You are here: HomeEntertainment2015 03 04Article 349063

Most Kumawood actors can’t read - Van Vicker

Read Comments Comments (112)

• Asuo 9 years ago

It is unfortunate that Kumawood actors their level of education is basic. It affects their thinking capacity and the nature of the movies - everything is witchcraft and juju. Their movies are not educative help a nation build ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

even those who follow scripts to act, have you ask yourself if their movie make sense to you? Or do you consider it educative? creating movie about gay and lesbians, or sexual related movie make sense to you. do you ask yours ...

• Godwin 9 years ago

No! You are wrong, Kwasi
    Movies with scripts are produced to highlight key societal problems and how they affect the individuals. This is to enable the public find ways of solving them. But for the kumawood movies, i still h ...

• wise man 9 years ago

I also disagree with you, Godwin, what lessons do your so called glamor or accra movies teach us, apart from what Kwesi talked about? if you think just because the accra movies are acted by people who can read hence they teac ...

• bhono holland 9 years ago

hhhhhaaaa no ashanti can read,they only know tribalism,van vicker u said it all,

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Asuo,

Your reasoning is not a valid one. What is education to you? Most of the richest people in the world received very minimal "education" in the classroom. Getting a university education in an unnecessary discipline ...

• ???????? 9 years ago

I honestly don't think he meant it like that, you know our journalist. Russians, Chinese and Koreans speak their own language but they are more developed than us. Our politicians have all kinds of degrees what are they doing

• tida 9 years ago

Please go and ask the senior citizens in your party and beg them to tell you nothing but the truth. If they will, they should tell you how come they named themselves MATEMEHU. they should also tell you how they used tribal in ...

• Emmanuel Adu Boahene 9 years ago

tida what in the world is wrong with you. how do yoi turn an innocent coment to politics? you should be ashamed of yourself!!
    Im sure if you care to know the truth you dont have to dig far to find some terrible things being ...

• caleb 9 years ago

kyei mensah bonsu......
    is a typicall fool of all fools

• freedom&corruption 9 years ago

Sir, the word is 'bastard', bustard is a kind of bird like a turkey

• Nii 9 years ago

Oh Ashantis! Why is it that you want everything to be Ashanti. You always want to go your own way. Kumawood??? What a ghastly name!!! You will never succeed. Your actors are rubbish, can't speak good English. You narrow mind ...

• Face 6yrs kid in London, Vicker 9 years ago

To be the best in most things, you will need to learn from your native language. English is not their mother language and its same tool killing us today. Van Vicker should face a 6yrs old kid here in London and He will notice ...

• Angie, UK 9 years ago

True, I listen to most of the glamour actors and actresses with fake accent and I just laugh it off. But Ghanaians love that

• Kwesi 9 years ago

The educated ones lack Africanizations. All that they do is copy Hollywood! uns, smoking, sex, drinking, foolish accents and all. I will take the Kumawood one over the so-called glamour. What is Vicker's educational level, pe ...

• Kay Agyapong 9 years ago

You think education is all about western ways?'Half-baked tabula rasa learning'is what is killing our dreams.How many principles have u put into practice after your current degree?

• milli 9 years ago

oh!sure .I want to know if van is a Nigerian or not

• Sly A 9 years ago

Well done . Education is not a priority in Kumasi so long as you know a little bit of Maths to do business is what counts over there.

• English Language Killing Our Developm 9 years ago

I have lived in the UK and picked up some of their accent ye still I cannot say my English is better than the English man. Language is killing us and Ghana development.
    Had everything been taught in our own language, people ...

What is education?Been able to speak English is what u call education?those stupid calculus,molecular formulas etc that can't be applied in our daily lives is absolute nonsense.

• akura from new York City 9 years ago

Wo maame tw3 sly.

• so what? 9 years ago

common sense! reason up when we talk of entertainment. one can write, one can read, one act......common sense u can read and write but u r building a corrupt and filthy c'try

• Woman 9 years ago

Some of us applaud them for making use of their lives even without education. You talk too much!

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

So they should throw away their daily bread to follow Darvwin's Madness ? Will you shut-up with your Honky-Tonky acting?

• FIIFI 9 years ago

VAN YOU ARE RIGHT,THESE ILLITERATE ASHANTIS ARE ALLERGIC TO EDUCATION,AND THEY ARE THE MOST USELESS TRIBE IN GHANA.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

You are an idiot with colonial mentality. So you think being educated means exhibiting foreign capacities. The art of education is knowing well your language , tradition and culture besides our imposed colonial expectations ...

