Our colleagues in Ghana don't like this. They calll it too known. Chairs of university departments panic when you visit their departments! I agree, there are many things we can do to help, but remember that they see you as TOO KNOWN.
But let an oburoni with less experience suggest what you have recommended! Pronto! They will hire him/her.
Years ago, I wanted to interview a prominent Omanhene for a paper that a white professor and I were co-authoring. The white man knew that I speak the local langauges so as soon as we arrived in Ghana he relaxed and I seized the space to take a lot of the research initiatives.
Well, I went to the Omanhene's palace well-dressed and manicured in manners. I sought audience with the Omanhene. His Okyeame said the Omanhene was not available to see me. Not that he had no time or had traveled. He just didn't want to meet with me.
So I told the white man to go and give it a try. I knew the result: the white man would be given full access to the palace. And in fact, that was exactly what happened. The Omanhene put on his best Kente and quickly assembled his courtiers and the queen-mother to give ears to the white man. The sad thing was that the white man was in some dirty T-shirt, battered flip-flops, and an old jeans.
So you see Kwaku if you had been white man the EC would hire you pronto!
Chap 12 years ago
Please write to me at Enoch_o@yahoo.com
Akadu Mensema 12 years ago
Here is my email:
akadumensema@yahoo.com
Here is my email:
akadumensema@yahoo.com
SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago
Kwaku, need you be that sarcastic to make your point? Read over your piece and see if someone was saying this to you you would accept his message? You are not communicating!
Talking of the obroni? No obroni would use sarca ... read full comment
Kwaku, need you be that sarcastic to make your point? Read over your piece and see if someone was saying this to you you would accept his message? You are not communicating!
Talking of the obroni? No obroni would use sarcasm as a mode of communicating his point. The obroni would communicate effectively and his message would be most welcome. That is the difference between the obroni and the black man.
But talking of Akadu co-authoring a publication! With what English? And just imagine how she is brimming with pride because of her association with a white professor? May be she was engaged as a lady of the night or a cleaner/cook!!!
ghanaman 12 years ago
Sgt, nice of you to call on a writer not to be sarcastic. In the same piece of advice, you surmise whether another writer wasn't "engaged as a lady of the night or a cleaner/cook". Hmmm ....
Mahome 12 years ago
Akadu, times have changed in Ghana. Ghanaians living in Ghana are being given the opportunity to do things and turn them around. All you need do is stop the ridiculing like Kwaku the writer adopted and present you ideas written in decent language and pass them on.
Fact be told, we are increasingly getting tired of old ways and the status quo is changing. All you need to do is not to sound "too known", but appear knowledgeable enough to deliver the right quality in a cost effective manner.
With pleasure
Nana Yaw III 12 years ago
Kwaku,
With all your knowledge in Finance, Engineering and Real Estate, you should have known that Afari Gyan (and for that matter, the EC) cannot be the one to churn out a unique ID card for Ghanaians. How can the EC be th ... read full comment
Kwaku,
With all your knowledge in Finance, Engineering and Real Estate, you should have known that Afari Gyan (and for that matter, the EC) cannot be the one to churn out a unique ID card for Ghanaians. How can the EC be the one to ID a new-born baby?
I agree with you that we need ID's from birth, but with your tone, I will rather want you to come back and tell readers the best way to get the ID system in place.
Kojo T 12 years ago
Akadu , that is you and Adofo worshiping " obroni" as usual
OBIBA-JUDAS 12 years ago
GOD PUNISH U THAT KWEKU>NDC CRIMINALS>WE SHALL SEE IN COURT>
KWAME CHARLES 12 years ago
AKADU MENSEMA you wrote your article saying,u are a woman,SHAME ON YOU NDC THIEFS>AKUFFO ADDOH IS WATING U CRIMINALS ON COURT THREE DAYS TIME>>
Akadu Mensema 12 years ago
What has Akufo-Addo got to do with this?
Nana Yaw III 12 years ago
Kwaku,
With all your knowledge in Finance, Engineering and Real Estate, you should have known that Afari Gyan (and for that matter, the EC) cannot be the one to churn out a unique ID card for Ghanaians. How can the EC be the ... read full comment
Kwaku,
With all your knowledge in Finance, Engineering and Real Estate, you should have known that Afari Gyan (and for that matter, the EC) cannot be the one to churn out a unique ID card for Ghanaians. How can the EC be the one to ID a new-born baby?
