Yes you are right, I remember my geography teacher back in school when you mention your English name he will tell you it not a name but that is a cat or dog name. let use our local names to show our identity..
Nokware 8 years ago
Write wat u jux said in a local language and not English, u re speaking english buh u are against their names. Bullshit
Anokye 8 years ago
In that case then why using the things the white people brought? Our fathers used to walked around naked and shit. I think the media in Ghana broadcast irrelevant crap for their readers
Kwadwo 8 years ago
Who told you so?
Mensah 8 years ago
They may be slave names, but they are a thousand times better than the name RAPIST
sir 8 years ago
is that the guy who fuck the lady on the toilet? nasty person whom i will never never give my hand in public.
don`t care !!! 8 years ago
hahaha!this guy kkD sound as if he is disturb by his village mentalities!
AGBESI. KWESI 8 years ago
KKD is preaching virtues but practices vice. I remember Ken Sarow Wiwa once said: 'It is lazy for a blackman to say I am black, I am proud. The whiteman will never say that but the good things they do make them superior'. You see, you can call yourself Nana Kantinka Kwesi Kyei Barkop3 Darkwa but if you go about raping young girls then the whole argument by KKD becomes nonsense.
Apuskele 8 years ago
I have the right to call myself any thing I want. If KKD believes in what he says, why does he dress like a slave master? He looks like a clown.
POW@ MINISTER 4 ZONGO AFFAIRS 8 years ago
Your father named you George Kwesi Kyei Darkwa. You proudly used it at the Tema community 7 DATUS preparatory School as a student. When you started disc jockeying, you were still known as George aka "The Musical Medico" with MEDICO meaning medicine. Somewhere along the line, you dropped the George and kept Kwesi Kyei Darkwa which eventually became KKD for short. If you don't want your kids to have Christian names so to speak fine but stop this nonsense.
Mr ROMANO . 8 years ago
COMOT FOR THERE , YOU YOURSELF WHAT IS YOUR REAL NAME ?? EVERYTHING YOU GO CRITICIZE , GOSH !!! WHAT THE FUCK WRONG WITH YOU AT ALL ?????
stinky Finger 8 years ago
It makes you wonder why the British don't name their children after Ashanti,Ga,Ewe and Fanti chiefs.Why not Princess Diana Oduro or Prince Charles Bonti.May be the current Prime Minister should have been named Theresa Abebrese.
POW @MINISTER 4 ZONGO AFFAIRS 8 years ago
See what boil too dey show under armpit. "Hw3 nia pompo nso kyer3, wo amotoam'. Mtchewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
KWEKU DZANGMA 8 years ago
SO WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO GROW UP AND BE WISE. DO YOU HAVE TO BATHE IN THE FOOLISHNESS, STUPIDITY OR THE MISTAKES OF YOUR FATHERS OR OTHERS ALL YOUR LIFE? WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO USE YOUR OWN BRAIN AS YOU GROW. KKD IS ABSOLUTELY RIGHT AND I APPLAUD HIM VERY MUCH. WHETHER HE WAS PROUD TO USE IT OR BENEFITED FROM IT WHEN HE WAS AT TEMA OR NOT, HE HAS NOW GROWN WISER. THE SILLY AND STUPID MENTALITY IN AFRICA MUST STOP. THE WHITEMAN IS NOT GOING TO STOP IT FOR YOU. YOU MUST STOP IT YOURSELF. BE PROUD OF YOUR AFRICAN OR GHANAIAN NAME YOU CAN ONLY EDUCATE LL PEOPLE INCLUDING, EUROPE, CHINESE, JAPANESE ETC. ARE THE MISSIONARIES STILL TELLING YOU THAT IF YOU DON'T HAVE A CHRISTIAN NAME OR WHITE PERSON'S NAME YOU WON'T GO TO HEAVEN????
POW @MINISTER 4 ZONGO AFFAIRS 8 years ago
Dude so when did you realize this? You even speaks and writes someone else's language. If you're asked to speak your local language, one sentence kwraa will not end without you adding one or two English words. You sit there and brag "slave this, slave that". KKD's walking stick kwraaaa was made by oyibo. Nonsense, look at his pictures on the internet, how many of his outfits were made in Ghana of Africa. Lest I forgot, do you even live in Ghana? Nonsense, one more time.
