Anyone should be able to sing a gospel song in his/her own way. Anyway, an out of court settlement is proper; we need to work together for the Lord.
Concerned Ghanaian 12 years ago
Go out and buy any of the foreign christian albums you love so much, preferably one with the lyrics enclosed.
Do you see each song credited and copyrighted? That's how it works... and guess what... they are also gospel son ... read full comment
Go out and buy any of the foreign christian albums you love so much, preferably one with the lyrics enclosed.
Do you see each song credited and copyrighted? That's how it works... and guess what... they are also gospel songs!
KK 12 years ago
Are you sure? Because every serious JY student would have known this is not a hymn. Look for a better excuse.
Joe Turkey 12 years ago
I thought she was just spreading the word of God; unless the song has no Christian teachings in it. And the Gospel Way thinks the hymns they sing dropped from trees? Some Christians!
POW@ Brazil, here we come 12 years ago
Song writing is someone' job if you don't know. It's like arts, you put your imagination into reality, it appeals to other people so they rush for it. A pastor is preaching out there while expecting his pay at the end of the month. The song writer also is a human being, he or she could be married with children. He should write the songs for free so an unreasonable person like you can record, sell them and make money for yourself while the writer and his family eat trash abi?
I call you unreasonable because you think she's spreading the word of God so that's okay. Is she giving the recorded CD's for free? Why is her management taking her to tours, paying payola just to up the sale of this album? What is good for the goose is good for the gander. The singer cum her management are into serious business just as the writer and if they don't want to go through this hell, they better hire a song writer and stop copying other peoples work in the name of the gospel. Hope you've got some understanding?
Joe Turkey 12 years ago
Idiot! You are just thinking on the surface. What the hell do you think those Churches and their "Gospel Ways" are doing? They are in business. Why the hell do you think they make all those collections multiple times in the Church? They are in business coloring it in another name. Don't they sing to attract members to the Church. Do Churches do anything for free. Or you haven't attended any function at which Churches charge fees and still sing hymns? Use your coconut.
You're displaying too much ignorance on this forum pal. I guess am with stupid but either way let me still try and impart some knowledge.
First and foremost, the name of the group in question is called JOYFUL WAY INC not G ... read full comment
You're displaying too much ignorance on this forum pal. I guess am with stupid but either way let me still try and impart some knowledge.
First and foremost, the name of the group in question is called JOYFUL WAY INC not GOSPEL WAY. 2).Church hymnals were written and composed by other musicians for church services. In those days, there were no copyright laws. If you're with let say Methodist and you come up with a song, it goes into the Methodist hymn book and you're acknowledged as the composer. This is why every church has it's hymns. When the charismatics came on the scene, they combined hymnals from every church. Now, if you go to any club, dance bar, hotel etc etc, they don't pay anything playing songs of Kwadwo Antwi, Lumber or whoever. So is the church, they don't pay for singing songs of Joe Beechem, Mary Ghansah etc because it's not for commercial purposes, there's no such law anywhere. However, if you record somebody's song and put it on the market for sale, that's against copyright laws. I'm surprised your thinking is too shallow to understand this simple thing. The issue in discussion is somebody stealing the song of a gospel musical group so stop the trash and learn.
RAS -VULTURE 12 years ago
My first article i wrote about this Joyce Blessing saga concerning the reason why she might have add that hook to her song entitle "nyame eguama' has been proven right.
Joyce might have thought the song was Presbyterian/Ap ... read full comment
My first article i wrote about this Joyce Blessing saga concerning the reason why she might have add that hook to her song entitle "nyame eguama' has been proven right.
Joyce might have thought the song was Presbyterian/Apostolic Church praises without a copy right owner.I gave an example as the popular praises song known as 'DANE ASE".That song has no copy right owner until now even though it was composed by someone yet many gospel artist have benefited from it by providing their renditions on such songs.
I also asked which song has ERNEST OPOKU Jnr composed as a musician.All his hits are Pentecoastal/Apostolic Church praises songs without copy right owners.
Joyce Blessing wouldn't have added that hook to her song if she had known the song belong to another gospel artist.Why am i sure?Listen to the said song and you will realize without the hook,Joyce song would have been different.I am very annoyed why she should add that slight hook for her to pay copy right on it.
What i disagree with you is this comment of yours "...if they don't want to go through this hell, they better hire a song writer and stop copying other peoples work in the name of the gospel."
