A Quiz is Not STEM: Ghana must stop confusing entertainment with education

Read Comments Comments (12)

• Bea 2 months ago

You are right on this Bro. Whilst AI and ML is taking over the world we are not even teaching highscholers to even code and develop systems to control our businesses and government machinery and remove the forever human prese ...

• GGS 2 months ago

On point

• Ola 2 months ago

Agreed

• GGS 2 months ago

I had always shared the writer's view. why waste so much cash without substance. I fully subscribe to the use of this 9.5 million cedis to mobile labs if we can't afford a modern lab for each school. Let's redirect our focus ...

• Ghanaman 2 months ago

The writer may see the quiz as entertainment because he doesn't know or appreciate the work that goes on behind the scenes. I had a school mate who won the national quiz some years ago. Last time I heard about him, he was lec ...

• GGS 2 months ago

ow many of those who didn't take part in the quiz are also lecturers. Are you going to use the few privilege ones to determine the success of a 9.5 million cedis taxpayers' money?

• Ola 2 months ago

I suggest you read, REALLY read the article again. If and when you do, you will realise that the writer is talking about a system that is in need of recalibration, such that disadvantaged students are not left behind. The win ...

• kWAME 2 months ago

Ah Massa, but some people are lecturers in entertainment?

Please read the article well.

• kWAME 2 months ago

One of the (most) best articles so far.

Even the fact that only a few schools can win it exposes our education system.
    Similar waste programmes are Teachers Award and Farmers Day.
    They don't have much impact on the respe ...

• olad 2 months ago

Way to go. I agree totally.

• Osei-Wusu Achaw 2 months ago

You could not have put it any better, Mr. Mintah. Whilst there is nothing wrong with a quiz, it surely is not the best way to promote STEM education.These kids and by extension their schools and the nation as a whole would be ...

• Francis Pratt 2 months ago

True. A good write-up. This is only a fragment of STEM. More emphasis must be laid on the school's academic work.