Who cares, really? Instead of all this hot air, why don't you guys go to the studio and take our music to the next level?
KOFI YESU 9 years ago
When will people wake up and give credit where credit is due?before Tetteh Quashie brought cocoa to Ghana,there was cocoa,before Armah brought his type of alcohoh from senegal to Ghana,people were making alcohol and getting drunk but were NOT calling it akpeteshie before Reggie Rockstone came on the music scene and NAMED his type of music Hip-Life there was nothing like Hip-life no such genre EXISTED.
i want all you failed musicians to stop the `Pull Him Down` interviews and credit the guy.
Dedd Buddy- Failed musician
Shepherds- Failed group (one hit album) couldnt even keep up.
who in USA will dispute with Grand master flash?...and he was only an MC
I SAID SO 9 years ago
Uuh... point of correction..I was Zapp Mallet n one other person who coined the name HIPLIFE, not Reggie. Reggie can only take credit for popularising the genre, that's all
ras kpakpa 9 years ago
there was eventhe group called talking drums
Steve Selasi Clef 9 years ago
Yes before REGGIE came to Ghana people were rapping but he coined the name hiplife and he was the first person to come out with an album before others, so why don't you give him the credit. This is pure Aho)yaaaa! I remember Azigiza used to rap during his video vibes show on GTV but he never came out with an album before Reggie Rockstone.
DOGO 9 years ago
Azigiza came out with an album. I remember the song "Abena foriweee nya abotre ma me oo medofo ee asem bi reha me na nkrofo nka nokwore" I believe this song and album from Azigiza came out long before Reggie came to the scene.
KOFI YESU 9 years ago
Bra Dogo,no one is saying people were not making music(rap) but WHAT WERE THEY CALLING IT? kpanlogo Life? Borborbor Life? or Ndwomkro Life? Azonto-Life? They were just making Hip Hop but in the Akan language,there was no name(genre) for what they were doing.It was Twi Rap.It was Rockstone who said (on tv and radio) that what he is doing,is a fusion of Hip-Hop and Hi-Life and he called it HIP-LIFE and that name came to stay.
At a point he was calling it `RAPPERPELLA` thats the free style one (no beat/instruments)
These guys are just jealous of the man.
Rockstone is still selling out venues even in his old age. How many people will go see Dedd Buddy? even if hes playing for free? But i bet you,the Reggie Rockstone can fill up Accra sports stadium in one gig.
kofi 9 years ago
He is never the originator of hiplife. fake man
kwame 9 years ago
The originator of hiplife was Ambolley.
He did so in the early seventies in Sekondi
KOFI YESU 9 years ago
What Ambulley was doing and still doing he NAMED IT SIMGWA RAP...if that name had stayed,we would have giving him credit foe making a music brand.
Ambulley NEVER called his style(simgwado rap) as HIP-LIFE.
will people get ... read full comment
What Ambulley was doing and still doing he NAMED IT SIMGWA RAP...if that name had stayed,we would have giving him credit foe making a music brand.
will people get their facts right before they send a post?
AMY BLAKE 9 years ago
jOFIYESU...When did Reggie coin the word "HipLife"? The first person that I heard using the word "Hiplife" is Odeefuor. That was in 1997/1998 on air on Vibe FM. Was that before or after Reggie used the term in public for the first time? Who knows? By the way, Reggie used to hang with the Vibe crowd a lot. Over to you Odeefuor?
When will people wake up and give credit where credit is due?before Tetteh Quashie brought cocoa to Ghana,there was cocoa,before Armah brought his type of alcohoh from senegal to Ghana,people were making alcohol and getting ...
Yes before REGGIE came to Ghana people were rapping but he coined the name hiplife and he was the first person to come out with an album before others, so why don't you give him the credit. This is pure Aho)yaaaa! I remember ...
Azigiza came out with an album. I remember the song "Abena foriweee nya abotre ma me oo medofo ee asem bi reha me na nkrofo nka nokwore" I believe this song and album from Azigiza came out long before Reggie came to the scene ...
Bra Dogo,no one is saying people were not making music(rap) but WHAT WERE THEY CALLING IT? kpanlogo Life? Borborbor Life? or Ndwomkro Life? Azonto-Life? They were just making Hip Hop but in the Akan language,there was no name ...
will people get ...
jOFIYESU...When did Reggie coin the word "HipLife"? The first person that I heard using the word "Hiplife" is Odeefuor. That was in 1997/1998 on air on Vibe FM. Was that before or after Reggie used the term in public for the ...