• bee lee 9 years ago

education is both formal n informal or traditional n classical

• ARABA 9 years ago

THE DIFFERECE BETWEEN FANTES AND ASANTIS IS
    THE FANTES ARE MOSTLY COWARDS AND VERY CONFUSED NEGROES WITH SOME FUNNY MADE UP STUPID EUROPEAN NAMES LIKE YAWSON ,HANSON,HINSON, CRENTSTIL,BLANKSON,GRANT, TURKSON SMITH NAD EVEN ...

• ARABA 9 years ago

THESE MPETEFUO ONLY GET HALF BRAINS PAA.
    THY SHALL NOT MIX YOUR GENES.

• ROMANO 9 years ago

GREAT MINDS DISCUSS IDEAS;
    AVERAGE MINDS DISCUSS EVENTS;
    SMALL MINDS DISCUSS PEOPLE.

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

Araba you crossed the line by insulting all Fantes, if you have a problem with Fiifi, then deal with him. Learn how to focus on a subject and do not disrespect innocent people.

• kk 9 years ago

My dear, for all you know she may not be Araba, but rather a male hiding behind Araba name, just to insult ppl, fantes are the most honorable human beings you can find in Ghana, they are not greedy, thieves, they cherish what ...

• kojokrobo Brescia 9 years ago

Check out Fiifi comments first. Didnt he said ashantis? Am repeating, all de fantis re an animals shits. They re all fools.

• koo babo 9 years ago

Araba, you are wrong to attack all fantis because of the comment that creature (Fiifi) made.

• cute shay 9 years ago

How can you insult a whole group of people just because a person with the name fiifi said something you didn't like.

If you were smart you'd know anybody can sit behind a computer and be any name they choose to be. How ma ...

• Jp 9 years ago

At least your spelling and diction shows who you are and where you come from. I wonder what asantis can contribute intellectually to the development of Ghana. You can't read and write English. You can't even read your own Twi ...

• Ama 9 years ago

his comments should not lead to all this insults pls( let us drop this tribal things

• koo babo 9 years ago

So you are telling me all asantes are allergic to "education?" If all asantes are allergic to education then tell me how there are asante doctors, teachers, business owners etc....? You are a fool, and I wish you nothing but ...

• Tender 9 years ago

This fiifi guy is very tribalistic, and hates Asantes in particular to the extreme. But a word for you, fiifi, how have you and your folk, the fantis, helped Ghana's development? Your people have been in the educational secto ...

• profferlio 9 years ago

Asantes brag too much but they dont have anything too.i want each and every asante to go back and read their history and see where they come from. Bono people gave u a place to stay when u guys migrated from the north. Before ...

• Asante 9 years ago

Fiifi u need to grow up wai.

• Ama 9 years ago

you are rather the nobody.
    shame on you.

Why do u always put useless things on board?If something is useless,it's not been talked of.Mind your speech gyimiiinsuo

• cocoa krachye 9 years ago

U paaaaaa,y,we all know that in Ghana that they can't read,y this Hippocrate.fa wo kwasia Fri y3n nso k),albino like you

• So 9 years ago

So what

• Nii Anyetei Blofonyo 9 years ago

FOOLISH, FOOLISH, FOOLISH.

Movies and acting are all about story telling. Therefore, one does not have to read a script in order to act. Directors simply have to describe a scene and the good actor simply does his/her own ...

• ???????? 9 years ago

ENGLISH PEOPLE LOL YOU ARE BOASTING OF A LANGUAGE WHICH ISN'T YOUR MOTHER TONGUE LOL

• kl 9 years ago

But their Movies are better than yours so what is the point, They must be very clever making the movies. Slave man actor

• Agya Nimo 9 years ago

This stupid van vicker is mad, they can't read but u did movie with and was succeeded, why after the movie u didn't thrown the money away...fool...next time come here again u go see...aboa bi ba.

• Nana Me 9 years ago

Lol...Yet you are all commenting in english.

• Gb 9 years ago

Kumasi actors cannot read what does it mean?
    Did anyone called you there?
    LISTERN we know that your tribalistic. Is only kumasi that people cannot read? Animal.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Van Vicker, you should think before you grant interviews. Enough of you fake ass wanna bees belittling people from Kumasi. You are not the type of individual to make such comments. The movie industry in Ghana as a whole is wh ...

