You are here: HomeEntertainment2013 11 17Article 292313

Akon & Wizkid reject dark skinned girls from video participation in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (96)

• ace 10 years ago

get the fuccccccccck out of gh.

• MUHAMMAD KAAMIL. 10 years ago

ABOMINABLE DEVILISH BUSINESS.NATION WRECKERS.

• dzidzor 10 years ago

that akon hasn't been relevant for God knows how long!!! he should go and tell his mother to bleach and star in his music videos nkwasiasem!!

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

And he use keys Ghana music to play....we shall see nd lookin .....from Samms!,...am asking the opera gaana is at where?, the great Acadamic music Winneba-Ghana! ....then Amen, from Samms!.nd babye from now, nd......God bless ...

• lol 10 years ago

Go back to primary School dude, your English is so disgusting

• suleman 10 years ago

popular,maybe within africa but Akon should know better.I hope this story is not true.Senegal,Gambia and Sudan has the darkest people in Africa so u want to tell us that they are not nice?The darker the berry,i sweeter it tas ...

• dongo 10 years ago

Alex who told u come on this forum?U r a disgrace.Dont contribute here again bcos no one knows what u want to say.

• Village Food 10 years ago

dongo,Alex maybe a Ghanaian based in France or a born to Ghanaian parents in France so don't blame his English.

• young Fella 10 years ago

Akon knows that nonsense won't fly in America, Pls fellow Ghanaians stand up for urself, these fools should be kick out of the country for the samething...Akon is just as dark as those girls...He shd be kicked out for not hav ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

ITS THEIR MUSIC VIDEO N THEY CAN CHOOSE WHOMEVER THEY WANT. WAT IF THEY CASTED FOR OBOLO WOMEN? OR FEMALE DWARFS? OR TALL FEMALES ONLY? IF YOU WANT TO POUR ACID OVER UR BODY BCOS AKON DIDNT CAST U IN HIS VODEO BCOS U ARE DARK ...

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

Then tell them to stay in their countries to choose their bleeched girls overthere not Ghana, nonsense!

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Thank you my brother and not in Ghana. The can stay away with their bleached women.

DIDNT THEY FLY INTO GH? WAS IT FREE? ARE THEIR HOTEL BILLS FREE? ARENT THEY EVEN PAYING FOR THE SPACES THEY R USING? GO N FIND OUT WHO IS COLLECTING THE DOUGH N WHO THEY R SPENDING IT ON....RATHER THAN INVESTING THESE MONIES ...

• alhaji salawudeen 10 years ago

look at these gorilla pimps.disciminating themselves.go and ask micheal jackson.stupid fools.

MJ IS IN SAUDI ARABIA

• kofi Babone 10 years ago

m very glad Ghananian have stand up to this nonsense that goes on in sub Sahara Africa is about time a wise nation and proud Africans will no longer stand for mindless and bigots in our mist. If we don't up for this we're goi ...

• Mba 10 years ago

You are right, i can remember when i went to Senegal 2 years ago, Senegalese are dark in skin, and many of them used cream, have seen it, bcos i have been there twice, they used cream, both married women.

• GA 10 years ago

Sad.

• ch 10 years ago

THESE MONKEYS HAVE FORGOTTEN ABOUT THEIR ORIGIN

• KEN 10 years ago

HAS ANYBODY SEEN THIS COCONUT GIRLFRIEND ,90% OF BLACK CELEBRITY/SPORTS STARS DO NOT THINK THAT BLACK WOMEN ARE GOOD ENOUGH FOR THEM ,EVEN THE SO-CALLED RASTAS .

• Freda 10 years ago

This not not true at all because about 90% of these stars and celebrities are married to black women. Therefore, I do not see where you are getting your facts from.

• lol 10 years ago

This is what am saying, everyday topic must have something to do with Nigerians. if u take time and read dis Article u will understand and know how Ghanians hate Nigerians. Though it doesn't count, Continue the hatred while w ...

• Black Barbie 10 years ago

If you cant's appreciate your own people, don't expect anyone to appreciate them.

• Fonjia 10 years ago

Who cares. Keep on the hatred, it doesn't even count. Continue fooling urself over on the Social media.

