You are here: HomeEntertainment2013 09 09Article 285203

Sarkodie did not create Azonto

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Azumah Ne lson Jnr. Musician 10 years ago

azonto has been in existence before even sarkodie was born.In short the term was derive from KPANLOGO which was created by people of GAMASHIE,comprising of BUKOM,JAMES TOWN,CHORKOR,ABOLA,AKOTO LAMPTEYetc.All part of ACCRA.All ...

• POW@Time 4 Herve Renard 2 be fired. 10 years ago

The Azonto dance has a lot of moves that can be attributed to some of our traditional dance moves. The fundamental move is truly from kpanlogo and even the kind of music that goes with it but there's Adowa and kete which are ...

• Sarkodie Brempong USA. 10 years ago

Oooh! my Ghana people! we should be ashamed of ourselves. Is creating azonto dance an acheivement? People of little brains! can't we dream of better things? In this computer age, elementary school kids are inventing compute ...

• Ras Righteous 10 years ago

I agree with u that we should project news as u highlighted. But what u are talking about is not entertainment news. How do u expect someone interested in news of this kind devote time to talk about topics that interest you. ...

• serwaa 10 years ago

castro and asamoah djan were the ones who created azonto.If u watch castros old video u will see this resent azonto moves in his video.If there is any credit 4 creating azonto, let castro and asamoah take it. sarkodie please ...

• My name 10 years ago

You too cannot fool me with this foolish piece...you are a big fucking IDIOT...

• joe pinto 10 years ago

Why some Ghanaians can't take constructive criticism and rather resort to insults is beyond me. what is foolish about the article, he chronologically presented some facts that most people will agree on,you don't like it fine, ...

• OP 10 years ago

If sensible people can not read that the person writing this has something against Sarkodie, then I don't know for you. People claim things all the time that r not true so this is no news. Everything can be traced to somethin ...

• Ohene-Gyan 10 years ago

he created it, if it was Der koraa it was not call Azonto, as u stated, it was kpanlogo not Azonto. Sark gave berf to Azonto an can boast of it anywhere he likes. YOU ARE THE ONE HU CAN'T FULL US OK.
    SARK IS DE AZONTO PAPA.

• KWEKU YEBOAH 10 years ago

some of you guys seem not to follow Ghana music that much.it's funny how sarkodie lies to the whole world and some people still seem to back him.i must say i am a big fan of sarkodie's music but history and the trutth should ...

• joe pinto 10 years ago

well spoken my brother but unfortunately it will fall on deaf ears on this forum full of trolls

• Twum Barimah 10 years ago

I am about 60yrs now and I have not heard Azonto anywhere in Ghana. I only heard it from Sarkodie's fine song.If he formed or created it, why are some of you so bitter and misgiving?
    The young man is creative and enterprisin ...

• Rigg 10 years ago

Azonto still dey reign with or without any of ur comments. It will continue for d. Next ten yrs.

• macho 10 years ago

ohene gyan go back to school, is not sarkodie who bring Azonto.

• serwaa 10 years ago

no ,its asamoah djan n castro

• GANYO 10 years ago

AZONTO TOO BE SOMETHING U FOR FIGHT OVER? NONSENSE

• joe pinto 10 years ago

talk some and say it louder,some on this forum are already making it about tribe, next thing you see it is NDC vs NPP, when there are better things to fight over like how to eradicate malaria

• ASEM BI NTI 10 years ago

TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT, SARK made azonto what it is today. better remove your tribalistic lenses and see sense and reasoning.

• joe pinto 10 years ago

what has tribe got to do with anything? can you please enlighten us wise one

• Resplendent 10 years ago

Sarkodie didn't make azonto what it is today. The credit of the azonto popularity across the world should definitely be given to FUSE ODG and Tiffany.

• macho 10 years ago

good talk

• macho 10 years ago

u fool waaa , wey tribal, kwasia boy

• Bismark Appiah 10 years ago

But i think sarkodie made it known by mentioning it in his hit song "u go kill me"

• bro % 10 years ago

OR WHY NOT SAY AZONTO CREATED SARK.
    he is good but not to that extend. as the writer rightly said he cant even dance the azonto

• kkofosu 10 years ago

he said he created the song "azonto" and other artiste like whizkid are taking it to the next level. He was also emphatic that the dance is from the streets....what's all this katzenjammer?