I agree with you that we need ID's from birth, but with your tone, I will rather want you to come back and tell readers the best way to get the ID system in place.
nana addo 12 years ago
So who won the election?
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
I am sure there is always room for improvement and we can do better next time. Does that satisfy you?
kwaku 12 years ago
kudos kwaku. i think is already aware of all that. Ghana has engineers just like you but the question is how to translate these ideas into action. with well sructured database foreiners will identify themselves as foreiners. if you go to our borders it is so appalling the way people pay 1000cfa to get into the country. Ghana has now come a long way we need effective control measures. Some people have done it. its easy doing it but its difficult to understand our leaders.
Dave 12 years ago
I think that's a nice idea, but if they would only take it in good fiath.
Alex London 12 years ago
This is a well meaning piece but I am afraid fols back home will flung your ideas. Just like you I have had a very sucessful career in the UK as a chief executive/Director companies in the UK, particularly in the field of enterprise development and investment promotion. In 1993 I w as approached by British Council to help them to set up an enterprise aqgency in Ghana, The Empretec Foundation. Some key staff were sent to my company for training. I felt so proud and happy that I was giving back to my mother lan.
Quite recently, I checked in in a hotel what I saw was very bad. The receptionist was on the phone for a personal chart whilst check in guests wait. asked to see the manager and when I did I told him that customer service in the hotel was appalling and even though I was on holiday I was willing to deliver a workshop for the staff on cusomer servie free of charge. My offer was no tken.
I have come to realise tht in Ghana customer service is non existence. c And the game is no one has asked you to come here
Uncle Al 12 years ago
Wow!!! Chief eexecutive in London with poor spellings and poor word formation. No wonder the hotel manager rejected your offer, I would!!! Peace.
srome 12 years ago
Typical Ghanaian, have to be defensive at all times, the msge from Mr. Alex was clear, how about stating what has been your contribution to fix the rotten customer service system in the nation..
whiteman 12 years ago
We have a long way to go, but frm ur article I could see that u r willing to help the nation, so jxt try and send ur proposals to all the government institutions so that they can debate on its.
Because our leaders know all t ... read full comment
We have a long way to go, but frm ur article I could see that u r willing to help the nation, so jxt try and send ur proposals to all the government institutions so that they can debate on its.
Because our leaders know all this abt they jxt think abt what they will enjoy.
Tnx
kutriku 12 years ago
Kwaku, do u think Afari Gyan will listen to you? He purposely and maliciously did all these clumsy and confusing things to enable him steal the election in favor of Mahama. After all it is an open secret that Afari Gyan was heavily bribed.
srome 12 years ago
In the year 2000 and 2004 Former President Ku4 won both elections, was it a stolen election for Ku4 too?
Our colleagues in Ghana don't like this. They calll it too known. Chairs of university departments panic when you visit their departments! I agree, there are many things we can do to help, but remember that they see you as TO ...
Here is my email:
akadumensema@yahoo.com
Talking of the obroni? No obroni would use sarca ...
Akadu, times have changed in Ghana. Ghanaians living in Ghana are being given the opportunity to do things and turn them around. All you need do is stop the ridiculing like Kwaku the writer adopted and present you ideas writt ...
Kwaku,
With all your knowledge in Finance, Engineering and Real Estate, you should have known that Afari Gyan (and for that matter, the EC) cannot be the one to churn out a unique ID card for Ghanaians. How can the EC be th ...
Kwaku,
With all your knowledge in Finance, Engineering and Real Estate, you should have known that Afari Gyan (and for that matter, the EC) cannot be the one to churn out a unique ID card for Ghanaians. How can the EC be the ...
So who won the election?
kudos kwaku. i think is already aware of all that. Ghana has engineers just like you but the question is how to translate these ideas into action. with well sructured database foreiners will identify themselves as foreiners. ...
This is a well meaning piece but I am afraid fols back home will flung your ideas. Just like you I have had a very sucessful career in the UK as a chief executive/Director companies in the UK, particularly in the field of ent ...
Because our leaders know all t ...
Kwaku, do u think Afari Gyan will listen to you? He purposely and maliciously did all these clumsy and confusing things to enable him steal the election in favor of Mahama. After all it is an open secret that Afari Gyan was h ...