You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082015 02 09Article 345888

"Otumfuo is right; NDC discriminates against Ashantis"

Read Comments Comments (115)

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Fellow CPP members and its sympathizers, if you think you can find a safe Heaven with the " Y3n Akanfuo " Npp Motorbikes thieves terrorist groups, then you are lying to yourselves. The Npp hate Nkrumah , his legacies and his ...

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!!!!! 9 years ago

YOU MUST BE A DEMON, A FOOL OR A STOOGE TO BE HAPPY WITH THIS EPIC STUPIDITY AND FOOLISHNESS DISPLAYED BY MAHAMA AND CURRENT NDC!!!

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Another divide and rule tactic , its not only the the Ashantis but all AKANS are being discriminated and pushed into being second class citizens in their own country by the ayigbe/pepeni coalition of evil

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CAN'T YOU SEE? JUST OPEN YOUR EARS; CAN'T YOU HEAR? IS THIS THE GHANA K4 HAND ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

It does seem we have failed to satisfy regions by the way things are done now, so why don't we fund region by region perhaps based on population so the region can do their own developments. In other words give for example the ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

THAT IS THE WAY TO GO, FEDERATED GOVERNMENT!

• luso 9 years ago

How many ashantis voted for jm?The Ashantis in NDC are appointed.k4 did not do it too

• tulba 9 years ago

Nana with all respect,u have not spoken wisely.Study th e situation urself and stop making comments that could devide us.Jm is doing his work perfectly well.The things that has been done in kumasi is not done anywhere plse.

• Mumuni Wala 9 years ago

DON' T TALK TOO MUCH, CHALLENGE NDC AT THE BALLOT BOX, PERIOD! NPP IS GOOD, ONLY AS OPPOSITION.

• kannyiri 9 years ago

Your father is the first thiefe ,who thought you to be calling other people fathers thief.in your home they are no elders

What kind of Akan are you? Have ever heard the Asantehene speak on the behalf of Akans. Have not noticed that the Asantes never talk for Akans, but only for themselves? ...yen asantefuo, asanteman, etc, but never yen akanfuo. ...

• djan 9 years ago

wrong,fantis and the brongs are the best people.They will remain in NDC.Everyone saw how u treated Mills until death

• lucky 9 years ago

with a gun to declare that Tani cannot be his president?Who said we Akans?The wrong people 2 talk about tribilisim are ur people.they insult ewes,northerners,fantis,brong ahafo people,gas etc.Why didnt u condemn Kenpong when ...

• KOO 9 years ago

He is evil Ewe, who fuck his sisters, nieces, daughters and mother. He has no brain in his head. Such a fool is living and wasting food and space.

• anang 9 years ago

loool

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Watch this space. I sequel to "These Akans" coming to your screen soon.

Andy-K

• SAM 9 years ago

AND YOU CALL SOMEONE A FOOL. LOOK AT THE MIRROR YOU WILL FIND THE TRUE FOOL

• lucky 9 years ago

Question plse.Which tribe in Ghana discriminates all other tribes?Was it not an ashanti woman who came out with a gun to declare that Tani cannot be his president?Who said we Akans?The wrong people 2 talk about tribilisim are ...

• NDC GURU 9 years ago

THEY ARE JUST USING A FEW FOOLISH ONES AMONG US

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

Those whom the NDC are using to bring the Ashantis down will meet their untimely death before the 2016 general election

• Ali Baba 9 years ago

During his 8 years LOOTING, which tribe did he favour apart from Ashantis? How did you get a loan of $20million for Ashanti youth? How many non-Ashantis worked in the Castle? apart from Ashantis who Kufour shared the Achimota ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

NO WONDER YOU CALL YOURSELF A THIEF. SOORY ALI BABA THE THIEF, YOU HAVE NO BRAINS WORKING FOR YOU.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

"What did Kuffuor do is yiur question"? So childish, so to speak.You're hereby admitting that Mahama is indeed guilty of the allegation that he discriminates against Asantes. Mahama and the NDC must go in 2016 because it's ki ...

• derridaniel 9 years ago

Tell them, which chief in ghana did kufuor stand for a loan for? Ask torgbui Afede how he was fustreted before building that power plant they are enjoying today! Let eddy anan tell you what he want thruogth in a hand kufuor ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE)...

DR. BAWUMIA:-----------
    “In the last six years, the NDC has borrowed US$27 billion. Before that, we, the NPP, borrowed a total of US$5.5 billion in eight years. Compare that to the ...

