... The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is warning of a full-blown financial crisis for Ghana if aggressive measures are not taken to check government’s rising debts.
The Fund gave the warning in its staff report sent to ... read full comment
... The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is warning of a full-blown financial crisis for Ghana if aggressive measures are not taken to check government’s rising debts.
The Fund gave the warning in its staff report sent to its Executive Board requesting it pass Ghana’s performance under the third review of the program.
According to the IMF staff, their fears are based on some tight financing conditions facing government as a result of challenges with revenue mobilization, a development that could result in some overruns in the coming weeks, as the election season approaches.
“In the context of a much higher public debt level, a replay of the past spending splurges in election years would greatly heighten the risk of a full-blown economic and financial crisis and undermine Ghana’s development progress."
The staff in its 121-page report noted that even absent such a policy slippage, heightened risk aversion and investor uncertainty as the December 2016 election approaches could yet pose a challenge. It was therefore of the view that, it will be very important for the government to sustain fiscal transparency and be ready to tighten policies aggressively as the situation warrants.
Ghana’s debts
The staff maintained that Ghana’s risk of debt distress remains high under the updated debt sustainability analysis (DSA) with two relevant debt indicators breaching the thresholds under the baseline.
However, end-2015 debt-to-GDP ratio turned out to be smaller than envisaged in the previous DSA due to larger fiscal consolidation, higher nominal GDP, and exchange rate stabilization.
With continued fiscal efforts, prudent debt management, and careful selection of projects to be financed by non-concessional loans, the debt trajectory is now projected to show a more favourable path than before.
Discrepancies with fiscal data
The staff in its report on Ghana were of the view that the inconsistencies in fiscal reporting at the end of 2015, and first half of 2016, was more of timing issues and not indicative of worsening financial position of government
Keeping track with fiscal consolidation plan
The staff was of the view that achieving this target will require enhanced revenue collection and continued strict expenditure control, in particular of the wage bill while containing discretionary spending, and there must also be strong vigilance and efforts to achieve the revised 2016 budget objective
Banking assets continue to decline.
The IMF report continuous to paint a not so good picture of the banking sector when it comes to quality of their assets.
The fund maintained that The non-performing loan ratio increased to 18.8 percent in June 2016 from 11.2 percent a year earlier, reflecting the lagged impact of exchange rate depreciation and disruptions to energy supply, but also loan reclassification by some banks following an Asset Quality Review.
Banks increased provisions in response, from 5.1 to 7.9 percent of gross loans. The ratio of regulatory capital to risk-weighted assets was similar to a year earlier at 16.2 percent, although system profitability declined, with return on equity falling to 23 percent in June from 29 percent a year earlier.
Concerns with Amended Bank of Ghana Act
The staff described as unfortunate development in view of the sufficient credibility that inflation targeting framework has had to date, due to its failure to push ahead with some stick to some key amendments to the Bank of Ghana Act.
This includes one that would reduce central bank financing of government to zero, which did not muster sufficient parliamentary support. According to staff, the government has however promised to correct these shortcomings in 201
Grayson 9 years ago
Sorry kid no more school fees for you.
You will educate in Ghana
ROSEMARY 9 years ago
After all the unprecedented borrowings, unprecedented unemployment is destroying Ghana under the NDC administration...... Yet buffoons and nincompoons etc are joking with this serious business of governance...... Ghanaians are not unaware of the unprecedented electricity tariffs... Unprecedented unemployment..... Unprecedented corruption and thievery....... Unprecedented crude oil proceeds....... YET NDC GOVT SOLE CONTRACT THIEVERY AND SADA GYEEDA SUBAH FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS... BUSREBRANDING THIEVES...... HAHAHAAAAAA IDE BIIIII KAKAKAKAAAAA......
ROSEMARY 9 years ago
IMF IS NOW WORRIED FOR GHANAIANS... The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is warning of a full-blown financial crisis for Ghana if aggressive measures are not taken to check government’s rising debts.
The Fund gave the war ... read full comment
IMF IS NOW WORRIED FOR GHANAIANS... The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is warning of a full-blown financial crisis for Ghana if aggressive measures are not taken to check government’s rising debts.
