BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
Kwaku 2 months ago
See who is talking! Sam George after being exposed by a journalist for lying, immature and inexperienced as a minister is here again. After failing Ghanaian dstv users he is still here shamelessly opening his stinky mouth wide
Kwaw Esiako 2 months ago
Sam George saying this? What paradox!
Pig telling Goat to go and bath 2 months ago
Say that again! These Anago Halfcastes we have in our midst. Shatta Wale, Sam George and the rest are all too loud.
Ogidigidi 2 months ago
Herrrrr see who is talking?
Eiii Sam George!
Does Sam George qualifies as Minister of Information in Ghana?
Eiii Sam George!
+JOJO 2 months ago
This NDC’s bloated baby with sharp teeth Sam George meds to learn to shut up. He behaves a if his mouth is always full with 300 degrees boiling water that he needs to keep his mouth always open to throw it out. He talks too much like a restless boy. He needs to be reminded that SILENCE IS GOLDEN WHILE SPEECH IS SILVER.
Efo Kofi 2 months ago
KWAASHIAA this foolish idiot Sam George will never learn sense aboabiba yakame you think you will be in power forever aboabi yakagbormo
Minister DSTV a.k.a LGBTQ 2 months ago
Baby with sharp teeth. What happened to hus LGBTQ campaign, I don't hear him talk about it anymore.
Kk 2 months ago
This Sam Hippopotamus George is the most arrogant politician Ghana has ever produced.
Nana Abrokwah SA 2 months ago
Well KK, who's more arrogant than your Nana Addo Danqha-Akufu Addo? Who told chiefs to stand up before greeting him, your Vice president Napo, who told the Ghanaian citizens to draft their own timetables for the load shedding?
@ KK 2 months ago
Nana Addo is no longer a president or relevant. It is only a fool who keeps repeating the mistakes of others who have suffered for their mistakes. Go figure.
Sage 2 months ago
No doubt he was slapped at Ayawaso.
Samwise 2 months ago
What youth association, are you guys dumb, can't you see the trend?
Esa 2 months ago
A pot calling a kettle black. Sam George do you see yourself as a wise politician? Full of arrogance and ignorance. Idiot of a minister/mp.
O’Neil 2 months ago
This arrogant boy should ask how haughty elements like Edumadzi ended up before dying
Agyapa Mercer 2 months ago
@ O'Neil. And you think your Afenyo Kwasea Markin is not arrogant? You must be an idiot and an animal.. I swear to God. Useless fool
Sammy 2 months ago
Sam George, you have now found your voice after the massive humiliation from Dstv.
Your comprehension of issues are so appalling yet you claim to know better than Evans Mensah of Multimedia.
Sam George, you have now found your voice after the massive humiliation from Dstv.
Your comprehension of issues are so appalling yet you claim to know better than Evans Mensah of Multimedia.
Joshua Andoh 2 months ago
@ Sammy. DStv apologized to Sam George. Didn't you hear? Kwasea
Abrantie 2 months ago
NPP is a criminal organization
Jk 2 months ago
NDC is a criminal enterprise
Delali 2 months ago
Hahahahaha, DSTV Minister!
Prez. Mahama, please sack this arrogant bloated baby before he brings the NDC down.
Jack Toronto 2 months ago
Sam the Dzata George, you've made my day, you've actually put the noisy empty barrel where he belongs. Just that I doubt if he understands.
Baba Siaka Stevens 2 weeks ago
Sam Hippopotamus George if politics is not cheap in Ghana even a deputy minister post , you doesn't deserve it, a Hippo calling himself a hippo calling himself dzata
Koti 2 months ago
Very uncultured man to be called HONOURABLE. Sam George, why didn't you keep silent so you can appear wise and knowledgeable yourself? I pity people he represents.
Baafour 2 months ago
See who is talking, u same George hahahaha wonders shall never end.
Kwame Nkrumah 2 months ago
Very stupid and disrespectful braggart!! You talk like a fool, did u shut up when in opposition?? how far is the anti LBGQTBCADFHJM+++ bill? Idiot!!!
Efo Kofi 1 week ago
Look at this foolish idiot kwaashiaa minister KWAASHIAA
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over ...
See who is talking! Sam George after being exposed by a journalist for lying, immature and inexperienced as a minister is here again. After failing Ghanaian dstv users he is still here shamelessly opening his stinky mouth wid ...
Eiii Sam George!
This NDC’s bloated baby with sharp teeth Sam George meds to learn to shut up. He behaves a if his mouth is always full with 300 degrees boiling water that he needs to keep his mouth always open to throw it out. He talks too ...
Well KK, who's more arrogant than your Nana Addo Danqha-Akufu Addo? Who told chiefs to stand up before greeting him, your Vice president Napo, who told the Ghanaian citizens to draft their own timetables for the load shedding ...