured? Cos he knew what he had done and the motive behind it.

• ken 11 years ago

Man U fans should re realistic. First of all the play by Nani was a dangerous play. Secondly when he fell the way he rolled on the floor was as if he was rather the victim n that act portrayed to the referee that it was inten ...

• KYINKYINGA UNITED 11 years ago

When Arsenal's then goalkeeper,Jens Lehmann was red carded in the early stages of the first half of the finals of the champions League a few years back,there was no national debate so deal with it!!!!

• Akwasi Kutu Acheampong 11 years ago

On countless occasions over the years, English referees like Webb automatically roll over for Man U to facilitate undeserved victories. The English FA schedules Man U league games against easy teams week after week and rarely ...

• ea 11 years ago

This write up shows how naive we are when it comes to the game we claim to love....and this is typical of some Ghanaian. We need to read more before we take sides on technical issues!

• Law (a Liverpool fan) 11 years ago

the referee has never played football in his life, he is a real madrid fan

• Snan 11 years ago

Oh fans, the game between MU & RM was not a karate game. so why are you blaming the refree?

• Cedi Rules 11 years ago

how I wish Ghanaian s concentrate on the dismal performance and chaotic Black Stars team. "Nero fiddling,whilst Rome is on Fire"