very shameful indeed. The headmistress will have to take the fall for this. This a clear violation of free SHS policy.
In spite of the fact that some heads of schools have been fired for this infringement it appears nothing ... read full comment
very shameful indeed. The headmistress will have to take the fall for this. This a clear violation of free SHS policy.
In spite of the fact that some heads of schools have been fired for this infringement it appears nothing deters the Ghanaian in the committal of felony and misdemeanor. Only repercussions and consequences do!
NO 1 year ago
Please I think we are not looking at the bigger picture, I don't see anything wrong with all the complains. We all sat in a meeting and agreed to pay GH 500 to support the upkeep of our girls. We were not pushed to accept this contribution. If you don't agree I think you should talk to the PA Executives and not to disturb the peace of the school at the moment. You were paying GH 2,000 per term for your kids while in JHS yet you think paying GH 500.00 for the upkeep of your girls is too much.
We should stop engaging in this public court to address very important issues about our girls and the school.
Gershonn 1 year ago
Your argument is flawed. The fact that u sent your ward to a private school that costs GhC 2000 per term does not give u the right to think that all the students in St Roses attended such a school(s). For your information, some went through public schools, which are free and have equally gained admission there. For such parents, paying even a Cedi for anything would be alien to them.
The PA should stop harassing the students for their parents genuine inability to pay PA dues! The School authorities and the PA executives should bow their heads in shame. U guys want to ruin the government's Free SHS policy. Disgraceful!!!
NO 1 year ago
Oh strange,
You are bold enough to say the PA and the school authorities should bow their heads in shame. Are you saying parent can’t pay GH 50/ month to support the FSHS policy. Please we voted for the PA Executives and ... read full comment
Oh strange,
You are bold enough to say the PA and the school authorities should bow their heads in shame. Are you saying parent can’t pay GH 50/ month to support the FSHS policy. Please we voted for the PA Executives and we respect the authorities and will not use such negatives words on them. Supporting the FSHS is most SHS is a norm. We should learn to address our issues genuinely to the right people. If the Govt delays in supplying food stuffs to the schools you expect the kids to either go hungry or vacate like was the case in the pass. Please let’s consider the PA Executive are doing all these as a support to humanity and the school authorities are parents like us and will do all their best to train the girls to be very respectful and professional people.
Please let’s direct our fire on the Govt and MoE and not the poor PA chairman and school authorities
What a shit 1 year ago
Kwasia kronfuor you be mumu paa aboa jimi jimi
James Attoh 1 year ago
Hypocrisy. Be honest. This thing about we all agree is false. You and who is WE? I was there but never agreed and a considerable number of us have vowed not to pay that bloody GHS500 and any other manipulative means of extorting money from us anymore.
This is disgraceful to a Catholic mission in Ghana. The school threatened to disallow kids whose parents are owing that bkoody Ghs500 from writing the Mock exams. We challenged them. Tell them to try again.
Tell me, this act of posting names of kids whose parents have not paid the bloody extortion money at the school walls and notice boards shows true Christian values? Hypocrites.
The PTA leader has threatened on the WhatsApp platform to face those he claimed "washing our dirty linen in public" (reating to this article) tell him we are ready, he should start.
The first school to be wiped out on the face of this earth is St Roses SHS. We will expose all your dirty paganism and evil administration over our kids in the school until you repent. It seems the school administration has forgotten Holy Mary.
Kk 20 1 year ago
On the contrary, most of us have paid. What do you seek to achieve with this? You seem to be level headed person. Where is the manipulation and extortion? We have paid and your daughter is enjoying. Tell her not to eat the enhance meal at the canteen.
Make we hear 1 year ago
Everything, this is a violation of the free shs policy! Is free shs policy the word of God?
It's so clear to those who want to see that this free shs restrictions are damaging shs education. Let's have a review of the almig ... read full comment
Everything, this is a violation of the free shs policy! Is free shs policy the word of God?
