Open letter to Organized Labour regarding threat to shutdown the country over legal, illegal mining

Read Comments Comments (24)

• ......... 1 year ago

Wa aleika salaam.
    What is the alternative when leadership has failed and is driving the country and future generations into self inflicted destruction?
    If the only way to drive home the point of action is through a shut do ...

• Michael 1 year ago

Leadership has failed because we've all failed leadership! We've not been supportive enough; citizens, political parties, and security services as well. They burn their excavators and equipment and we accuse government of hig ...

• Sika mpe dede 1 year ago

Micheal, I don't think your comment reflects the reality of the situation. Sometimes just leave the politics and think for once as citizen of Ghana.
    Where is Ishia Huan? Is it the opposition party the released her? Those ja ...

• Critical 1 year ago

Joana cudjoe of ndc is one of the big shots supporting galamsay in Amenfi sefwi denkyira bolebamboi and other places and now giving handouts to ndc apparatchiks
    Organized labour Ghana will not shut down for ur own members a ...

• New Sheriff in Town 1 year ago

The leadership of the Labor Unions should oeganized themselves and join the Task Forces of the Small Scale Miners to the rivers to help them chase out or arrest the illegal miners on the rivers. Calling on workers to lay down ...

• Musa Mohammed 1 year ago

What is stopping the government from enforcing the law banning illegal mining??

At the end of the day, their activities affect me an innocent citizen life negatively and you think I must shut up? I will act!!!

• Michael 1 year ago

The acts of the opposition, especially the NDC. They go upstream to muddy the waters, then come downstream to ask, ''who muddied the waters?'' In Akan we call them 'anomaa kokone kone! It's very sad. They are the reason the f ...

• WISE KWADWO 1 year ago

Look at u, u hv all the constitutional powers to stop the legal and illegal things in this country but u are rather blaming someone, this shows ur incompetence

• Paa Mills 1 year ago

Characters like Wise Kwadwo is typical of an NDC surrogates in Ghana so the person has all the executive powers so that person must apply it arbitrarily then Wise Kwadwo should as well subjected into inhuman condition and th ...

• John 1 year ago

Infact you are a big -----ool .

• Jojo 1 year ago

.. and the writer is a lawyer? … such a terrible English and grammar? Omg

• Newton 1 year ago

I think some people who called themselves lawyers are totally blindfolded by the law they have read. I am not a lawyer but I am made to understand that, the basis of law is common sense.
    First of all, let me ask this so cal ...

• Michael 1 year ago

So my friend, without amendment of law one cannot take the law into one's own hands and be impulsive. Such an action would lead to chaos!

• Michael 1 year ago

It is such wise and intelligent counsel as yours that should inform decision making of such nature. Thank you.
    I would rather have thought that organised labour would advocate a demonstration against those engaged in galamse ...

• WISE KWADWO 1 year ago

We should wait till we all die b4 we call on government to act abi? Take a look at our water bodies, forests. U people are destroying everywhere as if there is no tomorrow. U called ur self a lawyer, posterity will judge u

• Ags 1 year ago

Politically motivated.If not now when?

• Ghana Beyond Aid 1 year ago

Galamseyers should be treated the same way we would treat an invading army. We must fight and kill them if they don't want to stop. I think if someone is doing something that is threatening to kill your people you have to eli ...

• Ren 1 year ago

Protecting safe drinking water is not in the "interest of Ghana workers" ? some of you need to go back to primary school

• Kobiina 1 year ago

Is this coming from a lawyer and a citizen of mother n nation Ghana? Need I go further.... enough as the "alarum bell" rings. Can Members of Parliament go on demonstration per their mandate . You can choke us with your littl ...

• MAGOG 1 year ago

Don't they have their colleagues working at the galamsay areas? And can't they champion their course.
    Useless letter from a useless idiot.

• Samira Sulley 1 year ago

While it's true that galamsey has been a persistent issue in Ghana for many years, it's important to acknowledge that the recent escalation of organized labor's demands and actions warrants careful consideration. It's crucial ...

• Kofi Antwi 1 year ago

Just demand deportation of every Chinese that is unable to justify his/her reason to be in the country. Then burn all changfans everywhere. After that contact me for the next steps.

• Seth 1 year ago

Foolish writeup.The workers under the organize labour enjoy article 36. Read that as correct minded Ghanaian not align with any political party. It is your right to ask questions when your freedom to buy food, and the freedo ...

This man has written that labour unions don't have the right to fight for a better environment in a country and workplace for their members.
    The whole country is an enterprise and the head of state is the managing director. ...