• GLOBAL CITIZEN III (3RD) 9 years ago

Kwesi Pratt seems to go off the rails sometimes. He is a YELLOW BELLY who only writes, speaks, and acts for 'pour bois'. In other words he put his stomach first before all considerations.

• Aikins 9 years ago

For me that is not an issue, it has been the trend anytime ndc is in power besides all the intelligent people in ghana are npp especially the Asante.

• Atebubu 9 years ago

Ashantis have fake degrees and not as intelligent as their qualifications purports them to be. You can clearly tell when a Supposed Ashanti "Dr " opens his mouth to speak, mostly rubbish come out.

Remember the NPP have vo ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

Animal.

• kk 9 years ago

THIS IS ONLY NEWS TO THE NDC MEMBER OTUMFOO. DOESN'T HE KNOW THAT THE NDC IS MADE UP OF ONLY ASHANTEFOO HATERS? THIS IS THE ONLY COMMON FACTOR THAT HOLDS THE PARTY TOGETHER AND RALLIES. MEMBERS. MANY PEOPLE VOTE FOR AND SUPPO ...

• KWABONI 9 years ago

Nana I dont think you really have ASANTE blood why,1\you dance to YENTIE OBIARA at your palace.2,you bought a castle in london wealth 3millon pounds while OKOMFO ANOKYE hospital totally collapsed.Is it a king Asantes need?Ose ...

• Humphrey Mensah 9 years ago

You thing you were taking votes from Asantes to give to Ayigbe/Peppe coalation for a pittance. God dont punishment.

• United Ghana 9 years ago

If you hadn't been removed from the board of ECG would he be saying this?

• Kofi Osei 9 years ago

Who is complaining about the NDC and complaining about the president?
    Was it not the Ashanti king himself that was seen dancing with NDC and the president?
    You have yourself to blame King of Ashanti.

• Samuel Ansah New York 9 years ago

How many for instance were Voltarians that were appointed by Kufour in his government ? Tell NPP government under Kufour to publish his appointees and you will shut your mouth.What about people in high positions part ...

• ABAN 9 years ago

Kufour's first appointment was an EWE woman.Kufour's more development went to Volta region than any region Ghana.If not your people who does not apreciate anything from Ashsnti,who would have even vote for N D C?What did Rawl ...

• Samuel Ansah New York 9 years ago

Who was she?Tell me the total number of ministers in Kufour's government and how many are from Volta . We're talking about number of appointees and not industries You must be an infidel who is not cultured otherwise ...

• The African Patriot 9 years ago

Please use your own name and not that of an Akan or Ashanti to write. Are you ashamed to use your own. You are making tribalistic sentiments and that is good for Asantis because this will bring all Ashantis together who are i ...

• EFO KOKU 9 years ago

She was Elizabeth Ohene. Now you know. Or what?

• Jack 9 years ago

@Samuel Ansah,Why didn't you start with Rawlings but Kufuor.Go back to the Rawlings era and you will see what he did to Ashantis. You are just an idiot trying to hide your ewe identity

• samuel ogbarmey 9 years ago

Tthe NDC government led by presidentJohn Mahama believes in loyalty not saboteurs and non loyalists to the course of the government. The people of asante do not see anything good in the mahama led administration and the Ndc a ...

• ashantis 9 years ago

Ashantis should farm more cocoa fof Ghana to export.we don't need them in the offices.

• KWANA 9 years ago

Every body should go to Regional Health Directorate KUMASI and see for him/herself. The number of Voltarians, three Northern Regions are more than the Ashantis and all the akans. Almost all the UNIT HEADS are from these 4 reg ...

• Atebubu 9 years ago

By killing all Gas and Ewes? Please don't trust these wolves in sheep clothing.

How many Ashantis living in your areas. What, if Ashantis force those from the other origins namely voltarians, north and Ga's in operating in Kumasi? Whom is that going to affect negatively?

Ashantis and Akans are not dep ...

• Atebubu 9 years ago

Not if we vote to keep NPP out. The goods you export use ports in Ga State without which you cannot earn any revenue.

Goods can also be transported through ivory coast. I do not like this tribalism. This is our course, we need to join hands together. Ga's are very little according to the demographic counts. We are all Ghanaians and most of t ...

• Gbagblajah 9 years ago

It is the NPP who tribalise the issue by stating to kill all Gas and Ewes. They have not retracted from this statement neither have they sacked the member who made this statement. In. UK he would have been locked up. But this ...

• OLDTIMER 9 years ago

IF YOU THINK ASHANTIS WILL KILL. NORTHNERS AND EWES TELL THEM TO LEAVE ASHANTI REGION PERIOD!!!!

