You are here: HomeEntertainment2016 01 18Article 408662

‘Blame Canada and friends for my inability to speak Twi’

Read Comments Comments (136)

• KK 8 years ago

Mtcheeeeeeeeew. Are u the first Ghanaian to have grown up abroad?

• Aj 8 years ago

Kk.love your phrase (mtcheeew).an Italian who has no roots in Ghana with his few years staying in Ghana even not residents in Kumasi has projected himself into our local movie industries.well the Nigerians she is acting movie ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

Who gives a DAMN.

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

BRING KWAME ATTA ..AKA JULIAN HYNES..OBRONI FROM LIVERPOOL WHO HAS BEEN LIVING IN TORONTO SINCE HE WAS 15. HE SPEAKS TWI AND EAT FUFU A DNLOVES GH FOODLIKE CRAZY. MARRIED TO A GH WOMAN. HE WILL TEACH THIS FAKE BROAD HOW TO SP ...

• Kimmy 8 years ago

Well said. Mtcheew

• POW 8 years ago

What is strange about it if she can't speak twi? It is very common in the USA. You can find a lot of kids whose parents are Ghanaians but can not speak and don't understand any Ghanaian language. I can show you over a hundred ...

• Adobea 8 years ago

Twi, like any other backward 3rd world village language hasn't got all the alphabetical characters on a normal standard keyboard. Apart from Swahili all the African languages are not necessary for normal human communication.

• afia 8 years ago

Gyimii

• POW 8 years ago

Ghana has over 20 languages but apart from English, none goes beyond her boundaries. Why should it be a problem if a Ghanaian kid can't communicate in any of those languages?

• Ntri 8 years ago

You are very stupid to say that. Less of a human being. A defect to mankind

• Asem se be 8 years ago

Adobea I hope you ll exist to spew out such garbage here. I don't blame you, I have seen a few of your kind in Europe and America pretending to be a white woman bcos some old white shit nobody wants has fallen you. Read th ...

• Citizen One 8 years ago

I don't necessary support Jackies assertion, but I must say most of you Akans behave like beasts. You people migrate from your villages and come to Accra and refuse to speak Ga, coupled with some insensitive and derogatory re ...

GIRL, COME AND LET ME TSENE TSENE WO PROPER U HEAR. I THINK THE HEAVY BRASILIAN WEAVE ON UR HEAD IS SUFFOCATING UR PORES AND SCALP AND THATS WHY U CANT THINK RIGHT. ADEN NA WO HA WO HO SAA? ME TANKWA DA HIGH....MUAHAHAHAAAAAA

• Concern Ghanaian 8 years ago

These are uncultured and barbaric statements from Citizen One and those who speak against Akan people. Idiots,fools and backward thinkers.

• Aj 8 years ago

Adobea, what's did you take before coming to the plat form to spew such low IQ thinking. hello or do you have problems with the language called (twi),if you think speaking twi is only for a certain tribe you hate to the core ...

• Big Mama 8 years ago

Kwasiaa baaa, change your name from Adobea to Anita..stupid fool..

• Flavia 8 years ago

how could you say that. you're one of those who think speaking English makes you a human than most of us who speak twice. If speaking my local dialect makes me a villager, that's cool.

• afia 8 years ago

She's been in Ghana for the longest. When I was in primary school. So she's either dumb or extremely stupid or dumb or dumb. For more than 17 years she still can't learn. Bird brain and these are celebrities?

• Francis 8 years ago

gyimii. Is she in Virginia? For how long hasn't she been here (GH)? Or you think speaking English fluently makes you a white person? I know you aren't a native of Akan. I wonder if you even value your root. You might even val ...

• Francis 8 years ago

ng hasn't she been here (GH)? Or you think speaking English fluently makes you a white person? I know you aren't a native of Akan. I wonder if you even value your root. You might even value a mad person who speaks English tha ...

• POW 8 years ago

You know I'm not a native of akan? How did you know? That's how far "nkurases3m" can take you. You read somebody's comment on a website and can tell he's not akan. Idiot, shun mediocrity and reason up. Think big and get a lif ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

It's strange and ridiculous,what you don't know is that, only Children of Ghanaian Parents has that problem. Some Parents don't see the need,use and the benefit for the Kids to speak dialect of their roots in their homes.
    To ...

• KWAA 8 years ago

Why blame her,even in Ghana parents don't speak their local dialects with their kids.Is a shame though that most Africans sees everything African as inferior.

