Didn't the father and founder of your party PNDC/NDC, together with Staff Sergeants and other junior ranks, take over the whole military and the whole country and have Generals, Lt Generals and Major Generals saluting him?
Morning Dew 9 months ago
What are we practising, a meritocracy or longevitocracy?
Dr Mumbi Seraki 9 months ago
Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine......for instance 10 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
Newself 9 months ago
Her suggestion is, not to promote an incompetent senior officer into the top position. What she is questioning clearly is, why overlook competent senior senior officers and promote a competent senior who is still junior to them, above them?
WELL SAID MASSA. TIME TO PROMOTE PEOPLE ON THE BASIS OF THEIR PERFORMANCE AND NOT ON THE BASIS OF MERE AGE OR LONGEVITY. EVEN THE DINOSAURS HAD TO MAKE WAY FOR MORE VIABLE CREATURES. 9 months ago
Well said Massa
Korvi 9 months ago
I know even in school, good & hard working students are jumped to higher class. Dzifa, take your time to talk. So soon you're loosing it?
MONEY-MAKING BUSINESS - ACQUIRE THIS SKILL NOW! 9 months ago
You need knowledge/skill to say bye-bye to being broke. FACT! January learners already emailed results, making money. You EARN from what you LEARN, that's 90% into financial freedom! No cash-capital for a sales business this year? Every smartphone repairs/accessories business cluster is a beehive of activities DAILY...RAW CASH changing hands. If in doubt, visit any in your locality. Everyone owns a phone & problems are looking for solutions daily - that's a NEVER-ENDING OPPORTUNITY STREAM for you! CASH OUT with this skill made easy to learn. SOW into knowledge/skill, & REAP money in exchange. Learn & Set up this smartphones skilled-service business & earn daily cash. If YOU ALSO WANT TO BREAK INTO IT-CAREERS, Get any of Chukky Oparandu's Guidebooks for yourself or a loved one idling around. Join thousands who've transformed their lives this way! Invest in yourself today: Search "Chukky Oparandu" on Amazon Or VISIT (selar.co/m/chukky). FRENCH EDITION "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes" is also available. Get his blockbuster book, "IT Career: A Roadmap" NewYearIsHere! #SkillsForSuccess.....2ue8
Akan Proohecies 9 months ago
DONT CONFUSE YOURSELF AND UNINTELLIGENT MASSES. COUP DESTROYS EVERY DISCIPLINE IN INSTITUTION WITHOUT REGARDS TO CONSTITUTION. A LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT FOLLOWS CONSTITUTIONAL GUILDLINE TO PROCEEDS REFORMS. DZIFA ARGUMENT IS BASED HERE. THIS IS FAR FROM * THE VIOLENT DO OR DIE* COUPS THAT REMOVE GOVERNMENT AND POSITIONS WITH GUNS , AT THE CAPITULATION OF THE ARMED FORCE !!!!
jesus 9 months ago
Please Madam, experience is not a long service award neither should automatic promotions. For a promotion to be effective and devoid of controversy, lots of things top among them performance go into that. That is provided equal opportunity exists. There is a reason even in our classrooms, some people are asked to REPEAT some classes!
Allotey Gyamfi 9 months ago
I honestly do not expect this post to come from a well reasoned, not to talk of a minister. This post is just ridiculous, and I think this woman is a clear case of a square peg forced into a round hole. So low a quality. You ought ton know the political calculations that go into promotions in the security services. How did the President appoint such a lousy, low thinking material into a ministerial position? Incredible. I think Ghanaians should expect "anything" from her ministry. You should NOT even on comment on everything as a minister. Incredible
Jay - NPP Fools 9 months ago
You are fool. Do you know more than her?
Maami 9 months ago
And this is a minister. Thinking she is asking intelligent questions. And I also think I can ask an intelligent question; what the criteria for promotion?
wow 9 months ago
u sound funny.... u can pretend u dont know what she is talking about and thats ur cup of tea
truth stands 9 months ago
Much as I agreed that juniors should not be promoted above their seniors in security services due to morale problems, there are a number of very smart juniors who must be identified by the seniors and used to achieved their end state. There was a case of a service commander who is considered average when it comes to leadership but he did a clever thing by surrounding himself with smart officers who helped him to chalk a lot of success. By so doing the smart officers also learns on the job and as they grow in the carrier they can easily handle leadership roles.
Since there is an age limit for retiring from the services a far younger but smart officer should not be made to become the service chief because he has more years ahead of him and when kept as the service chief till his retirement age is due, the system suffers as all those behind him will reach retirement age and have to leave, thus stagnating the carrier progression of others at the expense of one person.
Going forward there should be a policy that even if you become a service commander at a young age you must be made to serve a specific number of years after which you must give way to others to also progress. It was done in the past where they are paid ex-gratia covering the period they should have stayed till retirement
For instance, service commanders or the CDS should not serve beyond 3 years. there must be a policy to that effect and captured in the constitution when ammended.
