You are here: HomeEntertainment2016 02 29Article 419702

Actress Yvonne Okyere-Whalley sues KLM

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Alan 8 years ago

So how do Ghanaweb get some of these nonsense called news.

• Delali 8 years ago

because you are an idiot

• Frequent Flyer 8 years ago

Has it occurred to this actor that she herself might be the one guilty of racism? She is evidently a petty-minded, self-important individual with a big chip on her shoulder. It is passengers like her who induce frustration an ...

• bacush 8 years ago

You are such an asshole

• Linda 8 years ago

Thanks very much Mr/Ms Frequent flyer!
    Exactly what it is !
    She felt she was that important

• Loway 8 years ago

Have traveled on a plane?

• Frequent Flyer 2 8 years ago

You are so right! Those people take up lots of time of cabin crew who then have to rush the service to nice polite passengers.

• Sojaba 8 years ago

Now, Frequent fool, if you are not a white racist yourself as most white people are, then you are one of these stupid Africans who are still so backward that you continue to expose your evident inferiority in all such situati ...

• joo-leee 8 years ago

thumb up..Sojoba!

• Baah 8 years ago

Both of you are assholes and probably white in colour. Why should an airline care if when giving out drinks you as the passenger decide to not consume the said item on board but take it away with you. The fact is that in coac ...

• eugene 8 years ago

a poor man like me needs to fly economy for $800 but not her...If anybody knew who she was she should have been in first or business class

• Nana Appiah 8 years ago

You see, I don't know what the fuck is wrong with these fa wotu be gye Degree girls in Ghana, all pursuing Law and looking for the least opportunity to put their illusionary talent to test...That case will be thrown out and s ...

• Inusa Mekuuka 8 years ago

Appiah, just because you have a low self esteem doesn't mean that every black should accept discrimination. This case will never be thrown out. Yvonne must press full charges and make public example of dislike for such discri ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

klm are racist but becos their have the best airline. ppl tend to ignore that. i took a flight with them in 2010. when i got to amsterdam from new york. klm officials took my water and didnt even apologize. i was in business ...

• kk 8 years ago

You can travel business class and still look and act crass. You fools should go to hell. Stay in your stinking country then primitive fools. Useless Africans common drink you want to take away Nkwasiasfoo. You want apology fo ...

• kk 8 years ago

Nkurasefoo take ghana airways. These girls think they are on top good she was shown her class. I've taken klm for many years and was always respected because of how I carry myself. Blacks who pretend they're whites are fools ...

• camcam 8 years ago

Thank God...she shld sue them

• Linda 8 years ago

She has no case cos she does not understand aviation law!!
    All that she had said was crew attitude related!

she is the guilty one here! She is the one being racist

• Sojaba 8 years ago

Racism is a white mans disease. Apparently some of you like Linda - if she is by any chance black, have contracted this disease in the same way that they infected us with syphylis, gonorrhea, TB, AIDS, greed and many others.

• OKOE 8 years ago

APATHEID IN VOGUE BY KLM TO GHANA AND NIGERIA. ARE THE DRINKS OR ITEMS GIVEN TO AFRICAN PASSENGERS DUE THEM OR NOT? IT IS A FACT THAT WE ARE POOR AND IF ANY SERVICE IS A PRIVILEDGE BUT NOT A RIGHT THEN INFORM ALL NON WHITES T ...

• kuuku 8 years ago

Please is only you poor pathetic stupid Africans and this foolish girl was maybe as usual trying to behave like she's a star. Kwasia nobody know you fools outside ghana. Broke girl can't afford first class

• Ga Royal 8 years ago

Kukuu you are a very big fooool, r u de kind of person who will lick de ass of a white person... U r no African fooool.... Don't even think u hv ever travel by air before like u will understand why she sued dem.

• Ga Royal 8 years ago

Kuuku ywou are a very big fooool, r u de kind of person who will lick de ass of a white person... U r no African fooool.... Don't even think u hv ever travel by air before like u will understand why she sued dem.

