Kofi Marfo go check that in 1976 Ghana refused to allow the US Secretary of State Henry Kissinger to Ghana. Nothing happened.
TRUTH BE TOLD 1 month ago
THIS KOFI MARFO GUY IS SPEAKING OUT OF IGNORANCE.
NON-IMMIGRANT VISAS IS NOT BAN FOR GHANAIANS.
STOP MISLEADING PEOPLE
VISA'S THAT ARE BANNED ARE THE IMMIGRANTS VISA
SO STOP THIS IGNORANCE OF YOURS.
STOP MISLEADING PEOPLE
Kwame 1 month ago
I don't really know why Okudjeto Ablakwaa doesn't want to simmer down a bit. You may have been with knit with Kwesi Prat's Pan Arab and Socialist Forum orientation but being a Foreign Minister, you must weigh your actions and advise government in the very best interest of the Ghanaians in general. Some of us are NDC loyalists and believe your future is good for our party and country. Please consider Ghana's position as Non Alligned when dealing with international politics, Diplomacy and relationship in the greater interest of our nation so that, we don't have to become bullies in the hand of a Powerhouse like Whitehouse. We are just a suffering nation living in a state of deprivation, hunger, squalor and diseases. A number of our compatriots may have to out to better their lots and cater for the dependants and for sure USA has been that first priority for many. Please Ghana is not there yet. Thank you
Noza 1 month ago
Your thinking is pathetic.
Prince 1 month ago
That's the reason why you will steal from the country and then you run to US and request for permanent stay so you can run from accountability from your country.well done trump God bless.
Nana Yaw 1 month ago
You’re rather ignorant about what is happening here in United States. The political landscape has completely changed since the current president took office last year. President Mahama and his team should be mindful of their dealings with the current US administration. Washington has changed completely and the impact on the globe is enormous.
Prince 1 month ago
Stay and develop your own countryside.so this the reason why you will still from the country and then you run to the US and request for permanent stay to run from accountability . well done trump we will be here and hold our leaders for accountability.
2Heavy 1 month ago
Where mindful means what? you should rather be mindful and concern about the current "political landscape" in the America you live because you pay your taxes to Trump. Visa restrictions is NOT sovereignty taken away from Ghanaians. Enough of the nonsense.
Baby jet 1 month ago
Kwasia read what you wrote
Fairman 1 month ago
Yeah, Peter though your comment wasn't complete l recall too what you wanted to remind us of what happened.
Yes, Mr. Henry Kissinger, US Secretary of State then, who was a known global figure, in the midst of resolving som ... read full comment
Yeah, Peter though your comment wasn't complete l recall too what you wanted to remind us of what happened.
Yes, Mr. Henry Kissinger, US Secretary of State then, who was a known global figure, in the midst of resolving some global issues, felt Ghana, under General Kutu Acheampong, was very relevant in the resolution of the pending issue.
General Acheampong refused to meet Mr. Kissinger because of US compromised position.
Madam Shirley Temple Black, the then US Ambassador, was reported to have wept because Ghana declined the meeting with this powerful man, which perhaps would have enhanced the profile of Madam Temple Black.
It was big big news!
Scorp1 1 month ago
What a sad commentary. The reason Ghana is on the list has nothing to do with Ablakwa. It has everything to do with US internal politics. They mentioned their public assistance program being patronized by Ghanaian immigrants. But there are others. The slave mentality here is shocking: Don’t antagonize the master or he will hurt us. The idea that Ghana is a special friend of the US is laughable. The US has no friends, only interests. And that, my friend, is rightly so. What Ablakwa says or doesn’t say means nothing in Washington.
Subsidise petrol to reduce petrol cost not cedi dollar 1 month ago
You did it with free SHS.... You get an organic economy not an artificial economy...it's still why things are so expensive. This is how China's economy grew.
Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down price ... read full comment
You did it with free SHS.... You get an organic economy not an artificial economy...it's still why things are so expensive. This is how China's economy grew.
Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down prices and encourage alot and alot job creation, more consumer spend for you to make your money back through taxation.
Ghanaians will have alot to money left to save for projects.
It also strengthens the cedi against the dollar, inflation...so you don't need to artificially pump billions of dollars to create artificial strong cedi. Instead use it to subsidise petrol. Cedi will stabilise naturally.