It's so clear to those who want to see that this free shs restrictions are damaging shs education. Let's have a review of the almighty free shs policy to address these challenges.
We are all tired of parents paying more under FSHS and Education authorities victimising school administrators over innovations. Everything, these days, is a breach of the "unbreachable" FSHS policy. Make we hear word!
Jonny Jayjay 1 year ago
The policy exist on paper.tge reality is on the ground. The policy makers know about all these. Every Shs in ghana is taking support from PAs the reason for the guidelines.
Andy 1 year ago
As you are calling for the head of the Headmistress, you should be also calling for the heads of the Education minister, director general of education. Education cannot be free. No country in the world is practising this policy. Even US, UK etc the students are not boarders. They come to school, close and go back home.
Running free boarding system is very expensive and government alone can't do it. Let's face the fact. Feeding, utilities (water and electricity), uniform, textbooks, etc. Visit schools across the country, they will tell you their problems. Headmasters and Headmistresses are quite because if they dare open their mouths to speak about their challenges, they wouldn't like the outcome. Parents must support schools. If parents rely on shs free education policy, shs will collapse.
Kk 20 1 year ago
What is a clear violation here? That I have decided to make life on campus a bit more comfortable for my own daughter? Please spare us of this needless media crusade. We have paid and the good news is that more people are paying and our girls on our last visit, have confirmed to us that indeed, their food have improved. I am happy and case close.
Pat 1 year ago
Very shameful, in this day and age students are still treated like this? This is daylight robbery by the PTA.
NO 1 year ago
Hi Pat, who is robbing you. Are you saying the PA Executive are robbing all of us paying to improve the lives of our Queens. Please remember the PA executives are just parents like you and you should treat them with some respect for the great support by volunteering their time.
Please let’s appreciate what they are doing and stop making very derogatory comments about the process. We all agreed to contribute to support the upkeep of the Queens
Nartey 1 year ago
Are you hired to defend the PA executive and the unscrupulous school authorities?
Students' bags are left in the rain until they get a haircut in this day and age?
Toilets locked up a day before vacation?
Threatening messa ... read full comment
Are you hired to defend the PA executive and the unscrupulous school authorities?
Students' bags are left in the rain until they get a haircut in this day and age?
Threatening messages from the PA?
Tell me, are the executives parents or teachers?
Boakye 1 year ago
Is the school yours? Do they render accounts to those who paid monies to us? What a shame. In God's name lead them to publish fully audited financial statement and we shall see were those monies went to. Thieves.
Kk 20 1 year ago
If you are not willing to pay, just leave parents who are willing to pay to do so. No one is a thief here. The majority who agreed, are paying. When your daughter return home, starve her.
Kk 20 1 year ago
Who is robbing who? What is shameful about this? That I am paying extra feeding for my own daughter's comfort? Do you feed your daughter at home with GHS 10 a day?
OBRONI 1 year ago
Free SHS is totally free and very free. Free SHS ampa. There's no free lunch anywhere. Politrikcian finding ways and means recoup his cash in thousand folds. Free SHS, all be lies nkoaaa
Grace 1 year ago
Bbroni come and see the inhumanity our Queens are going through over there. No wonder the kids always curse the school on their last step out
MJ 1 year ago
It's happening in Mfantiman as well. Fear of victimization has always been the reason why parents and students alike do not voice out.
NO 1 year ago
This is not the first time, If you think your ward will be victimized, Let her move to a day school close to you so you can give her the best meal
It is everywhere 1 year ago
It's happening live and coloured in lots of schools. No research. No data. We are all just talking for talking sake.
These are probably the hidden facts about FSHS.
It's happening live and coloured in lots of schools. No research. No data. We are all just talking for talking sake.
Ko 1 year ago
We can question some few actions of the school authorities. The PA, however is doing marvellous well. They have supported the school in diverse ways, in terms of even getting teachers to fill vacancies created by science teachers who are leaving regularly for better opportunities elsewhere.
