Let's stop all the obroni expressions, like "Me broni" etc.
God bless you for raising this issue.
SARPONG 9 years ago
I am beginning to admire this young man. Anytime I read something from him, you can tell this young man is very intelligent.
That term "tumtum broni" shows black people inferiority complex. We have this mentality that for ... read full comment
I am beginning to admire this young man. Anytime I read something from him, you can tell this young man is very intelligent.
That term "tumtum broni" shows black people inferiority complex. We have this mentality that for a black person to be beautiful, they have to be light skinned. Another term I hate is "Me broni"
Okyeame Jeane and Lydia Forson are two intelligent young people.
gh vi 9 years ago
The first time this punk called sarpong has said something sensible. I agree with him on this one
IBM 9 years ago
The Whites refer to anything bad as Black, anything good as white.
Meanwhile Blacks do not:
-create diseases to kill other races
-colonize others
-wipe off other races
-exploit other races
-demean and bedevil other r ... read full comment
Meanwhile Blacks do not:
-colonize others
-wipe off other races
-exploit other races
-demean and bedevil other races
-create weapons of mass destruction, etc.
Why refer to anything bad black.
We AFRICANS must start to refer to Good things as BLACK.
The "tumtum broni," "me broni," etc are all slavery-mentality expressions.
Let's avoid them!
KK 9 years ago
So you think that if Tumtum broni is not mentioned in various songs ladies will stop bleaching? Dream on. The only way bleaching can stp is banning such bleaching aides from entering Ghana. Have that removed from songs is like pissing in the wind.
k, no problem, a 9 years ago
Tumtum broni means black beauty. Obroni kokoo means fair coloured or white beauty.
There is therefore nothing wrong with tumtum broni
Tumtum broni means black beauty. Obroni kokoo means fair coloured or white beauty.
James Awotwe-Braun 9 years ago
What has 'broni' got to do with beauty? NOTHING, so 'tumtum broni' cannot mean black beauty, more so because beauty knows no race. There are veyr beautiful black women whose skin may ba as dark as charcoal, and there are millions of whites who are so ugly, you wouldn't want to look at them twice.
'Tumtum broni' is only a term to mean that the person is of black race but fair in complexion (like that of a white/coluerd person). It is a term that is used as a means of 'raising' the status.
Another useless term is 'me broni' meaning my darling, when 'med)fo pa' is the appropriate term to use.
SARPONG 9 years ago
Who ever said a black person have to be light skinned to be beautiful never met one lady who went to Aduman Secondary School called Saa, have forgotten the first name. Have never met a black woman as beautiful with her charcoal color.
Where ever you are, lady Saa, you are still on my mind despite the over 35 years 'no see'
George 9 years ago
Who is Who's !! Obroni !!?
George 9 years ago
I always think about this terminology use in expressing a beautiful lady. I've not been liking this language used all the time in music but didn't have that capability to voice it out.Kwame thank you one more time.
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
WHAT HAS THE BLACK MAN EVER INVENTED FOR THE BENEFIT OF MANKIND, STUFFS LIKE MOBILE PHONES, TV SETS, VEHICLES, FRIDGES, PLANES, SHIPS, ETC ETC SO WHAT HAS OKYEAME KWAME AND HIS SO CALLED BIBINIFUOR EVER INVENTED APART FROM CREATE LOOT SHARE AND WEEP BY OUR POLITICIANS WHEN THEY ARE CAUGHT REDHANDED?....OBRONI WILL ALWAYS BE ADORED BY ALL FAIR MINDED PEOPLE FOR THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS TO SOCIETY...