5 yrs jail and a fine for smugglers. For benefit of Ghana and Ghanaians ONLY
They focused on dollar and not petrol and wonder why economy never worked.
You get 2 for 1 bargain..Ghana what are we doing struggling? lack of knowledge oo
Solving the nigerian Cyber crime for good 1 month ago
Pass the foreigner rental bill
All Landlords renting to foreigners for stay must register their tenants details at the nearest police station. Invest in the infrastructure- you won't be disappointed. You did it with Ghana card.
This is done in China to prevent crime and abuse by foreigners in China. Failure to comply is 6 months in jail and a fine.
What foreign criminal wanting to do ashawo, scam, etc would want their details at the police station? So Ghana becomes unattractive for nigerian scammers.
-Gov't should fund monthly workshops to educate Ghana Immigration on WHY they must secure our borders-this is lack of education and ignorance. Our forefathers died for you to have a country and today you are selling GH passport for $5k and 20GHS for crossborder?Educating is important. Gh can work and prosper. We can do this oo
Kramai 1 month ago
Even barbados is on the list.
Joko 1 month ago
Kofi Marfo what of other countries that didn't criticise but among the countries banned??
Yao 1 month ago
Sounds like you prefer stomach direction than to hold on to principles. You're only interested in visas? Stay home.
Cosmos 1 month ago
COME AND GROW YOUR COUNTRY.. AND STOP THE FOOLISH TALK... WE HAVE TO CHANGE.
Thomas 1 month ago
The ancient clown who wrote this most disgraceful and shameful piece, obviously has no sense of national pride nor personal dignity. Like the rest of his associates in the Nkwasiafuor Peoples Party who, on the eve of independence, flew all the way to the UK to beg our colonial dictators and tyrants not to grant Ghana independence because in their view, we were not ready to be granted independence by barbarians who had subjected humanity to slavery, colonial tyranny and the massive theft of the resources of vulnerable people around the world.
70 years after this sordid affair, these retards have still not recovered from their inferiority complex and imposed slave mentality. It is frightening to realize that at this late point in world history and the evolution of mankind, we still have remnants of early human beings who find comfort in fear and backward humility. This man is aghast that Okudjeto Ablakwa should express the courage to stand on the side of righteousness and all known global institutions as well as the laws that regulate modern human conduct, together with over 90% of govts and countries of the world.
Od 1 month ago
Kofi Margo tell your uncle to bring our monies right from Bank of housing etc
Okukuseku wofa 1 month ago
This person is a threat to our beloved country Ghana, so he mean we should sell our morals for american visas? What a shameful human being is that,( is black man not capable of managing and develop his own country?
Kwame 1 month ago
"Death and life are in the power of the tongue,
And those who love it will eat its fruit." (Proverbs 18:21)
Probably this is what we wanted. This may facilitate our movement from the West and democracy to the East and its associated governance. We voted for a government, and the government chooses an outspoken fearless politician to lead our international diplomacy. We are reflecting our approach to correction of the mistakes on the National Cathedral project. Let us continue to pray for Ghana.
Dinah 1 month ago
Unfortunate write up. We are not puppies of the US
Nsia 1 month ago
Massa, gyae wo nkwasea ke ka no, wai ! Madcap Donald Trump, has all the consistency of a chameleon. The man is the ugliest and the most unacceptable face of democracy. He is a complete scar on the conscience ofany principled and reasonable democrat. He is well out of friggin order. We do not need any lecture about a maniac such as Donald Trump. Did the whole world elect him or we are all compelled to bow to his idiotic whims and caprices?
Prince 1 month ago
That's is country whether you like it or not and can choose to do what ever he wants.
Prekese 1 month ago
Well sometimes, sometimes they thip0
Kwajo 1 month ago
Useless write up to the highest level!
I'm proud of Mr. Ablakwa. If better to speak against undemocratic actions of those who preach democracy.
Fairman 1 month ago
Okudzeto did the right thing. If Republican Congress men/women and senators, European leaders and Un cannot let me Mr. Trump know he is wrong in some of his deeds, Ghana, will not hesitate to state or condemn those wrongful deeds.
Most have watched with shock, the unconventional approach by this man, who has been given these enormous powers, treat the whole world with disrespect.