• silvia 10 years ago

hey world best in stealing.Why has your country become the most useless in Africa?South Africa is strongest economy now.Angola is producing more oil than naija.No security in Naija,no good drinking water becos of dirt,bad roa ...

• lol 10 years ago

Hahah, first of all tell me if Ghanians are not scattered all over the world. if you think they are not, then maybe you should try and move out of ur Village, Yes i agree with u that we have insecurity, electricity problems i ...

• quarmi 10 years ago

the writer scripted and i quote '(THEY) most likely to be Akon,wizkid & their management' the writer did not state categorically that Akon & co. said that even @ dat every video has its concept cos i hv seen dark skinned girl ...

• Blessed 10 years ago

The nonsense show must be cancelled ands all foreigners implicated in this nonsense deported asap from Ghana! what a fuck!

• MOZATO SIR BBB 10 years ago

AFRICA FOR BLACK PEOPLE, I MEAN PURE BLACK NO MIX AND NO HALF AND HALF. I'M PROUD TO BE BALCK.

• quarmi 10 years ago

is it not your own proud africans that went to mate with the whites to get these hybrids

• GOOGLE MY FUCKING ASS 10 years ago

AKON SHOULD BETTER , HIS ASS IS MORE DARKER THAN THOSE GIRLS REJECTED AND THAT WAS WRONG . I LIVE HIM A LOT BUT HE IS WRONG ON THIS ONE.

• MY PISTOL NEVER JAM 10 years ago

AKON SHOULD KNOW BETTER AND LOVE HIM SELF . DISCRIMINATION AGAINST DARK SKIN GIRL FOR HIS SHOW IS NOT EXCEPTED IN GHANA . I LIKE HIM BUT HE IS WRONG AND HE CAN JUST DO THAT IN GHANA . GOVERNMENT SHOULD TAX HIM MORE .

• Flo 10 years ago

Stupid fools the have forgetten their root, live Ghana for good. Africa monkeys

• SPORTS 10 years ago

akon is a dark as charcoal get the fuck out of ghana we dont want you here! im a light skinned girl but this is ridiculous im so pissed off

• ras 10 years ago

yo get a fuck out of here b4 we kill u slowly madafucker

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

WE ARE SO STUPID TO DISCRIMINATE AGAINST OURSELVES. THIS IS SHAMEFUL AND THOSE RESPONSIBLE SHOULD A STAGE IN GHANA, NEITHER SHOULD THEY BE GIVEN VISA TO COME TO GHANA.

• Fatty 10 years ago

Sarkodie shd boyycott the video shoot in soladarity to our pretty Ghanaian dark skin ladies.If not so u will loose ur respect becos u would have been turned away if u were a girl bcos u are dark urself.In comparism to all afr ...

• baby 10 years ago

Fello Ghanaianas dont worry cos senegal has the darkest people in Afica.Akon is dark but will be a white man when he is in senegal amoung his people.

• Justino 10 years ago

They should leave our country. Afterall Ghana is a country of blacks and we are proud of our dark luvly babes

• Akon 10 years ago

whts de differenc btwn akon and a charcoal¿¿

• KEN 10 years ago

CHARCOAL IS USFUL

• Village Food 10 years ago

Ken u right.

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

Should we tolerate colour discrimination in our own house? No!

Those dark-skinned girls should sue those rats (Akon, Wiz.. and their team) for discrimination.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

nd still i have 1000 in my family, again i do feed them!.....se na'nka attow omayi ae....i shulding came in to talk some;abodam papabi nd where from u?...in this webGhana? i paticu started give comments thrugth Tv3 Ghana abou ...

• Kodjoe 10 years ago

WHY ARE THESE SENSELESS GOATS TALKING AS IF SKIN BLEACHING IS ALIEN TO GHANA? WHY ARE YOU MONKEYS NOT TALKING ABOUT THE WAY YOUR LAME GHANA MOVIE PRODUCERS PREFER USING LIGHT SKIN GIRLS IN GHANA-WOOD MOVIES? WHY HASN'T YOU HY ...

• I'm bless 10 years ago

If it were to be a white man who discriminated like this,the same people would have called him a racist.

• Nigeria 10 years ago

I expecting a well educated person to know that this Article is false, or was not according to how it happens. If you take time to read dis Article, you will understand what am trying to say here, dis article is filled with h ...