The Fund gave the warning in its staff report sent to its Executive Board requesting it pass Ghana’s performance under the third review of the program.
According to the IMF staff, their fears are based on some tight financing conditions facing government as a result of challenges with revenue mobilization, a development that could result in some overruns in the coming weeks, as the election season approaches.
“In the context of a much higher public debt level, a replay of the past spending splurges in election years would greatly heighten the risk of a full-blown economic and financial crisis and undermine Ghana’s development progress."
The staff in its 121-page report noted that even absent such a policy slippage, heightened risk aversion and investor uncertainty as the December 2016 election approaches could yet pose a challenge. It was therefore of the view that, it will be very important for the government to sustain fiscal transparency and be ready to tighten policies aggressively as the situation warrants.
Ghana’s debts
The staff maintained that Ghana’s risk of debt distress remains high under the updated debt sustainability analysis (DSA) with two relevant debt indicators breaching the thresholds under the baseline.
However, end-2015 debt-to-GDP ratio turned out to be smaller than envisaged in the previous DSA due to larger fiscal consolidation, higher nominal GDP, and exchange rate stabilization.
With continued fiscal efforts, prudent debt management, and careful selection of projects to be financed by non-concessional loans, the debt trajectory is now projected to show a more favourable path than before.
Discrepancies with fiscal data
The staff in its report on Ghana were of the view that the inconsistencies in fiscal reporting at the end of 2015, and first half of 2016, was more of timing issues and not indicative of worsening financial position of government
Keeping track with fiscal consolidation plan
The staff was of the view that achieving this target will require enhanced revenue collection and continued strict expenditure control, in particular of the wage bill while containing discretionary spending, and there must also be strong vigilance and efforts to achieve the revised 2016 budget objective
Banking assets continue to decline.
The IMF report continuous to paint a not so good picture of the banking sector when it comes to quality of their assets.
The fund maintained that The non-performing loan ratio increased to 18.8 percent in June 2016 from 11.2 percent a year earlier, reflecting the lagged impact of exchange rate depreciation and disruptions to energy supply, but also loan reclassification by some banks following an Asset Quality Review.
Banks increased provisions in response, from 5.1 to 7.9 percent of gross loans. The ratio of regulatory capital to risk-weighted assets was similar to a year earlier at 16.2 percent, although system profitability declined, with return on equity falling to 23 percent in June from 29 percent a year earlier.
Concerns with Amended Bank of Ghana Act
The staff described as unfortunate development in view of the sufficient credibility that inflation targeting framework has had to date, due to its failure to push ahead with some stick to some key amendments to the Bank of Ghana Act.
This includes one that would reduce central bank financing of government to zero, which did not muster sufficient parliamentary support. According to staff, the government has however promised to correct these shortcomings in 201
kwame 9 years ago
why shd we add these kids in our dirty politics? Its not good at all. Educate her rather!!!! i rest my case.
Hollandey 9 years ago
Hey kid who is your daddy ? Lordina is sitting there like a dough nut for Mahama to sleep with anything in a skirt
Mensah La 9 years ago
my brother keep cool because the mother is stupid and getting support from stupid government. just wasting tax payers money on them
Asuoba 9 years ago
Ashawo name.
No one cares about what you will do.
Ashawo name.
Existential commander II 9 years ago
I knew it. Mahama has a daughter with Afia. So, it's no problem to campaign for her biological daddy. But they will lose. No doubt
Vinss 9 years ago
LET YOUR MOM OPEN UP SO THAT MORE CHOP MONEY WILL COME.
Princess 9 years ago
Eh, that's a face only a mother could love. Stop involving your child in politics.
Bbb 9 years ago
Don't grow up to meet Mahama he is a thief and lousy womanizer.You will have no jobs under Mahama.
Bbb 9 years ago
Her son resembles Mahama papa,eii Mahama anything in skirt will do.
Nicey 9 years ago
That's a girl, not a boy.
John 9 years ago
Extremely Ugly child
...... 9 years ago
Poor girl, she looks like her ugly mother.