I disagree with you because Joyce is a wonderful song writer because all the songs on the promotional cd which i have a copy is wonderful.My favorites are "MUNKO MAKYI" and Heavy Price.That is what baffles me why she decided to add that hook to his music which is generating a lot of controversy but the young lady is talented.
Furthermore,this Joyful Ways issue could benefit Joyce Blessing publicity.The promotion of his track started Five month ago yet she wasn't that popular but due to this Joyful Ways copy right issue her name is household name right now.So every curse could be blessing in disguise.
I feel sorry for the young lady.Next time she will rely on her own compositions alone rather than going for already hit tracks thinking it has no copy right owner.I agree with you she should have researched and i have said earlier on that, her management need some lashes big time.
Every song has an owner and I'm not just making this up. So many things in the Ghana music industry were taken for granted, a guilt which I'm part of. A song like "Da no ase" is a song that came from the church of Pentecost, they own it. In case you didn't know, the church of Pentecost and Apostolic church have compiled their songs and copied it to the copyrights law and Music associations of Ghana. Once in a while especially for the church of Pentecost, they react to people using their songs for commercial purposes except they're their church members.
I don't trust this Joyce girl as a song writer. The reason being that heaven only knows other writers she might have stolen from because they don't have a voice. Lol People have recorded other peoples song and are still doing it without any problem. It's very simple to notify MUSIGA and COSGA that you adopted the song and you're therefore not entitled to any royalties period. Also you have to state it at the back of your album. If she had done that, there would've been any cause for alarm. There's a form you fill out there at COSGA that ask if you wrote the songs. This Blessing girl said yes on that form, when she knew very well that she's added somebody's lyrics. There's so much behind close doors that is not written here. I know you enjoy her songs and that's good but I can't trust such a person. May be your best song on that album was written by me. Haaaaaaaaaaaa, see you on the other side. The match is at 12 and atdhe.net will show it live. Seeee ya
Wat 12 years ago
Massa, u keep talking about hook, means it's either you don't know the original song or you don't know what a hook is. In this case yhe whole song was used; verses, chorus,melody etc. I don't know if that is called a hook.
sammy Kwame 12 years ago
it serves her right! stop the lazy things and sit down and write songs and God will help you. rather than singing people's songs
K Nyame 12 years ago
Nonsense what if it was an old Presbyterian song, shouldn't the Presbyterian church or who ever composed the song be compensated ?
ghareb jahleel 12 years ago
Christians taking themselves to court is a disgrace to themselves. if that is the case then start prosecuting all praise and worship leaders in all churches where people's songs are sang.
phil 12 years ago
I agree wth u completely,Jahleel.
The dance bands, discos, the clubs, hotels, dance bars and restaurants, are they taking to court for playing somebody's songs? So are the praise and worship leaders and churches. All these people or institutions help in making songs popular. Next time, don't just jump and support any idiot's comments. Pause after reading and think reasonably before making a comment.
afia 12 years ago
Those praises and worship leaders singing in churches are not making money from the songs.
odeneho 12 years ago
but they take offering and tithes while singing and dancing to these songs, what about that? Is it not making money?
Manners 12 years ago
Joyce Blessing slut of a cheat, stop the stealing.
GHFUO, change ur thinking 12 years ago
A CLASSIC CASE OF FRENCH QUEEN CATHERINE'S "LET THEM EAT CAKE"...WELL, GUESS WHAT TRIGGERED THE FRENCH REVOLUTION? THIS FOOLISH STATEMENT IS WHAT TRIGGERED THE FRENCH REVOLUTION.
GHPPL, RISE UP AND CLAIM YOUR SHARE!
14.Mr P ... read full comment
A CLASSIC CASE OF FRENCH QUEEN CATHERINE'S "LET THEM EAT CAKE"...WELL, GUESS WHAT TRIGGERED THE FRENCH REVOLUTION? THIS FOOLISH STATEMENT IS WHAT TRIGGERED THE FRENCH REVOLUTION.
14.Mr Paul Victor Obeng, has made a strong case for the need to ensure that increasing access to the Internet does not lead to the importation of alien cultures.
“While increasing access to the Internet would improve the socio-economic circumstances, its negative influences call for a concerted effort to counter the bad influence.
Increasing access should not lead us to the importation of attitudes that are incompatible with our social norms,” he said.