Mr ROMANO . 8 years ago
POW YOU SEE HOW CONFUSED YOU ARE . YOU ARE JUST UNBELIEVABLE . DUDE YOU GOT A PROBLEM , PLEASE SEEK A MEDICAL HELP ASAP .
Nee-boye 8 years ago
So why is kkd dressed in suit and tie with a cap on if he is that smart? What does it represent?
shef27 8 years ago
So what exactly is your problem now??? If he uses the name his dad gave him and later dropped "George" the english name, is that a problem??? You are the problem. I think u are stressed...
Kofi Adjei Nkrabea 8 years ago
Awoyaa Aba Nyameama Antwiwaa Adjei
BARIMA BA 8 years ago
Yes, it's true, if you lose your name and your language, you lose your identity.
The so called Christian names are slave names. It creates inferiority complexes. No Englishman will call himself Akoto, why do we take delight ... read full comment
Yes, it's true, if you lose your name and your language, you lose your identity.
The so called Christian names are slave names. It creates inferiority complexes. No Englishman will call himself Akoto, why do we take delight in calling ourselves " Calvin, Benjamin, George" etc etc. It's time to take back our pride and give pure organic traditional names to ourselves and our children. KKD am no fan of yours but agree with you 100%
DJ 8 years ago
Look at this stupid idiot. Are slaves not human beings? kwaseaaaa !!!!!
Kaya 8 years ago
Slaves are not treated like humans. They have no pride and respect from their masters
Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago
U Fuc*ing Rapist should have told your Dad so and probably wouldn't have named u George ... arrogant ba*stard ...
KWAPPS 8 years ago
KKD, like you, I have long ceased calling myself by foreign names because I have seen the light. Unfortunately, the majority of blacks haven't reached that level of thinking, in fact, it seems the veil of religion has permanently been pulled over their eyes. My advice to you is to go a step further by promoting our local language instead of English and, whilst at it, resist the temptation of dressing like an English aristocrat basking in the scorching African sun!
Atopa 8 years ago
Clothing can be shed in a minute but names identify who you and your family are.
Brofo 8 years ago
And you dress like a slave master performing at a circus. You must have a lot of complex to be dressed like that all the time.
Stone 8 years ago
Studies have shown that when the white man came to Africa ( missionaries) they made our forefathers believe that when they name u after them you will go to heaven when you die. That was the genesis of white names. When I found out this after going to the university, I stopped giving my children white names.
Wise 8 years ago
It is not about the name,its about character. A decorated monkey will always be a monkey.STOP sleeping around with your daughters and get busy with something better. This is all diversionary tactics. Shameless man.
KS 8 years ago
Kkd perhaps one of th e sanest Ghanaians. All the others are going to church and following nonsense. This is someone who understands his own culture and identity and understands the world too
Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago
Yet dress and speak like them ...Lol
Abeiku 8 years ago
The slave masters raped our women KKD just like u did and please stop wearing their garments ....
TnI 8 years ago
And he is dressed like a slave master.
Eagle 8 years ago
Hahahahaha.... We are slaves my people, have you forgotten about that? We were discovered. Slaves don't do what they like or want but are always instructed including change of names. Beat your chest and tell me you are not a slave.
INDEPENDENCE right? what do we have in this country that is solely our from scratch to finish? Look on your body from head to toe.
Until we refine our minds, character and the way of living ; we will forever remain slaves.
Changing our names to Kojo or Kofi, Ama or Akosua is just a formality. The real liberation is our minds which will eventually affect the way we behave.
@KKD. . Take a quick look at your body from head to toe, does that belong to you?
eddie-usa 8 years ago
is this guy still talking? rapist are not to be giving any platform to talk. so shut the fuck up.
Paul 8 years ago
I would've agreed with KKD if he had stated "English names" instead of "Christian names". What's wrong with a Christian given a name from the Bible?
luca 8 years ago
I do not dispute that we have been influenced.but kkd is always spotted in a suit.western clothes,so is he a slave?
Oheneba Kwaku 8 years ago
Are you trying to be a Traditionalist or you want to be heard all the time.Don't forget you are all the time seen around wearing suit.Let me remind you that slavery and it's trade was and is everywhere.Which will mean every name is a slave name from your point of view.Do your research.I'll not take you back to the BIBLE days.A traditionalist like you will not believe in the BIBLE.We know you can and like to talk.Bring us topics that will lead us to Christ.That means you must be born again.