• eugene 8 years ago

and biscuits if they are available

• Victor 8 years ago

I have flown on KLM several times and the crew attitude towards Africans is sad to talk about.They look upon African passengers with disrespect. Yvonne may God Bless You and tell them apartheid is over.

• ginger 8 years ago

it is true the can of discrimination is too much .someone need to put a halt to them.

• Concern citizen 8 years ago

Why I am not surprise, I knew someone will sue them one day. Go girl, hopefully they will treat us better when we board their aircraft.

• Chief Vandal 8 years ago

I have stopped flying KLM since 2007. And by the way not the others BA,ET, EK are any better but less blatant

• Kwame ansah 8 years ago

If it's true,thn am really disappointed in KLM,bcos I have been flying KLM for 20 yrs now,very disappointed

• Linda 8 years ago

The actres might have just made herself feel important and want everyone to kowtow her cos she's an actress? And hey she flew economy? Come on! She can't have first class service if she flew economy!
    Period!

• Mensah 8 years ago

Shut up if you don't know what you are talking about. Did you read the reason why the KLM flight crew are treating African flyers on African routes? They gave a stupid reason that African passengers will take their drinks hom ...

• Naayele Woyome 8 years ago

Instead of suing our useless government for destroying Ghana airways, we are here complaining about KLM. Our country Ghana doesnt even have a rescue helicopter let alone a plane. We seem to always expect too much from the wis ...

I loved reading your comment! But this creature is not wasting her time: however mediocre an actor she may be, she has managed to put herself in the spotlight. Shame about the poor KLM staff trying to earn a living by putting ...

• CHINA MAN 8 years ago

NEXT TIME TAKE GHANA AIRWAYS !!!!

hahahahahahahahahahahahahhhh.........

• Martin 8 years ago

She has sued KLM in an Accra High Court for an alleged racial discrimination. The question is does Ghana have any laws that prohibit racial discrimination?

• selfie 8 years ago

my experience at british airways check in at los angeles california will forever make me dislike them. i judt cant forgive them for the way they treated me just because am black. los angeles british airways hmmm. God forgive ...

• CALAMITY JANE 8 years ago

British Airways must be the worse after the American airlines. For them racism is an institutionalized hobby where the Ku Klux Klan, the British National Party are all registered and legal entities.

And my friend Selfie, ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Thanks for suing them. Black people throughout the world see these sorts of discrimination. I had to blast Delta Airlines one time at their New York Accra terminal when I saw a verbal attack on some black passengers by a whit ...

• MAYA - MK 8 years ago

Please get focus and sue them Big. Most of our own will even put stupid comments here and take everything as a joke.
    Ignore them and do the business. We discerning people irrespective of colour or race are behind you on this ...

• kk 8 years ago

A fellow traveler?only fools are supporting another fool. Most blacks are just so stupid

• MAYA - MK 8 years ago

kk I wont insult you . It's not worth my time.
    Like I told her... Just focus on what you have to do. Stand up for your rights and don't let anyone put you down ! And I mean anyone !!

• Jennifer 8 years ago

Gee whiz, that must have been quite a flight! If Madam so-self important wishes to be treated like royalty, why does she not fly first class - or even economy comfort? I have been flying KLM at least four times each year the ...

Well said. I've been flying KLM for 35 years and have never once witnessed racist behaviour on the part of KLM staff.Sadly, I cannot say the same of the passengers.

• Ahi sem 8 years ago

nkwaseasem , I m in Canada .and I always fly KLM and they treat everyone nicely. U want to sue? Why not sue Ghana government for the Ghana Airways , they let it went bankrupt ?

• Frequent Flyer 2 8 years ago

You are so right.
    Be nice you receive kindness
    Be rude you will be ignored

• Ama 8 years ago

I have recently experienced racial abuse from a KLM crew member. This was actually a trip from UK to Ghana. This particular crew members was very rude and talked to the black people in the airplane any how. She step on my foo ...

