Yes, prosecutors can use a confession statement made during a public TV interview as evidence against an accused person. In jurisdictions like Ghana, these statements are treated as " ... read full comment
Abu Trica is really in a tight corner.
Yes, prosecutors can use a confession statement made during a public TV interview as evidence against an accused person. In jurisdictions like Ghana, these statements are treated as "extra-judicial confessions". If the statement is deemed voluntary, it can be used to prove your guilt.
Key Legal Principles
1.Voluntariness is Key: For the statement to be admissible, it must have been made freely, without any threat, coercion, inducement, or promise of a favor from a person in authority.
2.No Independent Witness Needed: While the Ghanaian Evidence Act and Criminal Procedure Code require a police-recorded caution statement to be taken in front of an independent witness, this strict requirement generally does not apply to interviews with independent media personnel.
3.Partial Admissions: Admitting to a lesser amount (e.g., "I received a part, but not all of the money") is still an incriminating admission.
4. The prosecution will use your own words to place you at the scene or connect you to the crime.
What the Defense Can DoWhile the prosecution can tender the TV footage as evidence,
1.your defense lawyer can challenge its admissibility in court by arguing the following:The Interview was
1.Coerced: You were forced or tricked into giving the interview.
2.Edited Footage: The TV station selectively edited the interview, taking your words out of context to misrepresent what you said.
3.Mental State: You were heavily medicated, intoxicated, or in a state of mental distress that rendered the statement involuntary.
To challenge this in court, the judge would typically hold a MINI TRIAL "trial-within-a-trial" (voir dire) to determine if the TV confession can be legally admitted as evidence.
1.You should consult your defense attorney immediately to assess how to mitigate the impact of the interview on your ongoing bail conditions and trial
CAPTAIN SMART DELIBERATELY SET UP ABU TRICIA!!! 2 weeks ago
CAPTAIN SMART DELIBERATELY SET UP ABU TRICIA!!!ABU TRICIA NOT BEING SMART THOUGHT CAPTAIN SMART WAS TRYING TO HELP HIM!!!
Truth Table 2 weeks ago
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28) ,,,, .
.. ,,,,,
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28) ,,,, .
.. ,,,,,
NMG 2 weeks ago
Forget about the Interview do you think FBI are stupid they have already had enough evidence of everything before he was even interviewed plus they don’t come for you just like that we live in America we know how it works Mukaaaasaaaaaaa too much deedeeeee nkoaaaaaaa Ghanaians
AyyBeeCee 2 weeks ago
Only in Ghana that people feel sad and cry when criminal culprits are arrested and laugh when victims complain.
AMAK 2 weeks ago
Say it again. Hmmmmm
2hat! 2 weeks ago
You think the FBI will just come to Ghana and extradite someone without having done thorough investigations prior? You people think the FBI is like the Ghana Police abi? Siasem
CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES . 2 weeks ago
CUSTOMS HAS BEGINS ONLINE AUCTIONING OF SEIZED VEHICLES
SOME VEHICLES LISTED BELOW!!
Toyota Land Cruiser gh 15,000
•Toyota Prado 13,000 gh
•Toyota Corolla gh 10,000
•Toyota Camry –15,000 gh
•Toyota Ave ... read full comment
•Toyota Prado 13,000 gh
DISTANCE IS NOT A BARRIER
SHIPPING IS 100% UPON ORDER..
CALL OR WHATSAPP FOR ANY YEAR OF YOUR CHOICE
ABOVE PRICE DEPENDING ON THE YEAR'S OF MANUFACTURE.
THANK FOR PATRONIZING WITH US..............÷÷
Samsayer 2 weeks ago
Tweaa!!!. Find a real job my sister.
Yaw 2 weeks ago
This girl and miniminim…she said she did some law bi for Ghana and then now in the States she want to be an expert. Boi !
So? 2 weeks ago
Madam I know all
Joy 2 weeks ago
Abu trica is my small boy here at agona swedru. Let us all wait and see how his judgement would be. We must not pre- judge him on any wrong doing. He has a lot to learn as a young boy with stupid mind on showing money and luxuries things on internet.
Name 2 weeks ago
31-year-old is a small boy?
Hmm 3y3 as3m oo !!
AMAK 2 weeks ago
Then you definitely know that about 90% of young guys in Agona Swedru who claim to be rich are fraudsters. It’s sad in Ghana the government doesn’t even investigate people’s sources of income. Issues like these are affecting Ghana on the international scenes but because politicians themselves are thieves they don’t see anything wrong in investigating people’s sources of income.
The Spear 2 weeks ago
Leave them, when they finish destroying the country, they will all run to the West with their families and respect Western laws.
What is wrong in Ghana, is the failure of the civil society, including the religious bodies, ... read full comment
Leave them, when they finish destroying the country, they will all run to the West with their families and respect Western laws.
What is wrong in Ghana, is the failure of the civil society, including the religious bodies, to talk, to criticize and debate bad behavior of governments and many other issues affecting this country. For instance, the Dapaah case, the Adu-Boahene case, the pastor who had several identities and also the bad behavior of Nigerians they refuse to talk about since the abduction and murder of the Takoradi girls.
Do we love our country very much?
Kumchacha 2 weeks ago
He must face the law. Any punishment close to hanging will be fine. He is a disgrace to Ghana and Africa as a whole.
Kumchacha 2 weeks ago
Abu Trica is really in a tight corner.
Yes, prosecutors can use a confession statement made during a public TV interview as evidence against an accused person. In jurisdictions like Ghana, these statements are treated as " ...
.. ,,,,,
Forget about the Interview do you think FBI are stupid they have already had enough evidence of everything before he was even interviewed plus they don’t come for you just like that we live in America we know how it works M ...
Say it again. Hmmmmm
•Toyota Prado 13,000 gh
•Toyota Camry –15,000 gh
•Toyota Ave ...
Madam I know all
Abu trica is my small boy here at agona swedru. Let us all wait and see how his judgement would be. We must not pre- judge him on any wrong doing. He has a lot to learn as a young boy with stupid mind on showing money and l ...
Hmm 3y3 as3m oo !!
Then you definitely know that about 90% of young guys in Agona Swedru who claim to be rich are fraudsters. It’s sad in Ghana the government doesn’t even investigate people’s sources of income. Issues like these are affe ...
What is wrong in Ghana, is the failure of the civil society, including the religious bodies, ...