ALAKPATO paa thomas. 9 years ago
I don't think the terminology 'Tumtum' broni' is a problem when used in music.i don't even think is because of that people breach,terms like 'odo'and nagger is also used in many rap songs so should they also stop using it?terms in music doesn't make anything but the message that the song carries is the one that matters much.to me i see okyeame kwame is just making fun,
Akwasi 9 years ago
OFOSUAA or what ever you call yourself,i am very sure you have never step foot outside Ghana.Whiteman or even Indians hate you because of your Colour.We are having a trying time in Ghana today but to say a White Person is better than your Race is very Sad indeed.Okyeame go in to Politics and lead the Revolution ,you are truly BLACK
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
regardless of ur color, goodness makes the doer beautiful if u brighten ur corner....if lots of black leaders loot and keep their monies outside africa then why do u expect the whiteman to respect u at all.....just act wisely and show common sense and wisdom and the whiteman will bow to u regardless of ur color
James Awotwe-Braun 9 years ago
There is every indication that this OFOSUAA is not a Ghanaian let alone Akan.
Because there is no way an Akan will use the term BIBINIIFOUR, which is the most useless Akan word I have heard in my life. Normally whites who have not masterd Akan use such terms.
For your information, the plural for OBIBINII (black person) is ABIBIFOUR (black people)
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
THE MESSAGE IS CLEAR, THOUGH.
POW@Watch Phobia 2016 9 years ago
I guess Okyeame might have reseached into the term "tuntum broni" and his findings were this horrible response that "it's leading others to bleach" OMG. African americans credit themselves about this fact that ice cream flavors were discovered by a black man. It's all about food, food and food. Why will calling someone "tumtum broni" lead a to bleaching? Muhahahahaha
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
PRESIDENTS TAKE FORD VEHICLE BRIBES TO BETRAY GHANA BY GIVING FOREIGNERS JUICY INFLATED CONTRACTS WHICH ARE NOT EVEN WELL DONE....USELESS BLACKMAN WILL ALWAYS LAG BEHIND THE WHITE MAN.....SO WE MUST CONTINUE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THEIR ROLE IN SOCIETY....WE ARE SO DESTRUCTIVE AND STUPIIIIIIDDDDDDD......IMAGINE UR PRESIDENT PAYING 84 MILLION EUROS TO CP JUST TO CREATE LOOT AND SHARE WHILST NORTH IS POOR AS A CHURCH MOUSE WITH KAYAYES SLAVING IN ACCRA AND KUMASI LIKE ......JOHN MAHAMA OUR PRESIDENT IS BLACK BUT THE WHITEMAN EVEN FEELS THE PLIGHT OF THESE KAYAYES MORE THAN JOHN MAHAMA WHOSE FAMILY AND FRIENDS CHOPPED SADA GYEEDA MONIES WHICH COULD HAVE HELPED ALLEVIATE NORTHERN POVERTY DRASTICALLY...
Akwasi 9 years ago
Be Conscious Ofosuwaa, hat nothing to do with Black Race. There are Corrupt individuals Everywhere in the World
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
STOP DECEIVING URSELF THAT CORRUPTION IS EVERWHERE.....IN TERMS OF SELF DESTRUCTION AND INSENSITIVITY TOWARDS ONE'S OWN RACE, BLACKS ARE THE WORST CULPRITS.....WHY SHD A WHOLE PRESIDENT LOOT MONEY TO BANK OUTSIDE IN THE WHITEMAN'S LAND?...THIS ALONE IS ENOUGH TESTIMONY OF THE BLACKMAN'S EXTREME MEDIOCRITY AND SELF DESTRUCTION TENDENCIES.....AND WE THE MASSES ARE THE WORST FOR IT BCOS WE EVEN KEEP ENDORISNG OUR CORRUPT LEADERS AND BOASTING OF SOME EMPTY PRIDE ....
gh vi 9 years ago
u are an educated fool. what have u done personally to help the black race? u are only bitter and desperately tying the young man's advise to politics even when it has nothing to do with it. u can go ahead and bleach yourself. stupid girl
Akwasi 9 years ago
Okyeame go in to Politics and lead the Revolution ,you are truly BLACK
George 9 years ago
It would be good for him .
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
AN AMERICAN PRESIDENT EVER CAUTIONED AMERICANS TO BE WARY OF POLITICIANS WHO COME DRAPED IN THE COLORS OF THE AMERICAN FLAG.....THEY COULD BE SERIOUS SELF SEEKERS AND OPPORTUNISTS WHO ARE ONLY OUT TO MILK AND FLEECE THE PEOPLE BY PLAYING ON THEIR SENTIMENTS...