Dundu Banza 8 years ago
......and go back to our way of dressing,food,music etc. You can't pick and choose. By the way not all Christian names are slave names. Also,one would be very hesitant naming a child "Owuo".for instance. Do you speak your own language? Can your kids speak read and write twi? Bye the way,Christians are SLAVES TO CHRIST. I wonder to whom or what you are slave?
Kwabena Ofori Yeboah 8 years ago
Then better ask us not to travel to the countries of our 'slave masters' voluntarily to seek greener pastures. What we should be ashamed of is that, our leaders since history have let us down. This makes it difficult for us to dissociate ourselves with the so-called slave masters. You can't make omlette without breaking eggs. The whiteman and his cohorts cannot be done away with, though humans as they are with many frailties and pitfalls. The perception is that, we usually name our children after great people with the view that, they would become great like them. I think KKD wouldn't complain if a Ghanaian child is named Mandela, Shaka, Sundiata etc..The fact of the matter is, those names aren't Ghanaian. So don't u believe this line of argument borders so much on hypocrisy and racism? Why do modern Ghanaians always want to put on suit and tie and probably try to have the accent of a typical English or American man? We are all at fault KKD. We need to right to wrongs of our forebears. It starts with me, you and everybody.
kr 8 years ago
l love English names and as an Ashanti will never name or use local names on my kids...kkd then stop speaking English too and that ur fake accent...is a disgrace.... why shd l name my kid after a generation full of hatred,lies and disdain dislike for each other???? apuuuuuuu....local name my foot!!!!!!
i and i 8 years ago
You can't be an Asante stop that inferiority complex all proud Asantes do not have an english name.
Law of Kama 8 years ago
its your personal view so keep it KKD. Allow us to follow what we each believe in.
Hassan Anabah 8 years ago
I was working with english men's in Europe here,that's where I discovered that we the Africa's are cheating ourselves with english names.anytime I mentioned my English you could them laughing at me so I change my passport with my ghana traditional name in the north Anabah I am proud to my selve now.
Robert djan 8 years ago
Kkd . You dress like them. Stop taking noisence.
DI ASEM PA 8 years ago
A white lady asked for my name and i said my name is Michael. She looked at my face and asked me again. Where you from? I answered Ghana. And then, she asked me again so, what is your African name? I then wrote my name on a paper for her. She was able to say the name and was like, you have a beautiful name so why do you call yourself Michael? Please, appreciate what you have she said. I wanted to change my name but it was too late. Because, that's the name I used since I was kid. I wish I have that name on my birth certificate .
Elilawal 8 years ago
Rapist.......shut e fuck up!
Nee-boye 8 years ago
Look at kkd's dressing....
Yaa 8 years ago
Yesooo, dressed up in suit, tie and trilby. That is more of "slavery" than the "slave names" some Ghanaians are such hypocrites they always contradict themselves.
Johannesburg 8 years ago
That is your belief. I got my job I am doing because of my English name. When the interview was arranged they all thought I was a white guy. Fortunately I impressed them during the interview and I was hired. So your belief is what you have said. I don't regret having English name.
Efo Korba 8 years ago
It's true. I agree with him 100%. I have regretted not know this earlier
Kaakie 8 years ago
English names are different from Biblical names. I prefer to choose Biblical names for my kids bcz names have an effect on ppl. Why won't I name my kid David, Joseph, Joshua, Caleb, Ruth, Rebekah etc than going to choose Bayie, nkansah, Koo nimo etc.
Eric 8 years ago
Unfortunately, KKD dresses like the Slave Master although he does not like to use the slave name. Can't understand this man,
Kofi 8 years ago
The country Ghana is itself a English creation. There was nothing called Gold Coast before the white man came to West Africa. Our history is intrinsically linked to the white man. Changing only your name changes nothing! Shall we go back and break up Ghana into its component chiefdoms and kingdoms that existed before the white man came here?
Nkrumah 8 years ago
What have you been teaching your children, KKD? That you are a disgusting rapist? And how do they feel when they go to school? We hope you are not going to protest,when other children whose parents have told them who you are, begin to tease your children.Please stop disturbing our ears with your nonsense.
