When I hear people suggesting public notices be written Twi or local languages it makes me angry and sad: as a matter of fact, how many educated people can read their own local languages? And if those who are have been to school struggle over pronunciation of their own written languages how do you expect an uneducated person to easily read?
Qrs complex 10 years ago
Of what use will that be. U think Twi is the only language in Ghana
George 10 years ago
Why r u guys always against something that will let people have an interest in our dialect.Pls as 4 I know this very very good to support.
back door director 10 years ago
Of what use will it be.
Even the abridged constitution is a problem.
Of what use will it be.
Yussif 10 years ago
What I have to say is that its not a bad idea we can try and for the "wee"I think they should legacy it
Tiaw opond 10 years ago
Nonses,is twi the only local language in Gh.He is suggesting that because is only the twi people who can't express themself properly in english.Accra is now like kumasi.l blame the gas themselves.
Nana Bawuah 10 years ago
Don`t you know, that the Gas used to serve the Akwamus, who controlled the whole of present day Accra area? Don`t you know the Ga embraced the Akan culture? The Akan showed them, how to use stools as symbols of kingship/queenship. The Akan taught them, how to wear cloth in the Akan fashion.Other aspects of the Akan administration were also adopted by the Ga. The wei from which the mantse is chosen is known as the jaase and the head is called Jaasetse this was based on the Akan Gyaase whose function is to protect the king or Omanhene and perform menial tasks for him. A war captain among the Ga is known as Asafoiatse derived from the Akan Asafo and the asafo songs are mainly in Akan. The Akan military organisation was copied haphazardly by the Ga.
The system of incorporation and adaptation was extended to Ga traditional religion.This explains why some of the Ga gods do have Akan names, such as Otu and Akong gods.Likewise the horn language of the Ga chiefs is also, with a few exceptions, mostly Akan.
The Ga have had a long and intimate association with the Akan language, that had left an indelible mark on their language and linguistic culture. Therefore you will come across many Akan derived words in Ga.The Ga freely borrowed from other people's culture and made it their own.
Why don`t you call for the removal of the presidential seat (chair) of state, since it takes the form of an Akan stool and is adorned with Adinkra symbols? Likewise you should also call for the abolition of using the Afena (Akan sword) to swear the oath of office by the president. You should also call for the removal of the Akwaaba sign from the airport and embassies as well as Akan stools, Kente cloths and Akan handcrafts.
mensa 10 years ago
it will be best if it written in all de language in ghana,
pls check de new club banger in town, frm de new dancehall icon, mefamela on Facebook, with a new song extra charger
Adortey. 10 years ago
Are you stupid, why in twi is twi the only language spoken in Ghana stupid!
George 10 years ago
Two is not the only language but most spoken language in Ghana. About 90% Ghanaian speak Twi.
Abongo 10 years ago
George, Who told you 90% of Ghanaian speak twi. What make you think all those who speak twi can read twi.
Di Asem pa 10 years ago
Ok people, let's vote. which language should be our national language?
Gamel 10 years ago
your moda
your moda
KOJO BAAH 10 years ago
what makes it wrong wen our constitution written is written in twi why Ghanaian u tink like a child becos it was not ur language u are angry u should reason lil bit
traham 10 years ago
we the ewes are reassuring other minority groups that nothing of that sort will ever happen. We are with you. Akans are inviting civil war!
flexy bone 10 years ago
Black yes I support in a sense that many of law are not common to us !black Raster
Tetteh Klokpe 10 years ago
Meaning now anybody at all can use the media to to insult and when you are called you go and apologise? Again how many of the Akans can read the Twi? How much more the other tribes? Hmm God save Ghana
George 10 years ago
Se wontumi ntwere anaa nkan twi a Na enkyere se obiara ntumi nkan.P3s3menkomenya honhom.We can start with two and later on start with other ones.
Gamel 10 years ago
What in hell's name are u saying?
Ama 10 years ago
Well it is understandable that he wants it written in Twi considering the fact that about 47% of Ghanaians are Akan and Asante Twi is the most widely spoken. I don't blame him. It's like in China where the Han clan are the majority, so the Chinese is rather Mandarin instead of it being Cantonese, Hakka or even Li.
solace 10 years ago
waz d important of it???if one cnt read d english waz d gurrante dat d twi z gona help
Gamel 10 years ago
tell dem....such silly thinking by blakk rasta. too much wee has gotten into his head
solace 10 years ago
nd even z twi a universal language???
O. 10 years ago
And don't the minorities take from the Akan people of Ghana(ex: learning Twi, wearing Kente, etc). Abaa, don't come and spew nonsense when you don't want the constitution in Twi but will happily wear z
Kente and learn the la ... read full comment
And don't the minorities take from the Akan people of Ghana(ex: learning Twi, wearing Kente, etc). Abaa, don't come and spew nonsense when you don't want the constitution in Twi but will happily wear z
Kente and learn the language. And wasn't Ghana's first president an Akan? Abeg, if you don't agree then simply move. No one's forcing you to stay in a country in which you think treats you unfairly just because you're apart of the minority group. I'm from a minority subtribe within the Akan tribe and you don't hear me complaining, do you?