Is the whole world watching out helplessly as this man solely destroy the current form of world order, albeit not perfect until the emergence of another dreaded WORLD WAR?
Unless, the Good Lord, wants to destroy mankind through one person, which I trust he wouldn't, then we all have to go on our knees and pray to him, to let this breeding calamity pass.
I know of a country where through prayers, they were able avoid a calamity in a recent constitutional process of elections in 2024.
The whole world is watching out for early signs to avoid the eventual calamity in the " expected " Mid term elections when our brothers and sisters in the US will do the needful to save the world.
Dudu 1 month ago
I'm not supporting Ablakwa, but you are mistaken if you think our development depends on getting US visas.
Korbla 1 month ago
Kofi Marfo, it is very clear you don't understand the whole visa restriction system. Go and read it thoroughly. Such a complete waste of our time
Baby jet 1 month ago
Wo hwewa, . Is the writer true or false? Tame babies with sharp teeth
Boat STOP THAT NONSENSE. 1 month ago
President akuffo addo gossip about Burkina Faso leader Traore to the u s government and that was o k. for you.
Di wo fie asem 1 month ago
More Wisdom in the Mills Mantra. Okudzeto is a Baby with sharp teeth. Make Ghana Great and let us all enjoy it.
Robert Arhin 1 month ago
Unfortunate article. These are the people who will kiss anyone's ass just to get what they want. Trump doesn't have respect for fellow human beings. For him everything is transactional and everyone is dispensable . If Trump wants to punish us for stating our position on international law so be it. Hitler brought untold hardship to innocent jews because the world stood by unconcerned.
Baby jet 1 month ago
Shit hole mind
Baby jet 1 month ago
You voted for Mahama, so let him develop Ghana. Ofui
Abakradabra 1 month ago
Are you listening to yourself. Stomach political analyst. So because of such nonsense gains diplomatically that is the reason why we shouldn't call a spade a spade. You people will easily sell the truth for personal gains. Chai theeeeseee people hmmmm
123 1 month ago
We are not a strong nation, but playing too important by engaging in America and Israeli affairs. Ablakwa must learn
Gh 1 month ago
Is America heaven? Why do we treat these pink nose pigs like gods..to hell with America..satan infested country where men marry men and women marry women..
Bonus Baba 1 month ago
Please answer this simple question- if Trump slaughtered you dad for no reason,you would support his actions because you want to live in the US ,right? Trump got his mind made up about Africa long time before he became president. I love Traore. He is a Leader. Leaders don't kiss A-----. Ok Dr do little
Manny - Orpington 1 month ago
Very well said. I am an ardent supporter of the NDC but I oppose their foreign policy, especially towards the USA and Israel. Mr FM please get your facts right before going to social media to spew your ignorance.
Osei mensah bonsu 1 month ago
How long have we been doing yes yes to these western countries? And how has that changed us? Pls ww don't need any support. Get out there with ur stomach direction opinion.
Paul 1 month ago
What do you want to achieve with this write up.
Shut up and stop this cheap grandstand.
The US decision has nothing to do with Okudzato's comments.
Do you think saying this will make Trump exempt you and your family?
This ... read full comment
This is shameful and cheap.
James Kwaateng 1 month ago
Look at this miserable soul. Truth should be suppressed because of visa bans. I hope this ignorant man would have given Trump thumps up if the head of state of Ghana had been kidnapped by Trump. You sell your conscience for everything.
Even MAGA folks know SOA’s statement is true 1 month ago
The interesting part is while Kofi Marfo is worried, Trump supporters respect SOA more than him because they know can tell who is a boot leaker and SCB who has principles.
Ebony 1 month ago
This commentary is without basis. Ghana is not on the immigrant ban list because of comments made by the foreign minister. Did governments of the other 74 countries banned make similar comments?
Sly K. Ed 1 month ago
When babies with sharp teeth are placed in higher position that requires maturity , you gave them the impetus to commit blunder. But it's good that he would learn from this. He is far better than some appointees who goes behind the backdoor to solicit favourable conditions for their situation before coming out to boast on social media.
