You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082016 08 12Article 462299

GES rejects claims of poor WASSCE results; says gov’t is proud of it

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

No surprise here. Pepeni govt equals poor performance.

• K. MANU 7 years ago

Yes. Mahama is proud of poor performance because he was a bad student when he was at Tamale Secondary school in the 70s. He is allergic to "Excellence Performance." Just look at his ministers and you can understand what l mea ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

And your Akuffo-Addo had 3rd class in Legon.What do you say about that?

• JM 7 years ago

And did you pass?

Author:- DR TRUTH .....
    PRES MAHAMA MUST RETRIEVE THE CASH, CARS AND HOUSES HE GAVE TO AKUA DONKOR, TRACY BOAKYE, OLA, JOHN DUMELO, MR BEAUTIFUL, BUKOM BANKU & CO AND USE IT TO PAY OUR HARDWORKING CIVIL SERVANTS

• Joy 7 years ago

More illiterates to vote for my party NDC

• Mr S 7 years ago

The akan person is indeed stupid. Can't Ghanaman read the analysis given? Unfortunately for akans, pepefour Will rule Ghana for a very long time. Just visit the universities and you will see the number of northerners enrolle ...

• yaw 7 years ago

we are school drop out but after you graduate frm the university and since a norther who is ruling hu thinks like a fool buh he is not cant employ in any institution and the only option u get is to be kayayo in akan communiti ...

• RAHIM 7 years ago

The almighty God will punish you in this world, foolish human being

• Diana Appiah 7 years ago

School childre of this time are not good at going to clssis.

• TK 7 years ago

You are a useless Ghana man.Tell your Nana who has no moral dignity to drop Dr. Pepeni Bawumia as his runing mate.Idiot.

• Adjei Koti 7 years ago

How can you blame children not learning on govt.?

• Rev Edwin 7 years ago

How can these kids sturdy when during time to sturdy the lights are of that is major factor. And here comes the con man saying the results are good , excuse me sir but you are very shameful, playing politics with the future ...

• Hello 7 years ago

Please, Director, Talk about overall performance, but dont do selected subject analysis alone-or better still do all the individual subject analysis for all the subjects...hahahaha

• Adjei Koti 7 years ago

Mr. Hello, i do not know your age but can you be frank to tell us your grades at senior high or sixth form? Can you give credit to government (if you performed well) or blame govt. if in the likely event that you flopped?

• Nyameke 7 years ago

Most of us talk without reasoning. So all noise was about nothing. Honestly politics is destroying us.

• Owusu Thomas 7 years ago

Overall performance is a culmination of individual performances, fool.

• dave 7 years ago

So how come NAGRAT president quickly jumped on air to condemn the results if indeed progress has bn made. Some of these guys are just using the teacher unions to promote their partisan interest.

• ABBEY 7 years ago

NDC AIM IS TO DESTROY OTHER
    PEOPLE 'S CHILDREN WHILE THEIR KIDS ATTEND GOOD SCHOOLS ABROAD.

Government proud of poor performance? How did Ghana get it so wrong?

• Adjei 7 years ago

Please there should always be room for improvement when it comes to education.

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Ndc is full of shit! Thieves.

• OKO 7 years ago

Everybody should join in this debate.
    Be active with your opinions
    It is reaching the ears of the nation.
    Good Job Ghana web

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• kwabena 7 years ago

So you called this good performance. Idiot

• Sid 7 years ago

The schools r well equipped the children study under good roofed house no snakes chalks available for teachers etc etc

• Ford Expedition 7 years ago

ONLY NEEDLESS AND BASELESS FRIUTLESS , BRAINLESS NDC CON MEN POSTED EVERYWHERE IN GHANA TO DISPLAY THEIR WICKED STUPIDITY..THEY DONT LOVE GHANA ..IT IS PLAIN TO SEE, WHAT ARE YOU PROUD ABOUT ???? YOUR STOMACH?
    USELESS! YOU W ...

• ALBERT YAO BARFO 7 years ago

The majority of ghanaians who don't like to accept the truth.Meanwhile of the fact that educationary system is now very poor.Just because you have reduced the school block class rooms to form 3 instead of form 4.In this sens ...

• Adoko kwesi , and they Will still vot 7 years ago

this bad

• GHANAWATCH 7 years ago

Akuffo-Addo is the one peddling the falsehood about WASSCE results. A presidential candidate who is running across the country feeding the electorate with lies all for the sake of power.

