You are here: HomeEntertainment2017 01 20Article 502530

Chief wears 400-year-old regalia to Asantehemaa’s funeral

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Madugu 7 years ago

I am sure the United Nations will adopt Asanteman as a world heritage. Ghana has once again showed the world what we have.
    Tradition at its best.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

There are those who see anything we do as "backward" and I pity those folks. We have a rich culture and tradition which we should not abandoned because it makes us unique.

If those who "act as our overlord" has something l ...

• KIZITO 7 years ago

Ah, dont u know we voluntarily practice foreign culture in Ghana? The white man worries about culturw that inproves human livung, not empty ceremonies that are only good for the eye. Formal education, republichood, etc. This ...

• ... 7 years ago

WHATEVER HAPPENED AT THE FUNERAL IS NORMAL TRADITIONAL RITES AMONG ALL AKAN ETHNIC GROUPS IN GHANA AND IN IVORY COAST, ITS NOT UNIQUE TO ASANTES ONLY

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

We all know that.
    Asante is head of the Akans anyway.
    We are all related.

• losto 7 years ago

U are wrong friend. Asanti's are part of the Akan group but not the head of it.

• Charles 7 years ago

Head of Akans?

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Most Powerful.I'm Kwahu and Nzema but we are all related.

• Giant northerner 7 years ago

Asante is not the head of Akan,techiman is first and the first establish kingdom in akan is denkyira. Get you studies right

• KWABENA MANFI VI 7 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT,WE ALL MIGRATED FROM TECHIMAN.ASANTE ONLY WANTS SUPREMACY.TECHIMAN PEOPLE WERE THE FIRST TO TEACH OSEI TUTU A GOOD LESSON BY WHIPPING HIM WELL,THAT WAS WHY HE CAME BACK FOR A REVENGE IN THE MID OF 15 CENTURY THA ...

• Obournana 7 years ago

You are also wrong. From Techiman, we came to Akrokyere to establish Adansi. Denhyeras crossed river Offin to become Denkyira, Assin people crossed river Pra to become Assin. The migration kept going. Akyem people left Sodua ...

• Kwame Osei- Boateng 7 years ago

I am not proud of this primitive and backward culture in which human beings are killed to "accompany the dead".You know why the comedian portrayed himself as an executioner ? It's because sacrificing humam beings is part of t ...

• Giant northerner 7 years ago

Asante is not the head of akans please. Techiman is first and denkyira the first establish kingdom of the akans.

• Odehyi3 7 years ago

when did Ashanti's became leaders of the Akans?

• Bonsu 7 years ago

This false, the Asantes are not the head of the Alan. Ah how can that be. They are Akans alright but have nothing to do with me as "Fantsenyi" Please don't send out such false information.

• ERIC 7 years ago

NEVER.

• Abu salam 7 years ago

With shower curtings that you wear for occasions?

• ogyatanaa 7 years ago

U see ur behavior.this is typical idiotic on your part.u prefer to wear coat in the hot sun in the NORTH with no sun shade to protect the eye.isnt this shame.
    Whereas the white comes here with tiny clothes around them.this a ...

• ogyatanaa 7 years ago

U see ur behavior.this is typical idiotic on your part.u prefer to wear coat in the hot sun in the NORTH with no sun shade to protect the eye.isnt this shame.
    Whereas the white comes here with tiny clothes around them.this a ...

• Sam, Bern 7 years ago

Nonsense! For what! Backward and inward looking people.

• KAKLAKA. 7 years ago

These are all primitive. We are in computer ages.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Can you tell all and sundry the primitiveness about this regalia? Imagine a uniform worn by George Washington is displayed or that of Napoleon, will you describe that as primitive?

You are among those Ghanaians who see a ...

• losto 7 years ago

Well said.

• Dannet 7 years ago

Right on point.

• OBIBINI 7 years ago

All about the witeman is good,all about the blackman is bad.Culture has nothing to do wiyh computer age.Why has the UK still got the monarchy?To preserve the past and this what has made the monarchy unique.In the UK you will ...

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

If primitives , why do we have Museums. Kaklaka is more primitive than his knowledge. Ignore him !

• KIZITO 7 years ago

Those who threw away monarchy arw more than those who practice it. Moreover, asante is not independent so u cant talk of a monarchy. Look the word up in a dictionary.