• Facts 9 years ago

Okomfo Anokye interchange has been frozen whiles circle interchange is been built.

• Yibanzie 9 years ago

For heaven sake such a utterances are dangerous. I don't believe the asantehene will say this. Rather people are using Ashanti region to make Mahama govt unpopular. Thrse days we deal with facts and harfcore evidence. Please ...

• Efo 9 years ago

we should start now to build our own state instead for this foreigners to dictate for us. Ashanti KINGDOM NOW. UNITY WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL.

• Gbagblajah 9 years ago

We will be extremely happy to see the back of you from Ga State (Greater Accra). Please leave and settle in your hometowns. You are choking us in Ga (Accra). Move back to Kumasi your capital. We don't want you!!!

• Yaw Ghana 9 years ago

Did this clown complain about the predominantly asante govt of Kufuor? K4 had only token non asantes in his govt. MAHAMA IS THE BEST! Mr INCLUSIVE!

• PAPA AMUASIE 9 years ago

if indeed, such is the case, then the president must take this case very serious. ashantis deserve their share of the national cake because discrimination is evil

• k, no problem, a 9 years ago

It is true I know it on authority. And that is why I dislike Asantis. When they gain power they don't fortify themselves including all Akans. When other tribes get power they make sure they create opportunities only for thems ...

• bashings 9 years ago

Is Ghana for Ashantis?

• Lisa Fedgbe 9 years ago

History will tell you about the Ashantis and Ghana. they fought the British to liberate us, they shared their wealth from gold and cocoa with Ghana. There is no Ashanti head of state who has blood in his hands. NDC and member ...

• SAM 9 years ago

UNDER WHAT HISTORY DO YOU READ- ONE THAT YOU INVENTED YOURSELF? EDUCATE YOURSELF AND READ TRUE GHANAIAN HISTORY THE MORE. THE ASHANTIES THEMSELVES WERE CONQUERED BY THE BRITISH AND THEIR LEADER PUT IN PRISON SOMEWHERE OUTSIDE ...

• derridaniel 9 years ago

I will not fault you you don't know the history ghana learn more

ANOTHER IDIOT. ASANTES FOUGHT TO LIBRATE US, ....WHAT DO YOU MEAN BY THAT? WILL AN ASANTE EVER SHARE HIS WEALTH? DO YOU KNOW WHAT GREED IS? The asantes are the most greedy of all in Ghana.

The legacy of the Ashantis can be read in many Books in England and Canada especially. And your distracted history will not yield any fruit. Now the Akans and especially the Ashantis will unite because of this to over come yo ...

• Gbagblajah 9 years ago

Lisa what truth? These Ashantis are planning to murder Gas and Ewes. NPP said it or have you forgotten. Ashantis don't like democracy when they loose they will resort to violence. All other tribe must be reminded of this fact ...

• abu 9 years ago

I dont think asantehene will say such a thing. he is one of the best men this country has produced.if anyway he said that, then that is unfortunate. when kuffour was in power, we could count all the northerners and voltarians ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Cry me a river all you Ghanaians blinded by hate, tribal zealotry, hypocrisy and unprincipled existence. Under Kufour's 8-year reign there was no equal appointments by tribe or by region; he made darn sure Asantes were favore ...

• NYAME HEMAA 9 years ago

let us all trust in GOD INSTEAD,DO NOT NO NTRUST LEADERS BUT ONLY GOD, MIGHTY GOD HAVE MERCY UPON OUR MOTHERLAND GHANA.

• DEPORT THE FOREIGN MUSLIMS ASAP 9 years ago

NDC DISCRIMINATES AGAINST AKAN IN GENERAL BUT THAT IS IN GHANA POLITIC AND THAT ATTITUDE MUST STOP .

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

Massa dont cry wolf if you go and support ndc.anything created by towhom is antiashanti so no news as the partin is already sat.asantehene coming to know this is also hard to belief

• Yaw 9 years ago

So you were not aware of all these all these years? Very surprising. Otumfuo if you were not aware please be informed that that has been the situation during all NDC years. Just do little statistics.

• Raymond Agbeli 9 years ago

Which party in Ghana today is more tribalistic than the ashanti/akan party.that's one reason they fine it difficult to win elections since independence.They always want to base their every actions and uterances tribal hegemo ...

• Jim 9 years ago

This guy should put a stop to such comments i mean the king of the Ashantis this not good for the people

• Obournana 9 years ago

And so what? Because you were fired from the board so you want to ay anything.

