This a very shallow argument which showcases that many of us are worse than the whites we accuse as racists. When a Ghanaian attains the citizenship of another country, we conclude that such a Ghana would be loyal to his new country, instead of being loyal to Ghana. Now, a Korean has attained a Ghanaian citizenship, and the argument is that he would not be loyal to Ghana. There is no way to win, isn't it? When a Ghanaian of British citizenship was made the exchequer of Britain, no Ghanaian found anything wrong with that. When Ghanaians of other nationalities feature for the Black Stars (Ghana national team), we don't question their loyalty. Why am I surprised? How do we treat Ghanaians of different ethnicities?
TRUTH 4 months ago
OFORI KOLEKO, YOUR NANA POL POT ADDO QUIETLY GAVE OVER 10000 CITIZENSHIP TO JAMAICANS.
GO AND LEARN ABOUT THE TIME BOMB WAITING TO EXPLODE IN GHANA BEFORE YOU START READING ABOUT NATIONAL INTEREST AND LOYALTIES.
OFORI KOLEKO, YOUR NANA POL POT ADDO QUIETLY GAVE OVER 10000 CITIZENSHIP TO JAMAICANS.
GO AND LEARN ABOUT THE TIME BOMB WAITING TO EXPLODE IN GHANA BEFORE YOU START READING ABOUT NATIONAL INTEREST AND LOYALTIES.
TRUTH 4 months ago
.... WRITING ABOUT NATIONAL INTEREST AND LOYALTIES.
GONJA ROBBERS 4 months ago
MAHAMA HAS TOTALLY SOLD GHANA TO FOREIGNERS . IGBOS HAVE TAKEN OVER ALL OVER GHANA AND UNDER HIS WATCH AN IGBO WANTED TO BE A KING IN GHANA.NOW A WHOLE AMBASSADOR TO KOREA HAS BEEN GIVEN TO A KOREAN.
Badiako the future president 4 months ago
those guys have jobs but we do not have those jobs
Nyameba 4 months ago
Man go and read before you make arguments,the Ghanaian British was born in UK he didn’t naturalized.NDC IDIOTS always supporting issues which will take the country back to 10 years apart.NDC as a party is a CURSE to the country Ghana because those who lost their lives due to the MURDERER JJ Rawlings bloods are still hunting the country so anytime that NDC party comes to power it becomes problem for the country
Vanboy 4 months ago
Nyameba mpo nie?
What about those who were killed in Techiman South during the 2020 election? I believe they were the reasons why your party performed badly in their last four years and conceived such a humiliating defeat.
Nyameba mpo nie?
What about those who were killed in Techiman South during the 2020 election? I believe they were the reasons why your party performed badly in their last four years and conceived such a humiliating defeat.
Imani 4 months ago
Isn't it so surprising that there dumb people like you in 2025?
Ghanas Son 4 months ago
Foolish fool! If it was the other way round, like you will he hailing the Ghanaian. No wonder we are and will remain a third-world country. I am sure this Kojo Chow guy will do a better job than 99% of Ghanaians. This is because most Ghanaians in government positions are thieves. Stay and your village and drink your akpeteshie and just shut up.
GONJA ROBBERS 4 months ago
Kwasia stop calling yourself Ghanas son. You are one of those igbo criminals in Ghana. Ofui Those Ghanaians politicians in Uk Paul Boateng, Kwarteng and the rest were born in England they didnt go to naturalized.This choy was born and bred in korea and later travelled to Ghana to naturalized.What serious president will give such a person a political appointment?
Kofi Kay 4 months ago
What about Elon Musk?
Ghanas Son 4 months ago
No wonder your name is Gonja Robbers. You are a thief and a robber.
JULOR CAESAR 4 months ago
Your NPP national cathedral thieving bastards have already set Ghana's progress clock back two decades.
fg 4 months ago
How can national interest be at risk?
I know of a fact that a Ghanaian for the longest time acted as the Swedish Consular in Ghana and there is nothing wrong with that.
When you people travel to UK or US and you gain citi ... read full comment
I know of a fact that a Ghanaian for the longest time acted as the Swedish Consular in Ghana and there is nothing wrong with that.
When you people travel to UK or US and you gain citizenship status you are happy. But if someone from another country becomes a Ghanaian you have a problem with it.
Ghanaians would never have allowed Obama to become an Ambassador for Ghana, let alone the President if what happened in the US were to be in Ghana. With this kind of thinking by some of you narrow-minded Ghanaians Rawlings would never have become president if he had not come through the military transition.
Imani 4 months ago
There is no national interest at risk. We have no suspicious issues with Korea. You guys are just vain talkers.
N. Asante 4 months ago
This is a BS story from a narrow mind.