• Flavia 8 years ago

And is very funny. I called my friend who lives in Accra with his family. He passed the FonePad to his son to say hi to me and my friend told me his son can only speak English. I don't speak English with my kids at home but m ...

• Kwaku Akafia 8 years ago

She is lying bcos her accent is not a Canadian one but a typical Ghana type

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

She is a liar

• Kwame Atta 8 years ago

Rubbish!!! There are Canadians with Canadian backgrounds whose families are all Canadians but speak Twi very well. What is your point? There is nothing proud about having a canadian background and cannot speak your native lan ...

• Holy 8 years ago

Jackie, cut the bull! You left Canada at the age of 10 and you're in your 30's, that's more than 20yrs leaving in Ghana and you still can't speak twi? Are you using the fact that you were born in Canada as an excuse to not sp ...

• Me 8 years ago

Don't mind this village girl with inferiority complex...I ve been living in Germany since I was 10.. I speak both twI and German very fluently..... mtcheew..A lot of Ghanaian kids born abroad speaks very good twI and other l ...

• Palmwine Tapper 8 years ago

Masa, ROB-IT-IN & Let her have it! I've been trying for years to be fluent-expert in Fanti, Twi, Ashanti, Ga, Grushi, Dagomba, etc. etc. (inclu. Ewe language most difficult to learn or understand) but w/o much success. I've ...

• agyemang 8 years ago

i know alot of kids born in kumasi but cant speak twi.we think our own language is inferior.leave her alone< she is not the only one.

Stand Corrected: "It's RUB" and Not "Rob"

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

That's what happens if you become demented. Did you people read the article well? Did she say she doesn't speak twi or she doesn't flow as others? Do I smell jealousy here? My own kids refuse to speak twi but understands ever ...

• True Ghanaian 8 years ago

Ghanaians don't want to know the truth. A lot of Canadians born to Ghanaians don't speak the mother tongue. Is the children's fault. They all want to learn, but it's not that straight cut as you might think

• Holy 8 years ago

Living

• Me 8 years ago

This gurl had all her education in Ghana..So what's she talking about??...How long did she even live in Canada for?? I won't be surprised if her mom can't even speak English. ...Reason why I love Yve Nelson and Nan Aba...The ...

I found "Fanti" to be the most Beautiful GH Language.

• POW 8 years ago

even the queen of England falls for it. Especially if you go to Cape Coats and find some of the old ladies and their names. Errrrh, Mrs. Hollandson, Mrs. Franceful, Mrs. Britainsburg to mention but a few. They even speak to a ...

• DI ASEM PA 8 years ago

So what? We don't have a language call fanti. Fanti is the name of the tribe. They are among of the AKANS. They speak twi. There's no language call fanti period. Go and ask your grandmother.

• kofi 8 years ago

Fanti is a language.It is a dialect of Akan.Twi,Fanti,and Nzema are all dialects of Akan.No You go back to school.

• DI ASEM PA 8 years ago

Fanti being the beautiful language? There's no language in Ghana called fanti. Fanti is the name given to the group of the people or the tribe. Fantis speak Twi as well. Twi speaking people are called (AKANS) which includes, ...

• HeyLook! 8 years ago

Beautiful language ?....
    Most sweetest language much better
    And your right....Fanti sounds like music in the ear.

• maame 8 years ago

Yvonne whatever and Nana whatever were born in Ghana and poor people so. ..

• Anokwale 8 years ago

Ask Ghanaian parents abroad if they are willing to pay for Saturday language and culture schools. The answer will be no. Then look at other ethnic groups who are will to do so. If you want language and culture put your mon ...

• True Ghanaian 8 years ago

I meant to say "It is not the children's fault that they cannot speak the mother tongue"

• Me 8 years ago

Foolish girl with complex...U went to jhs and shs in Ghana, so what has Canada to do with anything...My kid brother was born and breed in Germany...he's been to Gh only twice, and he can speak twI...Villagers be feeling like, ...

• POW 8 years ago

Stop looking at just one side of the coin. It depends on what language the child hears at home. If the parents communicates with the kids in English, that's what they'll speak. So you guys think outside the box and stop insul ...

• AKWETEY 8 years ago

Is it by force for her to speak twi ? Please stop forcing people to speak ur language

• Sis 8 years ago

It has nothing to do with just twi..We talking gh dialects......

• nana 8 years ago

I don't know why you guys are insulting her.sometimes is us the parents that make search thing happen to our children's. I am in USA and I have five kids with Ghanian woman. But none of my kids speaks two.duo they understand ...

