Mr dontoh, those movies u mentioned in today's age would be classified as gh movies and not anansekrom or kumawood movies. Agya koo movies are fsstfood movies, not restaurant films. They all serve a purpose in the Ghanaian society and have their audiences not so as long as ppl continue to patronized fsstfood or tomato movies. Then there will be ppl ready to act in them
BE WISE- SHEEGU BANZA 9 years ago
Boooshite I don't and can't remember none of the movies you just mention
Trust 9 years ago
I feel sorry for you poor ignorant Ash-newtown boys and girls.
You people are the most stupid in Ghana.
Kwadaso 9 years ago
It is so amazing how much respect we erroneously award these actors and actresses based on them reciting words written by others.David Dontoh,when not reading a script sounds like the idiotic good for nothing Uncle who comes to borrow money(yet again)from your Dad,his junior brother and presume to lecture your mother about her failures in house keeping.
CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago
...Mr. Dontoh, you were right the first time. Kumawood movies are a disgrace to our country. They do not depict modern day Ghana and our ever growing diversity. Kumawood movies are specifically Ashanti cultural behaviors, they happen to be popular because over 75% of the ghanaian populace is pure un-adulterte peasantry, poor uneducated and semi-educated people majority of whom prefer Twi as their main language of communication. Not that they don't understand English (our chosen official language), they just think objectively about life and the world at large. Twi gives you no hope or any intellectual advantage, just noise and laughter.
Back in the days, those Ghanaian movies in colonial fashion exposed more dignity and good educational story lines than what we have from these Kumasi clowns. Even our highlife music then had such somber and beautiful lyrics, both in Ga, Ewe, Hausa, Fanti and Twi. Ghana is ruined by all these high influx of the middle people into the deep south. When you fail to face reality you die a dishonorable death. Many of our educated people hail from these backward places, and they fight shy to accept the folly of their ancestry, it is for this reason that Ghana will never get better, despite all the modern interventions, infrastructural development we see around us. Imagine village life and peasantry all superimposed on a modern city such as Accra. Please think deep, and remember where you were yesterday. Livestock roaming the city streets, Ecowas citizens pushing carts right along a highway in absolute defiance, full blown shopping in the middle of roadways and highways, office workers crisscrossing highways and busy roadways like foot paths crisscross our major and minor highways. We are not civilized people, we live in the moment and copy our civilized cousins unsuccessfully. Kumawood is an epitome of our PRIMITIVE PRESENT!!!
I am not done !
Real Ghanaian 9 years ago
You are a willing accomplice and instrument of the White man's game.You act, think and see the world just the way your former oppressors want you to. Hailing from the coast, where almost every single private developmental effort is one initiated and completed by people from the "bush", you do have some nerve dragging their name in the mud. How dare you ? Filthy one.
You pose as if English is the only linguistic medium through which intellectual capacity can be expressed and judged. May I remind that the dead language called Latin, used be the language in which science was written and English was seen as vernacular. If you doubt my claim do your research. The likes of William Shakespeare boldly expressed to the world then and now, how rich the English language can be, and now followers like you have mindlessly latched unto it without any historical perspective. What is wrong with someone speaking Twi ? It is one thing criticizing the acting and production- It is very acceptable. The language being used has nothing to do with it. If your lack of self worth and confidence draws you to English as a shelter, I am afraid your place lies in the deep end of the pool of stupidity. Can you at least applaud these people for trying, you moron. Kumawood is here to stay and if you dislike it, you know what to do.
Here is a listing of some countries that do not use English as their official language, but occupy an envious status in the comity of nations:
Russia, Japan, China, Italy, Germany, France, South Korea, North Korea etc.
As stupid as you may likely be, I am sure you don't realize that any core language exists as a dynamic entity that is nourished by other languages. English borrowed from French and Spanish in certain time periods. I see Twi- the most spoken language in Ghana doing the same.
Let go of your prejudice and your self-confidence will grow. You are stuck in the rut of tribal stupor, and more of your ilk is what will hinder Ghana's progress.
Hanson 9 years ago
Thank you for your response.
Aj 9 years ago
Hmmm Mr no body.i know a fanny little man who does the mischief,pls after carefully reading through your big umpresidented queen's english.which have engulf your hot head to believe that speaking only english makes you civilised.the chines were busy acting their own movies in 70's,80's in their own language yet we ghanaians did enjoy it even dough we did not understand them.it's baffles me alot the way we have allow tribal childish nonsense to fine it's way to our daily life.pls help your regions to come out from poverty rather then seeing kumawood as your potencial problems.