MAA 9 years ago
Exactly,you said my mind.
afa 9 years ago
see de gal face like her mother anus mmtchew
Kofi 9 years ago
U fool
U fool
Hannah 9 years ago
It's one thing to bad mouthed the mother but to insult an innocent child by calling her 'ugly' is so lame and cruel.
KOFI YESU 9 years ago
I don't know about adoption in Ghana but a parent CAN NOT show the face of an underage adopted/foster child in photos let alone put the child on social media.This is what happens to illiterates like this woman.she doesn't have to put the child at risk.
KWAME 9 years ago
GOOD.GOD BLESS UR LOVELY DAUGHTER N U.WITH JM HER FUTUER IS BRIGHT.
Mensah La 9 years ago
her future rather is to pay loans contracted by JM
obi 9 years ago
human right need to do something about this putting this child in politics is serious .the police must arrest Afia first 4 child abuse
Abeiku SW2 London 9 years ago
Don't insult the poor child ... she's innocent ...
maame .London 9 years ago
Ugly kid, easy to notice she wont be tall as her joints shows.midget
Yaa 9 years ago
you're mean and stupid.Can you create a human being.Show us your face.mumu
MAA 9 years ago
Do you ndc create humans when you call others short? The kid is ugly really just like her mother and you don't have to see ones face before
you compare to the ugliest. Her stupid mother knew what will happen to the little ... read full comment
Do you ndc create humans when you call others short? The kid is ugly really just like her mother and you don't have to see ones face before
you compare to the ugliest. Her stupid mother knew what will happen to the little girl but didn't
mind a hoot so why should i be nice to say her daughter is ugly? She is indeed ugly. What goes around
comes around. Yaa don't fight for an irresponsible mother.
JDM NEED MORE BLOOD 9 years ago
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHHAHAHAH OOOH ABA TWEAAAAAAAAA NONSES
Existential commander II 9 years ago
kokui Ayivo 9 years ago
This wont help incompetent john mahama .his time is up .He will lose the elections .He is a failed and a bad leader.
tom 9 years ago
Akwadaa yi ho yetae papa
CHIEF 9 years ago
Stupid mother
Fantuzy 9 years ago
Sweetheart Afia, seems you're over feeding the baby girl, watch her diet or else she becomes obese
Afia 9 years ago
Eiiii the baby gal resembles Mahama papaaa...... mmmmmm. Nyc gal BUT plz d mother shd leave dis innocent out of Gh politics. I beg.
king of the jungle 9 years ago
hahahaha do u know why Nana can't give birth to male children lol is because God knows he is a terrorist
Dorminic Alavanyo 9 years ago
Does she have father or ......
Citizen 9 years ago
So Afua is saying this lil girl is an adopted one? Wow! Seriously. See the way she looks like your mum(her grandmother). And even you Afua yourself. She's your very own so stop denying. U just don't want Ghanaian's to know that u secretly got pregnant with "someone" and don't want it known and kept it as a secret. Then u finally came up with this lie that she's your "adopted daughter"??
Mr Bond 9 years ago
Folks guess what just look at the picture if you see resemblance which I do.Folks there is no dough the kid is Mahama daughter.
Oko 9 years ago
Very ugly like the mother.
Asuoba 9 years ago
Ugly like the mum.
Agyemang 9 years ago
ugly as that of the mother
big joe from South Africa. 9 years ago
can u tell us the father of this child, bastad child.
The Fund gave the warning in its staff report sent to ...
After all the unprecedented borrowings, unprecedented unemployment is destroying Ghana under the NDC administration...... Yet buffoons and nincompoons etc are joking with this serious business of governance...... Ghanaians ar ...
The Fund gave the war ...
Ashawo name.
Extremely Ugly child
U fool
I don't know about adoption in Ghana but a parent CAN NOT show the face of an underage adopted/foster child in photos let alone put the child on social media.This is what happens to illiterates like this woman.she doesn't hav ...
you compare to the ugliest. Her stupid mother knew what will happen to the little ...
Akwadaa yi ho yetae papa
Stupid mother
So Afua is saying this lil girl is an adopted one? Wow! Seriously. See the way she looks like your mum(her grandmother). And even you Afua yourself. She's your very own so stop denying. U just don't want Ghanaian's to know th ...
Ugly like the mum.