You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 02 14Article 264960

Cardinal Turkson will not be first African Pope

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Dziko Kwame 11 years ago

I am no master of the English Language, but the heading of this article:

"Cardinal Turkson will not be first African Pope"

to me, seeks to rather state that his chaces aren't there; that his being considered does not l ...

• BOSS 11 years ago

Kofi, this time you got it all wrong, the Pope has been the leader for almost 8 years not 5 years as you stated. Next time get your facts right.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Boss, to be honest, I just do not know how I arrived at the 5 years. I know Pope Benedict was elected in 2005 so it's a mystery how I tried to change times. Thank you for the correction.

• bob m 11 years ago

Why is that a crime? just consider tat a mistake. We are all not typists. I thank the author for the filla. I am a catholic but i doubt if a black man will be made pope. I hope all Ghanaian Caholics will hold vigils say the ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

I hope you remember now long it took for a non-Italian pope to be selected. There is more politics involed than prayers/spiritual interventions. I am keeping my fingers crossed for Turkson but will be pleasantly surprised if ...

• luck 11 years ago

I sincerely agree with you.I almost nearly did not read it because i was disappointment about the pessimistic head line impression of the writer.If it were not for the pedigree of the writer i might not have read it.Having sa ...

• nana 11 years ago

he wrote that there have been 3 african popes already. so even if Cardinal Turkson wins, HE WONT BE THE FIRST AFRICAN POPE

Dziko and Luck, you have made a good point and it's well taken. Perhaps, I should have headed it, "Cardinal Turkson will not be the first African Pope". By the way, I am glad you did not judge the book by its cover as the hea ...

• GOOD CALL 11 years ago

Your article is correct but the heading is wrong. You could have just added a question mark to the heading. Good and informative though.

• Somebody 11 years ago

Well well well. Do not equate anything to the Father Son and Holy Spirit that way. Otherwise you will end up blaspheming big time.?Have?you?heard?about?Dr.?Alex?Quaison- Sackey from Winneba, Ghana? Give you a little homework. ...

• Somebody 11 years ago

Well well well. Do not equate anything to the Father Son and Holy Spirit that way. Otherwise you will end up blaspheming big time.Have you heard about Dr. Alex Quaison- Sackey from Winneba, Ghana? Give you a little homework. ...

• Wofa 11 years ago

Quaison Sackey was the president of the United Nations General Assembly in the sixties. You cannot compare this to the secretary generals post.The President presides over the sessions of the General Assembly. These are 2 diff ...

• jb 11 years ago

some of these guys are poorly educated

• VAQ 11 years ago

WOFA, I LIKE YOUR EXPLANATION, GOOD JOB, EDUCATIONAL.

• Adobah 11 years ago

He wasn't a Pope for sure!

• Thomas 11 years ago

This is the best article I have read in months. Cardinal Turkson works at the Vatican. He understands the politics quite well. He probably knows that his election will be more traumatic than the news of the Popes resignation. ...

Somebody, I do remember the 3rd Commandment very well and will never take the Lord thy God in vain. It was just an expression to indicate how great such a global honour will add to the existing Ghanaian global personalities. ...

• Nyansa 11 years ago

Irrespective of the heading, this surely is a well written piece. Folks lets be real for once.

• Constantine Nanguo 11 years ago

I do agree with the ideas and concerns expressed by the writer. Cardinal Turkson himself has to be careful about his remarks concerning his candidature. He should have refused any media interviews concerning this subject. Let ...

• LONTO-BOY 11 years ago

MASSA KOFI, this is a good piece. And it's great to know we share the same Catholic faith. I think the Media and Bookmakers may have jinxed the chances of Ghana's Cardinal Peter Turkson. The Media and Bookmakers speculations ...

• K. Afrane 11 years ago

The Cardinal should not have given those interviews. I am concerned about that. The last thing you want to do at a time like this is to put your face out there, rather leave people to wonder

• Ekow Amonoo 11 years ago

When the current Pope was elected Cardinal Turkson visited Chicago and both the Ghanaian Catholic Catholic community and Ghanaian Non-Catholics had the opportunity to celebrate a mass and had a communty meeting with him. Duri ...

My good brother, how are you doing? You have been missing on this forum for sometime. I hope everything is fine except that you have just been busy. Nice to see you back and to read your usual positive contributions.

• Thomas 11 years ago

The heading of this article is right. The author is saying that cardinal Turkson even if he will become the next pope will not be the first African pope.