Jealousy won't get you anywhere. 9 years ago
With all the seeking words you still know that the Ashanti culture is better than your deepshit ethnic culture
Trust 9 years ago
He is brutally honest, a missing ingredient in today's Ghana.
He means, the standards from the 80s, has fallen because fools are in control of society.
Acheampong kofi 9 years ago
In your so call good videos, you don't portray our culture. All you do is showing nude and sex sense which is not our culture. I will rather watch kumawood if even they are bad. I am not say kumawood is good but, you can make good.
Your Morda ! 9 years ago
Your father and mother never went naked to give birth to you and your siblings, right? They split you out of a rock, right? Get the heck out of here with nonsense that nudity and sex are not our culture. Aboa beast!
Alberto 9 years ago
Kwasiaa man. Do we need somebody to tell us how to have sex?
Trust 9 years ago
The Web we weave. You see, you've been caught with your pants low.
Twerp.
Twerp.
Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 9 years ago
EACH PLAYS THEIR ROLE IN SOCIETY WELL. FAST FOOD KUMAWOOD MOVIES VS MOTHERS COOKING GH MOVIES. PICK YOUR CHOICE AND LETS KEEP IT MOVING...
DEE, GERMANY 9 years ago
stop that concert party tomato movies and put quality into it.something that will last for long
secondly ,find interesting and educative dialogue or engagements than the shouting and insults..
Add value..thanks
stop that concert party tomato movies and put quality into it.something that will last for long
secondly ,find interesting and educative dialogue or engagements than the shouting and insults..
Add value..thanks
abora 9 years ago
I will rather watch pornhub, xxx than your stupid nadia nude homemade videos you call movies. As a veteran actor with experience in the industry what are you doing to improve it? Help it? Encourage it? I mean Hollywood didn't become the way it is over night. The fact is Ghallywood or shitty wood is NOT our culture. Well I want to laugh so I will stick with kumawood just do you and leave other people alone. They are selling their tomato videos in ghana not international even gays have right in ghana leave kumawood alone they are winning shut the hell up with your broken and dysfunctional Ghallywood wood mother fuckers trooping to Nigeria for roles in prostitution
pablo 9 years ago
The man is running his mouth. After all the kumawood guys are leaving huge. Life is all about making it out of what you do.
Toffey 9 years ago
You are very right, brother.
Kwame USA 9 years ago
Kumawood is financial successful and we'll continue to be.
It doesn't try to imitate foreign movies. The movies are very local which means the average Ghanaian can relate to it.
Araba Egyiriba 9 years ago
Mr. Dontoh, don't you think those movies you mentioned stood out because there wasn't a proliferation in the movie industry like today? Now there are a lot of movies and so it makes it harder to remember exactly what roles people played. Please leave kumawood alone because they have revived the movie industry in Ghana. The so-called English movies in Ghana are not just boring but annoying as well especially when you can't really tell what accent they are using. The Twi movies are relaxing to watch especially after a hard day's work. What could be more entertaining than that? I honestly think the English movie industry is collapsing and will be better for actors and actresses in this circus to start going for roles in Kumasi. Van Vicker is a visionary and is making steps to be a kumawood star. Don't be deceived because we are fed up with the English movies. Lol!
kk 9 years ago
Mr. Dontoh (Ghanaman,as we used to call him) is absolutely right--tomato videos, tomato movies, etc. And the reason is simple: most movie/film producers and actors/actresses in Ghana are illiterate; and I don't mean not going to school or not having education but rather they are illiterates in acting and filming.
WAZODIA 9 years ago
ENCOURAGE THEM DONT DISCOURAGE THEM.EITHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT YOUR TIME HAS PAST AN GONE TOMATOES OR PEPPER VIDEOS WE LOVE IT AND KEEP BUYING AND ENJOYING THEM.KOFI ABRANTE3 TIME IS GONE LONG TIME.
maame k 9 years ago
David Dontor u are a stupid man.
Truth 9 years ago
But where are the educated actors? When is your movie and your educated group coming out Mr.KK.
STEVO 9 years ago
But Ghanaians love it so shutup.
STEVO 9 years ago
Don't fucking get jealous,
Martin 9 years ago
David Dontoh would y3 kwasiaa pii werent u in sika sumsum aboafunu p3t3
ak.USA 9 years ago
SIKA IS A STANDARD MOVIE. PLEASE WATCH IT AGAIN.
Tilly 9 years ago
I second you Mr Dontoh. we need movies we can remember forever
Truth 9 years ago
Thank God Dontor is able to mention those movies because they were few. He's a looser and envious of the current actors.