• King Marc 10 years ago

I wonder why people will fuss over such a useless and nonsensical dance movement which really exhibits the folly of Africans.There is nothing special about this Azonto dance.Now watch most commercials on TV and you will under ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Resplendent 10 years ago

You're right, Ebenezer.

• Write Imp Articles 10 years ago

What's wrong with us? Is it worth it? Why aren't we thinking abt how to make cars, toothbrush, television n even common toothpick. We're here arguing abt something which wldn't change anything abt our economy. Pls if u've not ...

• DAVE 10 years ago

HOW CAN WE MAKE MONEY FROM AZONTO???

• Niero 10 years ago

If not for him, who knew AZONTO??
    So it came from Kpanlogo, BUT it is not Kpanlogo ?
    You see there was no dance Azonto, until Sarkodie

• GH man 10 years ago

who cares..get a life people..fuck sake

• Niero 10 years ago

Better think of doing something too, than just criticize others for their good works.

• TRUTH 10 years ago

So Azonto is now the best thing that ever comes out from Ghana, i can see, dats y, u Ghanians will always be backward in music, compare to Nigeria, bcos in Nigeria, they dont behave like the way u Ghanains did, they have time ...

• Nero kottoh 10 years ago

And so we should crucify him?

• Nero kottoh 10 years ago

Okay send him to s court.

• paul 10 years ago

This is a very biased,at least the writer should also get his fact right and stop misleading us all for the hate of sarkodie.We all agree that azonto dance moves were in existence long way before before sarkodie's Azonto trac ...

• Mohammed yakini 10 years ago

Sarkodie is not the creater but he jux made raise

• OBIDEEABA 10 years ago

When people are doing more research on important things to benefit the world they goes mother Ghana on a creation of some dance called azonto and yet people are fighting over it. The dance is creative but for me our tradition ...

• OSEI 10 years ago

HE DID! MAYBE HE COULD HAVE TAKEN SOME MOVES FROM KPALONGO WHICH COMMON IN MUSIC DERIVATIIONS.

• ernest setor 10 years ago

Sark didn't birth azonto.... azonto was on d street b4 Sark Buss out... Even in SHS, back in 2004 we all knew azonto buh it was kinda diff n was also known as Kpe or gunshot.... He only helped in popularizing it.
    This new a ...

• Skele-Miami 10 years ago

Who gives a flying F where Azonto came from? It might look like adowa or kpanglogo or whatever but it is still a new bloody dance. Pepsi is still not Coca Cola regardless of the resemblance. Grow up Ghana. Work on something o ...

• SHAME GHANA FIGHTING OVER AZONTO 10 years ago

Yes Chris Brown also did his own version of AZONTO. But if not the NIGERIAN artist Wizkid, Chris brown would have not done that, bcos wizkid thought him how, that is one reason why u Ghanians are saying that Nigeria stole azo ...

• Joe 10 years ago

first of all sarkodie never said he created azonto, but rather said he was fortunate to be part of the movement. it very clear that the writer is a sarkodie hater. Secondly the writer doesn't even know the genesis of azonto, ...

• ida at america 10 years ago

I sarkodie music, if he did not create azonto it is nothing

• Junior 10 years ago

As far as we know it sarkodie and no one can change that...Let him feel free and if you know why didn't you bring it out first

• Ama 10 years ago

Have you seen the dance moves of South Afrcan guys?.check it out if you havent cos for me,thats Azonto remix.Azonto originates from South Africa my friends!!!

• kobby carpy 10 years ago

azonto wahalla ooooooooo

• reindorf sarpong 10 years ago

whether u had a forum or consultium or wateva u cabt deceive ghanaians...... we have been in Ghana all these yrs u are not the person to tell us kpanlogo is azonto spare as that bullsh*t.... sarkodie discovered azonto ppl too ...

• mrbabs 10 years ago

sarkodie dont mind dey are bad bele,,,, for we ooh, we know that u create azonto bcx we have never hear it form any body only you..........tanx for making us dance

• DON MUNIRU BANSI 10 years ago

i believe is gasmilla who give birth to azonto

• Manan Umar 10 years ago

Lol we will never understand you and we believe sarkodie named the dance Azonto not gasmiler so keep off kk