You are here: HomeBusiness2017 06 28Article 553166

$19bn Chinese loan will benefit China – ISODEC warns

Read Comments Comments (36)

• Substitude Teacher 6 years ago

But mortgaging the resource of our future generations to the wicked Chinese? Come on, isn't it time our so called leaders should come up with better solutions to our problems than to mortgage our children's future? Bawumia, p ...

• THIS CAN BE TERRIBLE 6 years ago

WE SHOULD ADD VALUE TO OUR RAW MATERIALS BEFORE WE SELL THEM O.IT DOESNT SOUND RIGHT TO SELL OUR RAW MATERIALS AGAIN.BAWUMIA THINK AGAIN.

• Mas Ieso 6 years ago

How do we add value to our raw materials without factories? Trump's America is not going to help us. Most European Countries are not in a position to help us as much as we need. Because we are a stable country with lots of po ...

• Shipah 6 years ago

Relax and watch brains at work....u stupidly making noise wen the money is not in yet...if wat they planning to do is right...then the jobs about to be created in Ghana is enormous....if they can set up the facilities without ...

• ABBA ATTA 6 years ago

FOLKS WHERE ARE THE TWO PAID NEW PATRIOTIC PARTY POSTERS, PRINCE KWESI ADADE AND AGBESI KWESI, YOU WILL NOT FIND THEM HERE AT ALL, AS TOLD YOU, AS PAID COPY AND PASTE COMMENTERS THEIR MAIN ASSIGNMENT IS TO SIT BEHIND THEIR PH ...

• Abi 6 years ago

.....so we should not think, because we are Foolish and Ignorant, we should just listen, because we are Cheap and Hopeless, we should not reason...

Hmmmmmmm... COMMON SENSE IS THROWN TO THE WIND!!!!

• YOU SEY WETTIN ? 6 years ago

We claim democracy is the best form of governance, but China which does not practice our type of democracy is rather progressing. WHY ?

• Otsibu Darko 6 years ago

"Monkey dey work, baboon dey chop", why complain let's work hard until we drop dead, after all our future generation will continue to do same. In Ghana and for that matter Africa in general we have the best educated and unedu ...

• Homework 6 years ago

First, none of our development partners are coming into Africa because of the air, or because they like our pigmentation. Every single one of them in Africa, in the Middle East, in South America, North Africa, Asia are all th ...

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

ISODEC or whichever organization they call themselves are all oblivious to business and international protocol. So they're trying to inform Ghanaians that the Chinese gov't should consider a worthless investment in Ghana?

• Nii 6 years ago

Can you tell me the system of governance in China ?

• Patriot 6 years ago

You do not need to be told. Even the US takes loans from China knowing fully it is a communist country and so what?

• baah 6 years ago

only 20 people vote for the President in china and the reelection is after 10 years...... 1. 3 billlion population every providence has different laws and you must due with law.......... even they are foreigners with t ...

• SAQ 6 years ago

Sign of failed agendas, Bawumia the talkative, he also seem to lack common sense (Phd and all). According to Bawumia China would give Ghana $15 billion. Recent memory tells us the Chinese could NOT fulfill a promise for $5 bi ...

• Patriot 6 years ago

Be smart, man. Don't be dumb. Mere criticism would not take Ghana anywhere. We did that for 8 years while others chopped nyafu nyafu. Woyome got 52 million Gh cedis for doing nothing. Seth Tekper did nothing but would resort ...

• Jasmine 6 years ago

Akufo-Addo and liar Bawumiah have been crying on top of their voices venting spleen on the colossal debt we have, not they're talking about 19 billion dollars loan from China, a country only interested in their government wit ...

• Jasmine 6 years ago

"now they are talking..."

• Kofi 6 years ago

The dwarf is hiding acting like he doesn't know what the fuck the dimwits around him are doing.

• Onournana 6 years ago

Is this what the idiot and ignorant Kweku Baako called the jackpot? Did this fool able to consider the value of all the minerals involved? Is it because he is impotent and do not care about the future generation? This is NPP ...

• Felix 6 years ago

GHANAIANS WILL SOON CRY FOR VOTING FOR THESE GANG OF CRIMINALS. ROGUES ARE IN GOVT.

• Nana Asenso 6 years ago

NDC fools talking without sense. Ghanaians will thank Bawumia forever on this deal. What is the state of our bauxite and iron ore exploitation? Thank God we have a govt that is not going to borrow or use our revenue to pay lo ...

• Minta 6 years ago

Only difference between NPP and NDC is that, NPP are very intelligent thieves.

When it comes to money, never trust and African politician. At the end of the day, their pockets will be full

• Patriot 6 years ago

If you want to develop as a country you have to take risks and the $19 billion Chinese facility is one like that. All that needs to be done is for government to ensure that probity and accountability reins supreme in the proc ...

• Nokwere nti 6 years ago

We have to sacrifice something today and gain it tomorrow. You can't prepare Omlet without breaking eggs.
    How and why do banks lend money to people? We can't eat our cake and have it.

• Donald Duck 6 years ago

Are we serious. Loans are not grants. The mainly benefit the lender. Have you taken a bank loan before. You literally work for the bank. So you take alone for things that are of critical importance to your growth strategy and ...

• FOR 6 years ago

The NDC think that there would be nothing left in case they chance to win an election.

• Sueto Sade Kodjo 6 years ago

Nana be bold and implement your policies don't mind those Lucifa people but without solution while the ordinary Ghanaian suffer enduring hardships crossing the Sahara and Mediterranean dying Nana be bold and implement your pr ...

• Ghanaman USA 6 years ago

When we were growing up, we never knew China. We knew our traditionally honest partnerships with the west that was not built on economic fantasies and sleazy baits. We had all sorts of cooperative agreements that brought is ...

• Ghanaian Love 6 years ago

Is this what NPP has promised us ???mortgaging our natural resources on what terms and conditions ? Instead of exploiting and adding value in Ghana ? We are finished ! Dr. Manteaw is Right

• KOFI NSOWA 6 years ago

It is a bad deal. That is the neo-colonialism that Dr Kwame Nkrumah talked about and warned Africans to desist from. Using Ghana's natural resources as collateral for a loan is an outright sellout of Mother Ghana. Parliament ...

• Free SHS 6 years ago

Chinese loans should not benefit China? That is why ghana has given out a lot of loans to benefit others; in ghana benevolence is the strategy. During festivities you give money, freebies. Etc. of course Chinese loans will be ...

• i love Gh 6 years ago

Akuffu Addo and his mernace called the ndc government incompetent because we borrowed money .. Ghana is owing 35 abt billion dollars since Nkrumah's time . You people have borrowed like 24 billion dollars in less than a year ...

• MAD RAPPER 6 years ago

I dont like npp but i agree this is the way to go. we should be lying in bed with china, iran and russia not the evil west

• kofi pra 6 years ago

ISODEC is a lap dog of the Breton Wood institution and their development prescription of structural adjustment. This Chinese loan is a shift from repayment of loans in US dollars to supply of our raw materials. The difference ...

• Amma 6 years ago

I am surprised that government did not consider the national sentiment around Chinese before doing this deal. they could have gone to any other country, why China, especially now that we are trying to get rid of the Chinese i ...

• AFUA 6 years ago

i thought npp said it will not go for loan to develop Ghana and that the money is in the country.