Thank you. I agree. The scripts are written by others to make us look bad. We must define ourselves and we must write our own scripts
Atugabiig 11 years ago
Mmaah, you forgot to mention TIME WITH NAFTI and of course, OSOFO DADZIE.
NARH 11 years ago
The problem is with our mentality. A person is successful because he or she went for money making juju. Somebody dies because a family member has used juju on him. Someone is not successful because somebody in the family is against him. To make things worst, some of our so called men of God feed their followers with these false and lazy ideas to make money. The film makers do these lazy things because that is what the majority like.
GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 11 years ago
anansekrom definately needs to get professional with their script writing and overall movie making. even humans grow, you know. if you need assistance perfecting your scripts and overall movies. get at me...
OBENG VISIONWO ... read full comment
anansekrom definately needs to get professional with their script writing and overall movie making. even humans grow, you know. if you need assistance perfecting your scripts and overall movies. get at me...
OBENG VISIONWORKS
tuxman06@yahoo.ca
JOHN 10:10
THE TRUTH WILL MAKE U RICH!
Macdarling 11 years ago
I thought I was the one only splitting hairs when those tawdry films come on the screen. Like you, Ayando Mmaah, I am fed up to the back teeth why those script writers feel the need to copy feed us with balderdash story lines copied from Nigerian films.
Have you not noticed that Ghana is being eroded of its identity? The country is overran with superlatives imported from other parts of the world. Have you noticed how foreign
Cliches, idioms and saying from Nigeria has infiltrated our vocabulary. Ghana films are littered these days with the way and life of Nigerians.
When did We start addressing our superiors as "Oga" and our mothers as "umama"? Or refer to motor bikes as okada? It appears as if we are ashamed of who we are.
In retrospect, the Nigerians are not using our vocabulary in their films and they continue to frown on our culture. I think it is time we have a national debate on these issues involving our Ministers and the Chiefs.
GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 11 years ago
WAT YOU'VE WRITTEN HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ARTIKEL HEADLINE: WRITING QUALITY MOVIE SCRIPTS. GH IS NOT GETTING ITS IDENTITY ERODED. ITS SIMPLY AN EVOLUTION....ASK URSELF WHERE THE WHERE OKADA EMANATED FROM? WHO COINED IT?
CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago
I have always felt exactly the way you feeling now, since the days of OSOFO DADZIE and AVENUE A, and I live for the day where a true Ghanaian Movie will emerge.
You see the problem about your biases is that everything for ... read full comment
I have always felt exactly the way you feeling now, since the days of OSOFO DADZIE and AVENUE A, and I live for the day where a true Ghanaian Movie will emerge.
You see the problem about your biases is that everything for you is about Akan culture, movie and language. Any secondary good taste in movies for you will be English but not another Ghanaian language movie production. Perhaps what you should suggest is support and encouragement to our fellow ethnic groups to be bold and take to the theaters to promote their ideas about Ghana. That may very well be the solution to our problems. Anyway, let me focus on the solutions instead of engaging your fine argument here. Good day Sir!
JB Ansong 11 years ago
Do you know that Nana Benyin Joris Wattemberg (Ghanaian of Fanti Origin, lived at Nyaniba Estates) was the originator and the script-writer of both Avenue A and Osofo Dadzie (and as well as Villa Kakalika)? He was such a great writer. I once noticed him finish the gist of a play within 30 minutes, therafter he compiled the detailed script.
Joris attended Achimota and graduated from the of School of Performing Arts, University of Ghana, Legon in 1972. He wrote the scripts for 'Avenue A' and 'Villa Kakalika' when he was still a student and for 'Osofo Dadzie' after graduation.
All those days, Nana Bosomprah was the Producer. The two (of course plus the entire camera men, sound engineers etc) were a perfect team.
I personally worked at the GBC studios then (yeah in the days of Mike Eghan, James Amartey) and can confirm all these. Aside, Joris was a family friend.
Citizen, our problems in the movie/film industry are basically three.