OFOSUAA 9 years ago
RACISM, ETHNOCENTRISM, ETC DONT MAKE A GOOD LEADER OR A GOOD POLITICIAN...IT IS ECONOMICALLY GOOD VISION FOR THE MASSES TO IMPROVE THEIR LIVES WHICH MAKES A GOOD LEADER WITH GOOD IDEAS TO IMPLEMENT WITHOUT REGARD TO COLOR , TRIBE OR RACE.....NO WONDER POLITICIANS PLAY ON OUR TRIBAL AND RACIAL SENTIMENTS....
Abeiku SW 2 9 years ago
Probably stop selling bleaching soap and creams .... more like it
Koobrah 9 years ago
This is one of the reasons I have stopped listening to some songs I really loved (especially Odo, by Obrafuor). Referring to your African woman as "me broni" is an insult to you and her. It's an insult to our identity and race. Thanks Okyeame. Open the eyes of our people to the reality. Most of them are sleeping
DESTINY RETURN 9 years ago
Well said but I don't think you should include Abrantie Amakye Dede in your list of musicians you critise!
In the song "Akwada Wesoa", ... 'wo be kum me af3re'Amakye Dede used the phrase, 'tumtum black'.
Could you tell m ... read full comment
Well said but I don't think you should include Abrantie Amakye Dede in your list of musicians you critise!
In the song "Akwada Wesoa", ... 'wo be kum me af3re'Amakye Dede used the phrase, 'tumtum black'.
Could you tell me where Amakye Dede used the phrase "tumtum broni"?
Koobrah 9 years ago
But a lot of our highlife musicians are guilty of reffering to women as "broni." New musicians must not repeat the mistake
kyg 9 years ago
It was then use but now I m sorry, it is not use again.
Which artist is going to use this term in music of current days.
Is it SHATTA WALE
Sarkodie
EL
Bisa
or
Stone bwoy.
Is it SHATTA WALE
Sarkodie
EL
Bisa
or
Stone bwoy.
DI ASEM PA 9 years ago
You guys are here talking about color? If using the word( OTUNTUM BRONI ) is not good that's fine. What about English language that has taken over our own languages? Every product that we have in Ghana comes from White's man land. In Ghana, we refer to English speaking ones as educated. But the the word educated doesn't mean that. So, everyone is teaching their kids to speak white man's language including you Okyeame kwame. So, what's wrong if your daughter grow up one day and start breaching all because she want be like a good white lady? Don't forget, you reap whatever you sow. It's our mentality in Ghana that, everything about white is better than our own. Not just only the color but everything. Their language, products, and color as well. In Ghana we worship whites people as God. Even, if that person is nobody in his own country Ghanaians will worship him in Ghana. Bleaching will continue in our communities Not until we stop thinking that everything about white is better than own. May God give blacks more understanding. Let's respect our own.
RUTH 9 years ago
When black man can't even account for crude oil monies, when black man refuses to be transparent in his dealings with fellow men,.... When greed selfishness and corruption and thievery are used by black leadership to suppress, oppress and repress his fellow blacks, then we the victims will continue to fear our own and rather chose to revere the whites,....... After all there is nothing to lose when your own is behaving like a shark, vampire, Wolf and snakes.... So tell the black leader to demonstrate and display more empathy and sensitivity towards his fellow black subjects, before we can respect our own leadership....
POW@Watch Phobia 2016 9 years ago
1. When all the best natural mineral resources are hidden in our land but we can't do anything with them without the help of the white man.
2. When you sold your fellow brother or sister to slavery for just 3 cubes of suga ... read full comment
1. When all the best natural mineral resources are hidden in our land but we can't do anything with them without the help of the white man.
2. When you sold your fellow brother or sister to slavery for just 3 cubes of sugar.
3. When you sat in your own home, town, country etc and he came to Lord over you for over hundred years.
4. When you put your birth language somewhere and takes his as your first language.
I can go on and on but need I say more? Check the African-Americans, for over 400 hundred years after slavery, it took one smart African to travel to the USA to impregnate a white lady and that resulted in the birth of the current sitting president of USA also known as the first black president.