Additionally, we should avoid shepherding or preparing some particular officers to become future commanders over equally good officers who do not have political leaning or God fathers.
There was a case often refereed to where one officer was at one point in time made to command two units at the same when there were equally smart and intelligent officers who could easily be made to command the other units. The same officer alone was hand pick and he became a brigade commander, for less than two years, became Chief of staff for a year and made Army commander when it was getting close to the elections in 2020. He eventually became the CDS and promoted in the wee hours of former President Akuffo Addo's tenure to a Four Star General, the first ever in the history of the Ghana Armed Forces. During the period, his closest friend and confidant, an ordinance officer who from no where, who has never added any value to himself apart from the usual carrier courses was made Chief of Staff and also promoted a 3 star General. How can we cheapen the enviable rank of a General such that below average officers can also become Generals. The earlier we stop making the enviable military a laughing stock the better for us.
It is time the top of the Armed Forces is also reset. Most of the so-called Generals to not merit their ranks and appointments.
HOLALA 9 months ago
This minister is making sense but it's difficult to understand what she's saying.Sometimes we look at a particular person and say he is the only person who can perform this duties.
Obuor 9 months ago
Nonsense.how old is Mahama ?
Is he not the leader?
Gyimii saaa.is it abt age or qualification?
Gyimii saaaa
Is he not the leader?
Gyimii saaaa
mponkye ne ndcfo3 9 months ago
I believe NPP are right to say we are taking over our country and should not sit down for a minority tribe in Ghana to rule the country and it's not done anywhere in the world. I see this as insane on the part of Akan who support a political party called ndc
Joko 9 months ago
You are a fool. NPP was in power for 8yrs what did they achieve. You will take over your mother's head
CHICKEN GEORGE. 9 months ago
Promotions are based on merit and not seniority! If you've been there for 20 years and and are incompetent, and a guy is there for only 5 years but is competent, what should we do? Oh I forgot, this is Ghana! Nothing is based on merit!
jesus 9 months ago
I am disappointed but not surprised by what she is saying. There are govt institutions in Ghana with University Graduates and some Standard Four Certificate Holders. Some of these Standard Four Certificate Holders have never been in the classroom for even a refresher course, but believe they are more qualified to head those institutions because of their length of service! In a country where the words 'you are my small boy' rattles of the tongues of some OLDIES like popsicles, why should any one be surprised!
Charles 9 months ago
You said you're going to the Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park. I urge you to take a close look at the park and see how it is poorly managed. I cannot understand why there are no green grass or beautiful flowers in the park. All we see is dusty ground. Are we so poor as a nation to the extent that we cannot plant grass to make the place look green and beautiful? Go to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and visit the Friendship, Unity and Entoto parks and see how well maintained those parks are with beautifully manicured lawns, flowers etc. Sometime ago a Professor from KNUST visited the KNMP lamented over the deteriorating state of the park due to poor maintenance. I just watched the program "People and Places" which featured the park and I could see that the plants in the plant pots outside the museum are dying but no one cares to water the plants nor remove the dried branches. I perceive this as poor management which should largely be attributed to the Director of the park. We are tired of mismanagement without consequences. I hope your ministry will take measures to ensure that the park is entrusted in the hands of a competent person to administer. The current Director of the park is the same person under whose watch the park deteriorated before it was refurbished by the Akuffo Addo Government.
Kwamina 9 months ago
@Charles. I fully agree with you. I cann't understand why we cannot plant green grass and flowers to make the place beautiful. The newly commissioned Nationalism Park also lacks well manicured lawns and flowers likewise the Independence Arch and its environ which is poorly maintained. These are all tourist sites which are in very, very poor state. I hope the minister will not go to the KNMP just to have fun but also open her eyes to see the gradual determination of the Park.
Nii 9 months ago
WHEN WE ELECT A NEW PRESIDENT, WE HAVE INDIRECTLY GIVEN HIM THE POWER TO FORM HIS OWN GOVERNMENT WITH PEOPLE THAT HE TRUST. JUST LIKE THE BLACK STARS, THE COATCH CAN CHOOOSE ANY PLAYER AS THE CAPTAIN AND ARE RESPONSIBLE THE EFFECT IF MIGHT HAVE .
Stephanie 9 months ago
Dzifa please read the comments especially those pertaining to the tourist sites. You have a responsibility here. Our parks are not well maintained. Please put pressure on "Parks and Gardens" authorities to do their work. Don't be an Arm Chair Minister.
George 9 months ago
Madam Minister. The Director of the Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park has been there for more than 20 years but see his performance.