• me 7 years ago

you are just ignorant

• King 7 years ago

Please Kindly do some research and stop display of ignorance.Google is there for a reason

You are surely a primitive man. The white man spends so much time to dig the ground for years just to find archeological artifacts, and their finds are often worth millions. You surely do not know what you are talking about. ...

• BLASTER. 7 years ago

Even in China were IT is completly Advanced,the Chinese still uphold ancient tradition and culture..They never ditch their culture neither do they say is primitive bcos they are in the computer age..Get some education you foo ...

• EFO KOKU 7 years ago

Had the Americans got this Akwamu treasure, they would have put it in a museum and all those criticizing it as primitive will save money and go and watch it. Now you see where the black man is coming from? Denigrate every bla ...

• Ike 7 years ago

Computer world my footh go nd put on skinny geans with airmax nd go der nd u wil see somtin

• Akua Asante 7 years ago

Is our culture and we love it you can burn the sea mtcheew

• Bernard Cudjoe 7 years ago

KAKLAKA is a classic example of an ' ignorant literate'. I will say nothing more coz my proud fellow Ghanaians are correcting his distorted mindset.

• Akwasi 7 years ago

Kwasia

• Jonji Kingpin 7 years ago

The Akwamu and the Ashanti were the biggest save traders at the time

• kb 7 years ago

learn to spell then we can talk about history.

• GFrostK: YOU'RE A BIG LIAR.... 7 years ago

YOU BETTER DO A LITTLE RESEARCH TO FIND OUT WHY THERE ARE NO SLAVE CASTLES IN AKAN TERRITORIES EXCEPT AMONG THE FANTI, GA & EWE. HISTORIANS HAVE REPEATEDLY WRITTEN ABOUT WARS BETWEEN ASHANTI & THE COASTAL TRIBES WHO HAD THE S ...

• 7B 7 years ago

Akwamus the warriors...

• Sunday Oja 7 years ago

Are the northerners learning something out of this. Oooh ntafo) when will you learn sense

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Our brothers in the north have great culture too you disappointed ndc goon.
    You are never Akan

• John B 7 years ago

Sunday Oja, you are not an Ashanti and you are not an Akan. You are pretending to be an Ashanti so you can start a verbal conflict between Ashantis and Northeners. Asantes don't hate Northerners; we live with them peacefull ...

• Okonkow 7 years ago

Note that the Ya Na's regalia from Naa Gbewah dates back to 1300s.
    Naa Sitobu wore it from 1389- 1414.

• Betina 7 years ago

Don't mind this foolish Ghanaians they are not respect the culture of our ancestral that is very rich and I'm praud of that ; I'm a great grand daughter that my heritance come from Africa and on til now we preserve ; love and ...

• Prince. Boston. USA 7 years ago

Im proud to be an akan and my culture. Sooo unique .

• BERNARD 7 years ago

LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL 0572174551
    Do you want to lose weight faster?
    Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0572174551
    Do you want to have a nice shape?
    Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
    Won ...

• wow 7 years ago

I love this. I pray everyday one big chief or queen mother will day so we enjoy seeing our rich culture displayed.

• serwaa aka Mrs Jasikan 7 years ago

Hahahaha. I can't say amen to this prayer

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

You craze paaa. I can't stop laughing.

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

There is so much indiscipline and lack of respect among the youth in Ghanaian societies. This is simply due to the denigration of our traditions, and this was started by Rawlings and his gang. For us not to lose touch which o ...

• John B 7 years ago

It is so good that we have preserved our culture. In the UK, they preserve a lot of ancient things such as houses, clothes etc and then display them as part of their rich cultural heritage. I am glad we the Africans are doi ...

• Collins Anim 7 years ago

the most powerful, colorful, organized and tribe with the richest culture in africa.

• KIZITO 7 years ago

Really? U are like the village child who thinks his village is the biggest town. I encourage you to read and broaden ur horizon

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

If this is really true, then this cloth is certainly a national historical treasure which must be preserved in a National Museum, with the permission or consent of the Chief, of course. For a start, what material is it made o ...

• TK 7 years ago

Worshipping the devil is nothing to be proud of.

