You are here: HomeBusiness2017 04 06Article 526064

UMB supports '1 district, 1 factory' with US$100m

Read Comments Comments (79)

• agyeman 7 years ago

IBRAHIM MAHAMA SHOULD FIRST GO AND PAY SSNIT ALL OUTSTANDING ARREARS BEFORE THIS SHOW OFF. SECONDLY IS IT A CASE OF RETURNING TO STATE COFFERS LOOTED FUNDS. NANA BEWARE OF THIS BOY HE CAN NEVER BE TRUSTED. HE IS NOT VERY SMAR ...

• Akwei 7 years ago

Read the article carefully and ask yourself whether Nana Addo is taking any money from this bank!

• Attu zongo 7 years ago

The horrible old greedy fool, alhaji has no better news than hatred news.
    Is it not the same criminal Ibrahim mahama and his murderer brother, incompetent propaganda president mahama, who categorically denied that the UMB ba ...

• ATSUKUOR TEYE-WAYO 7 years ago

THIS IS A WRONG MOVE THAT MIGHT ANGER GHANAIANS. AKUFO ADDO SHOULD BE A LITTLE MORE CIRCUMSPECT. MAHAMA AND HIS BROTHER USED MONEY OWED TO GHANATO BUY TO FRAUDULENTLY ACQUIRE A BANK OWNED BY GHANA. TO GUARANTEE NPP'S LONGEV ...

• True Talk 7 years ago

Government should carefully vet the source of these funds. It is known that US$5 billion stolen Libyan money was flown into Ghana from South Africa.Perhaps this stolen loot is being recycled through this bank.

• True Talk 7 years ago

It is expected that a delegation from Libya will be arriving in Ghana shortly, to commence action to recover US$ 5 billion known to have been flown into Ghana during the Mahama government. Is the bank recycling this money.

• Andrews Melbourne. 7 years ago

Such national cohesion is exactly what Ghana needs to propel the growth dynamics of the country. One would have thought the Ex President Mahama, criticised and mocked the famous " One district one factory " project, notwithst ...

• AZORKA 7 years ago

If he's promised USD100m it doesn't mean he's going to give it to the projects for free. If the bank has earmarked that amount it means he knows he can make more money from loaning that money to companies for the projects. It ...

• aikins (mission accomplished) 7 years ago

You thieves are just afraid of the incorruptible president but I can assure you that you won't go Scott free for taking the Merchant Bank for that chicken change.

• Prince Abibirim 7 years ago

First, banks are there for money making only,this is an investment. Two, Akuffo Addo made a promise that he could not keep and started seeking private investors for the projects. They even sent someone to petition ghanaians i ...

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

OH BOY. U CAN'T BRIBE THE DEVIL NOT EVEN WITH YOUR SOUL. THEY HATED TO SEE OTHER TRIBES DO WELL THAN THEM.

• Pops 7 years ago

WHERE DID THIS BOY WHO WAS WORKING AS A CAR WASH LABOURER AT A STONBRIDGE CARWASH BAY IN NORTH LONDON UK. GOT MONEY TO BUY A BANK FROM. NOT SAVINGS FROM WASHING CARS. IS MAHAMAS STOLEN MONEY FROM GHANA WHEN HE WAS PRESDENT OF ...

• Silo 7 years ago

HOWEVER ITS OUR MONEY IF WE REFUSE THEY ARE FOOL OR COULD BE NAA NAAYELE DIRTY MONEY LAUNDERING?

• Akwei 7 years ago

"According to managers of Universal Merchant Bank (UMB), the Akufo-Addo-led government’s one district, one factory initiative fits into its strategy of investing in public infrastructure for long term returns."

So it is ...

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

GHANAIANS?????? WHEN ARE WE EVER GOING TO LEARN?????

The NPP and the NDC have NOTHING to offer GHANA. Don't we get it? We continue to waste our votes on these two USELESS parties to keep us in poverty, whilst they enrich t ...

• Joyce 7 years ago

Why dont you form your party now

• D DAY 7 years ago

THOUGH DAAVI'S IBRAHIM IS VERY SMART WITH HIS CHINESIE GALAMSEY INVOLVEMENT, TRUST NANA'S NPP FOR GHANA FIRST.

• aikins (mission accomplished) 7 years ago

The 2 are not the same, npp is a political party whiles the ndc is a concert party full of criminals and corrupt people.

• ANOTHER NDC THIEF MAN BANK 7 years ago

THIS GUY BE THIEF MAN. STEAL FROM GHANA GIVES BACK TO GHANA. THIEF MAN BANK

• Mahama ase3 Ghana 7 years ago

It is all state money and so l am not surprised as you haven't done nothing supporting Gh with that amount of money, anything involving Mahama is stealing from the state.