• J, a Ghanaian Catholic 11 years ago

What? Cardinal Turkson as Pope? Never!It will not happen! It should not happen! Amen! I am Ghanaian and a catholic but I do not see Turkson as Pope. Electing the pope has nothing to do with national pride or chauvenism as man ...

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

if our Olorun wants him to be the pope, no amount of your lies would prevent him to be in that position, mr. phd.

• Ray 11 years ago

None of the eligible candidates and including Turkson, is a saint. What you just outlined is to say that he is human after all. You didn't prove that he cannot function as a pope. As pope, he will have the extra blessings of ...

• J, a Ghanaian Catholic 11 years ago

Thanks so much for your opinions. No one is a born saint. True! But what makes you particularly desirous that it should be him and not any other cardinal. After all he is not the only African cardinal in the decasteries of th ...

• BIG BRO 11 years ago

J a catholic from Ghana...You are so mistaken. .and you know it..wondering what motivates you..you can keep going with your misrepresentations. You will stop and when you do remember this forum might not be big enough for th ...

• ME 11 years ago

well said brother.

• PapaP 11 years ago

When will we stop this negative attitude. Mr. J or whoever you are, I personally know CT and he is A MAN OF HUMBLE HEART and AN INTELLECTUAL HEAD. He is no saint, and just like you and I he can get it wrong. He takes a stand ...

• DEE 11 years ago

Mr ghanaian catholic do you hate Cardinal Turkson so much.He is a human being and is prone to make a mistake.No one on this earth is perfect.

• Morally good without god 11 years ago

Why no mention of his anti homosexuality views?

He has at least made slightly reasonable comments about condoms/aids on the Afican continent.

• Constantine Nanguo 11 years ago

I presume with a high degree of certainty that you are not a Catholic. You must a perfectionist of the highest degree who always sees others problems and forget completely about your own shortcomings.

Turkson is a human b ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 11 years ago

Kofi,the Pope served for eight years and not five years.He was elected in 2005 at the age of 78.
    Cardinal Turkson stand a chance to be Pope and we should all be praying for him.

• Opanin 11 years ago

Kofi sorry to divert the topic a little. I am also a Catholic and it is the prayer of all of us that the Holy Spirit will guide the Church Fathers to choose a successor of St Peter who will steer the church in this 21st Centu ...

Opanin, I believed I addressed the matter in my article entitled, "What an Historic Supreme Court Judgement", which appeared on Ghanaweb on February 6, 2013. I agree with you that as we get to know more about the further and ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

Kofi Ata, I think it is also important to point out that when Victor l (189-199), Miltiades (310-314), Gelasius (492-496) were elected as Popes, the world was not as racist as it is now.

Racism as a phenomenon started in 1 ...

• YAA ANANE 11 years ago

Saint Victor pray for Africans.

• Kwaku Tee 11 years ago

In fact the first time I heard the interview on BBC that was what came to my mind,that they are reducing his chances of him becoming a pope.You may discount this factor but I know these western media have a way of blowing awa ...

• MABRUDA 11 years ago

Mabruda, a dey for London. A sabey wetin u dey talk. Yeah, they know how to undo what they do not want by making it look like what they prefer! It has started already. I read the Times in a London library in some bewilderment ...

• ghanaba 11 years ago

what an iliterate, gh bla bla bla. why do we always want to be first to show our emptiness, it has become a national pride like our coach.

• MAKEMAKE 11 years ago

What's your point, Oga? You can't even spell illiterate. Get a life.

• asante 11 years ago

Will be good for Cardinal Turkson. But i pray they seek divine intervention. You know Catholics are very conservative and electing a black pope might cripple the faith in other parts of the world. But if God says, who can di ...

• Akua Shebang 11 years ago

A black pope? what a wishful thinking!

The faith is growing strongest in South America and Africa. Every passing year Europeans and Americans (yes there's a loud obnoxious minority) become more tolerant and racially diverse if anything this could draw those people ...

• MABRUDA 11 years ago

I greatly appreciate your analysis and the information you provide. As a Ghanaian living in the UK for the last 30 years or so, I have followed the British media with some interest when it comes to "outsiders" moving on in an ...

• Ananse, Madrid 11 years ago

I like your article. full stop

• Kwesi A 11 years ago

Very nice article however, like others commented,the heading is misleading.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

THEY R ALL GAYS IN SMPCKS. CATHOLIC PRIESTS RAPE LITTLE ALTER BOYS AND GO UNPUNISHED. CARDINAL TURKSON WILL BE THE NEW POPE. GAYS, NOW CATHOLICISM WILL BE RAINED DOWN ON THE BLACK RACE. ANYTIME GHE POWERS THAT BE CHOSE A BLAC ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

What about St Augustine? Kofi check it up.