Kwame 9 months ago
Old leaves will be hanging on the tree and new leaves will be falling. How about that? Dzifa Gomashie gyeiiimeiiiifoo baa
Hannan 9 months ago
) Hot girls are waiting for you on >>>> www.Sexy24.mom
Francis 9 months ago
Dzifa why not take a trip to Ethiopia and Kenya and see how they are promoting tourism and have discussions with your peers. Don't forget to visit the the parks mentioned in Charles's input.
Samurai 9 months ago
She should come and read CHICKEN GEORGE'S Comment. Dumbass!!!
K. P. U S of A 9 months ago
And is she a Minister too back home? What kinda nonsense talk is that? Question Madam idle brain... If you have an older child and he can't pass his exams and keep on failing to go to college and has a younger one who does, would you tell the younger one to wait till the older one pass before you'll allow the younger one to go? And do you think Prez Mahama didn't bypass some older ones before settling on you? Please think next time before you speak and don't speak before you think.
12345 9 months ago
so merely because someone exists and adds no value, it makes sense to promote the individual?
should effectiveness, duty, professional dev't not be key characteristics that would inform the decision to promote these so-calle ... read full comment
so merely because someone exists and adds no value, it makes sense to promote the individual?
should effectiveness, duty, professional dev't not be key characteristics that would inform the decision to promote these so-called "over-looked" senior officers?
Please, let us elevate the discussions and stop the innuendos
Jupiter 9 months ago
Promotion is not by merit, long service, nor seniority. It's about qualification, hard work and dedication.
Comedy of Errors 9 months ago
When seniority was used in the past we had people like IGP Boanu, Apeatu, etc bring the police service to the lowest it lowest ebb. Armed robbers and unresolved crime took over the country. You remember the Takoradi Girls and the Ahmed Suale, the election violence etc.
Dampare would go down in history as one of best IGPs we ever had. Short memory Ghanaians will never want any good things for themselves. IGP would not allow himself to be manipulated so most NPP big wigs don't like. Their shady businesses were stopped at the police checkpoints, policemen could not collude nor take bribes from criminal politicians! Dampare is a victim of his own honesty. Dampee you stand tall . Kudos
Aponkyi 9 months ago
But you hv been made minister several times ahead of Hajia Laadi, Collins Dauda and even your deputy, Jajah who are your seniors in parliament. Just concentrate and do your work, more action and less talk
Truth 9 months ago
Is the police service all about promotions. On what basis are promotions? Let's be serious. Everybody and his style of leadership. Haven't mahama appointed relatively young people. Does that mean there were not senior people? Let's stop being stupid
Anso 9 months ago
Yes, if promotion is performance-based and not by age or seniority
ottoolege 9 months ago
AN IDIOT IN MINISTERIAL POSITION. HOEW DID YOU GET YOUR POSITION WITHIN UR PARTY? BECOS YOUGWR OFFICERS OVERTHREW A SENIOR GOVENMENT fooooool!
Aboa 9 months ago
Ask GES and the ministry of education why those teaching with cert A with many years of teaching experiences were overlooked and the juniors, who graduated with diploma and degree which were introduced later, were placed above them? Some people were teaching with cert A and when diploma and degree were introduced, the diploma and degree graduates should have be placed below those already in the system teaching with some work experience but unfortunately and due to lack of foresight, and lack of critical thinking, lots of wrongs were perpetuated in the education sector, demoralizing lots of teachers in the system.
Suleman 9 months ago
hellooo madam minister. tell the president they are senior before you. why your appointment as minister?
OOOH Hon Dzifa, You Lost It Too Soon -- DZIKO KWAME 9 months ago
I TEND GO WITH THIS POST:
Allotey Gyamfi20 hours ago
I honestly do not expect this post to come from a well reasoned, not to talk of a minister. This post is just ridiculous. Incredible. I think Ghanaians should expect "anything" from her ministry. You should NOT even on comment on everything as a minister. Incredible
AND FROM ME: Daavi Dzifa, did you really say that?
Your school time, were outstanding ones not "jumped"?
Did Barack Obama not tell SENATOR MCKAIN "You seem not to get it"?
Was Mbappe not made Captain of Les Blues of FRANCE?
In 1979, Did unknown Hilla Limann not seeep the votes of VETERAN Victor Owusu (PFP) and GrandPA Paa Willie (UNC)?????
What more can I say?
Please find a place to hide your face small...
Long Live GHANA
JuneJuly 9 months ago
The president appointed an inexperienced thirty four year old as a regional minister ahead of many experienced ones. What is your take on that madam minister.
Tiger, OHCS 9 months ago
Hon. Gomeshie is asking the question right. This is common in the Ministries, Government Agencies and Departments. This is happening seriously in the Ministry of Finance; orchestrated by the authorities; that’s why that Ministry needs forensic cleansing. The so called HR must be investigated; those officers there who were transferred to other ministries or agencies but refused to go, for long ago are messing up the civil service rules.