Let met state for the records that if you are outside, you see things from your own perspective. If you're inside you see the real issues on the ground. After all the free SHS is NOT
free as we have been made to understand. If you cannot help to contribute to the welfare of your own ward then what
kind of parent are you. The good WASSE results that
attracted you to the school didn't come cheap. It was
through the tireless efforts of PTA, now called PA. It's your
turn now to contribute your quota. Don't shy away from this.
The publications by the so called, I KNOW MY RIGHT will not put food on the table for the girls when the
government's supply delays for a month or two. Keep the
good works PA, Cheers.
AKP 1 year ago
So, why should the whole world be deceivd for a free education, whiles parents are now the ones providing the school?
AKP 1 year ago
*for
*for
Mends 1 year ago
And Bishop Herman College at Kpando. I am compiling yours. It will come out soon.
Kofi Nyarko 1 year ago
I remember days of hell in the 80s
NO 1 year ago
Please I don't think you are addressing the issues rightly, if you can afford your kids to resit for another year, put up the full list of issues for BEHECO. The PA and the authorities are not the problem. Remember they are parents like us and will want the best for the kids. Please let's stop blaming them. Did you take sardine while you were in boarding house. stop behaving like hypocrite
Don't destroy what you can't build. 1 year ago
Kindly stop these intimidation. Nobody compiles anything on hospitals or tells them how to do their jobs. Nobody tells any professionals in Ghana how to go about their jobs. Unfortunately, teachers are poorly paid so anyone can stand up and dictate yo trained professionals how education should be implemented. Go and build your own school and compile your data!
Nii 1 year ago
And what will you gain. When student don't have common protein on their food. Student take tombrown without bread and even the tombrown is as light like Tea. Students eat Gibr with gari and plantain they are asked to bring the gari which should have been a supplement for them to the canteen to add to the beans. When there are no teachers yo teach you expect us to fold our arms and watch our kids for badly like that and also not taught well because of the so call FSHS. Please spare us this and also shame to the parent so sent the screen shot to you you all should bow down your head in shame since you don't want the good of your wards..
I may agree with you on some issues like the name pasteing which is not write thus if its true. But for the support I will continue to support so my child is fed and taught well.
Thank uou
Citzen 1 year ago
Students' names with amounts owed by parents displayed in classrooms? Wawww. This didn't happen even when students were paying school fees. Why embarrass students in that manner? Where are human right activists?
NO 1 year ago
Please the human right activist, are all not available today. Surprisingly the person who put up this story is not a parent. He wrote this based on a parent's feedback and comments.
How a can we be that wicked to allow some ... read full comment
Please the human right activist, are all not available today. Surprisingly the person who put up this story is not a parent. He wrote this based on a parent's feedback and comments.
How a can we be that wicked to allow someone to publish such a story around this time. The girls are writing their mock at the moment, and they need our full support in all aspects to get ready for the final exams, Let's stop creating unnecessary tension around this time.
Please let's tone down, this is no exception, if we want the queens to do well, we need to support. Govt alone can't take up all the responsibilities
Naa Omanye 1 year ago
My ward is there and the recent reopening and downpour really destroyed her belongings because they were asked not to move their things from the rains
PTA dues hmm is another wahala oo
My ward is there and the recent reopening and downpour really destroyed her belongings because they were asked not to move their things from the rains
What stops you from seeking redress? 1 year ago
File a complain with the school to begin with. Ghana koraa, why?
Wayo 1 year ago
Same thing here in Cape Coast, st Augustine's college .Why use the name of your ward and class as reference ? Intimidation
Lieutenants colonel 1 year ago
The education minister must bow his head in shame. Under your so called excellence see what is happening. This country needs a radical revolution to drum home to these crooks. If this is not checked other schools will emulate. Very bad and shameful. Why do you assume every parent can afford?