Biko 9 years ago
Everyone has got his or her preference. I personally prefer watching Kumawood movies to the so called Queen's language films. They bring out the best in the local languages in terms of proverbs, satire etc. Just take a look at how Indians use their language to bring out the best in their films. Can't we do the same and enjoy our local languages without insult from the so called "Englishlology" people? Heard someone saying the other day that they should only allow graduates to run for Parliament. What the heck.
Kb 9 years ago
Better movies sika sumsum. Hahahah. And who says I remember those movies u mentioning. DE problem in Gh is that everyone thinks he know more than anyone that's the problem we have
Quinto. 9 years ago
Thank you David. You said it all. It is not; nly about movies, Ghanaians can not originate anything. We have the tallents but never able to originate our creativity.
maame k 9 years ago
Kofi abrante you are a fool
NII 9 years ago
YOU ARE RIGHT, SIR
Bbb 9 years ago
Yes I agree especially with lilwyin behaving like sub human
rasta 9 years ago
i can`t find No tears for Ananse on you tube
apuuuu 9 years ago
This is pure stupid comments coming from Mr Dontoh if Kumawood movies is tomato videos then Ghana movies don't even goes across the sea it stay where it belongs in Ghana the man does not even no how to act I don't think this man is Akan so he can choose to talk nonsense why everything has to be same apuuuu
ok 9 years ago
kumawood all the way
Trust 9 years ago
You fools have lost your brain power. Can't think.
Peepe 9 years ago
STOP THESE CRITICISMS AND PROVIDE IDEAS AND SUGGESTIONS. YOU SOUND EMBITTERED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING ON IN KUMASI.
kopy 9 years ago
We just refuse to kiss the white man's ass. Home is where love is!! Turn off your TV sir
leave Ashantis alone 9 years ago
kumawood may stink but bet u ppl are making money and producing celebrities.throw that hatred some n giv out reasonable solutions as to how develop de sector.skin pain baa gbo
Akwasi 9 years ago
You are simply jealous of the kumawood tomato videos, the kumawood actors are popular and richer than you, what has been you contribution to the movie industry in Ghana? Black man always eager to pull back his fellow man, PhD, were you not in tomato obra videos with mama dokono, stupid man,, go and take your tablet, your are failed man
Erudite 9 years ago
Mr. Dontoh, what role did u play in beast of no nation, deadly voyage and Co. eii, you made cameo appearance in the movie and you think you're great. Get a life, and stop hating on kumawood. people like adewale and chiwetel ejiofor, you acted with in deadly voyafe are making it in Hollywood and you're here struggling with agrofie. kumawood still the best.
Jaguar 9 years ago
That's your opinion Mr Dontoh.Is it only Kumawood movies?There are better movies before your time.Spare us master.
faustina 9 years ago
l still remember Agya koo's odo nti.
OTOYO 9 years ago
Not only tomatoes, they are rubbish with too much insult, I don't allow my children to watch because of insult and foul words
Nana Antwi 9 years ago
We are tired of these Accra based armchair analysis. Go and do some
ScHoly 9 years ago
Why is David Dontoh of all people making this comparison? If there must be comparison with the movies he mentioned, it should be with the so called Ghallywood movies of today because the two are under the same framework. Where was Kumawood when those movies were made? He should rather call today's Ghallywood movies tomatoes and advise them to improve their standards to 'Ghallywood' movies of olden days. Kumawood will continue to be kumawood and ghana's only true movie identity. Today's Ghallywood movies are only photocopy from Hollywood.
Akwasi Owusu-Ansah 9 years ago
Your type of movie is dead. it is the kumawood who are reviving ghana movies. stay on your ass and rot jealousy go shame.
AFRC-PNDC- NDC sucks 9 years ago
DONTOH HIMSELF IS NOT PERFECT HE DON'T KNOW SHIT .
buddha 9 years ago
this guy is broke we can remeber to old movies because a few movies came out in a year but now the are 100s coming out that whe people forget them soon u do not know shit u spent ur youth days banging married women
Listowe 9 years ago
David Dontoh you are a jealous man
Nana 9 years ago
Foolish nfantsi thief dontoh.... After doing all dat movies how much did u get? Go round n chk de properties dat kumawood actors n actresses ve got? No wonder u re now poor dat u went out dere n chop moni wij wuz given 2 celebrities who supposed 2 go 2 brazil 2014 world Cup.Kumawood actors are popular n rich compare 2 u poor n fools.