Prosper 1 month ago
Does the writer of the article understand the type of visas we were banned from before making this article. We are not banned from Nonimmigrant visas such as visit, tourist or short stay visas. The ban is on the immigrant visas such as the permanent visas such as visas for green card, spouse visas, etc. As a result, Ghanaians who wants to watch the world can apply for non immigrant visas and these visas will be granted as they are not affected. I believe we should understand implications for decisions before writing comments that are untrue. Whether Ablakwa critics Donald Trump or not will not affect America in any way. They only take decisions that will positively impact America nothing more or less. If as Ghanaians we support everything but lack strategic partnerships we have to start about whether that will benefit us economically or not.
Short angel 1 month ago
Self made slaves of the USA will.panick. I go to the USA as a respected person and I come back and sleep in my home in Ghana. Ghana is my beloved country.
Kweku 1 month ago
Well written! People claim America always acts in its own interest. Well, isn’t that what Ghana is supposed to be doing as well.? China and Russia do the same. They only act in their interests. Why didn’t China and Russia rise up to take action against USA for their actions against Maduro. They know the consequences could hurt them really bad so they stayed away even as a close ally of theirs had been captured.
Ghana is supposed to be neutral when it comes to geopolitics! We don’t lean right or left. Unfortunately, our position on matters recently shows we are cozying up to the Eastern Alliances against the West. This would surely come with repercussions.
Nigeria and other countries like Burkina have had their visa’s temporarily banned for now. Ghana wasn’t part of that list. But for our comments on Venezuela recently, Ghana could have once again been excluded from this new list. You can’t be naive to think you can keep criticizing countries without reciprocal retaliation. What is even more hypocritical is that Iran is killing thousands of its own citizens today, and yet not a single comment from our foreign minister.
Justice One 1 month ago
So, are you saying the president is not consulted before any action or what Okudjeto does is not what JDM wants? Pathetic indeed. The US embassy in Accra has just opened more visa interview slots for the World cup, did you read that?
Ony3 1 month ago
Nons3nse.. is the US heaven..
If Trump is foooooling we must tell him.Ony3 Gbemi??
Who said we need USA to exist as a country..
Buului
Buului
Ina 1 month ago
Good article. Carefully worded. Kudos
nii 1 month ago
BEATUFULLY WRITTEN
Kwabena D Odame-Darkwa 1 month ago
The reason Ghana is on the list has nothing to do with Ablakwa. They mentioned their public assistance program being patronized by Ghanaian immigrants. Ghanaians goes to the US and try to reap what they didn't sow that's the problem we want everything free, nothing is free in America don't throw dust into peoples eyes just be honest and speak the truth. It all about Americans trying to cut cost. American government benefit is for Americans only.
Benedict Ayaaba 1 month ago
LOOK, LET'S LOOK SHARP AS GHANAIANS. IF US HAS BLOCKED GHANAIANS FROM OBTAINING VISAS TO THEIR COUNTRY, WE CAN EQUALLY BLOCK THEM FROM OBTAINING VISAS TO GHANA. WHAT IS OUR PROBLEM??
WE ARE A SOVEREIGN NATION AND WE MUST BE ... read full comment
LOOK, LET'S LOOK SHARP AS GHANAIANS. IF US HAS BLOCKED GHANAIANS FROM OBTAINING VISAS TO THEIR COUNTRY, WE CAN EQUALLY BLOCK THEM FROM OBTAINING VISAS TO GHANA. WHAT IS OUR PROBLEM??
WE ARE A SOVEREIGN NATION AND WE MUST BE RESPECTED AS SUCH. WHY AT THIS ERA WE ARE STILL SUFFERING IN THE HANDS OF THE WHITES AS IF WHAT THEY DID TO OUR FOREFATHERS WAS NOT ENOUGH? ENOUGH OF SO CALL POWER!! WITHOUT AFRICA CAN THEY STRIVE??
WE RUB OUR SELVES FOR THEM THAT'S WHY. LET TRANCATE THEIR CONTRACTS FOR MINNING OUR MINERALS AND OTHER BUSINESS STUFF AND SEE IF THEY CAN SURVIVE. ABA!!! THEY ENTER OUR COUNTRY FREE BUT IF WE WANT TO GO THERE THEN THEY RESTRICT. THEY ARREST DICTATORS YET PRACTICING DICTATORSHIP. TWIAAAAAAA!!!