NO 1 year ago
Please have your ward been asked to leave the school or class due to non payment. I was part of the meeting and we all agreed. If you think it's not right go back to the PA chairman and stop making comments as if we are allblock heads
Man 1 year ago
I see you replying to almost every comment. Are you trying to be a hero? People should be able to voice their grievances in the comment section without interference. Please stop.
Felix 1 year ago
Why didn't you send your daughter to Mangoase school,do you Kno the contributions of others to the school before you accepted admission.
Pls kindly go and monitor ur kids without throwing lights in their eyes wai. Ungrateful ... read full comment
Why didn't you send your daughter to Mangoase school,do you Kno the contributions of others to the school before you accepted admission.
Pls kindly go and monitor ur kids without throwing lights in their eyes wai. Ungrateful Parents who don't appreciate hardwork of teachers. When you can't even control and discipline ur kids at home, you expect teachers to do miracles. You have no idea what house parents go through to keep it wards safe. If you have problems with your PA what has the innocent teacher got to do with it. Was the teacher not equally in the rain when the girls were being inspected? Or the teacher was standing in the Sun?Let politicians fool Us while our precious institutions get destroyed.
On point! 1 year ago
A lot of parents are still unaware of the real issues. Too much emotions and sentiments by some ignorant and loud parents.
Kweku 1 year ago
In all this, why bin the food they brought from home? That is inhumane. That is not good. MOE and GES should make sure no school authorities are allowed to throw students foods they brought from home away.
NO 1 year ago
Do you know the number of students that had been hospitalized due to eating such foods. Please let's ask the right questions and stop acting as if we all know more better than the school authorities. If you don't trust them take your ward out of the school and bring them to Legacy Girls
NO JOKE 1 year ago
SMH
SMH
Citzen 1 year ago
It seems your long awaited job has landed. How much have you been paid?
NO 1 year ago
Citzen,
No one will have to pay me to speak the truth. Were you paid to make the comments. Why do you think someone should be paid to make his view known.
We all agreed to contribute GH 500 to support the upkeep of our Qu ... read full comment
Citzen,
No one will have to pay me to speak the truth. Were you paid to make the comments. Why do you think someone should be paid to make his view known.
We all agreed to contribute GH 500 to support the upkeep of our Queens, so someone puts up inaccurate information as a parent I have the right to put the facts. Thank you and let’s support our queens. We are going to visit our Queens tomorrow. See ya and all the best
Dan 1 year ago
Madam NO, are you a parent or an admin or a planted fellow to answer all queries on behalf of St. Roses?
Are you forgetting St. Roses isn't your private school that it is a Public School? If there are genuine concerns raise ... read full comment
Madam NO, are you a parent or an admin or a planted fellow to answer all queries on behalf of St. Roses?
Are you forgetting St. Roses isn't your private school that it is a Public School? If there are genuine concerns raised look into them and stop defending the garbage. If the Government's FSHS is having difficulties point it to the government so they can address those and stop being an ostrich whoever you're.
Why do we as Ghanaians sometimes behave as if there are no laws regulating anything we do? All the Senior High School especially the boarding ones are all having issues which parents and school authorities are being forced to swallow up. Stop defending the rots "NO'. We all went to boarding schools too.
NO 1 year ago
Great you have asked questions
Yes I am a parent, My second girl completed in 2022,
My first girl was in MEGHIS. I have supported the school in diverse ways because I understand the FSHS policy has issues. Please I like your view of taught, the issues are generic and not specific to St Roses, so why are we celebrating an individual to bash the PA and the school authorities. Please we all sat in a meeting after driving 4 hours to the school and agreed to support the upkeep of the girls. So why do we have to put it up a story as if the PA imposed the levy on us. Please we should direct our concern to the Govt and the MoE and not the PA and the school authorities who are doing all their possible best to make our girl go through with good grades.
Kwame 1 year ago
The genuine concern the parents have is the same for every public school so a school should not be singled out. Go to GES and table the concerns there and not cast the PA that is trying to support in bad light. If OA is supporting, it means parents MUST pay!!!