• ST PATAPAKYANA 9 years ago

KWASEA FUNU ! BE OF YOURSELF . TELL A GERMAN HE/SHE CAN'T READ AND WRITE ENGLISH AND YOU WILL SMELL YOUR SHIT.
    GO TO THE BANK WITH YOUR DEGREES AND DIPLOMAS TO CASH FUNDS IN THERE. FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

• Slo Niacin 9 years ago

In ghana if u can't read or write English then u are an illiterate. If any is in the ghana and cannot speak or write good English then that person is an illiterate period! That is the truth so stop the foolishness

Please check your punctuations . I am convinced in this case , you are a mega illiterate .

WHAT IS THE MEANING OF EDUCATION ? IS IT ABOUT READING AND WRITING ENGLISH ? EISH! MY VICKER YOU ARE RATHER AN ILLITERATE . EDUCATION CAN BE OF ANY FORM .

• NANA AMA 9 years ago

They asked him why Kumawood actors don't use scripts and he answered most of them can't read and that is the truth, he did not say all of them so why the insults?

• ???????? 9 years ago

I WATCH KUMAWOOD MOVIES MORE THAN ANYTHING BUT I THINK WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS TRUE YOU KNOW HOW JOURNALIST CAN BE

• FREDDIE 9 years ago

Yes, you are right. They take R to be L and vice versa. Those educated ones are good. Very good at Mathematics though.

EG - "Plesbytelian"

• naana 9 years ago

These kinds of generalizations are quite unfortunate. How many of these actors have you worked with? Ten, twenty? I will suggest during auditioning, you make a better pick
    instead of bringing everyone down. How well is your ...

• kwame 9 years ago

we dont need you

• Andy K 9 years ago

whether they can read or not, they make me laugh and forget my problems. Thats all l need and not those ''adwaman'' films.

• kk 9 years ago

And so what? Mr. Englishman, how many Chinese, spanish, India, can read but they are doing well in their country movies, Ghanaians talk too much and do very little,

• nana poku 9 years ago

I don't know why some people think kumawood movies are not advising the public with their movies...what do you guys watch when you buy their movies... If you don't pay attention when you watching their movie...CU's as for me ...

• nana poku 9 years ago

I don't know why some people think kumawood movies are not advising the public with their movies...what do you guys watch when you buy their movies... If you don't pay attention when you watching their movie then you will not ...

• Slo Niacin 9 years ago

They're all villagers and have no class

• jadon 9 years ago

Slo niacin or wat ever u call urself, Wo y3 aboa paa....toilet carrier lyk u, u LL forever carry de toilets of ur slave masters, OFUI

• apuuu 9 years ago

Van Vicker if the actors at Kumasi can't read then you yourself can't act what can of education do you have to tell someone can read that's nonsense do you have idea what you are talking about I hope you apologies to those a ...

• don 9 years ago

Ah van(trotro) vicker !!! AND YOUR ACTING AND ENGLISH SUCKS. YOUR MOVIES ARE BORING TO DEATH.

• ama 9 years ago

Fake actor lyk u....tweaa

• Ojuju Spirit 9 years ago

Van wo maame tw3...they cant read but have they rob you. they making their money just like you are so shut the front door.

• Kojo 9 years ago

He said most of them can't read and that don't mean just english... It could twi reading. Etc

• ebbah 9 years ago

Yes you are right it could be english or twi please we dont need to insult van

• KT 9 years ago

What's all this insult for? Because of the heading or what? Like myself, I don't even watch Ghallywood movies that much but I watch kumawood almost everyday but I don't find what he said offensive. He was asked about his expe ...

• yaa 9 years ago

well said. I think ghanaians shd listen very well before passing judgement. Those insulting him are the same as the insults

• Nii 9 years ago

Leave kumasi people alone to promote their culture and language and let the fantis and their new found brothers ewes try and be english for life.I feel sorry for some fantis cause they are just like house niggers

• ogrea 9 years ago

which culture part 1to 10 culture or wat live Van in peace u guys tink u are da only people in Gh n all da good tinz should always come 4m u boring movies part 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,........

Aponkyereni!!!wait,for part 59 will be coming soon.Reading and writing de wak) BBC anaa?

• 1987 9 years ago

What sort of nation are we? Does a simple and truthful statement warrant all sort of insults? Why cant we you guys ever reason or express yourselves without insults. It is very sad to read some comments up here on this forum. ...

• Afua 9 years ago

You are just looking at one perspective which is the negative, on the positive aspect these actors and actresses are quite creative and innovative to act without a script. Kudos to them for even entertaining the thought of ac ...

• Biggality Idiotlity chimpanzee mouth 9 years ago

If you are movie actor reading speaking and writing English is a thing everyone should learn how to do,If go outside your country to receive award English is the language you will speak not twi,so take instruction from those ...