• VICTOR BAIDOO, SOUTH AFRICA 7 years ago

ARE THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA, MINISTER AND DEPUTY MINISTERS OF EDUCATION AND THE DIRECTOR GENERAL OF EDUCATION SAYING THEY ARE HAPPY WITH THESE RESULTS WHEN LESS THAN 50 PERCENT OF THE CANDIDATES, INCLUDING RE-SIT AND REPEATI ...

• P. Osei 7 years ago

So are you happy with last year and this year's results? It's a shame to GES. Please call on the government to improve the already fallen education in Ghana and stop playing politics with education.

• bio kotey 7 years ago

please leave Joe shortingo alone, even in his days when education standard was high he had third class

• JM 7 years ago

Is this man a professional, what's he talking about the the same curriculum that produced Kofi Anan and Busia, is the same curriculum still being used" ooo cry ny beloved Ghana.

• What 7 years ago

The fool does not understand why the truth he has spoken is the precise problem. We are never going to be abreast let alone ahead of the times

• Abdul 7 years ago

Why is the NPP bent on discrediting everything about Ghana? It is sad that it is this very country it is undermining that it seeks to rule. Why can't NPP for once say the truth and avoid polticising everything. The teachers, ...

• Sid 7 years ago

Quality education!

• Legend 7 years ago

carry on my wayward sons

• Siaw 7 years ago

Mr.Kor , don't mind that foolish and useless certificateles mucus smelling Akufo Addo. When people are talking of education, he should be the very last to talk about it. What does he know? Has he yet shown Ghanaians his law ...

• Asem se be 7 years ago

Joseph Kor may be you can't do simple assessment and analysis. Playing politics with our children education is a very dangerous thing especially where you are praising an educational system you took your kids out like Rawli ...

• Kwaata 7 years ago

Ghanaman, comment is in bad taste; avoid derogatory words. Though I don't agree with the DG of GES that the results is appreciable. Qualification to tertiary institutions is dependent on aggregate of subjects and not on only ...

• Mike Oppong 7 years ago

Poor judgement by the Director of education, if the curriculum which was used to produce Busia and Kofi Annan is the same as today, then Ghana is in serious crisis. Times have changed and move on, so curriculum must be update ...

• t.t 7 years ago

Mediocre ! U are happy ?????

• Akosah 7 years ago

Pls Director General don't pretend. What Nana said don't judge him wrongly.Structures don't pass exams.If the teachers are not properly motivated things will never change.

• ghana ba pa 7 years ago

no insult please, wo maame awu na wo se woa da a y3 b3 hw3

• amali louis 7 years ago

Nana the best way to hide your ignorance is to keep quite

• Obuama 7 years ago

Let all those passing uninformed comments go check the records and ascertain how the results have been since WASSCE was introduced. You don't just hide in your corner and passed comments over something you have no clue of jus ...

• INNO 7 years ago

Nana who want to president of this gr8t nation don't know all these facts?, or doing that for political expediency?, or must win de election @ all cost @ wrk? Nana is too Desperate sm1 must advise him 2 read b4 he talk, de fa ...

• Nyanksah 7 years ago

Akufo Addo made these allegations without cross checking because he wants to be President at all cost.

• ghana ba pa 7 years ago

pepe fo) please calm down no akan wil insult u guys, it is ndc men who want to create division in Ghana so if u see those kinds of comments just scroll down and go your way.

• Kabum Komfrafa 7 years ago

And who is the govt?

Those incompetent buffoons running Ghana like a public toilet?

The people are the govt and if they are saying results are poor, take it.

• HFL 7 years ago

People of no class refer to northerners as pepeni, shame on to them plus those northerners who are in npp. It is a surprise

• haba 7 years ago

Nonsense, is Pepeni an insult in the Akan language? Do you speak Twi? Are Asante, Akuapem, Fante, Ayibge, Brong, Nkran, Nzema, Krobo,Konkoma, Dagbani etc insults?

• Ohenenana 7 years ago

You and the govt are a disgrace. May God not forgive you.

• Abas Tamale 7 years ago

Npp is made up of useless people with a useless leader called Nana Addo dwarfhene. This useless people always create fake news.

• akosua 7 years ago

Don't mind mad people npp. they are always telling lies and thank God now Ghanaians are beginning to know how negative they are to the country.

• razak aboabo 7 years ago

akans loves and receive everyone , i wonder why ndc alway want to create division when there is election, u can not fool as pepefo) again

This is not about politics and nobody is policing for raising concerns about poor performance of our children.

51 to 54 is an improvement for academics. Do u have children or nieces and nephews. ? What was your academic performance? Nana a prof selling her conscience for politics......
    Sit up. Nana is right. Where is the old 100 % in ...