I bet your Wife is an Ashanti .....!

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

Not speaking twi is not a crime and twi will not take you international. More over you are not a kumahood actress so all those people who have a problem because you can't speak should go to hell. Has any twi speaking actress ...

• Kitty 8 years ago

Nana, there's a difference when your kids live abroad and don't speak the Ghanaian language. All my kids were born here in the States and just like your kids, they understand but can't speak it. Jackie on the other hand grew ...

You mean she really grew UP in Local Ghana and have the nerves to make this nonsensical "Nkwaseiem", "Toli" nonsense? Whew! She must be ashamed of her ashanti twi heritage. A fanti will NEVER say that for sure No matter what ...

ARE U AHSMAEDOF YOURLANGUAGE? IF U WERENT,U WOULD HAVE MADE SURE TAT UR KIDS WERE ABLE TO SPEAK IT. IKNOW CHILDREN FROM TRINIDADIAN PARENTS, JAMAICAN PARENTS, BRASIL, ARGENTINA, ITALIAN, ECUADORIAN, CONGO, RUSSIAN, CHINESE, J ...

• Sis 8 years ago

It is stupid not be able to speak one's dialect..We ve been able to learn even english in school..how much more our own dialect we hear and speak often than english??....Must one win an oscar before we speak our own dialect?? ...

• Sarskoberta 8 years ago

Am not quite certain about where Jackie was born or raised. But I certainly know that a child born into a particular language loses it after 5/6 years of relocation. He/she picks up a new one and builds on it as the years pas ...

• POW 8 years ago

All my numbers are "diskojoed" that's why there's no radio waldorf. Please connect me. Thanks

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

You can't even write English well and you are making a lot of noise.

"Has any twi speaking actress (worn)? OFUI

Mehn stop the bullshit girl. They are maxicans and Latinos in USA that are born here have never been back home but speaks Spanish like crazy. U live in ghana for how many years now. This is the problem with some Africans . ...

• Moi 8 years ago

Dont mind her,and those supporting her. Ghanaians respect everything foreign..smh...They will proudly say "i speak hindi"..and gladly say..me deaa i cant speak Ga or twi ooo"....

• Adwoa Saah 8 years ago

You are do right bro.

• Anokwale 8 years ago

Sorry to correct you. How many Latinos are in the USA compared to Twi speaking Ghanaians??? How many Twi TV stations are there in the USA there are two major Spanish speaking stations. This is simple. You need large numbe ...

• Ntri 8 years ago

You don't need to take your child to any school to teach local dialect. Stop this nonsense business promotion here. I know you want to capitalize on this and elevate your business. Speak to your children in your local dialect ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Stfu fool, u dunno shit. What u saying is utter bs, ain't her family Ghanaians?

• ROTUMI 8 years ago

Who cares if Jackie Appiah cant speak twi. Its her own cup of tea. Even typical Germans can speak Ghanaian dialect.
    Especially twi. She can go to hell.

Nonsensical "Kwaseisem" much to do about NOTHING. Typical ashanti village girl claiming to be some obroni stature in her village.
    I run Global Palm Wine export business in GH and I'm NOT fluent in any local dialect either b ...

• Mohammed Abdulai 8 years ago

She needs to stop this nonsense.Is she proud saying she can't speak twi? Who cares.How much English does she speak by the way? I live here with an American woman and she is dieing to learn Dagbani my language and you sit in G ...

• Kwadjo 8 years ago

masssa people dey talk oooo

• Mr K 8 years ago

Jackie do understand the language and speak it but not fluent. What's the problem?

• POW 8 years ago

Even if she can't understand or speak at all, what's the fuss?

• Me 8 years ago

The fuss is..she think she above others cos she can't speak twI. .In her mind only nkurasifuor speaks the local dialect

• Mr K 8 years ago

POW did you understand my comment? Please read it again !

• Foster, USA 8 years ago

Foolish girl, brainwashed. U are a Ghanain and will always be a Ghanain. Stop deceiving yourself.

• skido 8 years ago

if really one can't speak in his or her own dialect then am afraid ,he or she
    has l
    ost his or her root

• Ama 8 years ago

She should be ashamed of herself.

• Dogo Moro 8 years ago

i guess being born in Canada changed her from being black to white. I listened to her and she does not even have a Canadian acent. You see peple like this are just not smart it took me less than 3 months to learn and speak Ge ...