• Pkays enterprise 7 years ago

Aah! It better than none

• JOHN 7 years ago

NPP MADE IBRAHIM RICH DURING KUFFOUR REGIME. IBRAHIM'S MUM WAS STAUNCH NPP. YOU GUYS THERE DONT KNOW NOTHING AND WILL NEVER UNDERSTAND NOTHING. IBRAHIM WILL RATHER MAKE MORE MONEY IN THIS NANA GOVT. YOU GUYS CAN GO TO HELL

• D DAY 7 years ago

INDEED UNCLE TAMAKLOE IS/WAS A STRONG NPP WHEN IBRAHIM STOLE

• READ BEFORE U COMMENT. FOOLS 7 years ago

READ BEFORE U COMMENT. FOOLS

• Tetteh 7 years ago

Where did Ibrahim got all these monies from? Why did he not give it to his failed president brother? Left to me Nana should not accept this filthy money but if he wants to use it in his Bole district, no problem? Has he compl ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

IBRAHIM AND HIS MUM HAS BEEN STAUNCH PP AND NPP LONG TIME. IT'S HIS HALF BROTHER WHO JUST BECAME PRESIDENT BY CO-INCIDENCE. IBRAHIM GOT ALL HIS MONEY DURING KUFFOUR TIME BECAUSE OF HIS MOTHER'S CONNECTIONS WITH NPP. YOU GUYS ...

• Umknown 7 years ago

Stop working for a known crook. It appears he defrauded Ghana regardless of which party was in office. That has nothing to do with probity and accountability and also the welfare of the Republic. Are you suggesting The Presid ...

• Augustine Boahen 7 years ago

Is the caption of this article not misleading? The story states that the bank "pledged" that amount but the caption creates the impression that they gave the money to the president. Cheap journalism is gaining roots in the co ...

• Umknown 7 years ago

Nowhere. That is typical a product Ghanaian educational standard.

• Silo 7 years ago

After reading the article it appears it is Ghana 's money being returned into our cofffers. Interesting developments.

• fiko 7 years ago

No money is givn to Nana Addo but Ghana,,,,impersonality of personal relation is needed so corrupt ones wnt compromise !

• JOHN 7 years ago

IBRAHIM IS A STAUNCH NPP SUPPORTER. HIS MUM HAS BEEN NPP SUPPORTER FOR YEARS AND KUFFOUR MADE HIM RICH. YOU GUYS MAKE ME LAUGH. IBRAHIM IS GOING TO MAKE MORE MONEY

• Umknown 7 years ago

When are you going to get off this childish rant no one is buying into? Are you paid to spread this useless message around town? Find vulnerable and cheap audience elsewhere to sell this nonsense of yours to okay. His Mother ...

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

If u want to collected the state money then start from what his father stole from the state n save it for him, u think we have angles politicians in Ghana, don't trust this people they are all the same. Long live Ghana.

• TIME WILL TELL 7 years ago

INVESTORS FOR YOUR VISION SO TAKE IT, AFTER ALL IS OUR MONEY. THE GOVERNMENT DOES NOT LOSE ANYTHING, IS JUST A BUSINESS AND WE NEED THE MONEY PERIOD

• Paul 7 years ago

Most of the people who commented here are not smart to understand the article. What the article sought to do is pure sarcasm. It is saying that NPP lied concerning the claim that the bank belonged to Ibrahim Mahama because Ib ...

• NAIL THE THIEF 7 years ago

That is no sarcasm. The stolen merchant bank belongs to the Mahama family of thieves, fact.

• TIME WILL TELL 7 years ago

NSAWAM WITH YOUR THIEF NTANI GREEDY DIRTY WOMANISER DRUNKARD CRIMINAL BROTHER PEPENI MAHAMA

M

• Asem se be 7 years ago

A goid opportunity to launder all the stolen money from Rawlings to Ofosu Kwakye. I bet 95% of the cash in this bank is our money stolen by the NDC govt. The bank that was on its knees, balanced it's books within weeks it w ...

• Insight 7 years ago

Please, read between the lines! The bank hasn't given money to the present government.
    Rather they have pledged to give loans at low interest rates to investors planning to create factories in Ghana.
    The UMB is just doing h ...

• Ras tuzu 7 years ago

Robing Peter to pay Paul.

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

If Ibrahim Mahama is ready to invest some of the monies he has stolen from Ghana back into the new government's programmes, why should Akuffo Addo reject his overtures? After all, the money belongs to Ghana and it is Ghanaian ...

• Leo 7 years ago

So where in the article did the bank promise the $100 million? Your paper is gradually becoming a useless one

• manager 7 years ago

Where is Kennedy Agepong, he should also add small and stop talking.

• Umknown 7 years ago

He has not stolen anything from Ghanaians. Get your facts straight. He fights for the poor, weak, under-represented and unrepresented in the Society unlike your thieving heroes.

• Okodieba 7 years ago

Crap Jornalism

• cudjoe 7 years ago

It's cover up game

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

This double mouth Ibrahim Mahama denial owning fortis.Folks now Ibrahim Mahama now claim ownership.Folks you see how Mahama use his brother to wrecker Ghana money and fools support him.Folks you see NDC is not party that Ghan ...

• TULA 7 years ago

For me Nana Addo so soon have been bitten by the corruption ebola virus ; why did Nana recive such line of credit a bank which was illegally sold to the Mahama family ; the question is IS NANA CORRUPT AS WELL BECAUSE FOR ME T ...