• toshiba 8 years ago

KLM is good they treat people well. May be this particular lady had a bad day

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Sorry, i was not in that plane but I somehow disagree with this lady. I am a KLM flyer annd had never, never experinced this. Sorry.

• IDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA !!!! 8 years ago

WHILE I SIMPATHIZE WITH THIS AMATOUR "LAWYER" GIRL, I THINK THE WHOLE SITUATION WAS JUST A MISUNDERSTANDING THAT THE CABIN CREW COYLD HAVE EASILY DIFUSED. THE CABIN CREW WAS DEFINATELY A WOMAN WITH A BAD ATTITUDE AND "SELF-IM ...

• YAA 8 years ago

WELL DONE GAL.SUE THEM FOOLS

• YAA 8 years ago

sUE THEM pigs....

• Linda 8 years ago

Madam so self importance migh have given th crew attitude !
    It's karma, what you give is what U get!

If she gave the crew member attitude or talked to them rudely cos of her self imposed importance, then karma paid her b ...

• Obiba Broke 8 years ago

This has never happened to me before, I would be doing the same thing my lawyer sister is doing. African must stand up to these racist bigotry by the stupid few who think they own the world

• Yaw 8 years ago

MANY Ghanaians are so filled with self hate, ..it's not funny! Discrimination and racism is real, so why can't you give the benefit of doubt.

• Joseph Darko-Yeboah Frempong 8 years ago

Brilliant Move Yvonne.
    KLM should have been banned completely from flying to and from Ghana in the first place; these racial attitude on-board KLM has been going on for years and I can confirm that, an apology letter was sen ...

• We are black and proud! 8 years ago

If proof of Yvonne allegations are adjudged correct in court, KLM should be punished heavily and made to apologize in a popular public media or banned from flying to Ghana all together. All the way Yvonne with our support!

• KOTO 8 years ago

THEIR GHANAIAN WORKERS TREAT PEOPLE LIKE SHIT. THEY DONT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS.ON MY DAY OF RETURN THEY TOLD ME NOTHING SHOWED THAT I WAS IN GHANA NOT KNOWING THEY SOLD MY SEAT TO DRUG PUSHERS WHO PAY MORE FOR IMMEDIATE ...

• GHANA 8 years ago

THE WORKERS AT KOTOKA ARE SO RUDE ESPECIALLY THEIR BOSS IN ACCRA. THEY TREATED ME SO BAD THAT I PROMISED NEVER TO TAKE THAT FLIGHT AGAIN

• Tawiah 8 years ago

Well done for suing them… they ought to be nicer when they are flying us home.

• Victor Asiedu-Young 8 years ago

This is a clear reason why KLM is pulling out of Ghana after running the route for so many years. It's a shame that in this century white people still practice hatred and racism and carry it to foreign lands. It's a shame!

• Star 8 years ago

At long last someone have the balls to sue this stupid crew. Whether ground or up crew, whether in Ghana or Amsterdam.they are awful disguising including their immigration in schipol.I no longer fly with klm or through Amster ...

• sas 8 years ago

They don't respect the black man,go on my sister

• barima otafreja. London 8 years ago

Yvonne, thanks so much for your bold initiative. This racist behaviour of the KLM staff on the Amsterdam Accra route has been ongoing for years. It's about time someone kicked their ars. I have experienced it more than once ...

• me 8 years ago

Tell mahama to get ghana airways back and stop this loose talks. foolish girl.

• Johannesburg 8 years ago

Where is your Ghana Airways? What treatment fo you want? Let me tell something you don't know immediately you enter in the KLM you are no longer in the Ghana but Netherlands and they are not Africa leaders who doesn't treat t ...

• Ama 8 years ago

I flew Delta from Acc to NYC in 2008. I was unwell and feeling a bit dizzy at a point. I told a cabin crew member if I could get a glass of water. She disapeared and never came back. When I complained to another she told me I ...