• KOMLA AGBEVE 9 years ago

HOW DID BAMBATA MAKE MONEY TO GO AND LIVE IN AMERICA WITH HIS CHILDREN? IS IT TRUE HE HAS BOUGHT A HOUSE IN THE US> LET'S FIND OUT WHAT HE DOES IN AMERICA COS HIS WHOLE FAMILY IS THERE WITH HIM. HOW CAN ANY SENSIBLE PERSON PU ...

• BAFFOUR 9 years ago

Otumfuo, JDM will not mind you because you encouraged him not to listen to the people's grievances. You remember dancing to JDM's popular song Nea wo ho bet) wo or y3etie obiaa? You didnt realise he was speaking in parables ...

• TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• KOMOO FRANCE. 9 years ago

Is the asantehene making a'U'turn?Did'nt he know that his bed fellow was an anti ashanti?He has been exposed that's why he is turning coat. shame.

• kelewele Dabuo - Lawra 9 years ago

NPP SO ENVIOUS OF JM ACHIEVEMENTS AND ARE FABRICATING ALL KIND OF LIES.

Did you read the story. Otumfour who made the allegation is not NPP, neither is Mr. Adjei. So where is NPP in the case?

THE ONE WHO WROTE THIS OH NPP PIECE HAS TO BE SENT TO PRIMARY SCHOOL. WHAT HAS THIS GOT TO WITH NPP. THE MAN WHO IS SUPPPORTING OTUMFUO'S STATEMENT HAS CLEARLY SAID THAT HE SUPPPORTED NDC. WA NKO SCHOOL PAA WA ASEM Y3 MOBO PA ...

• Abban 9 years ago

Stop wailing Bambata aka Agontari,go and look for your ewe father you are not a full Ashanti,your Ashanti mum (Felicia)has disown you because of your wickedness.

THIS UNEDUCATED BRAT HAS THE NERVE TO TALK ABOUT BEING A BOARD MEMBER OF ECG? WHAT IS YOIUR QUALIFICATION? PUTTING U ON ANY BOARD WAS A MISTAKE AND ONLY NDC WILL COMMIT SUCH A STUPID ACT. U WERE EVEN A FAILURE AS A DJ. U WERE ...

• KPOKU 9 years ago

WHO TOLD OTUMFUO THIS BIG LIE. ASHANTIS SHOULD TELL ALL GHANAIANS WHAT WAS THE RATIO OF ASHANTIS TO NON-ASHANTIS IN NPP GOV'T. THIS ONE DE3 NDC IS FAR BETTER THAN NPP. NPP WAS FOR TWIFO CAMP.

• jt 9 years ago

The fact is Ashentes want 2 things at the same time, truth is u have to choose. U either be Ashante by supporting npp and be accepted by fellow Ashante s or being Ghanians support any party and be rejected by ur own Ashante s ...

• nana yaw barekese snr high school 9 years ago

I'm happy it has also happened to you because instead of u to followe a party that thinks abt peoples welfare you are just waisting your time on create loot and share people

Mr Adjei should know that his case is not one of discrimination. NDC has lots of opportunists like him waiting in line so it will take some time for him to be rewarded for his efforts. Just wait in line patiently. The cases o ...

• YAW NSUTA 9 years ago

LIAR, THE ASANTEHENE, OTUMFUOR OSEI TUTU NEVER SAID OR MADE ANY SUCH COMMENTS. STOP YOUR 'ye akanfo' MENTALITY!!

• asaase 9 years ago

u people should stop making it look as if the Ashantis are the only Akans we have in Ghana. Tell wanna otumfuo that he should stop pretending.is he not an NDC member? and he is making it look as if someone is complaining to ...

• ATIA FRAFRA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Can someone tell me why MPEPE FOUR PRESIDENTS love Akan music? PRESIDENT HILA LIMAN, AGARTA HWEMANIM, JOHN MAHAMA YENTIE OBIAA, love you tribes melody and leave Akans alone.

• fela 9 years ago

i am Akan ,floating voter,have observed the political scene for sometime.we are slow heading towards strong tribal politics.Npp mostly AKAN, Ndc mostly EWES AND NORTHERNS .If we should vote along tribal lines the country will ...

• SAM 9 years ago

ASHANTIES HAVE BY AND LARGE ALWAYS BEEN SELFISH, VERY TRIBALISTIC AND INWARD LOOKING FROM COLONIAL TIMES TILL TODAY.IF THERE IS NO KNOWN ASHANTI IN NDC IT IS BECAUSE THEY DONT VOTE NDC ANYWAY SO WHY SHOULD THEY GET AS MUCH PO ...