• Rudd 10 years ago

This stupid article is pure Propaganda, any sensible person will not try to even make sense out of this,Ghanaweb editors you can surely do much better than this oh so I thought. It is their choice who would have complained if ...

• Deen 10 years ago

This is crap

• sam 10 years ago

I don't think this story is true because those who know Akon knows his complexion.He's as dark as myself and handsome.the media should investigate this.i think some one must have framed this up.

• KEN 10 years ago

YOU NEED TO GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF THE SAND ,WATCH ANY RAP VIDEO AND SEE HOW MANY BLACK BEAUTY YOU SEE,

• gh ladies ladies 10 years ago

travel opportunity for women in Oman.

female house helps are needed in Oman in the Gulf, everything has been sponsored by our partners in Oman all we need is your passport and in 3 weeks time you are gone

free:visa

f ...

• Rans 10 years ago

I will not advise any Ghanaian woman to travel to any part of the middle east just to become a maid or house help. I live in Abu Dhabi and have travelled around a bit. Maids are looked down upon and they have a uniform they w ...

• kojo 10 years ago

thanks

• Freda 10 years ago

I do not see any truth in this article because you cannot write something based on what a model says without confirming the truth from the other side. All of Akon's music music video in beautiful black girls, so I do not see ...

• quarmi 10 years ago

beautifully said my dear that is what Gh folks do best bark like dogs without confirming who is approaching
    both artiste have got dark skinned girls in their videos so my problem is if this particular video needs light skinn ...

• MR KIM 10 years ago

Ghanaians are ungrateful humanbeings, they run to other neigbouring countries in times of their trouble as economic refugees. The average Ghanaian is a bigot who is quick to insult others when they themselves are full of dirt ...

• Obongawan 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up man. What does that have to do with the topic at hand. It is thinking like yours that make other African countries, not just Ghana, hate Nigerians. For your info, the issue at hand is not about Ghana vs. Nige ...

• Rudd 10 years ago

See who is here talking about humanitarian what, 1985 abi? Your lame self wish you could afford such luxury for your unstable country. How dare you spill such silly comments, is Akon a Nigerian? Tell me? Idiot! you are always ...

• Soja 10 years ago

So we should do what? We have important issues to deal with as country and give us a brake about dark or white skin bullshit!

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN DAVID 10 years ago

I LIVE IN CAPE VERDE.Akon was here last 2 yrs or so.Here, majority are fair in complexion.Do you know what he did/asked for?He made the authorities changed even the curtains of the room in the hotel he loged to BLACK.Almost a ...

• nyameba lee 10 years ago

stupid akon and wizkid,am telling all ghanaians not to step their foot there, they go back to that fucking country of them and do that racist there.aboa funu kwasiafuo.

• Young Bajan Lion 10 years ago

Why are you Ghanaian IMBECILES always so quick to believe anything you hear and like spreading all sorts of lies?

Low intelligence evil hate-filled animals. Try using your brains to THINK for a change. Where were you when ...

• Sly 10 years ago

One smart comment! i was going to write the same thing until i saw your comment. You can easily infer from the writer's tone that she/he has some personal beef with the whole selection system, either because someone he/she i ...

Sly,

Thank you for your comments.

You are very fair, unlike most others here who have commented wildly without thinking properly.

Regards.

Bajan.

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

A pig criminal like you who doesn't know where he belongs to, telling somebody of having lowlife. Do you have highlife animal? If you are not an idiot and so stupid, you will comment in a good way.

HARD REPLY,

Wo ye nipa fo, kwasea.

Clown!

• kojo 10 years ago

you're so rude

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Thanks to whoever is calling for the removal of these two bigots. We don,t want them in Ghana period.

HAWA YAKUBU,

You are another clueless lowlife imbecile.

Where is the NAME of the MODEL who made this claim?

Where is the NAME of the WRITER of this article?

Do you know the difference between FACTUAL REPORTING and ...

SO WAT IF AKON HAD CASTED FOR HALFCO DWARFS...ADJOA SMART.....MUAHAHAHAHAAAAAA. WOULD THERE EVEN BE A DISCUSSION? IT WLD GENERATE INQUIRY BUT WHO WOULD BE OFFENDED BY THAT? U FOLKS HVE A PROBLEM. U MAGGOTS NEED TO GO FIND SOM ...