Paa Kay 9 years ago
I bet to differ Uncle Dontoh. Many critise kumawood on grounds of abusive language. I've watched a couple of english movies and came across expressions like, mother fucker, bull shit, fuck you etc. Can you give me a direct translation? Nudity in the form of naked sex are also part of their movies have you condemn tat. Uncle Dontoh you will recall tat Ghana was doing well in 60s by promoting made in Ghana goods but failed all of a sudden given way to foreign products why. There were delibrate atempt to discredit our home products as inferor to foreign products thereby giving undue promotion to the detriment of our own. Though kumawood is not perfect but we can improve upon it and sustain the livelihood of Ghanains in tat industry. Elsewhere you rightly mentioned there are sponsorship but tat is not the case here. Countries like German, Russia, India, China, Japan though learns english but will not produce their movies in english. So it is wit their education. Let's promote our local industries rather than givimg jobs to foreigners.
Boss(Amansie Ba) 9 years ago
He is jealous of Kumawood, you have nothing good to offer.
BLACK NINJA-ASIA. 9 years ago
This stupid Ashawo Fucking people wife,stupid Ga KOFI ABRANTIE, A.B.C BEER DIE 3NUAANI CLUB,WO MAAME TW3,Jealousy will kill you,Here in Singapore,Chinese,Japan India,Indonesia,theyre movies no English,speaking Even theyre parliament,but they're better and well Developed than AFRICAN and GHANA,Aboafunu...
Mr dontoh, those movies u mentioned in today's age would be classified as gh movies and not anansekrom or kumawood movies. Agya koo movies are fsstfood movies, not restaurant films. They all serve a purpose in the Ghanaian so ...
It is so amazing how much respect we erroneously award these actors and actresses based on them reciting words written by others.David Dontoh,when not reading a script sounds like the idiotic good for nothing Uncle who comes ...
...Mr. Dontoh, you were right the first time. Kumawood movies are a disgrace to our country. They do not depict modern day Ghana and our ever growing diversity. Kumawood movies are specifically Ashanti cultural behaviors, the ...
You are a willing accomplice and instrument of the White man's game.You act, think and see the world just the way your former oppressors want you to. Hailing from the coast, where almost every single private developmental eff ...
Hmmm Mr no body.i know a fanny little man who does the mischief,pls after carefully reading through your big umpresidented queen's english.which have engulf your hot head to believe that speaking only english makes you civili ...
In your so call good videos, you don't portray our culture. All you do is showing nude and sex sense which is not our culture. I will rather watch kumawood if even they are bad. I am not say kumawood is good but, you can make ...
Twerp.
Add value..thanks
I will rather watch pornhub, xxx than your stupid nadia nude homemade videos you call movies. As a veteran actor with experience in the industry what are you doing to improve it? Help it? Encourage it? I mean Hollywood didn't ...
Mr. Dontoh, don't you think those movies you mentioned stood out because there wasn't a proliferation in the movie industry like today? Now there are a lot of movies and so it makes it harder to remember exactly what roles pe ...
Mr. Dontoh (Ghanaman,as we used to call him) is absolutely right--tomato videos, tomato movies, etc. And the reason is simple: most movie/film producers and actors/actresses in Ghana are illiterate; and I don't mean not going ...
Everyone has got his or her preference. I personally prefer watching Kumawood movies to the so called Queen's language films. They bring out the best in the local languages in terms of proverbs, satire etc. Just take a look ...
YOU ARE RIGHT, SIR
This is pure stupid comments coming from Mr Dontoh if Kumawood movies is tomato videos then Ghana movies don't even goes across the sea it stay where it belongs in Ghana the man does not even no how t ...
kumawood all the way
You are simply jealous of the kumawood tomato videos, the kumawood actors are popular and richer than you, what has been you contribution to the movie industry in Ghana? Black man always eager to pull back his fellow man, PhD ...
Mr. Dontoh, what role did u play in beast of no nation, deadly voyage and Co. eii, you made cameo appearance in the movie and you think you're great. Get a life, and stop hating on kumawood. people like adewale and chiwetel e ...
Why is David Dontoh of all people making this comparison? If there must be comparison with the movies he mentioned, it should be with the so called Ghallywood movies of today because the two are under the same framework. Wher ...
Foolish nfantsi thief dontoh.... After doing all dat movies how much did u get? Go round n chk de properties dat kumawood actors n actresses ve got? No wonder u re now poor dat u went out dere n chop moni wij wuz given 2 cele ...
I bet to differ Uncle Dontoh. Many critise kumawood on grounds of abusive language. I've watched a couple of english movies and came across expressions like, mother fucker, bull shit, fuck you etc. Can you give me a direct tr ...
This stupid Ashawo Fucking people wife,stupid Ga KOFI ABRANTIE, A.B.C BEER DIE 3NUAANI CLUB,WO MAAME TW3,Jealousy will kill you,Here in Singapore,Chinese,Japan India,Indonesia,theyre movies no English,speaking Even theyre par ...
Mr Donto you are right