You are here: HomeEntertainment2013 11 13Article 291904

Ghanaian culture on verge of extinction - David Dontoh

Read Comments Comments (24)

• JoJo - USA 10 years ago

WOW DAVID. IF THIS IS YOUR CURRENT PHOTO, THEN YOU LOOK GOOD FOR YOUR AGE.
    *** THERE HAS ALWAYS BEEN A "FIGHT"
    BETWEEN LOCAL CULTURE AND FOREIGN.
    THE FACTORS THAT ACCOUNT FOR THIS ARE
    MANY. DELIBERATE AND STRATEGIC EDUCAT ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

If the Chinese focused on karate, you think they would be where they are now?

• JayDotDog 10 years ago

stupid comment...when intellectuals are making sensible submissions you are here displaying your stupid ignorance. No wonder we are where we are

• uuuuuuuu 10 years ago

they are confused, look at what the media shows on tv, radio stations? everything is foreign so wassup...believe it or not in this world if u don't know where u come from, u will never in your life know where u going...my Gha ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

MASSA, WHY DONT U CHANGE UR NAME TO KOFI DONTOH? THE ASIAN HAS YAO MING. THE SOUTH AMERICAN HAS LUIS SUAREZ. THE WHITE MAN HAS JOHN SMITH. THE ITALIAN HAS LUIGI GUISEPPE. THE GERMAN HAS HANS TOPMOELLER. THE SPANIARD HAS IKER ...

• Paapa Jackson 10 years ago

Akwasi, karate is Japanese and not Chinese

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

14.Mr Paul Victor Obeng, has made a strong case for the need to ensure that increasing access to the Internet does not lead to the importation of alien cultures.
    “While increasing access to the Internet would improve the s ...

• Kofi Kwateng 10 years ago

....So revive it don't let it die.

• JJ Okocha 10 years ago

Let it die because it will never assist in any kind of development in Ghana.

• 4 women 10 years ago

travel opportunity for women in Oman.

female house helps are needed in Oman in the Gulf, everything has been sponsored by our partners in Oman all we need is your passport and in 3 weeks time you are gone

free:visa

f ...

• Kodwo Hanson 10 years ago

I find this very interesting trend. Because as a young Ghanaian from America, I see a lot of young Ghanaians who are born and/or raised in the Western world, try and keep the Ghanaian culture alive; with clothing lines, eatin ...

• Zionqpid 10 years ago

Kodwo you are right there are some young Ghanaians in the west that are making a lot of effort to learn the Ghanaian language and culture. However, the trend in Ghanaian is the opposite. some of my nephews and nieces in Ghana ...

• Panucci 10 years ago

For a people who have been subjected to all forms of dehumanization, we tend to accept foreign narratives without question. We have internalized so much inferiority complex that we subconsciously accept we are inferior. 90 pe ...

...Listen to wisdom! That brain dead idiot the other day was unduly insulting the Ashantes just because unlike his tribe we still refuse to throw away our language and culture.

• the truth 10 years ago

Panucci I share in your frustration. Its so painfully true that when the truth stares them in their faces they ignore it. I bet you if ever whites start using African names we would probably still say Hell No! I am keeping my ...

• lo lo 10 years ago

You have said it all Mr. Dontoh.

• DI ASEM PA 10 years ago

MR DONTOH, YOU SAID IT ALL. AS USA CITIZEN, ONE DAY, I WENT TO GET A JOB AND I MET ONE OF THE MANAGERS IN COMPANY OFFICE. HE ASK MY NAME AND I TOLD HIM MY NAME IS MICHAEL. HE THEN ASK ME AGAIN. WHERE YOU FROM? AND I ANSWERED ...

• GOOGLE MY ASS 10 years ago

YOU JUST CAME OUT FEW WEEKS AGO AND ATTACK GHANA CULTURE MOVIE KUMASIWOOD JUST TO BOOST GHALLYWOOD .

• Otoatuo 10 years ago

DAVID DONTOH well said. This is true because we have become too tribal in our day to day affairs. It is time we change for better.

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

It's really sad how many of us don't realize what we are doing to ourselves. Culture is very, very important but, our so-called education system we have in place, does not allow our minds to appreciate who we are and what God ...

• Village Food 10 years ago

The blackman has thrown everything valuable of his away and taking stupid western culture where sex rules.Sex is now fun in GH in the olden days you only sleep with a woman when you marry her.The blackman is soo stupid that h ...

• parker 10 years ago

unless we pick up our guns like Rawlings we re wasting our time.talk is cheap,these goofes call Politicians will never listen.

• kwame 10 years ago

backwards man

• JJ Okocha 10 years ago

This article doesnot make any sense to me. If I eat foreign food, dressed in foreign cloth or listern to foreign music will not change my identity as a Ghanaian. What really
    matters Dave, educate Ghanaians to change we thin ...