GHANA NEEDS A COUP D'ETAT. WE WANT SOLDIERS TO TAKE OVER THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE COUNTRY AND CORRECT THE FILTHY ADMINISTRATION OF THIS AKUFO ADDO AND HIS N.P.P. GOVERNMENT. WHAT IS THE BENEFIT OF "GALAMSEY" TO THE NATION ? OUR RIVERS AND SOURCES OF WATERS ARE BEIGN DESTROYED TO THE DETRIMENT OF OUR NATIONAL ECOLOGY ? AKUFO ADDO SHOULD BE OVERTHROWN !!! GHANAIANS ARE PRAYING TO WAKE UP ONE MORNING AND LEARN THAT AKUFO ADDO HAS BEEN OVERTHROWN. WE WANT THAT DAY TO COME TOMORROW. THE GHANA ARMED FORCES SHOULD NOT WASTE ANY MORE TIME !!! WHY SHOULD WE WAIT FOR ANOTHER TWENTY FOUR HOURS ??? WE NEED AND WANT A COUP NOW !!!!!!!
Pelicles 1 year ago
Were you in Ghana when Aisha Huang took Ghana at ransom and became a galamsey queen, and who was president then and what did you do about that?
Remember that mechanized galamsey started under your NDC party headed by Mills ... read full comment
Were you in Ghana when Aisha Huang took Ghana at ransom and became a galamsey queen, and who was president then and what did you do about that?
Remember that mechanized galamsey started under your NDC party headed by Mills and Mahama as vice. Also, remember that during JJ and Kufuor's presidency, there were no Chinese migrants in Ghana mining gold with Chanfan machines. Your NDC party took a $3billion loan from China in which the lender included a clause that Chinese migrants will come to Ghana, and the result is what we are dealing with.
By the way why can't you lead the coup you are wishing for? When Nana Addo launched Operation Vanguard, with the military at the forefront, what happened, they compromise what they have been told to do by indulging in the galamsey business so, why do you think the military is pious?
Ghana is what it is due to our stinking mindset and attitude.
kb 1 year ago
The Barekese dam Which was constructed by Dr kwame Nkrumah CPP goverment Commision by National Liberation council led by General Ankrah is only safe to drink in Ashanti Region.Densu is also polluted with Harmful chemicals such as synide and murcury All the Bottling and dairy companies like fan milk Ghana limited and both Accra Brewey rely on Densu water to produced thier product .Now Half of Accra metropolice drink the same Densu water as scource drinking.Ghanaians should take the Galamsey fight very seriousely, Tackled Akuffo Addo NPP goverment seriousely to stop galamsey
ABUSUAPANIN KWAKU PE BIRIBI ADIA WUO 1 year ago
Professor Dei has presented a clear sociopolitical analysis of the galamsey menace, with the 'Tragedy of Commons' serving as the foundational dictum of the problem. There is nothing to be gained by pointing accusatory fingers at current and past political leaders. All, except JJ and Kuffour have been maximally complicit.
Our polluted water bodies will take a generation to decontaminate.
Like all issues regarding the destruction of common properties, a solution can be found from a combination our traditional practices and the market, yes I mean regulated market capitalism using the Public Private Participation (PPP) model. First, authorize the local authorities and the traditional chiefs to supervise all river clean-up efforts in their jurisdiction. Of course, they should be incentivized in order to minimize corruption. Next, while the clean-up is going on, provide incentives for the youth to mine the minerals under strict supervision of the authorities.
Using the military to control galamsey is the dumbest approach because the military will be compromised through corruption.
Galamsey has been in existence before we achieved independence, but it was carried out without significantly polluting our rivers, To expect the citizens to sit on gold reserves and still be poor is an irresponsible expectation. There are villages literally located on gold and diamond deposits. Where is the wisdom in forbidding these villagers and the youth to remain poor when their lands possess massive wealth?
The British banned Africans from mining their own resources and all post-colonial governments have continued with this practice. I will advocate for responsible regulation with appropriate taxation to generate revenue for the local, regional and central government.
Centuries of industrialization in USA resulted in the pollution of the rivers. There were rivers that caught fire due to massive pollution from lack of sensible management of common properties, resulting in the tragedy of the commons. The Chicago River is a case in point. Today, there are recreational boats on the river that has been lined with multi-million dollars mansions. It has been pretty much cleaned up ( I will not drink the water, though).
A solution will be found because the nation has started witnessing the costs of the negative externalities of galamsey in the forms of diseases and the lack of safe drinking water. Next will be a significant reduction in the premiums placed on our cocoa beans by the world market. Our foodstuffs will be excluded from the EU market due to violation of the phytosanitary requirements of the World Trade Organization (WTO). There will be 'water wars" in Ghana as a result of lack of clean, and safe drinking water. Districts with no gold reserves will start complaining about the quality of their water if their river flows from a gold mining district. Such complains could result in violence. Water is the founational element of life, and the world has witnessed many water wars. Egypt and Ethiopia are on the brink of going to war, with the support of external powers that plan to keepAfrica in perpetual turmoil. The Nile River that has been dammed by Ethiopia is the source of the problem. In the USA, To avoid water wars in the USA, the Great Lakes have a common water management organization that regulates the use the lake water and adjudicates water use problems between the states. Ghana is not the first nation to confront water management problems on a grand scale. This is the time for responsible heads to prevail. A coup is equally an irresponsible solution. Our democracy is woefully faulty and must be redesigned to include our customary forms of governance. The problems we are witnessing now can be described as the birthing pains of a young democracy,
Let us not wait until the water pollution mess 'hits the roof' before we act responsibly. Pointing fingers at political parties will not solve the problem. Using h military will create more problems than solutions.
If I should suggest a form of government I would recommend an entity headed by the personality of JJ Rawlings ( willingness to take risks), with the political and economic vision of Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, and traditional Wisdom of King Prempeh I.Such an entity will constitute a responsible autocratic government. And I would give such an entity 50 years to rule. Bewlieve me, Ghana will be developed based on our traditional values. This mess of replacing one corrupt government with another supposedly less corrupt one will not work for us because we are a tribal society. And voting will always be along tribal lines. Let us not kid ourselves that this form of winner-takes-all democracy will work for our tribal society.
Ghanaman Original 1 year ago
An indictment of our whole political and governance systems. Sickening. Where is the Environmental Protection Agency ? Pathetic !!
ZoRRo 1 year ago
The consequencies of Galamsey will be punishment for a country of liars, thieves, selfish and greedy bastards !!!
GHANA NEEDS A COUP D'ETAT. WE WANT SOLDIERS TO TAKE OVER THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE COUNTRY AND CORRECT THE FILTHY ADMINISTRATION OF THIS AKUFO ADDO AND HIS N.P.P. GOVERNMENT. WHAT IS THE BENEFIT OF "GALAMSEY" TO THE NATIO ...
Remember that mechanized galamsey started under your NDC party headed by Mills ...
The Barekese dam Which was constructed by Dr kwame Nkrumah CPP goverment Commision by National Liberation council led by General Ankrah is only safe to drink in Ashanti Region.Densu is also polluted with Harmful chemicals suc ...
Professor Dei has presented a clear sociopolitical analysis of the galamsey menace, with the 'Tragedy of Commons' serving as the foundational dictum of the problem. There is nothing to be gained by pointing accusatory fingers ...