You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 01 02Article 260984

The Ever-Increasing Number Of MPs In Ghana ....

Read Comments Comments (31)

• JM IS PRESIDENT 11 years ago

...WHO DROPPED YOU ON YOUR HEAD WHEN HE DELIVERED YOU!

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 11 years ago

Stop population growth in Ghana and the EC will apply the brakes.

• OTCHERE DARKO 11 years ago

[Uncle] Kwesi Atta Sakyi

You are spot-on right here.

The best solution WOULD have been to "Stop population growth in Ghana and the EC will apply the brakes"

PERFECT SOLUTION BUT......

When it comes to "stop popul ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

WE CAN MAKE GOOD COMMENTS WITHOUT NECESSARILY SOUNDING INSULTING WHAT DO YOU THINK? OBVIOUSLY WE NEED TO CAP THESE NUMBER OF REPRESENTATIVES, THERE SHOULD BE APPROPRIATE LEGISLATION TO COVER THAT

• Monitor 11 years ago

I am not a lawyer, but I think that the Constitution should be amended and fixed geographical boundries used. If you fall into a particular boundry, you have one MP. After all, Bantama as a constituency has over 80,000 voters ...

• MR. FIGURE- OUT 11 years ago

You have raised an issue which seems to ridicule this write up but it is certainly a point of interest. That is the main reason why the author is calling for the review of the infamous constitutional instrument that allows Af ...

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

JM IS PRESIDENT you call yourself, please, if you have nothing sensible to contribute to educate us, no need for thrash.

• JM IS PRESIDENT 11 years ago

HOW CAN YOU HAVE A VIEW IF YOU ARE BLIND AND STOOOOOOPID???!!!! WOW!

• jojo 11 years ago

I've been asking the same questions, until i was informed the constitution made provision for it. That part of the constitution needs to be amended, with our size and population we should not have more than 200 constituencies ...

• jojo 11 years ago

I've been asking the same questions, until i was informed the constitution made provision for it. That part of the constitution needs to be amended, with our size and population we should not have more than 200 constituencies ...

• jojo 11 years ago

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 11 years ago

Otchere I wonder you read government or political science. Every time the population increases, it is perfectlY normal to create new constituencies to have fair representation of the people. This is part of growth and develop ...

• DAN 11 years ago

Are you for real?

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

we currently have 200 useless MPs

• Yarchoe 11 years ago

I agree with you. The MPs we already have actually do nothing at all for the country and the people so why increase them to waste more money.

• afua köln 11 years ago

nersdzuhfvi

• Kay,Tema 11 years ago

PA DUMAT ADJOA BEAAD

• OTCHERE DARKO 11 years ago

Afua Köln,

I have put that the "word bastards" in "inverted commas, begin and close". That means it is a quote. So don't blame me for its use.

In defence of Rawlings who first used the original, if politicians in Ghana ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

This is what happens when you allowed the EC chairman to wield so much power,Afari Gyan behaved as if he owns Ghana no amount of advice would go into his coconut head.A simple cost and benefit analysis would show that it does ...

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

We Ghanaians have ourselves to blame.
    If we had called for the removal of Afari Gyan , who has overstayed his office by age, all the unnecessary creation of avoidable costs could have been escaped.

We the taxpayers are go ...

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago-USA 11 years ago

Gentlemen the wahala is not Afari Gyan who has discharged his duties as a good ghanaman.I think Ghana should honour the EC boss for seing ghana through all elections with success.The problem lies with the 1992 constitution wh ...

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

You make what pear to be sound arguments but don't you think the decisions about new constituencies are far more complex than you portray here?
    Perhaps we need to look at public spending in a far more detailed and critical ...

• ADAMA- 11 years ago

NDC is purely cursed,made up of fools, animals and thieves. Fire go burn them all thieves-.Nothing good will happen to ghana

• USMAN 11 years ago

Politics is the only lucrative job in Ghana. All you need to be a politician is a university degree and the ability to steal.

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

THE SOLUTION IS SIMPLE. AMEND ARTICLE 47 TO FIX THE NUMBER OF MPS SAY 200. GIVE THE EC THE POWER TO DEMARCATE CONSTITUENCY BOUNDARIES SO THAT ALL CONSTITUENCIES HAVE APPROXIMATELY THE SAME NUMBER OF VOTERS. OF COURSE THE NPP ...

• Kwadwo Poku 11 years ago

The problem is not population growth nor article 45 of the 1992 constitution which is a sham to begin with. It is incompetence and a subterfuge for one party to have power in perpetuity, pure and simple. The US population of ...

• Titugri 11 years ago

I have always been thinking about this issue and asking myself whether the "smart" guys who added this in the constitution ready gave any serious thought about it.

The USA has a population of 310 million by the 2010 census ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

An interesting article.Kuffour created 30 Mps in addition and the SC said IT WAS IL-LEGAL. The EC has ADDED 45 and IT IS LEGAL! NOT LONG AGO, there was this CRC (constitutional Review Commission)......Was there ANY RECOMMENDA ...

• Kofi Ellison 11 years ago

The “population quota”, referenced in Article 47 of the COnstitution must be cited in context; because the Article specifically uses the word 'alter' according to the 'population quota'. 'Alter' does not necessary mean 'a ...

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

The people are better represented the more the constituencies;that is the quantity side.In the same way our development is better spread the more the district assemblies and sub-metropoltan units. For quality, that is ensurin ...

• Dixy 11 years ago

Democracy has nothing to do with creating more MPs. Nominally, the MPs are expected to represent the people, but when you listen to debates in parliament, it is evident that they only care about their party's stance on issues ...