And we sit here fighting over this term "tuntum broni" I'll keep using it saaaaaaaaaaaaa
Thanks RUTH
Ab 9 years ago
BAM!!! That's all..
newman 9 years ago
wei nyinaa y3 as3m. ????..If if u aint got nothing to say, please zip it..how does this make sense?
Toffey 9 years ago
Interesting. Much as I hate African women who bleach the claims by the musician is simply borne out of myopia. People started bleaching long before the musicians mentioned were even born. Our womenfolk bleach because most African men love fairs-skinned women. It is not healthy though, it must be said.
Kofi Kangah 9 years ago
This Okyeame guys needs tutorials in the history of music in Ghana. The late Agyeman Opambuo, Alex Konadu, Yamoah's Band and many others started using the term 'Broni' long before he and some of the musicians he mentions were born. Has he ever heard of Ampofo Adjei's 'me broni e, me broni e fa wosa beka makomaa'? He's uninformed and should just shut up. People bleach for a variety of reasons. It's not because some musicians use the 'broni' term in their songs.
Yaw 9 years ago
Mass the girls bleach because the have no confidence. They don't see themselves as beautiful. Simple!!!
kofi 9 years ago
It's Tumtum brane not Tumtum broni. Tumtum brane meaning black with pride or black beauty with grace and splendour . Tumtum broni is a corrupted version.
Apolikawen 9 years ago
Am with u Okyeame
kwasiafuo africafuo 9 years ago
ABT FUCKING TIME SOMEONE ADDRESSED THIS LOGIC MOST BLK FOLKS HAVE IN AFRICA.
King 9 years ago
Then flowking mk ur correction in tell me what u want track by phootprint
kwasi 9 years ago
In fact ivrealused you do appreciate change or innovations in rhythm on the tv3 talent show. The highlife guy was perfect and he blended normal highlife rhythm with changes but that put you off and you unleashed a bad commentary. You did same to another lady. Note that your time is past and that is why you cannot make a new song to sell. Now look at another useless issue you are raising on tutum broni. I don't think you are knowledgeable than Amakye Fede and Ghanaians for you to school Ghanaians. Please remain in your studio cornet and stop projecting yourself since you rather show your ignorance. Happy Easy challenged you on one self opionated commentary.
ScHoly 9 years ago
I think Rap Doctor has looked beyond the fact that musicians use it because it is a literary device.... oxymoron. Black-White. It is for this reason that legends like Amakye and Kojo use it, not because fair colored skin or White ladies are more beautiful. Naaaa never. If you are beautiful, you are beautiful. Why would Jackie or Ini Ido bleach?
Ab 9 years ago
The term means a half caste or mix race woman. There is nothing wrong with it
God bless you for raising this issue.
That term "tumtum broni" shows black people inferiority complex. We have this mentality that for ...
Meanwhile Blacks do not:
-colonize others
-wipe off other races
-exploit other races
-demean and bedevil other r ...
So you think that if Tumtum broni is not mentioned in various songs ladies will stop bleaching? Dream on. The only way bleaching can stp is banning such bleaching aides from entering Ghana. Have that removed from songs is lik ...
What has 'broni' got to do with beauty? NOTHING, so 'tumtum broni' cannot mean black beauty, more so because beauty knows no race. There are veyr beautiful black women whose skin may ba as dark as charcoal, and there are mill ...
Who ever said a black person have to be light skinned to be beautiful never met one lady who went to Aduman Secondary School called Saa, have forgotten the first name. Have never met a black woman as beautiful with her charco ...
WHAT HAS THE BLACK MAN EVER INVENTED FOR THE BENEFIT OF MANKIND, STUFFS LIKE MOBILE PHONES, TV SETS, VEHICLES, FRIDGES, PLANES, SHIPS, ETC ETC SO WHAT HAS OKYEAME KWAME AND HIS SO CALLED BIBINIFUOR EVER INVENTED APART FROM CR ...
I don't think the terminology 'Tumtum' broni' is a problem when used in music.i don't even think is because of that people breach,terms like 'odo'and nagger is also used in many rap songs so should they also stop using it?ter ...