WAT IS PV'S PROBLEM? WESTERN NATIONS LIKE CANADA, AMERICA, BRITAIN, GERMANY ETC ALL HAVE INTERNET TECHNOLOGY READILY AVAILABLE FOR THEIR CITIZENS. HAS IT IMPACTED THEIR CULTURE NEGATIVELY?
EVEN BEFORE INTERNET, WE WERE SELLING/THROWING AWAY OUR CULTURE. WAT HAPPENS AT INDEPENDENCE MARCHES IN GH, 6 MARCH. DO WE EVEN POUR LIBATION ANYMORE?
WE PUT OUR KIDS IN THE BURNING SUN TO BLACKEN N FAINT. KIDS WE CANT EVEN GIVE FREE BASIC EDUCATION TO. WHILES, WE WALLOW IN THE ABJECTIVITY OF THE BIBLE N KORAN..
Alex Mould says the $15,000 winning bonus promised to the Black Stars ahead of Tuesday's crucial world cup qualifier against Egypt, is "just goodwill"
REALLY? LOOK AT THE DEP[LORABLE STATE OF OUR STADIUMS IN GH? WHY DONT YOU INVEST THE GNPC MONIES IN BUILDING MORE MODERN STADUMS IN ALL THE REGIONS? IS THIS ROCKET SCIENCE?
GO N CHECK HOW MUCH PLAYERS IN BRASIL, BRITAIN, SPAIN, NAIJA, EGYPT, S AFRICA ARE ALL GETTING? WHATIS THE GDP OF GH THAT WE SHOULD BE GIVING SO MUCH MONEY TO PPL WHO ALREADY HAVE SO MUCH ALREADY?
YET, GH CLAIMS AID FROM THESE NATIONS. ARE WE STUPID OR BRAIN DEAD?IF WE DOLE OUT MONEY LIKE THIS, WHY WONT WE GO BACK N BEG FOR DONATIONS FROM THESE SENSIBLE NATIONS?
IN DOLLARS: BRASIL 7,000, EGYPT, 3,500.BRITAIN 6,800.ARGENTINA 9,000. HOLLAND 4,000. IVORY COAST 8,000. SPAIN 8,000. TOGO 2500. CAMEROON 5500. NAIJA 5,000. JAPAN 6,000. EHTIOPIA 2,000. FRANCE 5,500
USA 7,000. MEXICO 7,800....
EBEII, USE THE GNPC MONIES TO BUILD BETTER, WORLD CLASS SOCCER STADIUMS IN EACH REGION IN GH. STUPID FOOLS. MIN OF SPORT, GO TO BRASIL N ASK FOR HELP, GYIMIFUO!
INSTEAD OF INVESTING IN THE SPORT N BUILDING MORE STADIUMS. THEY R BUILDING STADIUMS IN THE BELLYS OF THESE PLAYERS N FA HEADEES? FOOLS!
GAMBIA, CONGRATULATION FOR TAKING A BOLD STEP ON YOUR DECISION TO LEAVE THE COMMONWEALTH. I SALUTE YOU! GH GOVT, DO YOU HAVE THE BALLS TO DO SO?
SHAME ON OUR USELESS, TOOTHLESS SO CALLED LEADERS, ELDERS, MINISTERS, PRESIDENTS. SHAME ON YOU AND TO YOU ALL WHO HAVE EMBARKED ON STEALING.
I WISH EARLY DEATH AND A LIFE RIDDLED WITH PAINFUL DISEASES ON ALL OF YOU. YOU KNOW WHO ARE....
STUPID GOVT LEADERS. BCOS OF YOUR STUPID CORRUPT HABITS, AFRICANS ARE HAVING TO TRAVEL ILLEGALLY TO RACIST NATIONS. MANY HAVING TO DIE OR DROWN IN THE SEA. IS THIS RIGHT?
WHY ARE YOU SOO FUCKING WICKED, HUH? WHY?....
THIS IS BROWN BROWN BROTHERS, AND I APPROVE THIS MESSAGE!
RAS -VULTURE 12 years ago
I don't know why this Joyce Blessing issue is bothering me so much.It could be due to the fact that, i have been her number one fan since four months ago.
I don't listen to gospel music because it doesn't meet my taste.I ... read full comment
I don't know why this Joyce Blessing issue is bothering me so much.It could be due to the fact that, i have been her number one fan since four months ago.