1) Most of our graduates ( of Performing Arts) are not innovative.
2) Those who are innovative feel too "BIG" (as graduates) to go into film acting. They'll prefer joining the Association of Unemployed Graduates.
2) For thos who want to go into the industry, film producers do not WANT to employ any graduates "to come and BLUFF them". They'd rather hired [semi-]illiterates.
Macdarling 11 years ago
JB Ansong, you hit the nail squarely on the head-excellent! The question still remains how to bring script writing back to the days you mentioned. I remember growing up watching Mr Mensah shows which was informative and apt..gone were those days.
What do you think is the solution considering the three issues you identified?
sah nay 11 years ago
joris did not attend the school of performing arts!!! please get your facts right. writing was just a hobby for him, not a profession. he is just a very talented and intelligent guy: a real ojakrom polyman.
Young Ghana 11 years ago
There is no doubt that the majority of Ghanaian movies are childish and lack intellectual and dramatic value. But is the problem with poor script writing as opposed to the industry being "high-jacked" by poor script writers? Where are all the graduates/lecturers from the drama/English/Theatre studies courses of our universities and colleges? What is the Ghana Film board doing to bring quality into the system?
sah nay 11 years ago
great comment!!! thank you.
ewe mama 11 years ago
you are as fake as ur writing... which trotro in ghana shows movies?
Macdarling 11 years ago
Does it occur to you that he/she may be watching on the laptop or IPad?
JB Ansong 11 years ago
He is living in some 50 years back and does not know that one may connect to the internet ( and therafer watch movies etc ) with a lot of portable electronic gadgets, ranging from basic UMTS, Edge, ...-Enabled simple mobile phones to highly complex NoteBooks, Laptops, ....
pat 11 years ago
nowadays some of the trotros have monitors withwhich they show mostly the kumasi movies. if you care to know. maybe it a long time you sat in one
pat 11 years ago
i also think Nana Ama was did well in the movie Kumasi Yonko. Its one of the few movies i can watch more than once.
KUKS 11 years ago
I side with you man,i hardly watch these Kumasi movies. they are way too fetish.OMG,please producers, directors and all other movie crew should help make Ghana a better one
Harryboo. 11 years ago
I think you are wrong about Nigerians making good movies,infact anybody that understands the concept of making movies will disagree bigtime.Ghanaian movies are very good especially Sparrow production movies so get your fact right.Yes i said it.
Harryboo. 11 years ago
Nigerian movies are the crappiest movies i ve ever seen out there,bad english,bad titles,bad storylines,bad music score,bad begining and ending infact you name its in there.How can a title of a movie different from part2 of that same movie? and you talk about Nigerian making good movies than Ghana.long live Ghallywood.
CriticalThinking 11 years ago
I do agree that the vast majority of Ghanaian movies are severely lacking in the plot department. There are various reasons for this, and that can be debated at a later time.
People watch movies for different reasons. Some ... read full comment
I do agree that the vast majority of Ghanaian movies are severely lacking in the plot department. There are various reasons for this, and that can be debated at a later time.
People watch movies for different reasons. Some want the movies they watch to be a reflection of their lives or something they can relate to. Others use movies as an escape from their normal lives, so they prefer something totally outside their experience. For example, science fiction movies like 'Avatar' or fantasy movies like 'Lord of the Rings' are hugely popular worldwide, but I can guarantee that no human has ever had any experience like what is described in those movies.
Shirley Frimpong Manso's highly stylized movies depict a lifestyle very few people in Ghana have experienced, but one that most of us can imagine. If you have ever read romance novels (Harlequin, Mills and Boon), you would see that her movies are a Ghanaian adaptation of those fantasies. I, like the author do not like her movies very much, but I appreciate their quality.
Kumawood movies are meant for a very specific demographic, one that the author most likely does not belong. I personally have no idea how people find it entertaining, but I know there is a huge following for it. If the producers didn't make any money from these movies, eventually, they would stop making them. Also keep in mind that all movie industries across the world produce 'bad' movies. Hollywood has its B, C, and D movies, and some of the worst movies I have ever wasted my time on have been Bollywood movies.
