We might not get the best, but there are smart Ghanaians like you, Mr. Writer, who have also gained expertise and knowledge abroad who are equally working abroad like any white guy, to come to Ghana and help us with the mining. If we don't get 100% and we get 50% from our own might we will move forward and one day be an expert. It's all determination and a sense of Patriotism that is moving BurKina Faso ahead. I might not be an Nkrumaist but I will always praise him of his sense of determination, patriotism and confidence. We are not perfect, but we can get there if we do something now. We will never be of that stadard you think the white folks are if don't get our hands dirty and always be afraid of failure. If we fail, and so what? If we don't deserve it, then why did God give it to us. Let's keep moving, Man, and put your books and degrees away. Knowledge without practicality, is useless.
H Aborbi 1 month ago
The gentleman has suggested options which are likely to generate better economic outcomes. Take a look at politics in Ghana: a new government will come and change the leadership of all public companies and e institutions with their foot soldiers, look at the mess in cocoa board. The debate about ownership and economic outcome has long been settled. May be the governance expect should read on what happened in Zambia when the government took over the copper mines. It was a disaster. Patriotism is one thing, running a mine successfully is another.
TRUTH 1 month ago
There are no suggestions other than fear mongering in this article.
we must as well, leave our homes for foreigners to run since they may take better care of our families.
We owe it to ourselves to think and evolve wa ... read full comment
we must as well, leave our homes for foreigners to run since they may take better care of our families.
We owe it to ourselves to think and evolve ways to manage our own resources.
Are the gold mining machines from Heaven?????
Mining is a specialist area and no footsoldier will survive in that environment.
We somehow spend millions each year on scholarships for so called brilliant children who should be bonded to go into such areas.
Cocobod failings has nothing to do with foot soldiers. In fact, if we bravely develop love for our nation, it doesn't matter which foot soldiers go into any department, there must be success..
Lack of love for our nation of which the two of you exhibit in abundance is what has left us in this nightmare.
Our problem in Ghana are the people quietly earning money from our collective failures masking themselves as reasonable individuals.
I pray for the day, when your kinds would be the fewer and less listened to in Ghana because you are seriously helping our underdevelopment.
TRUTH 1 month ago
Maybe it is time to shut down the mines for future generations since we've hopeless mismanaged our share and still have no brains to mine them, says the ones who enjoyed scholarships to study abroad. Useless.
KELEWELE 1 month ago
MASSA YOU DEY LIE
================
You are advocating what we have been doing...and have done since adam! Why?
Just shine your eyes away from your "obsessive" West and see what China has done to lift 1bn+ LIVES out of pove ... read full comment
MASSA YOU DEY LIE
================
Just shine your eyes away from your "obsessive" West and see what China has done to lift 1bn+ LIVES out of poverty....WHILE THERE IS STILL HOMELESSNESS in the "greatest" empire US in history.
Ad3n?
Kwasi 1 month ago
Should we allow foreigners to mine our resources to enrich themselves and build their countries? Is that what this writer is saying? They will then turn back to tell us we are a poor country and chase our citizens out of their country.
When will we wise up and fight to save our country?
Should Ghana be at the mercy of small change and few dollars in the pockets of those who sell us out?
Kwasi 1 month ago
Should we allow foreigners to mine our resources to enrich themselves to build their countries? Is that what this writer is saying? They will then turn back to tell us we are a poor country and chase our citizens out of their country.
When will we wise up and fight to save our country?
Should Ghana be at the mercy of small change and few dollars in the pockets of those who sell us out?
Imani 1 month ago
Who is this boot-licker?
Fromtomfrom 1 month ago
A shameless exhibition of dogmatic-idiotic attachment to Western neo-liberal nonsense, and afro-inferiority complex.
The Mahama's will take over and soon collapse it 1 month ago
The Chiefs and politicians are dangerously toying with the fate of Ghanaians and all key beneficiaries including the chiefs themselves, locals, workers and the general public. By the way, has govt ever run any successful mine before? What happened to Obuase and other mines owned by govt. Ministers, party chairmen, footsoldiers, president's family etc etc will all instruct the MD to kowtow to them. Workers will be recruited without qualifications and in excess, bureaucracy will set in and soon the mine will be history. Because of hypocrisy some parochial persons are shouting take over take over but will soon shut up quietly when the mine starts to collapse. Some people in Ghana are so daft that we better banish them
We might not get the best, but there are smart Ghanaians like you, Mr. Writer, who have also gained expertise and knowledge abroad who are equally working abroad like any white guy, to come to Ghana and help us with the minin ...
The gentleman has suggested options which are likely to generate better economic outcomes. Take a look at politics in Ghana: a new government will come and change the leadership of all public companies and e institutions with ...
We owe it to ourselves to think and evolve wa ...
MASSA YOU DEY LIE
================
Just shine your eyes away from your "obsessive" West and see what China has done to lift 1bn+ LIVES out of pove ...
Should we allow foreigners to mine our resources to enrich themselves and build their countries? Is that what this writer is saying? They will then turn back to tell us we are a poor country and chase our citizens out of the ...
Should we allow foreigners to mine our resources to enrich themselves to build their countries? Is that what this writer is saying? They will then turn back to tell us we are a poor country and chase our citizens out of thei ...
Who is this boot-licker?
The Chiefs and politicians are dangerously toying with the fate of Ghanaians and all key beneficiaries including the chiefs themselves, locals, workers and the general public. By the way, has govt ever run any successful mine ...