NO 1 year ago
Dan, Are the parent making the comment hired admin or planted fellow to answer questions.
Please the girls are dear to our heart and we will do we can to get them very disciplined and make good grades.
GES support for onl ... read full comment
Dan, Are the parent making the comment hired admin or planted fellow to answer questions.
Please the girls are dear to our heart and we will do we can to get them very disciplined and make good grades.
GES support for only 2 mock Exams for preparing the Queens, if we have to do an extra mock we will have to pay. Please like the French will say “cheap thing cost dearly “
Kwame 1 year ago
If you don’t want your food in the bin, then don’t bring it. Let’s learn to obey simple rules. The school has attained its name as a well disciplined school bcos rules are enforced and not compromised… Keep it up St Roses.
Kwame 1 year ago
This is hypocrisy in the highest order. We all know that most schools are having issues with the implementation of the FSHS policy.
If teachers are leaving the schools for greener pastures, should a PA sit and fold their ... read full comment
This is hypocrisy in the highest order. We all know that most schools are having issues with the implementation of the FSHS policy.
If teachers are leaving the schools for greener pastures, should a PA sit and fold their arms? If they get interim teachers, who should pay them? If the food at school is not enough and the PA supports with additional foodstuff, who should pay for it?
We all sat in a meeting and agreed to support. Even if you did not, at least majority did. You don't come here and publish this. If you can't genuinely support you approach leadership and ask for support or assistance or even pay what you can to show that you are a team player. This article is really in a bad taste and should not be entertained.
Jonny Jayjay 1 year ago
Who asked you to choose the school. That's why it is such a good school. Others built it and you don't want to help maintain it? Next time you look before you leap.
Nicholas Ofori- parent 1 year ago
This write up is nonsense to highest level . And the columnist maxwell maundy is just publishing rubbish. Nobody was forced to contribute. Parents met on the situation and we all agreed to contribute. I myself even suggested 1000ghs instead of 500ghs, however majority won the day for the 500ghs to be contributed. If this person have a challenge in payment, I suggest this hypocrite must find a better way to address his concerns at PTA forum than rushing to media for this nonsense publication. Let the say that neither the school nor someone elsewhere forced us the parents to contribute this 500ghs. All parents present including myself graciously agree to contribute this 500ghs. So common sense, where this embarrassing and harassing coming from??
Kk 20 1 year ago
You can say that again. Some few parents are blowing this whole thing out of proportion. No one was forced. Why do they give their daughters provisions for school if they think it's free shs and so everything will be provided. The writer of this article obviously has something under his sleeve. Cheap popularity is what he seeks to achieve. They should send their children outside if they think the system is not good. Rubbish indeed my brother.
Jay 1 year ago
We know that the government cannot provide the needs of all Shs.
The PA come in to support when the need arise.
The problem has to do rather with some parents refusing to pay agreed levies.
It is quite disappointing that o ... read full comment
It is quite disappointing that only few parents dutifully pay these levies.
Yet the projects the levies are used for benefits the whole student population.
It's high time we all support and support this complain of harassment.
Who should pay for your ward to enjoy.
Jay 1 year ago
We should stop the complain of harassment and pay the levies.
Kk 20 1 year ago
Hmmm Jay, it's unfortunate some parents are behaving this way. I don't know what they seek to achieve by this. Don't they buy provisions for their daughters just because it's free shs? Hypocrisy at the highest level.
Nartey 1 year ago
If this is true, then it's rather unfortunate
They shouldn't harass the girls in the name on discipline
In spite of the fact that some heads of schools have been fired for this infringement it appears nothing ...
Please I think we are not looking at the bigger picture, I don't see anything wrong with all the complains. We all sat in a meeting and agreed to pay GH 500 to support the upkeep of our girls. We were not pushed to accept thi ...