• yaa 8 years ago

I cannot believe, this my children are born in uk they speak twice and understand anum language, what surprises me about people like her they live in Ghana and speak English... oh wake up girl...

• yaa 8 years ago

I cannot believe, this my children are born in uk they speak twi and understand anum language, what surprises me about people like her they live in Ghana and speak English... oh wake up girl...

• shadow member 8 years ago

who cares. I am not fun of you.
    You not the only little Ghanaian was brought up in Abroad.

• Ls 8 years ago

Shadow..she was brought up in Gh..

• shadow member 8 years ago

Go to the indians, Lebanese , Chinese and other foreign families in the country and you will know how their children are well versed in their dialects. foolish some Ghanaian parents who think their mother tongue is outmoded.

• Anokwale 8 years ago

The difference is that Ghanaians refuse to spend money on language and cultural classes and will never arrange group trips for the kids to go to Ghana. It is about what you are willing to pay for. Ghanaians want to spend mo ...

• Dunga 8 years ago

Apuuuu she doesn't have no Canadian accent when she speaks English. .u people high this soo celebrities too much.who even cares

• James 8 years ago

nonsensical! !! were u born there? fire burn u

• canada borgaaaaaaaaa 8 years ago

Hey, girl what you talking about, I was born and raised in canada but still am very fluent with twi and fante. Lol Na WA for u oooo

Mass this common sense okay .. I'm an ewe but speak twi,GAand a Lil hawusa people just want to forget a what theirs and use some one elses. I speak ewe as well.I blame it on the parents out side the country. Coz I live here i ...

• Kk 8 years ago

Kwames. .Jackie's is annoying. .cos she grew up in Gh, and not Canada

• joyce Kafui 8 years ago

oh my sis,why do u pretend...? pls u can speak paaaa wai

• Danger London 8 years ago

What is Jackie trying to potray to Ghanains. ? This girl has had all her life in gh and doesn't even speak fluent English. Is it arrogance or rudeness. ? u left Canada at a tender age so what does she mean ? She better ...

• charles 8 years ago

leave her alone wht abt kwabena yeboah

• Kk 8 years ago

If he grants an interview and says that. .we will tell him our mind..They shd keep it to themselves...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

I was born and raised in New York and I can speak Twi better than most Ghanaians.

• Alexander Kwabena opoku 8 years ago

this lady have mouth to say this..u lost ur identity n u say this in public disgrace..

• dela 8 years ago

some Ghanaians and controversies..what's the fuss if someone of a Ghanaian heritage can't speak twi..I can tell you that Ghanaians born in the USA and other western countries find pride in those countries than Ghana

• kwaku Fosu 8 years ago

nonsense and how variable are you if you can't speak your own mother's language

• Dunga 8 years ago

You have strong ghanaian accent.u have no Canadian accent so what you talking about

• King 8 years ago

Atr you not ashamed of your self?

• flexy 8 years ago

Nadia from northern can speak and speak well and u been from Akan background u are not good to speak hmmmmmm�������

• Dan uk 8 years ago

What a shame... and your English is not that good, learn french or Ga then lolllll

• Ka na Wu USA 8 years ago

She is not fooling anyone.

She speaks English like the typical Ghanaian.

She does not have a Canadian accent

• Saint 8 years ago

Say what is when Ghanaian is in foreign countries their parents don't help them to be fluent in their own language forgotten that their children will go home one nd look dumb in the homeland am an American but trust me am pro ...

• IBU CRITIC 8 years ago

This girl paaaaaaa, she likes concert na sooooo?

• Nyame Dua 8 years ago

She's just one of the many lost Africans with inferiority complex. They don't speak their own language even to their children. Your language is the most important part of your culture, if you're ashamed to speak, you're not f ...

• Ms Slapper 8 years ago

You have a clear Ghanaian accent, so why are you trying to force the western thing. Come to Tottenham in London, you meet adults with clear British accent speaking Twi. Most of them have never been to GH. Stop the rubbish

• Canada 8 years ago

Oh please so what

• Citizen One 8 years ago

Learn to speak Hausa when you migrate to Northern Region, Learn to speak Ewe if you migrate to Volta region. You Twi speaking Akans disgust me to the nth power. Especially when you confronted with the fact that Twi is one nas ...

• Akwasi Dias3mpa 8 years ago

Jealousy will kill you dog shit citizen one!uncircumcised maggot,what do you no about Ashanti two fool....