FARMER JOHN 4 months ago
THIS IS A SUPERFICIAL AND XENOPHOBIC ANALYSIS. Was it a naturalised Korean who set his own private company in our Washington DC embassy? Kojo Choi's Korean lineage will open doors in the corridors of power in Seoul, and will result in closer economic and social ties between the two countries. I fully endorse his appointment as ambassador to this economic powerhouse.
Boss 4 months ago
Shallow argument. Nothing wrong with his appointment. Am not NDC but support this.
Badiako the future president 4 months ago
So presido, you mean no better in Ghana or abroad can do this work by selling our image to this people. It will better for you to resign than letting foreigners to dig into our national interest. President Trump will soon appoint a Ghanaian staying in use to come and manage his embassy in Ghana. People are in Ghana crying for work and decided to give a chance so that they can get work to do and see what you are doing.Take some of our money to create job for us since we voted you in power bcos of jobs for the people
Abdulai 4 months ago
Mahama unlike Akuffo Addo is blinded my loyalty. Akuffo Addo was at the extreme end of of the disloyalty spectrum whilst Mahama is at the other end. Otherwise this appointment makes no sense, other than personal loyalty. Do you know the number of second generation and naturalised Chinese in America? Do you ever think america will send a naturalised Chinese to be ambassador of china? No! because you are asking the individual to choose between their country of birth and their "adopted" country and that is not ideal for the individual. Will this individual compromise their own country's national security for Ghana? Mr. Choi might be a good person and all but the appointment is ill-advised.
Paa Pee 4 months ago
Useless write-up laced with racist under tone.
KofSam 4 months ago
Is the Korean a naturalized Ghana to be appointed an Ambassador to South Korea? Will a Ghana be appointed to be a South Korea ambassador to Ghana? This is a misplaced appointment and Ghanaians must speak against it . Ghana has many of her citizens who did advance degrees in South Korea who speak the language eloquently so Mahama did not see any qualified Ghanaian to be appointed an ambassador to South Korea . Are these ambassadorial appointees vetted by parliament. This is a shame . There is no explanation for this absurdity by Mahama .
The orangutans again 4 months ago
How does this guy poses a national risk? When a Ghanaian is trending in other countries we don't mind but when it is the opposite we cry out. We call others as racist and amplify our tribalism. Funny world .
Kofi 4 months ago
This is nonsense. There is nothing wrong with appointing Kojo Choi. Being born of two Ghanaian parents in Ghana doesn't make one more patriotic than Kojo. We should worry more about those destroying the country. Which national security issues are we talking about?
OGyam 4 months ago
@Kofi, you are as right as rain, and Issac Ofori, the useless NPP twerp who sees nothing wrong with his hopeless party should not give us a lecture and these are my reasons.
In the 50s, Kwame Nkrumah, our incomparable Lege ... read full comment
@Kofi, you are as right as rain, and Issac Ofori, the useless NPP twerp who sees nothing wrong with his hopeless party should not give us a lecture and these are my reasons.
In the 50s, Kwame Nkrumah, our incomparable Legend who Ofori's ancestors tried to kill on numerous occassion, appointed a man called Augustus M Akiwumi, who came to Ghana with his Nigerian parents and eventually naturalised , as the Speaker of Parliament, why? because he had an impeccable character and was loyal to Ghana.
Jimmy Roland Moxon, came to Ghana as a British colonial civil servant. Yet, his love and patriotism for Ghana was so deep, Nkrumah, chose him as his topmost adviser. It was through his friendship with Kaiser, that helped Nkrumah , secure a deal for the Akosombo dam and Valco.
He lived most of his life in Ghana and died in Ghana. The people of Aburi even honoured him as a chief. Look for "Nana Obonyaa" google.
Now, compare what Mr Moxon, did for Ghana with what the shameless thieving bastards such as Akufo Addo and Ofori Atta did to Ghana. I will chose Akiwumi and Jimmy Moxon, over any of the venal NPP wankers any hour or day. There is not an ounce of Loyality or Patriotism from any creature clothed in that odious Danquah Busia Crap, and that includes the prick called Issac Ofori. Cheers!
Mommy 4 months ago
But why are we not happy about this. He is good enough to create jobs and bring prosperity to the country but not good enough to represent? We are the first to cry racism when our fellow brothers in the US are denied anything despite citizenship. Are we not doing the same? I favour patriotism over racism. He has shown his loyalty to the country for 33 years.
Dr. Amengor 4 months ago
Ghana has enough qualified people who can do the job well and
efficiently. Why should we always play the part of the "good boy?"
