You are here: HomeCountry2017 07 09Article 556856

Breakthrough! KNUST invents and builds solar-powered 4X4 vehicle

Read Comments Comments (51)

• HONESTMAN 6 years ago

WHERE IS THE CAR? EVIDENCE

• Larbi 6 years ago

I remember this same institution came out with a car called mini Baja or something but that was the end. We never saw it in the road.

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

KNUST partnering a polytechnic in Germany? Wonders shall never end. In Germany, Polytechnics are Technical Universities. We were in Ghana when KNUST warned polytechnic graduates not to apply for their programmes since they ar ...

• Tekonline .org 6 years ago

All Nations University College’s quest to make Ghana a space-faring nation is becoming a reality through its collaboration with Kyushu Institute of Technology (Kyutech) in Japan.
    Consequently, the first-ever satellite bein ...

• bb 6 years ago

they are inefficient. book long,this is not breakthrough .they only want to neutralize the great breakthrough and the achievement of Ashasi University.
    To Mr. Kojo Safo,this toy car.

• Gabriel Acheamfour 6 years ago

If so where is the video to proof your invention.How can you published this story without attaching a video to it.Well as for me i have not seen any proof or video so cannot trust what they are saying.Those who had seen a vid ...

• TECH TRENDS 6 years ago

Many are taking their destiny in their hands with this business NOT WAITING ENDLESSLY TO BE CALLED FOR A JOB. Nothing wrong in searching but one should get busy in a worthy venture. Check out reviews from those who have train ...

• Tekonline.org 6 years ago

www.pulse.com.gh/technology/technology-in-ghana-knust-team-builds-solar-powered-car-id6965721.html

• Science 6 years ago

all those typing nonsense should bow their head in Shame. You guys know the truth but bcos of envy you spew rubbish about KNUST. The school has produced very intelligent engineers, doctors and so on BUT ASK YOURSELF... WHERE ...

• Jeff, UK 6 years ago

Makere university in Uganda also has a solar powered bus already running. As for funding, I think the university is capable of generating enough funds for research. I think they have not been innovative enough. There are so m ...

• Gony 6 years ago

this technology will never be the first on continent Africa. the vice chancellor or the author should look for Kira motors and read more about them

• kitiki 6 years ago

Ditto!
    Where is the car? Stop this kind of reporting and give us evidence-based news? And as expected, the typical Ghanaian reporter did not forget to include a statement suggesting the first of its kind in Africa. I have lo ...

• Tekonline . org 6 years ago

The effective use of Google is a marketable skill:

www.pulse.com.gh/technology/technology-in-ghana-knust-team-builds-solar-powered-car-id6965721.html

• Ing Noore 6 years ago

Apuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu its alie they cant even produve chewing stick n dey call dem self profrssors n what ever where is the pic

• Ing Noore 6 years ago

So call proffesors cant produce chewing sticks

• Rainbow 6 years ago

Where is the car indeed.We need the vehicle in motion.All Nations did it and we all saw it FiliFili.

• Brazo 6 years ago

They can "invent and build a solar-powered vehicle", but they can't produce a single video or pix!

• Lady Di 6 years ago

All Nations University College established in 2002, designed, built and coolly launched the first known Satellite in Ghana.

Just established in 1953 is jubilating over a so called breakthrough!!

• ZX 6 years ago

Ghanaians must shut up. You can't produce anything when you have been under military dictatorship for 19 years. Why do you have to call Turkey to solve your dumsor problem?

• Think 6 years ago

Exactly, the country should not have gone to Turkey.

• Kpakpo 6 years ago

Not after the achievement of All Nations University should a posting like this be announced.

We want action not words. Show me the money!

• Kpakpo 6 years ago

Not after the achievement of All Nations University should a posting like this be announced.............

We want action not words. Show me the money!

• pkirks 6 years ago

What do you mean by invention . These things are already existing. So shut the fuck up. At least, you should have the decency to display the ride. Don't just tell us bullshit. Or is it because your party is in power so you wa ...