• Sound Ghanaian 7 years ago

With this man as the Director General, do we need to say more?

• foy 7 years ago

Worst ever GES BOSS ...... seek guidance from Nsowah and others rather than doing government bidding. ..

The figures you've quoted are not anything that any caring person should accept as good and be proud of.
    Why do we continue to have people who accept midiocrity as success in charge of important department like education?
    W ...

• Teiko 7 years ago

The big question is, why won't the govt be proud of this abysmal results? They have achieved their goal to fail Akan kids and let ewes and northerners have access to our public universities. Why are Ashanti and Akim schools t ...

• Aristotle 7 years ago

Good evening, fellow Ghanaians. Permit me to make this submission.

I generally feel that whether this year's results are slightly better than last year's or not isn't the issue here.
    Politicians should stop playing foot ...

• Kwame Nim 7 years ago

How can you say that less than 30% of students pass maths and is good result because it is better than last year. Terrible. Say it is still bad but thetrend is upwards.

• New Sherrif in Town 7 years ago

“The curriculum that we used in producing Kofi Anan and the Busia’s is the same curriculum we are still using. Lets trust in the system.” Really? This DG is either lying or I would say "we have gone nowhere" as a Natio ...

• Nii Okai 7 years ago

It is time for Akuffo Addo and Bawumia to wake up to their intelligence and react intelligently by making a good thorough investigation over every issue that prop up if they think they want to use those points in their politi ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

shame , you call this performance good all because of politics

• Lopez. 7 years ago

How can the director of education claim he is satisfied by the performance of these WASSCE results, the fact that this years was better than last year does not mean we should be happy since majority of these children are stil ...

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Akufo Addo must be reminded that he himself was a terrible student.

The best Akufo Addo could manage to get when he was at Legon was a mere Pass (3rd grade).

• Miritaiah q123 7 years ago

BREAKING NEW!!!! The former head of Musama Disco Christo Church, Akaboha III Miritaiah Jonah Jehu-Appiah has been rushed to an undisclosed hospital in the Central Region for an immediate treatment. It is believed that the ex ...

• Gbormita 7 years ago

“The curriculum that we used in producing Kofi Anan and the Busia’s is the same curriculum we are still using. Lets trust in the system,” he said.

• Abena 7 years ago

Inability to speak the truth because of politics is sheer ignorance,slavery and immaturity.

• Ghana is cheap 7 years ago

Mr director general please correct your English first before you even define your position on the issue. As far as I know there's no expression like " I bet to differ" it should be "I beg to differ" so correct that and come a ...

• Director general mpo ni 7 years ago

I bet to differ and I beg to differ. Even director general of Education couldn't use the correct expression yet he's justifying abysmal performance of students.

• Enoch Kofi 7 years ago

Please refrain from call PEPENI!This is one of the real factor NPP don't have northern support. We are all Ghananians and we don't care which part you are from whatsoever irrespective of tribe, religion. For your information ...

• Bernard 7 years ago

Vital 5 is a set of natural products in a package that basically has a powerful libido enhancer which boost your sexual drive as well as fertility and men who have suffered from impotency for a long time.0572174551 The produc ...

• K kojo 7 years ago

Look at this man,u see how politics is killing the black dumb man....almost 70% student can't go to tertiary schools n you are telling us to jumping and rolling for you people?????God have mercy

• barima otafreja. London 7 years ago

This Director General should be ashamed of himself and should be considering resigning from his post. In Britain children's overall pass is sometimes 95% and it's still considered not good enough. Even though he didn't ment ...

• Owusu Thomas 7 years ago

What were the results under npp ?

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

shame , you call this performance good all because of politics

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Nothing is so worrying about our national development efforts than being satisfied with mediocrity. For what good and sound reasons is the GES Boss proud, when only 32% of the candidates qualified for university admission? Ma ...

• Pelvis 7 years ago

The students themselves are not learning but some stupid people will be blaming the government and the teachers.In the olden days what did our parents used to learn but nowadays we the students want to get everything on silve ...

• Eric 7 years ago

How can you be proud of a 66 percent failed rate? That is very horrible and it's reflective of the type of economy Mahama is managing in Ghana. Very sad statement indeed...

• Diana Appiah 7 years ago

Oooooooo this is not good at all

• AAS 7 years ago

Intellectuals, Please stop the insults, it will not help

• george 7 years ago

eHmm eye asem paa oo wow you these leaders are proud of our education but ur children are studying in abroad ....some of us r not fools to believe you