Do not let us belittle our citizens. We surely have better qualified
Ghanaians who c ... read full comment
Ghanaians who can do the job excelently.In EWE we say it is we who call
the "little loaf " a " big loaf".Come on and do the right thing. No
German Government will choose a Ghanaian living in Germany as its
ambassador anywhere.Stop this " good boy mentality" and nonsense. Let
us be more nationalistic.
Habíbu 4 months ago
There’s many Hausa and Moshe people in and Fulani in government so there’s nothing wrong with him being appointed
JULOR CAESAR 4 months ago
Useless and completely worthless article laced with NPP nonsense. Name a single law in Ghana that precludes naturalized Ghanaian citi8zens from holding the office of Ambassador. Ghana has always had honorary counsels who represent the interest of Ghana in foreign lands, and those persons aren't even hold Ghana citizenship. Your racist and tribalistic NPP denied your own NPP staunch supporter Fadi Dubuassi an Ambassadorial appointment because he happens to have Lebanese roots. Fadi is a Ghanaian, and is very qualified to represent Ghana in any Ambassadorial role. If Parliament had reason to believe that naturalized citizens pose a risk to Ghana's national interest if appointed as an Ambassador, Parliament would enacted a law that prohibits naturalized citizens from being holding Ambassadorial positions. Your attempt to demonize Choi's appointment is nothing but another NPP waste of time with a baseless argument. Instead of spewing your silly NPP noise, you should be asking your fellow NPP members to render an apology to Fadi for treating him as though he were a second class citizen when your some of your NPP leaders convinced Akufo-Addo to not go through with Fadi's appointment as an Ambassador.
Messenger 4 months ago
My concern is why Ghana should sign a reciprocity agreement with Columbia, given that country's reputation as a drug trafficking nation?
Thetruth 4 months ago
Utter rubbish! This exactly what Ghana needs, what is this so called journalist afraid of, that as a man with Korean roots he is going to work hard, not be corruptable and show up other so called Ghnanains working in embassies abroad selling Ghanaian passports to criminal Nigerians. As others have said, this is utter racist rubbish. You should be praising the government for being non racist.
This a very shallow argument which showcases that many of us are worse than the whites we accuse as racists. When a Ghanaian attains the citizenship of another country, we conclude that such a Ghana would be loyal to his new ...
Man go and read before you make arguments,the Ghanaian British was born in UK he didn’t naturalized.NDC IDIOTS always supporting issues which will take the country back to 10 years apart.NDC as a party is a CURSE to the cou ...
Nyameba mpo nie?
Foolish fool! If it was the other way round, like you will he hailing the Ghanaian. No wonder we are and will remain a third-world country. I am sure this Kojo Chow guy will do a better job than 99% of Ghanaians. This is beca ...
Kwasia stop calling yourself Ghanas son. You are one of those igbo criminals in Ghana. Ofui Those Ghanaians politicians in Uk Paul Boateng, Kwarteng and the rest were born in England they didnt go to naturalized.This choy was ...
What about Elon Musk?
When you people travel to UK or US and you gain citi ...
THIS IS A SUPERFICIAL AND XENOPHOBIC ANALYSIS. Was it a naturalised Korean who set his own private company in our Washington DC embassy? Kojo Choi's Korean lineage will open doors in the corridors of power in Seoul, and will ...
So presido, you mean no better in Ghana or abroad can do this work by selling our image to this people. It will better for you to resign than letting foreigners to dig into our national interest. President Trump will soon app ...
Mahama unlike Akuffo Addo is blinded my loyalty. Akuffo Addo was at the extreme end of of the disloyalty spectrum whilst Mahama is at the other end. Otherwise this appointment makes no sense, other than personal loyalty. Do y ...
Is the Korean a naturalized Ghana to be appointed an Ambassador to South Korea? Will a Ghana be appointed to be a South Korea ambassador to Ghana? This is a misplaced appointment and Ghanaians must speak against it . Ghana ha ...
This is nonsense. There is nothing wrong with appointing Kojo Choi. Being born of two Ghanaian parents in Ghana doesn't make one more patriotic than Kojo. We should worry more about those destroying the country. Which nationa ...
In the 50s, Kwame Nkrumah, our incomparable Lege ...
But why are we not happy about this. He is good enough to create jobs and bring prosperity to the country but not good enough to represent? We are the first to cry racism when our fellow brothers in the US are denied anything ...
Ghanaians who c ...
Useless and completely worthless article laced with NPP nonsense. Name a single law in Ghana that precludes naturalized Ghanaian citi8zens from holding the office of Ambassador. Ghana has always had honorary counsels who repr ...
Utter rubbish! This exactly what Ghana needs, what is this so called journalist afraid of, that as a man with Korean roots he is going to work hard, not be corruptable and show up other so called Ghnanains working in embassie ...