• LOVE IS STRANGE SO STRANGE 6 years ago

KNUST 1ST CLASS GRADUATE DENTIST MARRY A RUFFIAN

LOUISA WERE YOU THAT DESPERATE??

• THE CRUSADER 6 years ago

KUMASI SHALL ALWAYS BE KUMASI,BY GOD'S GRACE,IF NOT BECAUSE OF TRIBALISM AND STUPID EVE JEALOUSY,you could have been far advanced,your ADOM,BOAFO MINI TRUCKS ARE STILL CIRCULATING AFTER ALMOST 50years,ASHANTI ENVY GO KILL EVE ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• ojoo 6 years ago

Good news but where is the car?

• Joseph adonle 6 years ago

'Cut and paste 'This technology is already existing. Why don't you go Appostle Kojo Sarfo for tutorials

• obengthat 6 years ago

lies even the picture of it cannot be shown.

• Frank 6 years ago

Picture please

• Sam 6 years ago

Would it not be better to build low cost solar lamps which the poor masses in villages or off grid can afford instead of these cars and the likes of katakana
    Blackman

• wow 6 years ago

liars...it rather an affiliate of KNUST...All Nation university...give them some credit

• Kwasi Kakape 6 years ago

Why do we call it University of science and technology? KNUST is a rubbish institution and it is the main pillar of our problems. Why can't they start producing smaller things like clock watches, generators for electricity, s ...

• DDT 6 years ago

Please next time provide picture or video of a story of this nature.

• Clem 6 years ago

Lazy and "they say they say " Ghana journalism. Not even one photo. You were not there.

• cos 6 years ago

where is de car in question. ghanaweb don't lead your readers in abstraction.

• Tek online.org 6 years ago

It doesn't take a genius:

• Merger 6 years ago

They produce all kinds of graduates and yet no one is able to think outside the box.
    At least u could learn from All Nation University now. If not,
    Learn from Suame magazine or apostle sarfo and get some practical tuition f ...

• Edward Poku 6 years ago

This good for nothing people can do the research but rather sell it for their selfish interest.Forgetting that they were schooled on the poor mans taxes.

• Ankoma 6 years ago

How many scientists and engineers has knust produced since its establishment?What have they as an institution been able to invent since its inception?
    Knust is surrounded by poor communities except part of Ayigya and Ayedua ...

All you have to do is go to:

www.knust.edu.gh

Trust me, you would discover a lot.

We truly need to be research-minded !

• Think 6 years ago

Ghanaians need assurance and you have to demonstrate to the people what their students are capable of. We want to see their workmanship on the market. Going online is not the best way to find out.

What if the website reports the workmanship on the market? Or you have to travel all over Ghana looking?

In any case, universities are NOT factories. You would not find saucepans manufactured by Cambridge University in you ...

• Sam Pokes 6 years ago

Involve the College of Art to bring aesthetic value to it

• Kofi 6 years ago

How can you get a photo of the great hall and not a photo of the said vehicle ? Which is more important, the great hall or the vehicle( the subject matter )????? Wake up !!!

• Dr fake 6 years ago

Stupid fools, my kids used the solar tourch light panel to power their toy cars . they are in class 5

• Nana Bobie 6 years ago

At least show us a picture of the so- called car. This kind of reportage is archaic. We need evidence based journalism.

• Bonds 6 years ago

KUNST wants to kill the shine of All nation university because the could lunch a satellite to space

• Victor 6 years ago

KNUST is just a mediocre academic institution with no proper bearing. It was established to provide top level scientists, various grades and categories of engineers to power the country's industries, and help exploit our natu ...

• Prof. Agwedicham 6 years ago

Your next challenge is to develop and reinvent the following:
    Change the backbreaking hoe used in local farming in the entire North
    2. Reinvent a housing unit to withstand the rains flooding in the north
    3. Develop and pro ...

• Paa kwesi Miami USA 6 years ago

Why 4 by 4 , you guys have started from the top when Ghana is importing silly small item like tooth pick from China . Think about comon house hold items that will better Ghanaians life.