TOGBE 8 years ago
HE KNOWS NO SHAME
Tutugyagu 8 years ago
I personally believe using local Ghanaian names is an appreciation of our cultural heritage.It's a matter of choice as to whether a Ghanaian would like to use an English name or purely local name handed down from our ancestors or even made up. I have seen an increasing trend in the use of non-English names by Ghanaians and Africans in general, which in my opinion is good for our cultural preservation. I however, don't want to read far into the implications of using English names. I have also observed that apart from Africa, people from the other continents; Asia,Europe,America,Australia and Antarctica use names handed down from their ancestors. I strongly believe a time will come when it will no longer be 'cool' to use English names in Ghana and the rest of Africa.
Joe 8 years ago
Suit and bow tie is not from your ancestors.
Joe 8 years ago
Over to you KKD.
kweku 8 years ago
KKD has complexes so he tries to seek solace in Royalty which Is not even the Asantehene Royal lineage. Keep quiet there go get a decent job and stop galavanting. Presecans know you shush!!!!
kweku 8 years ago
you dress like them yet you diss them conflict of interest right?what an arsehole
Omega 8 years ago
the names may have been given by parents no knew nothing better, but you yourself sitting in tropical Ghana is wearing a suit a tie and a hat as if you are in Alaska. let your actions speak for you. KKD
THE CITIZEN 8 years ago
THE SUIT YOU ARE WEARING MAKES YOU MORE A SLAVE THAN A NAME.
THE LANGUAGE YOUR SPEAKING IN.
YOUR HAT.
YOUR EYEWEAR .
YOUR SHOES.
DUMMY
YOUR HAT.
YOUR EYEWEAR .
YOUR SHOES.
DUMMY
Kwasi 8 years ago
Yes, Kwasi, you may be right to suggest that "Christian/English" names are not authentic African names; and are borrowed from the Western Europeans. You opted for a African names for yourself and your kids after you came to discover the fact, right? However, you still go to Church, believe in Jesus Christ, who by all indications, is not an African savior-god, but created by Emperor Constantine at the Council of Nicea in 325 AD. You still commemorate on his birth date which is alleged to have fallen on December 25th (which is the winter solstice) and his resurrection on the venal equinox which normally falls after March 21st. These are all non-African and undermines the original black African culture. Let's delve into our history dating back to 10000 years ago to discover our real African heritage. Let's go to Egypt, inside the tombs at the valley of the kings to discover the truth about African religion.
Bobo Dialaso 8 years ago
have you seen Obroni name his or her kid after an African before? We are a joke keeping these useless obroni names.
Kofi 8 years ago
Bobo, read my earlier post. Even our country Ghana was created by the white man. That is our history. Our names reflect our history. Why not break up the country created by the white man into its original forms, Asante kingdom, Anlo kingdom, Dagbon, etc?
Eagle 8 years ago
Hahahahaha.... We are slaves my people, have you forgotten about that? We were discovered. Slaves don't do what they like or want but are always instructed including change of names. Beat your chest and tell me you are not a slave.
INDEPENDENCE right? what do we have in this country that is solely our from scratch to finish? Look on your body from head to toe.
Until we refine our minds, character and the way of living ; we will forever remain slaves.
Changing our names to Kojo or Kofi, Ama or Akosua is just a formality. The real liberation is our minds which will eventually affect the way we behave.
@KKD. . Take a quick look at your body from head to toe, does that belong to you?
Kwabena Tabiri Kumasi 8 years ago
Mr KKD what about your dressing?You have never been found dressed in clothes or batakali for example as an African.What about that?
TOGBE 8 years ago
I take such messages from people of descency not from those who rape or take advantage of small girls. shut up and disappear from the public domain.
ISA. 8 years ago
It's up to the individual. English names has nothing to do with slavery. All you talking is garbage. Then don't ware suit and trousers, don't ware shoes as it's western culture.
Who told you so?
KKD is preaching virtues but practices vice. I remember Ken Sarow Wiwa once said: 'It is lazy for a blackman to say I am black, I am proud. The whiteman will never say that but the good things they do make them superior'. You ...