• Yaw 8 years ago

Rubbish typical stupid mentality of most black people always trying to potray a different identity whilst demeaning theirs.
    My children were all born outside Ghana and haven't spent more than three continous months in Ghana ...

• OSIBISA 8 years ago

Ghana's official language is English and even though on paper some local languages are allowed in certain official circles you dare not use any of them in parliament or any important office.You will be branded as illiterate.

• OSIBISA 8 years ago

Just a correction of the previous heading

• OKATAKYIE 8 years ago

I think Jackie Appiah is trying too hard here to give a "posh impression" because she was born in Canada. She's not fluent in the English language and speaks with heavy Ghanaian accent.

• kayokayo, RSA 8 years ago

do not easily condemn others, how many of you can read Twi books fluently, compare to english?

BECOS THATS WHAT YOU HAVE AND CAN CALL YOURS. YOU CANT BORROW SOMEONE'S CULTURE AND CALL IT YOURS.

• Gaby 8 years ago

Even Papa J can speak Twi and Ga, so what are you talking about.

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

This is the language of primitive short night-black dwarfs who hate other tribes and steal from them!

• CONTROVERSIAL LADY 8 years ago

cANT WE EVER MAKE OUR POINTS WITHOUT SPEWING OUT INSULTS.....PLS LETS RESPECT EVERYONE ONES OPINIONS AND IF WE DISAGREE MAKE IT KNOWN
    BUT TO GO TO THE EXTENT OF USING OBSCENE AND PROFANE WORDS IS OBNOXIOUS
    DONT HIDE BEHIND ...

• Dunaa 8 years ago

What is the importance speaking this bush language. Is only spoken in Ghana third world and a developing country.

• Obogo 8 years ago

Abonsam fireman, you're a big fool. Kwasea like you. Aboa bi ba like U. You motherfucker; go and fuck your prostitute mother once again. Why should you( Odwanba) rain insults on ASHANTIS? WHY? Okwasia Aboaba!!! KWASEA!

• Obogo 8 years ago

Dunaa, you're also a big fool. Okwasia Odwanfunu. Jealousy will kill most of you. Foolish dirty ignoramus. Rain insults on your in looking tribe; and leave the ASHANTIS alone. IDIOT

• King 8 years ago

Cut that bullshit crap

• princess adofo 8 years ago

u have been in ghana long enough to speak good twi go away With your fake and pretending life

• JH. New York 8 years ago

My nephews born outside Ghana could Speak two different Ghanaian languages in addition to that of the host Country at age 5 without having been to Ghana before, at the time.
    Overshadowed by too much "abrofosem". Meanwhile, t ...

• Didier bob 8 years ago

Blaming Canada and your friends for your inability to speak Twi is a very very cheap excuse Because I wasn't born In the Netherlands or Deutschland nor in Spain or Potugal but am able to speak all tho ...

• Didier bob 8 years ago

Thank you my brother thanks

• Big Mama 8 years ago

These are some the things why I love the Chinese, Indians and the Spanish people..they will never speak English at home or when with their kids..the parents will let them know where their roots are..no wonder these Indians an ...

• Keano 8 years ago

YOU?I WILL GO FOR A DOG

But ur English speaking accent is typical Ghana,not that of Canada. I think ur are defiantly wrong. I think u have complex abt ur self.

Just lying bcos her accent is that of Ghana, so perphas she grew up in Ghana. So she is lying

• Ahmed 8 years ago

Tweeee what English do u speak

• Ahmed 8 years ago

Ignorant and lack of knowledge talking grow up and stop this bullshit talking

• Nana 8 years ago

She said she speaks and understand the twi language but just that she is not fluent in it like the English language. I plead for her. Please don't insult her.

• yao odonkoh 8 years ago

This girl speaks two BL)FO. In the showbiz Becca the singer is the best in command with regards to the English language very articute...Jackie in my opinion doesn't even speak English, its brofoy3du.

• Daniel: Florida 8 years ago

Jacky's inability to speak Twi may not necessarily be her fault. Please don't crucify her. For instance, as a Ghanaian who lives in the United States and married a woman from a different African country, we don't speak any A ...

• Osei kuffour 8 years ago

We live with these people here in the west . They never speak their language with their kids .
    Even the ones that were born in Ghana and brought here when they are like say 5-12 who can speak their language when they come , ...

• Ohemaa Esther 8 years ago

It seems all of u r insulting her bcos of her statement. She is not frequent in the language n wat are ur problems abt this? If u don't understand her u better keep quiet n think abt ur self.