• Malafaka 7 years ago

Aaaaba! I have realised that most of you who comment here are daft. Do you really decipher what you read. A smart one stated sarcasm. In the first place the bank doesn't belong to Ibrahim, so note the word alleged. Also , th ...

• Umknown 7 years ago

Most of us do get it especially with this wacky journalist. However, the supposedly criminal component of the acquisition of this bank is not going to go away and must be dealt with on of these days.

• Noah Harrison 7 years ago

This is stolen money. Mahama and his brother are all thieves. We don't need that stolen money

• elorm 7 years ago

those who are claiming is a state money..a what proof do you have.and besidr is the president taking money from them or asking them to invest in the fund..

• YAW BOSOMPRAH 7 years ago

DON'T ALLOW THIS FOOL TO INVEST IN YOUR POLICY. YOU WOULD LIKELY LOSE ASHANTI REGION IF YOU GO AHEAD TO ACCEPT IBRAHIM INVESTMENT IN YOUR POLICY. LET'S TRUST POLITICIANS FOR ONCE. GHANAIAIANS WOULD RATHER DIE THAN TO ALLOW IB ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Why did Ghanaweb not report the Princess Royal, Princess Anne's visit to Ghana?

It was beautifully covered by Myjoyonline with several pictures to view as well

• Abraham jones 7 years ago

This would be a setback for Kennedy Agyepong. I now understand why no one took seriously. Oh Honorable my man. Stay strong

• BERNARD 7 years ago

RID OF YOUR ......
    1).STRETCH MARKS,
    3).ACNE,
    4).DARK SPOTS,(0572174551)
    5).DRY SKIN,
    6).SUNBURNS,
    7).RASHES & OTHER SKIN
    RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
    ALSO GET PRODUCTS THAT B ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

1).Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    2).Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

3).Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

4).Enhances Weight loss.
    5).It reduces ageing process ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Make no sense government still owning banks.Central bank just good for the nation:We need to privatize commercial bank

• MP 7 years ago

Just take the money and probe him to financial crime committee to check how he manage to raise such huge funds within short years. He is a thief and wants to rob Ghana again. So lets take the money and still take him to court ...

• Id 7 years ago

Mahama family.Selfish.Perod..

This bogus newspaper does not bring anything sensible.

• Helpten 7 years ago

Devils advocate.

• KWAME 7 years ago

the story is a complete deception. the headline is different from the story.merchant bank was sold because of under performance. the highest debtor was ibrahim mahama.lawyer for fortitiz in the acqisistion of the bank was joh ...

• ben 7 years ago

Mischievous publication. Nana can't be corrupted and will not also turn away honest and credible investors whether locally or internationally. What u must understand is, the sordid and criminal past of Ibrahim will be investi ...

Nana Akufo-Addo is corrupt...
    This is a person who believe that members of his party and tribe are more humans than others.
    Left to Nana and NPP those who are not Akans and NPP members should even not breath oxygen.
    You ...

• Don 7 years ago

Fake News... This why GhanaWeb is not credible..

Are you people saying Nana not credible.President Nana Akufo-Addo who received the people in his office and assured them of the support of his government is not credible?
    I wrote that when you tell lies to come to power you ...

Blood is ticker...
    I have been saying for the past 34 years that when Mr. Siaw, Kwame Pianim, Ibrahim Mahama, Alfred Woyome and Asuma Banda steal my money and invest it in this country I will also gain from it, because that ...

• NAIL THE THIEF 7 years ago

The underlying word here is steal.
    The other day they said a young man somewhere in Sekondi or thereabouts was holding just a roll of joint. He was remanded in prison for 5 months. We have read numerous stories of young men ...

• Kokroko Kwasi kokuro 7 years ago

Trust me. You can never have the blueprint.

• Libilibilabalaba 7 years ago

This is a sham you guys remember a plane load of Gold that got lost and was found in turkey akuffo addo will be a fool if he takes this money

Robbing Peter to pay Paul! If with good intention why not give this money to ur brother to build Ghana?God punish u and ur brother for problems. Given to this country!

• Pee uk 7 years ago

Is not the bank they used dubious way to buy it? Hahaha they want to bribe nana So that they can keep it. No way we will collect it back. Thieves

• Sly 7 years ago

Their are all Crookes in the arena.

• YAM SELLER,KRACHI 7 years ago

The former Nigerian oil minister has been charged for money laundering. It is curious the bank John Mahama, Tony Litor and Ibrahim Mahama conspired to steal and stole, is now seeking to regularize it's activities and give it ...

• Asonaba 7 years ago

Please, mr president don't take this money . It's a form of bribe. When you made the manifesto of one district one factory, you didn't have in mind that this bank will give you loan , so forget it.

• Skilelee 7 years ago

What does this guy thinks.? Your money can't buy all Ghanaians.he thinks he's very smart and playing Ghanaians.Hes just bringing himself Nana please take the money he's offering and jail this guy let him vomit all the state c ...

• Knockout 7 years ago

They don't have that money to give freely,to borrow my be