The dearth of good script-writing does present an economic opportunity for an enterprising soul. If you can invest the time and energy into writing a screenplay to a movie you would like to watch, maybe you can find a producer and put something out there for the rest of us to watch.
pat 11 years ago
before God d man nana ama mcbrown is d best actress in gh...wenever i watch her movies i feel important bcos am wastin ma tym on her...very versatile and easy going....i do appreciate her.
Dooney Abdul Barsit 11 years ago
I have the same problem as you,Ghanaian movie industry has fallen apart due to poor story line.Thanks for bringing that up.
Fatawu 11 years ago
you are right for ur message it true that our Ghanaian movies don't show pure Ghanaian culture that is my worried how can our little ones learn from our movies so it a pity
Ernest 11 years ago
Normally a movie starts with a script but in our instance some of the Directors put some story line together, about 1 page, and call it a script. I decided to pursue Scriptwriting way back but it was not worth it. It all comes down to money. The cheapest Hollywood movies cost in the region of 5 -20 millions of Dollars. When it comes to Ghana your guess is as good as mine. And to the Author you said you wanted to change the story but you did not leave your contact. I would like to join the campaign.
Ruth Baaba Amoah 11 years ago
I certainly agree with you,its about time we be ourselves and natural.and lets copy in the right way.all the best.we are trying but its not enough. if we really want to be in the movie industry then lets all join and give ideas as mention above,we have great talent lets make good of it.
Asante Sana!!!!
aidoo aquinas 11 years ago
am a script writer myself, but i will say i am an uderground one because am yet to give my script to a producer. The reason being that i dont know how. And what you are saying is perfectly the truth about GHanaaian movies. The question is how are we going to correct it? Hmm
The problem is with our mentality. A person is successful because he or she went for money making juju. Somebody dies because a family member has used juju on him. Someone is not successful because somebody in the family is a ...
OBENG VISIONWO ...
I thought I was the one only splitting hairs when those tawdry films come on the screen. Like you, Ayando Mmaah, I am fed up to the back teeth why those script writers feel the need to copy feed us with balderdash story lines ...
You see the problem about your biases is that everything for ...
Do you know that Nana Benyin Joris Wattemberg (Ghanaian of Fanti Origin, lived at Nyaniba Estates) was the originator and the script-writer of both Avenue A and Osofo Dadzie (and as well as Villa Kakalika)? He was such a grea ...
JB Ansong, you hit the nail squarely on the head-excellent! The question still remains how to bring script writing back to the days you mentioned. I remember growing up watching Mr Mensah shows which was informative and apt.. ...
There is no doubt that the majority of Ghanaian movies are childish and lack intellectual and dramatic value. But is the problem with poor script writing as opposed to the industry being "high-jacked" by poor script writers? ...
He is living in some 50 years back and does not know that one may connect to the internet ( and therafer watch movies etc ) with a lot of portable electronic gadgets, ranging from basic UMTS, Edge, ...-Enabled simple mobile p ...
I think you are wrong about Nigerians making good movies,infact anybody that understands the concept of making movies will disagree bigtime.Ghanaian movies are very good especially Sparrow production movies so get your fact r ...
Nigerian movies are the crappiest movies i ve ever seen out there,bad english,bad titles,bad storylines,bad music score,bad begining and ending infact you name its in there.How can a title of a movie different from part2 of t ...
People watch movies for different reasons. Some ...
Normally a movie starts with a script but in our instance some of the Directors put some story line together, about 1 page, and call it a script. I decided to pursue Scriptwriting way back but it was not worth it. It all come ...
I certainly agree with you,its about time we be ourselves and natural.and lets copy in the right way.all the best.we are trying but its not enough. if we really want to be in the movie industry then lets all join and give ide ...
am a script writer myself, but i will say i am an uderground one because am yet to give my script to a producer. The reason being that i dont know how. And what you are saying is perfectly the truth about GHanaaian movies. Th ...