OFOSUAA or what ever you call yourself,i am very sure you have never step foot outside Ghana.Whiteman or even Indians hate you because of your Colour.We are having a trying time in Ghana today but to say a White Person is bet ...
regardless of ur color, goodness makes the doer beautiful if u brighten ur corner....if lots of black leaders loot and keep their monies outside africa then why do u expect the whiteman to respect u at all.....just act wisely ...
Because there is no way an Akan will use the term BIBINIIFOUR, which is the most useless Akan word I have heard in my life. Normally whites who ...
I guess Okyeame might have reseached into the term "tuntum broni" and his findings were this horrible response that "it's leading others to bleach" OMG. African americans credit themselves about this fact that ice cream flavo ...
PRESIDENTS TAKE FORD VEHICLE BRIBES TO BETRAY GHANA BY GIVING FOREIGNERS JUICY INFLATED CONTRACTS WHICH ARE NOT EVEN WELL DONE....USELESS BLACKMAN WILL ALWAYS LAG BEHIND THE WHITE MAN.....SO WE MUST CONTINUE TO ACKNOWLEDGE TH ...
STOP DECEIVING URSELF THAT CORRUPTION IS EVERWHERE.....IN TERMS OF SELF DESTRUCTION AND INSENSITIVITY TOWARDS ONE'S OWN RACE, BLACKS ARE THE WORST CULPRITS.....WHY SHD A WHOLE PRESIDENT LOOT MONEY TO BANK OUTSIDE IN THE WHITE ...
u are an educated fool. what have u done personally to help the black race? u are only bitter and desperately tying the young man's advise to politics even when it has nothing to do with it. u can go ahead and bleach yourself ...
AN AMERICAN PRESIDENT EVER CAUTIONED AMERICANS TO BE WARY OF POLITICIANS WHO COME DRAPED IN THE COLORS OF THE AMERICAN FLAG.....THEY COULD BE SERIOUS SELF SEEKERS AND OPPORTUNISTS WHO ARE ONLY OUT TO MILK AND FLEECE THE PEOPL ...
RACISM, ETHNOCENTRISM, ETC DONT MAKE A GOOD LEADER OR A GOOD POLITICIAN...IT IS ECONOMICALLY GOOD VISION FOR THE MASSES TO IMPROVE THEIR LIVES WHICH MAKES A GOOD LEADER WITH GOOD IDEAS TO IMPLEMENT WITHOUT REGARD TO COLOR , T ...
This is one of the reasons I have stopped listening to some songs I really loved (especially Odo, by Obrafuor). Referring to your African woman as "me broni" is an insult to you and her. It's an insult to our identity and rac ...
Could you tell m ...
Is it SHATTA WALE
Sarkodie
EL
Bisa
or
Stone bwoy.
You guys are here talking about color? If using the word( OTUNTUM BRONI ) is not good that's fine. What about English language that has taken over our own languages? Every product that we have in Ghana comes from White's man ...
When black man can't even account for crude oil monies, when black man refuses to be transparent in his dealings with fellow men,.... When greed selfishness and corruption and thievery are used by black leadership to suppress ...
2. When you sold your fellow brother or sister to slavery for just 3 cubes of suga ...
BAM!!! That's all..
Interesting. Much as I hate African women who bleach the claims by the musician is simply borne out of myopia. People started bleaching long before the musicians mentioned were even born. Our womenfolk bleach because most Afr ...
This Okyeame guys needs tutorials in the history of music in Ghana. The late Agyeman Opambuo, Alex Konadu, Yamoah's Band and many others started using the term 'Broni' long before he and some of the musicians he mentions were ...
Am with u Okyeame
In fact ivrealused you do appreciate change or innovations in rhythm on the tv3 talent show. The highlife guy was perfect and he blended normal highlife rhythm with changes but that put you off and you unleashed a bad comme ...
I think Rap Doctor has looked beyond the fact that musicians use it because it is a literary device.... oxymoron. Black-White. It is for this reason that legends like Amakye and Kojo use it, not because fair colored skin or W ...