You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082017 05 26Article 541325

Afenyo-Markin abandons ECOWAS Parliamentary sitting after signing for allowance

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Osama 7 years ago

Smart MP good for chop, chop. That is why Nigerians fear Ghanaians.

• ATSUKUOR TEI-WAYO 7 years ago

THE WORLD CHAMPION HAS ANNOUNCED COMING TO WHAT HE CALLS THE MOTHERLAND JUNE 15-16 WITH THE MONEY TEAM. WE'LL GIVE THEM A DESERVING WELCOME.

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Watch it. Dishonorable Afenyo Markin will be worse than Atta Ayi. You see how he is exporting NPP's thievery to ECOWAS Parliament!

• DO THE DO 7 years ago

Looking into his face, you can see that he doesn't deserve a place in parliament. Sorry but the Efutu people must find a replacement. Afenyo-Markin must vomit the money back.

• Ato 7 years ago

Come to Winneba and say this, you'll be sorry for your "mouth"

• NATIONA WRECKERS 7 years ago

AM AN NPP BUT AM NOT A DOG,THIS MAN MUST RETURN THE ALLOWANCE ASAP!

• Akuffo Bawumia 7 years ago

Ei, we have taken this behavior to Abuja. God save Ghana

• Paa 7 years ago

Wasn't Afenyo-Markin reported to have given up his ECOWAS seat when an NDC MP refused to exit that parliament to make way for a variation of the composition of the Gh delegation following NDC's defeat?

• hp 7 years ago

TenQ. de very thing dat came in mind wen I read de news. How can sam1 hu excluded himself earlier on, sign for allowance?

• Pepperspray 7 years ago

You are lying bro...it's Hon. Opare Ansah who refused to vacate his seat...check well na

• Alem John-Newton 7 years ago

Point of correction please. It was not an NDC mp who refused to step down, rather an NPP mp within the same majority. He was allegedly replaced by Afenyo Markin without any consultation and he refused to step down.

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

Don't be stupid. It was between Afenyo and Opare Ansah, both NPP. You are one of those who blame the NDC for everything, including your impotence.

• Sam 7 years ago

Which NDC MP refused to exit? Lying is in your genes, it was the NPP MP for Suhum Opare Ansah who refused to exit.

• Pam 7 years ago

He replaced Adwoa Sarfo after she became a minister

• Chuks, Nima 7 years ago

You lie, Adjoa Safo was replaced by Hon. Cynthia Morrison.

• obk 7 years ago

Please brethren let us all support Capt. Smart of adom fm as we march tomorrow to present documents of corruption to eoco. Time 7am, venue :circle. Let's unite to weed out corruption

• Tete Nipa 7 years ago

This is classic indiscipline case. While AA pontificates to us, those closely associated with him are doing their own thing, ARROGANCE.

• Jerry osu. 7 years ago

Massa forget wai.do u want to tell me there are no corrupt ppl among de NPp? just consider de situation of afenyo markins.signing for allowance whiles u went to sittings only twice.shameful NPP leaders . remember dat de same ...

• Susu 7 years ago

The report said .."investigations carried out by this paper have revealed" is Ghananewsonline a paper? This is fake news and people are commenting. NDC and some nitwit journalists folks don't read at all. If you remember in J ...

• YAW 7 years ago

@Susu you are right to some extent. Afenyo is now a member because Adwoa Safo who was originally a member of the majority side to the ECOWAS parliament became a minister and had to resign so Afenyo took her place, afterall he ...

• Kakra 7 years ago

We elected him to serve us in Efftutu not the 419 capital of the world. Was he elected by Nigerians or Ghanaians? ECOWAS my foot! Mtcheeeww

• North 7 years ago

Elected to serve you in Wineba. Should be allowanced in Wineba and not Abuja. He should return the 419 money.

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 7 years ago

That Afenyo Markins is a damn greedy liar and swindler. Nana Addict knows him as a con man, that is why no post was given him. He is one of the richest MPs but he always sniffing money on every hole.

• Jerry osu. 7 years ago

so is afenyo markins no corrupt? ??

• BRIGHTi BOADU 7 years ago

PLEASE , LET THIS MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT RETURN THE SITTING ALLOWANCE HE TOOK WITHOUT COMPLETING SEMINAR. AGAIN , HE MUST BE DISCIPLINED FOR THAT BEHAVIOUR. HE HAS DISGRACED HIMSELF. HIS CONSITUENCY AND GHANA AS A WHOLE.

• Nana Dazde 7 years ago

Iresponsible to the highest point corrupt boy tw3aaaaa....

