You are here: HomeBusiness2017 02 11Article 509115

Afeku rallies support for legalization of okada as means of transport

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Sam 7 years ago

Afeku before you push for the legalisation of motor bikes for commercial purposes in Ghsna .please take a trip to Uganda and visit Mulago Hospital to see the mayhem these motor bikes have caused to Ugandans. it is dangerous a ...

• $martphones$upportBiz 7 years ago

Have you gotten your training resource yet? Service based tech support business remains the easiest, most lucrative venture for an economy in recession! Your CAPITAL IS YOUR KNOWLEDGE & SKILL! Get(INVEST IN) the 2016 bestsell ...

• imani 7 years ago

This should never happen in our country. You see how women are carried on the bikes in different countries. They are vulnerable to accidents, plus we don't want too many bikes weaving through our traffic. What's wrong with Af ...

• PEEVED 7 years ago

NO to Okada. This idea should not be entertained. It is dangerous and will create mayhem in the transportation industry. It should not be allowed. Motorcycles should be licensed to carry the rider and another passenger, n ...

• Sinclear 7 years ago

with proper training they can be a safe transportation vehicles

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

fake, empty and loud

• PJQ 7 years ago

This afeku woman is beginning to bore me...which civilised state has motorbikes as a means of transport? You're not thinking in the long-term...consider the mindset of those motorbike owners...look at how they even appear, t ...

• Diamond 7 years ago

Its very dangerous. It will be good in the villages and not in the big cities. Accra is already chocked.

• Sheriff 7 years ago

If you want to increase the death tolls in Ghana go ahead and do it. It's a very bad idea very very bad Parliament should not support it

• Isaac 7 years ago

Oh our leaders are barrier in their minds because they have no ideas to move out country forward how can a motor bike be used as a commerce transport where in this world it's used?

• Raymond Abbiw 7 years ago

This has lost his mind.

• Lida 7 years ago

Madam, Please we have passed this stage wai

• Otega 7 years ago

In this modern world Okada for transport, shame, Our leaders have to create good job not Okada business

• Kobea Augustine 7 years ago

Wat a stupid move

• kkd 7 years ago

Absolute nonsense.
    Which civilized country uses motor bike for public transport.

• Jon 7 years ago

The tourism ministry must build a modern city with skyscrapers, plus amusement parks , electronic fountains to attract foreigners .This'll increase government's revenue and create many jobs for the youth.
    Not okada. Does s ...

• Peter 7 years ago

This woman cannot help Akuffo Addo's government to achieve its promises made to our people. Use motor bike to carry pregnant women? She is not serious

• THE TRUTH 7 years ago

IS THIS PROSPECTIVE MINISTER HAVE BRAINS?

• Afofranto 7 years ago

madam we will welcome that with massive demonstration. ani Npp man but this one paa de3 we no go gre da.

• JAY 7 years ago

Afeku is thinking backwards,what a backward and ilthought dea

• Kofi Amoah 7 years ago

Naaa Honourable, i dont really think this is a good idea. All around the world, people have been talking about the Negatives of this Okada thing. I hope you heed to the advice of the Ghanain populace.

• Natt Edward 7 years ago

Afterswearing in has all the ministers met to discussed their proposals before the President?Transportation Minister schould be involved in this .Afeku is wrong to rally support for such uninternational accessment.Okada is no ...

• acasia 7 years ago

Its just pathetic that all these individuals have been made ministers. Use motorbikes as transport means? In the hectic and bad roads of Ghana? Africans are just pathetic. In this day and age? Kwasiasem

• Bill 7 years ago

Stop this nonsense and think outside the box for appropriate commercial transportation -public railways, public or mass bus transport system. This Okada nonsense will lead to serious accidents on Ghana's roads.

• Kelly 7 years ago

The trip to Uganda will be very necessary before any such move in Ghana

• Rebecca Lamley 7 years ago

well done Osei Owusu for telling Catherine that "there is no Okada in our laws". How silly can she be? Are we going forward or backwards? Already the whole Accra is turning into one big Zongo!!! Is it not enough? Shame on you ...

• Akwasi Darko 7 years ago

When NIgeria is taking all steps to get rid of Okada menace, Ghana is considering its introduction. Robbery will be on the increase, traffic congestion, accidents, pollution and rise in lawlessness should be expected.

• asem 7 years ago

this woman paaaa, you will see the level of crime in Ghana. Go and find out from Nigeria

• Tim Kaba 7 years ago

Madam push for this and I will vote for ndc in the next election. Okada in lower middle income setting

• John 7 years ago

No no no

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

So this is the job creation the NPP promised. What a country!!!

• Kanokware 7 years ago

If for the sake of job creation then prostitution should be legalized as it will also create jobs. Or government should register all illegal drug dealers, give them proper training so they also contribute towards the economy. ...

• Ato kwamina 7 years ago

Look at what she is also encouraging ? Okada to be used for commercial purpose ,why?The problem of President appointing someone like Ms Afeku who has no knowledge about effective,efficient ,safe and mass mode of transport sys ...

• seaman canada 7 years ago

These are the people we call competent with foresight to turn things around. God savfe our dear nation.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Look one of the NPP maggots , wo ye nam.
    Idiot like this have been supported to win an election. I think she comes from animals kingdom .

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Minister for Tourism without brain, promoting tourism in Ghana with okada buses, why Nana appointed this woman who has a chicken brain into his government.

• Ben 7 years ago

Okada should NEVER be legalized in Ghana.

• Alex, Lagos 7 years ago

What is wrong with Afeku? Which tourists want to see okada in Ghana? Here in Nigeria, okada is banned in major cities. Okada is used to rob and assassinate people. Ghanaians must not tolerate okada at all.

• GeeTee 7 years ago

I'm now beginning to doubt the depth in reasoning on this minister.How can you think of some one getting a job above his safety and even his life.Please think deep than this.Already there is too much carnage on our roads and ...

• Cecil Garbrah, transport consultant 7 years ago

The Minister should have verified from the ministry of Transportation on what the laws says. The LI 2180 ,128 specifically prohibits the use motorbikes and tricycles to carry fare paying passengers. We have not managed our ro ...

• VUGA 7 years ago

if you don't visit village. how can you see the necessity of okada..some urban areas has got a worsen road.so the only safety things they will do is to helps them with okada to hospital etc

• May 7 years ago

Uganda is too far. Catherine should visit Benin and Togo to see the mess there and the shock will wake her up from her bad dream. Think deep!