• TK 7 years ago

Europeans were where we are now. They cut off that crap some hundreds of years ago

• Patrick Osei 7 years ago

Bravo to All ASANTES in and outside the world for the greatest culture they show to us .

• mamudu tetteh komla 7 years ago

all lies you ugly bush asanti people

• Ken 7 years ago

Jealousy!!! How do you know where you are going to, if u don't know where you are coming from. Lost generation

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

Very good of the history of the heritage of the guide of you the Akwamus,God bless you and oman ghana.

• KWASI IN EUROPE 7 years ago

The chief simply had no money to buy a new cloth. Mahama shared money to chiefs and he forgot to give him some.

• Egya Blay 7 years ago

With such mentality having lived in Europe for such donkey years; I am afraid.

• ogyatanaa 7 years ago

Bloody fool . does the transportation to and fro lesser than the cloth.OKOTO .crab without head.

• Twumasi 7 years ago

Thanks man

• Twumasi 7 years ago

Big up's man.

• k badu 7 years ago

you guys insult too much why don't you have manners is very disgusting the platform is to express your opinion not to why? tell us your level in life.

• Papa 7 years ago

400 years regalia

• Papa 7 years ago

If this rich Ashanti history can all be house in a big museum/Ashanti library comp!ex showing the replica and history of Ashanti's,They should also nwrite tethe history of the Ashanti's at diffent levels,kids 6 years and belo ...

• buddha 7 years ago

Asantehemaa is unesco heritage so do not worry

• FOOLS IGNOR THEIR CULTURE 7 years ago

GHANA HAS AMAZING CULTURE EVERYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY .

• mamudu tetteh komla 7 years ago

stupid history all lies These bush asantis like criminals

• Obroniba 7 years ago

Primitive monkeys looking in their archives when we should be focused ahead.

Who cares about what crap you wear to a funeral of an old witch? The witch had exchanged many lives for her to achieve 111 but she now know death ...

• jon 7 years ago

Fucking cunt

• Ken 7 years ago

Oh, so you are happy to be called Obroniba(white man's child) Anyway I'm civilized so I won't insult me. Just remember that kingdoms were made by God and they shall stand till the end of time. Amen

• Jesus is coming Soon 7 years ago

The Guilt of Humankind
    18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and wickedness of those who by their wickedness suppress the truth. 19 For what can be known about God is plain to them, because ...

• ogyatanaa 7 years ago

We have given ears to the westerners that why we are dying at nasty ages.our forefathers lived longer but we the so call computer age or wise men are dying like flies.we is the wisdom.
    When the westerners are shying from ea ...

• ogyatanaa 7 years ago

Africans though the whites entertainment. How to dance etc.

• Kwame Adu-Parko 7 years ago

JEALOUS INGRATES INSULTING CULTURE
    Some people here really needs free education from the Akuffo Addo govt! Most people on this platform insulting Ashantis dnt know the degree of their own stupidity! I pity them paa, they mus ...

• Fakum 7 years ago

This is totally fetishism not cultural inheritage. This nonsense must stop in 21st century.

• Maame Serwaa Akoto 7 years ago

Odeneho is my direct cousin. I think before we say negative things about people's traditraditions we need to ask for an explanation. You cannot throw your culture away and embrace another. If you can't stand the heat, get out ...

• Sam, Bern 7 years ago

Stupid traditions. If ours was good how come we scummed to white colonization. Bull shit to all this satanism. These the same folks who connived and sold out folks into slavery for their comfort

• Mak 7 years ago

It is very strange the people who rain insults on others specially the ewes did NOT ask who the hel Nana Ansa Sasraku was.

• mann 7 years ago

is he a christian?

• Fuzzy, UK 7 years ago

What unique culture are we talking about.
    Is it the cutting the head of innocent individuals. BARBARIANS!!!
    SENSELESS ACTS.
    What does the Oh enema a need those heads for ?

• the capitalist 7 years ago

How was it preserved for 400 years ?

• Addison Enoch 7 years ago

hmmmm, but the Dagbon regalia is 700yrs old. find out.

• Addison Enoch 7 years ago

this is really a historic tradition from the akwamuhene, 400yrs old regalia. God bless our land Ghana

• Afia 7 years ago

Nice History... You see we are all one people.....good to read