• Larry Agyeman 7 years ago

Although we are faraway from home our soul is with u Captain Smart and all our brothers and sisters who want to save Ghana. Keep the pressure up! BLESS U BOYS!!!

• kwaku 7 years ago

Hon. Afenyo-Markin is not a member of ECOWAS Parliament because Hon.Opare Ansah failed to vacate his post for him to occupy but not an NDC MP as suggested by someone earlier.

He is a member of ECOWAS parliament. One other lady was appointed as a deputy minister so she had to vacate her seat for Afenyo Markins. Ministers/deputies are not to be members of the ECOWAS parliament.

• Pepperspray 7 years ago

Tenkewwwwww

• Odoi 7 years ago

Didn't I read it sometime ago that his seat has been given to someone else, probably a woman?

• teddy 7 years ago

this should cover and include kuffour ministers

• frank 7 years ago

that very guy is in freemason so he doesn't care

• Ugly akufo addo. 7 years ago

They came to loot n share, thieves in govt

• Joey Boy 7 years ago

re: Ghana must work.
    obk, is your Captain Smart not the same person who used to be at Fox fm in Kumasi? And he is now leading a March against corruption? Is he now "born again"? Why didn't he organize the march during the ND ...

• jahsonwilliams 7 years ago

Stupid reportage!!!

• Cool 7 years ago

He knows Ecowas is going nowhere and wants to use his time better in Abuja . This guy is rich so why taking these small allowances ?

• John 7 years ago

Why were you expecting a response when you go around asking foolish questions?

• Koojam 7 years ago

He should be punished and be changed. The allowance be taken from him.

• JAA 7 years ago

I think if any truth is found he is the first to face Akufo Addo special prosecutor

• JAA 7 years ago

Tell Capt. Smart to chase him this morning

• obi 7 years ago

he shouldnt pay him this month salary

• Luze 7 years ago

Idiot, criminal like that always talking rubbish. Daily guide and other yapiyapi papers didn't see anything wrong with his criminal behaviour. Shame.

• GhanaWarrior 7 years ago

First he tried to blackmail ADB now he cashes in on Ecowas too. Howstuoid are people to elwct sons of bitches like him to represent them in parliament?

• Ike 7 years ago

This one b smart movement paa,heee que oya go back to work oo

• Ato 7 years ago

I don't understand you people. You spotted the man in his office in Ghana and you went asking others for explanations. Common sense will tell you to confront him before filling your report.

• Ato 7 years ago

By the way, let me ask: Does the ECOWAS PARLIAMENT allow members to sign for allowance for a whole period? Don't they record attendance for every sitting and pay allowances accordingly? This reporter should come clear. We're ...

• Eric 7 years ago

There was misunderstanding on the membership and Afenyo offered to sacrifice his position for peace so why accusing and spoiling his hard earned reputation,ghananews? Be circumspect in your news.

• Chuks, Nima 7 years ago

Journalists must spend a little more time researching before they go into print. Mr. Markin opted out to pave way for one MP who refused to stand down as member of the Ghanaian delegation. So Mr. Marking is no more on the ECO ...

• Papa G. 7 years ago

During the election days, this man behaved like a saint. You think corruption is only stealing or taking bribes? What he's done is equally corruption. Let him refund all those allowances he collected for no work done. If your ...

• Chief amankwa 7 years ago

This guy is money interest politician
    He only respond well to money
    Suffer disease called chop chop addiction
    Look at his ugly face ..good for nothing
    Self serving MP

• Musa Red 7 years ago

That's ok for NPP. Chop chop for no work done is what? Give it another name, because it's clean business for their party members. One of the incorruptible men in NPP. Ayeekoo!

• Impraim A.S 7 years ago

I think my colleagues r not reading but like making negative comments by attacking personality.The source says the leader of the delegate refused to speak when contacted so y r u attacking him. Who will travel for duty n late ...

• Tony 7 years ago

Don't you think you're also a problem that has to be solved? Are you saying once you call people should answer in disregard for your parliament? What is wrong with his answer?

• Company 7 years ago

Stupid MP he thinks nobody will not see idiot

• minladder 7 years ago

I always says that boy is thief ...

• wiring90@protonmail.ch 7 years ago

AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE
    MONEYGRAM ,WESTERN UNION PICKUP IN LONDON, ANY RECEIVER NAME MONEY TRANSFER TO Any off these US banks bellow Email me let's make it happen NSWC FCU.....10K Every day Great Basin FCU BECU CU. ...