• FRED. U S A 9 years ago

The seeds Otumfuo planted will bring fruits for him to taste it. Otumfuo should stop complaining about NDC .He is the same guy who helped NDC into power. We will All live to see .

• OPANIN 9 years ago

Asantehene is biased. We all know that asantehene the so called otumfuo is an npp.His throne has always been MATE MEHO!!!. This is no secret.

• OPANIN 9 years ago

Do the asantehene wants the Presidency to be always for ashantis?
    Many tribes in Ghana. Every tribe can be there: Not only Ashantis. Akuffo Addo is just lucky due to that Kyeramateng could'nt be the NPP flagbearer.Don't bree ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

a pig

• ohene 9 years ago

The seeds of wrongs, bearing fruits. Jerry Rawlings spent 20years, to plant and nurture hate for Ashantis, and this government carries on. Its been the objective of this party to treat Asahantis the way, and its about time, s ...

• candido 9 years ago

Sir,l would remind you of history. This is what brought about the civil war in Nigeria. I thought as a powerful king in the land you would. discuss this subject with Mr President. Were you trying to win some support from some ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

ASANTEHENE, ANSWER THIS QUESTION PLEASE:

HOW MANY GAS OR EWES OR NZEMAS WORK AT THE MANHIA PALACE UNDER YOUR "ASANTEHESHIP"?

• Yaw Botah 9 years ago

Ewes and Northerners are the Washmen and Latrine boys respectively.

• Descartes 9 years ago

It is only in Ghana ,where one is born on a wealthy Land like Asantes, but get very less of national cake.We need reforms.Agriculture must be selfficient. Regional parliaments like Scotland, to decide for ourselves.After all ...

• god 9 years ago

ashantis, npp against northeners.what abt that,kufuor regimes.

• Desmond 9 years ago

Where did Adjei get the statistics from? What impact did your party had on NDC's victory? Which tribe is more segregative than Ashanti s. U and ashantehene should shut up

• jim 9 years ago

It is sad that Mr. Adjei admits the RPD's support for NDC is just for positions in government. Dr Oteng Adjei who likely is a relative of the RPD founder Mr. Kwabena Adjei has nothing to show for all the 6 years he served as ...

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Kwabena Adjei and the Otumfuo should quit wearing two left foot shoes while they're ahead. Any form of discrimination against any group or persons in Ghana must be condemned and not tolerated. But making noise about discrimin ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

Womaame twe kankan wae Mr.Adjei. you deserved to me discriminated aginst.Quite a self seeking fool.

• truth 9 years ago

They suffer the MOST. Ashantis cut your head for them will still be UNGRATEFUL. Is in their GENES.

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

And how long did it take this Otumfou to analyse this. Systematic institutionalised agressibe and brutal discrimination against Akans in general was done by RAwlings. Look at the security forces of Ghana today. It is populate ...

• Osofo 9 years ago

The infamous dance meant that all is well. So why now?

WAA LOOK! ....WASN'T THIS SAME ASANTEHENE WHO WAS DANCING TO THE TUNE OF "YENTIA BYEAA" AT HIS MANHYIA PALACE? WHAT DOES HE WANT? DIDNT MAHAMA SILENCE HIM WITH THAT MILLION?

• Eric 9 years ago

Is it not Otumfuo who was dancing Yentie Obiaa with President Mahammah. If his assertion is right he wouldn't have been drinking those bottles of Champaign with the Dumsor President. Whether you are being discriminated agains ...

• Uncle Sam,U.S.A 9 years ago

Nana,Pls,don't discriminate.NOT ASHANTE'S ALONE.Other tribes under NDC Goverment are PSYCHOLOGICALY SUFFERING.But,We are 1 Ghana 1 LOVE.Jah Bless.

• cuuh!. 9 years ago

It seems you dont understand what you're saying. Learn to be wise.

• Kofi Afrifa 9 years ago

Asantehene, you're now coming home. When we saw dancing yen tie obiara with Mahama we thought you have given up on us.
    Asantehene, have you recognized if the Ashanti don't travel abroad after university they can't get a job ...

• ato 9 years ago

Selfish statement! Why are Ashantis so greedy! You want the whole Ghana for your consumption.

• Mugu Yaro USA 9 years ago

The workers @ the Asantihene's palace? Watchman from Ho, garden boy from Jasikan, latrine man from Aflao!

• atopahene john mahama 9 years ago

otumfuo is right ndc discriminate against Ashantis