• Kwesi - USA 11 years ago

If a white person had written this, we will be jumping all over the place calling it racism.
    I am not against anyone routing for someone but I feel this is more spiritual and a call for prayers for the best person to be chos ...

Kwesi, I can assure you that irrespective of whoever wrote this article, the contents are not racist in whatever shape of form. I do not know about US Race Legislation but very well versed with UK Race and Equality Legislatio ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 11 years ago

Delete the Trinity blasphemy

Dr Glah, see my earlier response to Luck's comment on the same subject. I apologise if you consider the comparison blasphemous.

• Richard Garbrah 11 years ago

We are saying the first black pope! Not the first african pope

• Oghenevwaire Akpoviroro 11 years ago

First "Black African Pope"?
    No. Africa north of the Sahara was inhabited by black Africans up until the 7th century,so Pope Victor 1 from Tripolitania in North Africa was a black African.

• STEVE - LONDON 11 years ago

SPOT ON! I couldn't agree more. He is the person the right wing press dont want and are out reduce his chances.

• Ablai 11 years ago

A careful analysis of the situation. I totally agree with the perspective of the article and wish Cardinal Turkson the best. Although there are some few omissions e.g. dates & grammar, I think the title is ok and reflective o ...

• kofi mensah 11 years ago

If obama qualifies to be called a blackman why does he not qualify to be called a whiteman? is it because what is not whole is enough to be whole for africans?

Kofi Mensah, I am not sure if I described Obama as Black African. On your question of why Obama is not called a whiteman, I do not have the answer but form my knowledge of the subject, it's probably because white people are t ...

• AJJ 11 years ago

Kofi, according to history, Alex Qauyson-Sackey is the first Black African south of the Sahara to become the Secretary General of the United Nations, and not His Excellency Kofi Annan,thanks.

• luck 11 years ago

No not secretary general but Quayson was president of the general assembly which is relatively less important than the secretary general.

He was the first Black African south of the Sahara to preside over a UN General Assembly and not UN Secretary General. The two are not the same.

Ethnically I see your point he clearly is of both white & black African descent but to step into the minefield of skin colour carefully in appearance he is clearly black not white thou its true that if he had only very pale b ...

• jb 11 years ago

place a call to the Vatican to do your due diligence...

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

Those three Popes from North Africa were Black Popes. They were called 'Afer,' a term which was not only geographical but ethnic as well.

• kofi 11 years ago

8 years not 'just five years'

• OTOYO 11 years ago

Wuy do Ghanaians tikels themselves and laugh? Lets wait and see

• Adobah 11 years ago

Brother Atta, am so glad you have such a rich information to share. Your points were so clear if not concise. I felt as if I was listening to my favorite middle school teacher (Master Oduro)in Sunyani High Street. He was so g ...

Please forgive me. I believe in God but I am not very religious, so I do not recite "Hail Mary" daily but weekly when I go to Mass. I am sorry about what now appears to be me trivialising the "Trinity". I will be careful next ...

• VAQ 11 years ago

KOFI, YOU HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. THIS IS A NICE AND INFORMATIVE PIECE OF WRITING. GOOD JOB.

• Jim Kelly(NY) 11 years ago

This was a magnificently -written piece. Mr. Kofi Ata, I salute your poignant analysis and insightful dissertation. I also believe that cardinal Turkson would not be made a pope even if he is the most qualified. There are som ...

• Gyamfi 11 years ago

Are we sure this cardinal Turkson does not have a "secret" child somewhere in Ghana? It has happened before ooooo. And from what I hear it is happening now all over the country. Hmmmmmmmmm....

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

BOTTOM LINE

• johnny gill 11 years ago

Good job kofi

• ONYIMPA 11 years ago

DREAM ON YOU FUNKED OUT BRAINWASHED, RELIGIOUSLY BAMBOOZLED CROSSED EYED BLOOGUES!!!....THERE WILL BE NO AFRICAN POPE OKAY?!!!..NEVER!!!. IT'S NAME IS THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH!!!...ROMAN NOT AFRICAN.

• Miroslav Krzak 11 years ago

The new Pope should come from either Africa or Latin America. Possible return to the election of an Italian would be the clearest mark that the Roman Catholic Church still is not ready to accept reforms and necessary
    change ...

As a humanist I would love to see a black pope. It should do wonders for tackling racism but it is a shame that he is an outspoken homophobe.

Still baby steps I guess, racism 1st sexism & homopobia later.

• Joe 11 years ago

There are some racist among the catholic leaders who will never want to see a black rise to such a high office.