• IDI AMIN DADA!!! 9 years ago

FOOLISH VAN DYKER CANNOT READ EITHER. THIS FOOL DID NOT EVEN GO TO SCHOOL. KWASIA, GO BACK TO LIBERIA OK, KWASIA YOU ARE A NEPHEW OF CHARLES TAYLOR. ABOA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• IDI AMIN DADA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

FOOLISH VAN DYKER CANNOT READ EITHER. THIS FOOL DID NOT EVEN GO TO SCHOOL. KWASIA, GO BACK TO LIBERIA OK, KWASIA YOU ARE A NEPHEW OF CHARLES TAYLOR. ABOA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Is ur assertion a prejudice or ur own estimation?

• newman 9 years ago

It takes those with common sensical brains to digest nd understand this comment.....if only He said that...If u wanna do movies in ur local dialect,,,do it to perfection ..not this 2 by 4 shenanigated,uncouth nd irresponsib ...

• atweranana 9 years ago

Van is a BIG fool kwasiato...tell french man to speak english n u will see wat will happen to u ABOA refugee boy...

• L T B 9 years ago

Shut up Van. After we both left SSS you went into acting and never pursue a higher education like some of us did. You were not a smart student at kwabotwe. You are simply just like the people you are criticizing.

• @slo 9 years ago

@slo Naicin which tribe in Ghana doesn't originate frm the village? We are all villagers. This foolishes must stop

• andrew bright asare 9 years ago

Stupid talk can you read and write your native language. you artificial bread human do you think,you can have a chance to play a role in your fathers country you should shut up

• Kabila 9 years ago

Fake Accra/ glamour actors or what ever you call yourselves. English is not your language! Stop claiming it! More so, I think the real talented actors are those who can come up with their own lines from I scenario; thus think ...

• ato 9 years ago

Ban bicker wo y3 obronii akoa ooo tonnnn

• Daniel Wee Carter 9 years ago

YOU ARE VERY STUPID,BUT THEY HELP YOU DO YOUR JOB.

• I'm me 9 years ago

I know that already

• k. afrifa 9 years ago

Masa komot what proper script do the so called Accra celebrities produce.

• Ama Ghana 9 years ago

Van vicker, you call this your acting educative.? I'm afraid.

• Ama 9 years ago

Any3mi I dey ur back

• azonto ninja 9 years ago

So what? They are good at what they do. Van vicker paa,silly views should be kept to yourself.

• L T B 9 years ago

Shut up Van. After we both left SSS you went into acting and never pursue a higher education like some of us did. You were not a smart student at kwabotwe. You are simply just like the people you are criticizing.

• NAS 9 years ago

I think Van Vicker is totally wrong. You don't need to be educated and read before you could become a GREAT actor. As a Ghanaian and highly educated, I prefer to watch Kumawood movies than the so called Gallywood or whatever ...

• ebbah 9 years ago

I think he said `cant read` it could english or twi not only english

• kobi 9 years ago

foolish talk

• gloria usa 9 years ago

I don't care if they can read or not
    I still like Agya koo he makes my day

We are Ghanaians,We should focus on our heritage.Your '2by4' accent can't stand a chance in the Hollywood.Almos half

Almost half of the population watch the graphics of your ,2by4accent' movies.You can read and write but have changed nothing yet.Be proud of where u come from.

• Harrison 9 years ago

Van...asem no soow...wo s33m paa..
    Ad3n...Bibiab3y3 fine...

• Dean 9 years ago

You damn stupid.Opportunistic idiot.

• PAPSON 9 years ago

Stop the insult and make reasonable contributions.

• Mawusi 9 years ago

Van you are just a robot. Robot are directed by external force and that exactly who you are. You can't even act without a script. If Kumasi actors can come up with such great show in their own way, then they are far far bette ...

• Mawusi 9 years ago

Van is a villager and an illitrate. He is not exposed at all. I live in England and not all white people can read and write but they have achieved a lot. Van travel and see.
    You are just a vague guy. Sorry man.

• Akwesi Akwesi 9 years ago

go help them

• ol dirty bastard.(O.D.B) 9 years ago

i thank God for not creating sea in kumasi if not,we wouldnt know what this ashantis will do to mother Ghana,but the truth is you people should try hard to stay in that your kumasi alone.bla n blead ppl

• Owusu 9 years ago

Aboa biba we don't have sea but we have gold.what do we need see for?what do you do with you sea?Eii gyimie nie!Wo sen wo yonko a wo tan wo aboa mu aboa.