• Obideeaba, Belgium 10 years ago

NONSENCES. IS AKON OR THE REST LIGHT SKIN

• Spiky 10 years ago

Boycott the video and their music to punish them. If you don't like our girls' dark skin, you don't like our money; it's dark too!

• LOL 10 years ago

Has anyone tried to contact the people who are accused to get a statement as to whether or not it is true?

• metoo 10 years ago

I have been to ghana several times, they love light and white skin. they go gaga for obroni.

Look at your movies, do you not see how you lift up the mixed ones? The mixed ones hardly play the poor and retched roles, you le ...

• Rudd 10 years ago

I never saw those so - called light skin playing the peasant roles in Ghanaian movies, even if they do those type of movies are just a few, however the dark skinned ones even when they are the most successful in their careers ...

• spikes 10 years ago

small boy wizkid,i dont blame him but those who hype him.WASSCE is waiting 4 him.still SAMMINI

• Dr Dolittle 10 years ago

Heis the judge and jury in this matter. You don't know Akon nor Wizzkid.

• Kwame 10 years ago

• abdul abubakar 10 years ago

The writer thanks for pointing out these facts, what wrong with colour black:?, sham Akon, Shame Wizkid

• KING 10 years ago

AKON AND WIZKID CAN GO TO HELL. THEY ARE STUPID FOOLS AND WE ARE ASHAME OF THEM. WE ARE SORRY THEY ARE DARK SKINNED. WHERE ARE THEY FROM. WE ARE CULTURED AND SENSIBLE NOT TO BLEACH TO MEET THEIR GOD FORSAKEN NASTY STANDARDS.

• KWAKU 10 years ago

FUCK AKON AND FUCK WIZKID OR WHATEVER THEY CALL THEMSELVES. DID YOU HEAR THAT? I GOING TO SAY IT AGAIN! FUCK AKON A THOUSANDTIMES , FUCK WIZKID A THOUSAND TIMES. TIS IS KWAME NKRUMAH`S GHANA. WE HAVE GOT HISTORY. A HISTORY TH ...

• Williams USA 10 years ago

THE-SAME KWAMEN NKRUMAH YOU DRAG OUT OF GHANA AND DIE IN EGYPT ???????? SHAME ON YOU

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

OF ALL THE BEAUTIES ABOUND IN GHANA THOSE DAYS HE CHOOSED AN EGYPTIAN COLOURED SKIN BEAUTY AS A WIVE ..WHY BLAME SOMEBODY'S CHOICE WHEN A COUNTRY HEAD CHOOSED A LITE FUSSY....

• mkao 10 years ago

this is shameful and discriminating against our own race. how can Africa rise when such ignorant unconscious so-called celebrities promote racial discrimination against each other (light skin vs black skin). black is beautifu ...

• .com 10 years ago

Thank you Mkao we shou;ld not tolerate such bs

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Geeemaaannn Texas USA 10 years ago

Akon is stupid if he really said that...hes black dark skined monkey from senegal and hes not proud of that..what a fool

• chloe 10 years ago

then get out from our precious GHANA and go and fuck ur self in ur disgusting hole country were ur women are like blacker than even the normal color black nigger

• Nanette 10 years ago

As a dark skinned African American I am glad that the models spoke up about these two racist behavior
    with discrimination. Who made lighter more beautiful, Who?

• dzidzor 10 years ago

bastards! !!!

• wise 10 years ago

who the hell is this stupid akon who is darker than any african man reject dark skin people.

• nana 10 years ago

y'all some mean people if u want light skinned girls why dont u create some of them urself

• Bibini, the handsome African 10 years ago

Even look at the girls that are appearing at the four syte (4styte MVA) as advertised on TV...light skin girls like Justin Dumas,Juliet Ibrahim ,and that her sister, all light skin...Ghanians are also behind this.we do it and ...

• KWENORKIE ATIAPAH 10 years ago

WERE THOSE TWO BORN WITH BLACK SKIN OR WHITE SKIN? SHAME ON THEM!!!!!!

• dj 10 years ago

Has that Akon and Wizkid checked themselves up in the mirrow??? they don't look even 1% latte....Please let us give our future kids the boost of self esteem. That's all am saying.
    Thank you for sharing this article.