2Heavy 1 month ago
Kofi Marfo, US Visa restrictions is not sovereignty taken away from Ghanaians..you are ust a coward..period!
Baby jet 1 month ago
Office, let your shit hole country continue to brag. Kwasia , this article speaks sense, it is the best article I have ever comprehensively enjoyed reading. Sensible and wise writer.
Baby jet 1 month ago
Hmmmm! Hopefully, the shit hole country will wake up
STOP MISLEADING PEOPLE
I don't really know why Okudjeto Ablakwaa doesn't want to simmer down a bit. You may have been with knit with Kwesi Prat's Pan Arab and Socialist Forum orientation but being a Foreign Minister, you must weigh your actions and ...
You’re rather ignorant about what is happening here in United States. The political landscape has completely changed since the current president took office last year. President Mahama and his team should be mindful of thei ...
Stay and develop your own countryside.so this the reason why you will still from the country and then you run to the US and request for permanent stay to run from accountability . well done trump we will be here and hold our ...
Where mindful means what? you should rather be mindful and concern about the current "political landscape" in the America you live because you pay your taxes to Trump. Visa restrictions is NOT sovereignty taken away from Ghan ...
Yes, Mr. Henry Kissinger, US Secretary of State then, who was a known global figure, in the midst of resolving som ...
What a sad commentary. The reason Ghana is on the list has nothing to do with Ablakwa. It has everything to do with US internal politics. They mentioned their public assistance program being patronized by Ghanaian immigrants. ...
Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down price ...
All Landlords renting to foreigners for stay must register their tenants details at the nearest police station. Invest in the infrastructure- you won't be disappointed. You did it with Ghana ca ...
The ancient clown who wrote this most disgraceful and shameful piece, obviously has no sense of national pride nor personal dignity. Like the rest of his associates in the Nkwasiafuor Peoples Party who, on the eve of independ ...
Probably this is what we wanted. This may facilitate our movement from the West and democracy to the East and its a ...
Massa, gyae wo nkwasea ke ka no, wai ! Madcap Donald Trump, has all the consistency of a chameleon. The man is the ugliest and the most unacceptable face of democracy. He is a complete scar on the conscience ofany principled ...
Okudzeto did the right thing. If Republican Congress men/women and senators, European leaders and Un cannot let me Mr. Trump know he is wrong in some of his deeds, Ghana, will not hesitate to state or condemn those wrongful d ...
Unfortunate article. These are the people who will kiss anyone's ass just to get what they want. Trump doesn't have respect for fellow human beings. For him everything is transactional and everyone is dispensable . If Trump w ...
Shit hole mind
Are you listening to yourself. Stomach political analyst. So because of such nonsense gains diplomatically that is the reason why we shouldn't call a spade a spade. You people will easily sell the truth for personal gains. Ch ...
Please answer this simple question- if Trump slaughtered you dad for no reason,you would support his actions because you want to live in the US ,right? Trump got his mind made up about Africa long time before he became p ...
This ...
Look at this miserable soul. Truth should be suppressed because of visa bans. I hope this ignorant man would have given Trump thumps up if the head of state of Ghana had been kidnapped by Trump. You sell your conscience for e ...
When babies with sharp teeth are placed in higher position that requires maturity , you gave them the impetus to commit blunder. But it's good that he would learn from this. He is far better than some appointees who goes behi ...
Does the writer of the article understand the type of visas we were banned from before making this article. We are not banned from Nonimmigrant visas such as visit, tourist or short stay visas. The ban is on the immigrant vis ...
Well written! People claim America always acts in its own interest. Well, isn’t that what Ghana is supposed to be doing as well.? China and Russia do the same. They only act in their interests. Why didn’t China and Russia ...
So, are you saying the president is not consulted before any action or what Okudjeto does is not what JDM wants? Pathetic indeed. The US embassy in Accra has just opened more visa interview slots for the World cup, did you re ...
Buului
BEATUFULLY WRITTEN
The reason Ghana is on the list has nothing to do with Ablakwa. They mentioned their public assistance program being patronized by Ghanaian immigrants. Ghanaians goes to the US and try to reap what they didn't sow that's the ...
WE ARE A SOVEREIGN NATION AND WE MUST BE ...