Kobi 10 years ago
Kente is NOT an absolute Ashanti identity.
Majority if not all the tribes in Ghana have their own weaving system and Colours.
Kente in Volta has different Color Combinations...they are woven by Voltarians since time im... ... read full comment
Majority if not all the tribes in Ghana have their own weaving system and Colours.
Kente in Volta has different Color Combinations...they are woven by Voltarians since time im........
Kente by the Gas has different colours.....
In The North they sow Smocks out of it....
check your history please
Nana Bawuah 10 years ago
You should rather check your history! There is no such thing as Voltaria. Neither is the Volta region an Ewe region. Most of the northern parts of Volta region are Akan areas including Asante such as Worawora and many others. Even the southern Ewe areas used to be controlled by Asantes in particular by Dwabens and Nsutas such as Awusuta, Akonya, Krakye etc.
The Ga people learnt how to wear Kente cloth from the Akan i.e. their overlords the Akwamus.The Akan also showed them, how to use stools as symbols of kingship/queenship. They also copied the Akan administration. The wei from which the mantse is chosen is known as the jaase and the head is called Jaasetse this was based on the Akan Gyaase whose function is to protect the king or Omanhene and perform menial tasks for him. A war captain among the Ga is known as Asafoiatse derived from the Akan Asafo and the asafo songs are mainly in Akan. The Akan military organisation was copied haphazardly by the Ga.
The system of incorporation and adaptation was extended to Ga traditional religion.This explains why some of the Ga gods do have Akan names, such as Otu and Akong gods.Likewise the horn language of the Ga chiefs is also, with a few exceptions, mostly Akan.
The Ga have had a long and intimate association with the Akan language, that had left an indelible mark on their language and linguistic culture. Therefore you will come across many Akan derived words in Ga.The Ga freely borrowed from other people's culture and made it their own.
Why don`t you call for the removal of the presidential seat (chair) of state, since it takes the form of an Akan stool and is adorned with Adinkra symbols? Likewise you should also call for the abolition of using the Afena (Akan sword) to swear the oath of office by the president. You should also call for the removal of the Akwaaba sign from the airport and embassies as well as Akan stools, Kente cloths and Akan handcrafts.
Kobi 10 years ago
they are illetaretes and would never learn to speak any other language apart from Twi.
Count the number of Twi FM Stations in Ghana.
Even among foreign nationals they still speak Twi, when one prompts them to consider th ... read full comment
they are illetaretes and would never learn to speak any other language apart from Twi.
Even among foreign nationals they still speak Twi, when one prompts them to consider the core of people around, they immediately rebel by demanding the foreigner should learn how to speak Twi....hihihihhiiiii
"Gomoa Brofo Yedru"
man 10 years ago
you are still not wise blak rasta. and you will never be wise. Fool
CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago
If not Kwame Nkrumah who brought these cursed Ewes among us, we could'nd had suffered in this situation. Ewes are poor, the contribute nothing to our economy but want to control our resources. Only Ewes critizise when it come to chose the Twi majority speaking language. Who in ghana with his right thinking head will chose to lean Ewe "the cursed language"
jones 10 years ago
The opportunity you have been waiting for is here beside you. Am Jones by name and i just want to tell you guys at there that this is my success story after i have been duped by so called agents. I have been looking for sugar mummy and my friend looking for sugar daddy for the past 1 year without getting it. But Agent john surprise me by hooking me up with one sugar mummy that just came back from Dubai. Now am chilling out with her giving me anything i wish from her. If you have been passing through fake agents just as i experience for my past. you can contact agent john today for one try and see by ur self.
Here are his contact details: +2348070825939 or 08070825939
Is this guy sick
When I hear people suggesting public notices be written Twi or local languages it makes me angry and sad: as a matter of fact, how many educated people can read their own local languages? And if those who are have been to sch ...
Of what use will it be.
Don`t you know, that the Gas used to serve the Akwamus, who controlled the whole of present day Accra area? Don`t you know the Ga embraced the Akan culture? The Akan showed them, how to use stools as symbols of kingship/queen ...
your moda
Well it is understandable that he wants it written in Twi considering the fact that about 47% of Ghanaians are Akan and Asante Twi is the most widely spoken. I don't blame him. It's like in China where the Han clan are the ma ...
Kente and learn the la ...
Kente in Volta has different Color Combinations...they are woven by Voltarians since time im... ...
You should rather check your history! There is no such thing as Voltaria. Neither is the Volta region an Ewe region. Most of the northern parts of Volta region are Akan areas including Asante such as Worawora and many others. ...
Even among foreign nationals they still speak Twi, when one prompts them to consider th ...
If not Kwame Nkrumah who brought these cursed Ewes among us, we could'nd had suffered in this situation. Ewes are poor, the contribute nothing to our economy but want to control our resources. Only Ewes critizise when it come ...
The opportunity you have been waiting for is here beside you. Am Jones by name and i just want to tell you guys at there that this is my success story after i have been duped by so called agents. I have been looking for sugar ...