I don't listen to gospel music because it doesn't meet my taste.I love all genre of music with exception of gospel music.
Few of gospel artist else where such as Bette Midler's melted my stubborn heart when i was in Secondary School by coming out with a rendition of Julie Gold song entitle 'FROM A DISTANCE" I'm not a ware if Bette Midler paid royalty to Julie Gold for singing her son but till now i play that song almost everyday.
I fell in love with Joyce Blessing voice and composition when i first heard her songs entitle "MONKO MO'AKI and heavy price" My brother works at a radio station .I went to his house 4 months ago and saw Joyce promotional cd.I decided to play her cd thinking it might be mediocre gospel artist so that i could mock her song.
I must confess the promotional cd quality of printing was nothing to write home about but as the saying goes that you can't judge the content of a book by the cover,Joyce promotional cd blew my mind.What a singer!
I have been her number one fan till now and play the cd almost everyday.
So people should search Joyce Blessing on youtube and listen to her tracks.The only song which she added someones hook is "enyame eguame".People shouldn't talk as if all her tracks are full of copy right songs such as ERNEST OPOKU JNR.
RAS, I don't know this Ernest Opoku Jnr but chances are he's a member of the church of Pentecost so he can record those songs without any hitch. Even he can claim ownership of the songs at COSGA. What this Joyce Blessing did was willfully steeling somebody's work and telling the world it's her's. That's the difference.
Bette Midler didn't claim ownership of somebody's lyrics. You have every right to sing or record somebody's song as a musician but you can't claim ownership. In such situations, bulk of the royalties accrued goes to the original owner. If you want to own it, you'll have to meet the original owner and pay for it. Michael Jackson owns almost all BEATLES and ELVIS PRESLEY's songs but this same Michael Jackson got sued by the celebrated Cameroonian musician Munu Debango and won a cool million dollars for copyrighting his song lyrics from "Soul Makosa" to "Wanna be starting something" on that thriller album.
St. akpana 12 years ago
u are a cheat and a greedy "want to get rich quick" girl. they shd stripe u to ur pants
boss 12 years ago
That is the way to go. Joyfulll way did well by upholding copyright infringement. Kudos to Bleeing for admitting to this and seeking an out of court settlement. It shows good effort to right a wrong. I encourage joyfull way to reciprocrate this gesture and settle with Blessing.
Yaa 12 years ago
R u kidding me? U didnt know?
Yaa 12 years ago
R u kidding me? U didn't know?
emmanuel 12 years ago
i think this matter can be settled amicably even out of court.
GRACE 12 years ago
SHE IS GOOD BUT AS A MUSICIAN, U SHLD KNW THE SOURCE OF EVERY SONG THAT HAS BEEN OUT BEFORE COPYING
Gdqbwmiv 11 years ago
As the British banking has been in the economy, because on the nature of money to people who go into houses., pay day lenders, 72618,
Do you see each song credited and copyrighted? That's how it works... and guess what... they are also gospel son ...
Song writing is someone' job if you don't know. It's like arts, you put your imagination into reality, it appeals to other people so they rush for it. A pastor is preaching out there while expecting his pay at the end of the ...
Idiot! You are just thinking on the surface. What the hell do you think those Churches and their "Gospel Ways" are doing? They are in business. Why the hell do you think they make all those collections multiple times in the C ...
First and foremost, the name of the group in question is called JOYFUL WAY INC not G ...
Joyce might have thought the song was Presbyterian/Ap ...
Every song has an owner and I'm not just making this up. So many things in the Ghana music industry were taken for granted, a guilt which I'm part of. A song like "Da no ase" is a song that came from the church of Pentecost, ...
The dance bands, discos, the clubs, hotels, dance bars and restaurants, are they taking to court for playing somebody's songs? So are the praise and worship leaders and churches. All these people or institutions help in maki ...
14.Mr P ...
I don't listen to gospel music because it doesn't meet my taste.I ...
RAS, I don't know this Ernest Opoku Jnr but chances are he's a member of the church of Pentecost so he can record those songs without any hitch. Even he can claim ownership of the songs at COSGA. What this Joyce Blessing did ...
That is the way to go. Joyfulll way did well by upholding copyright infringement. Kudos to Bleeing for admitting to this and seeking an out of court settlement. It shows good effort to right a wrong. I encourage joyfull way t ...