Kwame nkrumah 9 months ago
Seniority is not leadership. Seniority is like any qualification below the red line considered for leadership. Of course Seniority is in the hierarchy but not preserved for a anyone. Promotion is not Seniority. It is skilled competence. Yes juniors can be justofiably promoted over seniors. But when politics is the leading factor for promotion, then let it be so. The outcomes and consequences are the justifications. Strategy demands that find the right persons to fill the position for your vision. There is nothing wrong. In the lion kingdom, it is skilled, fierce and committed who leads the pride. Not the senior. That is why today you are leading Tourism. The bottom line is lead when given the opportunity to do so. Obama waa 44, Clinton was 60+ and more experienced. Say amen
Her suggestion is, not to promote an incompetent senior officer into the top position. What she is questioning clearly is, why overlook competent senior senior officers and promote a competent senior who is still junior to th ...
Well said Massa
You need knowledge/skill to say bye-bye to being broke. FACT! January learners already emailed results, making money. You EARN from what you LEARN, that's 90% into financial freedom! No cash-capital for a sales business this ...
DONT CONFUSE YOURSELF AND UNINTELLIGENT MASSES. COUP DESTROYS EVERY DISCIPLINE IN INSTITUTION WITHOUT REGARDS TO CONSTITUTION. A LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT FOLLOWS CONSTITUTIONAL GUILDLINE TO PROCEEDS REFORMS. DZIFA ARGUMENT I ...
Please Madam, experience is not a long service award neither should automatic promotions. For a promotion to be effective and devoid of controversy, lots of things top among them performance go into that. That is provided equ ...
I honestly do not expect this post to come from a well reasoned, not to talk of a minister. This post is just ridiculous, and I think this woman is a clear case of a square peg forced into a round hole. So low a quality. You ...
Much as I agreed that juniors should not be promoted above their seniors in security services due to morale problems, there are a number of very smart juniors who must be identified by the seniors and used to achieved their e ...
Is he not the leader?
Gyimii saaaa
I believe NPP are right to say we are taking over our country and should not sit down for a minority tribe in Ghana to rule the country and it's not done anywhere in the world. I see this as insane on the part of Akan who sup ...
Promotions are based on merit and not seniority! If you've been there for 20 years and and are incompetent, and a guy is there for only 5 years but is competent, what should we do? Oh I forgot, this is Ghana! Nothing is based ...
I am disappointed but not surprised by what she is saying. There are govt institutions in Ghana with University Graduates and some Standard Four Certificate Holders. Some of these Standard Four Certificate Holders have never ...
You said you're going to the Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park. I urge you to take a close look at the park and see how it is poorly managed. I cannot understand why there are no green grass or beautiful flowers in the park. All we ...
@Charles. I fully agree with you. I cann't understand why we cannot plant green grass and flowers to make the place beautiful. The newly commissioned Nationalism Park also lacks well manicured lawns and flowers likewise the I ...
WHEN WE ELECT A NEW PRESIDENT, WE HAVE INDIRECTLY GIVEN HIM THE POWER TO FORM HIS OWN GOVERNMENT WITH PEOPLE THAT HE TRUST. JUST LIKE THE BLACK STARS, THE COATCH CAN CHOOOSE ANY PLAYER AS THE CAPTAIN AND ARE RESPONSIBLE THE E ...
Dzifa please read the comments especially those pertaining to the tourist sites. You have a responsibility here. Our parks are not well maintained. Please put pressure on "Parks and Gardens" authorities to do their work. Don' ...
And is she a Minister too back home? What kinda nonsense talk is that? Question Madam idle brain... If you have an older child and he can't pass his exams and keep on failing to go to college and has a younger one who does, w ...
should effectiveness, duty, professional dev't not be key characteristics that would inform the decision to promote these so-calle ...
When seniority was used in the past we had people like IGP Boanu, Apeatu, etc bring the police service to the lowest it lowest ebb. Armed robbers and unresolved crime took over the country. You remember the Takoradi Girls and ...
Is the police service all about promotions. On what basis are promotions? Let's be serious. Everybody and his style of leadership. Haven't mahama appointed relatively young people. Does that mean there were not senior peopl ...
Ask GES and the ministry of education why those teaching with cert A with many years of teaching experiences were overlooked and the juniors, who graduated with diploma and degree which were introduced later, were placed abov ...
I honestly do not expect this post to come from a well reasoned, not to talk of a minister. This post is just ridiculous. Incredible. I think Ghanaians should expect " ...
Hon. Gomeshie is asking the question right. This is common in the Ministries, Government Agencies and Departments. This is happening seriously in the Ministry of Finance; orchestrated by the authorities; that’s why that Min ...
Seniority is not leadership. Seniority is like any qualification below the red line considered for leadership. Of course Seniority is in the hierarchy but not preserved for a anyone. Promotion is not Seniority. It is skilled ...