Your father named you George Kwesi Kyei Darkwa. You proudly used it at the Tema community 7 DATUS preparatory School as a student. When you started disc jockeying, you were still known as George aka "The Musical Medico" with ...
It makes you wonder why the British don't name their children after Ashanti,Ga,Ewe and Fanti chiefs.Why not Princess Diana Oduro or Prince Charles Bonti.May be the current Prime Minister should have been named Theresa Abebres ...
SO WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO GROW UP AND BE WISE. DO YOU HAVE TO BATHE IN THE FOOLISHNESS, STUPIDITY OR THE MISTAKES OF YOUR FATHERS OR OTHERS ALL YOUR LIFE? WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO USE YOUR OWN BRAIN AS YOU GROW. KKD IS ABSOLUTELY ...
Dude so when did you realize this? You even speaks and writes someone else's language. If you're asked to speak your local language, one sentence kwraa will not end without you adding one or two English words. You sit there a ...
The so called Christian names are slave names. It creates inferiority complexes. No Englishman will call himself Akoto, why do we take delight ...
KKD, like you, I have long ceased calling myself by foreign names because I have seen the light. Unfortunately, the majority of blacks haven't reached that level of thinking, in fact, it seems the veil of religion has permane ...
Studies have shown that when the white man came to Africa ( missionaries) they made our forefathers believe that when they name u after them you will go to heaven when you die. That was the genesis of white names. When I foun ...
Hahahahaha.... We are slaves my people, have you forgotten about that? We were discovered. Slaves don't do what they like or want but are always instructed including change of names. Beat your chest and tell me you are not a ...
Are you trying to be a Traditionalist or you want to be heard all the time.Don't forget you are all the time seen around wearing suit.Let me remind you that slavery and it's trade was and is everywhere.Which will mean every n ...
......and go back to our way of dressing,food,music etc. You can't pick and choose. By the way not all Christian names are slave names. Also,one would be very hesitant naming a child "Owuo".for instance. Do you speak your own ...
Then better ask us not to travel to the countries of our 'slave masters' voluntarily to seek greener pastures. What we should be ashamed of is that, our leaders since history have let us down. This makes it difficult for us t ...
l love English names and as an Ashanti will never name or use local names on my kids...kkd then stop speaking English too and that ur fake accent...is a disgrace.... why shd l name my kid after a generation full of hatred,lie ...
I was working with english men's in Europe here,that's where I discovered that we the Africa's are cheating ourselves with english names.anytime I mentioned my English you could them laughing at me so I change my passport wit ...
A white lady asked for my name and i said my name is Michael. She looked at my face and asked me again. Where you from? I answered Ghana. And then, she asked me again so, what is your African name? I then wrote my name on a ...
That is your belief. I got my job I am doing because of my English name. When the interview was arranged they all thought I was a white guy. Fortunately I impressed them during the interview and I was hired. So your belief is ...
English names are different from Biblical names. I prefer to choose Biblical names for my kids bcz names have an effect on ppl. Why won't I name my kid David, Joseph, Joshua, Caleb, Ruth, Rebekah etc than going to choose Bayi ...
The country Ghana is itself a English creation. There was nothing called Gold Coast before the white man came to West Africa. Our history is intrinsically linked to the white man. Changing only your name changes nothing! Shal ...
What have you been teaching your children, KKD? That you are a disgusting rapist? And how do they feel when they go to school? We hope you are not going to protest,when other children whose parents have told them who you are, ...
HE KNOWS NO SHAME
I personally believe using local Ghanaian names is an appreciation of our cultural heritage.It's a matter of choice as to whether a Ghanaian would like to use an English name or purely local name handed down from our ancestor ...
Over to you KKD.
YOUR HAT.
YOUR EYEWEAR .
YOUR SHOES.
DUMMY
Yes, Kwasi, you may be right to suggest that "Christian/English" names are not authentic African names; and are borrowed from the Western Europeans. You opted for a African names for yourself and your kids after you came to d ...
Bobo, read my earlier post. Even our country Ghana was created by the white man. That is our history. Our names reflect our history. Why not break up the country created by the white man into its original forms, Asante kingdo ...
Hahahahaha.... We are slaves my people, have you forgotten about that? We were discovered. Slaves don't do what they like or want but are always instructed including change of names. Beat your chest and tell me you are not a ...