Your argument is flawed. The fact that u sent your ward to a private school that costs GhC 2000 per term does not give u the right to think that all the students in St Roses attended such a school(s). For your information, so ...
Oh strange,
You are bold enough to say the PA and the school authorities should bow their heads in shame. Are you saying parent can’t pay GH 50/ month to support the FSHS policy. Please we voted for the PA Executives and ...
Hypocrisy. Be honest. This thing about we all agree is false. You and who is WE? I was there but never agreed and a considerable number of us have vowed not to pay that bloody GHS500 and any other manipulative means of extort ...
On the contrary, most of us have paid. What do you seek to achieve with this? You seem to be level headed person. Where is the manipulation and extortion? We have paid and your daughter is enjoying. Tell her not to eat the en ...
It's so clear to those who want to see that this free shs restrictions are damaging shs education. Let's have a review of the almig ...
As you are calling for the head of the Headmistress, you should be also calling for the heads of the Education minister, director general of education. Education cannot be free. No country in the world is practising this poli ...
What is a clear violation here? That I have decided to make life on campus a bit more comfortable for my own daughter? Please spare us of this needless media crusade. We have paid and the good news is that more people are pay ...
Hi Pat, who is robbing you. Are you saying the PA Executive are robbing all of us paying to improve the lives of our Queens. Please remember the PA executives are just parents like you and you should treat them with some resp ...
Threatening messa ...
We can question some few actions of the school authorities. The PA, however is doing marvellous well. They have supported the school in diverse ways, in terms of even getting teachers to fill vacancies created by science teac ...
*for
Please I don't think you are addressing the issues rightly, if you can afford your kids to resit for another year, put up the full list of issues for BEHECO. The PA and the authorities are not the problem. Remember they are p ...
Kindly stop these intimidation. Nobody compiles anything on hospitals or tells them how to do their jobs. Nobody tells any professionals in Ghana how to go about their jobs. Unfortunately, teachers are poorly paid so anyone c ...
And what will you gain. When student don't have common protein on their food. Student take tombrown without bread and even the tombrown is as light like Tea. Students eat Gibr with gari and plantain they are asked to bring th ...
How a can we be that wicked to allow some ...
The education minister must bow his head in shame. Under your so called excellence see what is happening. This country needs a radical revolution to drum home to these crooks. If this is not checked other schools will emulat ...
Please have your ward been asked to leave the school or class due to non payment. I was part of the meeting and we all agreed. If you think it's not right go back to the PA chairman and stop making comments as if we are allbl ...
Pls kindly go and monitor ur kids without throwing lights in their eyes wai. Ungrateful ...
Do you know the number of students that had been hospitalized due to eating such foods. Please let's ask the right questions and stop acting as if we all know more better than the school authorities. If you don't trust them t ...
SMH
Citzen,
We all agreed to contribute GH 500 to support the upkeep of our Qu ...
Are you forgetting St. Roses isn't your private school that it is a Public School? If there are genuine concerns raise ...
My first girl was in MEGHIS. I have supported the school in diverse ways because I understand the FSHS policy has issues. Please I like y ...
The genuine concern the parents have is the same for every public school so a school should not be singled out. Go to GES and table the concerns there and not cast the PA that is trying to support in bad light. If OA is suppo ...
GES support for onl ...
If you don’t want your food in the bin, then don’t bring it. Let’s learn to obey simple rules. The school has attained its name as a well disciplined school bcos rules are enforced and not compromised… Keep it up St R ...
If teachers are leaving the schools for greener pastures, should a PA sit and fold their ...
This write up is nonsense to highest level . And the columnist maxwell maundy is just publishing rubbish. Nobody was forced to contribute. Parents met on the situation and we all agreed to contribute. I myself even suggested ...
You can say that again. Some few parents are blowing this whole thing out of proportion. No one was forced. Why do they give their daughters provisions for school if they think it's free shs and so everything will be provided ...
It is quite disappointing that o ...