You are here: HomeBusiness2017 02 10Article 508647

French language to be compulsory at basic level - Minister

Read Comments Comments (62)

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 7 years ago

Foolish NPP minister why French language not twi Ga or Ewe black men shall never reach anywhere because of the brainwashed

• asem 7 years ago

you are rather foolish, where on earth can you trade with ga or twi? read and broaden your horizon, pepper!!!

• Nyameke 7 years ago

It's nonsense even to suggest that. The only motivation for such a stupid idea is money. The ministry will get grant from the French government which will line their pockets.

• Commander 7 years ago

Brainwashed fool, the French didn't have to learn anybody's language to trade. They simply promoted their own. Learn to promote yours too.

• Kojo 7 years ago

So you want to tell me one has to learn French in order to trade? Go tell the British and Americans so that they too can start learning French in order to trade.

• Dee dee 7 years ago

Thank you massa . That idiot is nuisance

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

Previous governments have failed to see the significance in getting the country to speak French until this announcement from this administration. The only way to undo the subversive division that has been perpetrated on the A ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

How many jhs graduates can write a sentence in akan, games, ewe etc?

• Maame 7 years ago

Its people like you that make me sad. Before English was used in Trade, where in the world could you go and use English. Why did the English not decide to use the language of the day and destroy theirs. Because they persevere ...

• Naniama II 7 years ago

We don't need trade in Ghana ie buying and selling?
    We need science and technology.

Promising to make a language compulsory because of a 700,000.00 grant?

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Kids are very fresh and great at acquiring many languages.
    At least, if they are good at nothing, language will no longer be the problem.

Teach them German, French, Mandarin and even Indian languages. It will give them a ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

NAPIO is getting mad. psychiatic drs must get around him.
    at a time we should as a country advance on our local language and tradtions for the betterment of inventions and development , you still propagate colonial mentalit ...

• asem 7 years ago

eeeiiii, do we have such backwardness still living in the 21st century? local language for what? the world is going global ooo, if you don't read and broaden your horizon. Batch of illiterates.

• Grayson Tema 7 years ago

Spanish will take you places in America

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

did u listen to yourself ? i ask a question why do italians , japanise , chiniase, germans etc speak their local language at the international conferences ? its is only in Africa which still hold the colonial mentality

• Odikro 7 years ago

Think about getting chalks for teachers rather than imposing French on these kids. What's the incremental value of making French compulsory when there are drivers who can not even read the basic English in which we write our ...

• asem 7 years ago

Don't worry they will get it for them. I can see you are NDC, you people will die as thieves.

• asem 7 years ago

better,please add Spanish.

• Grayson Tema 7 years ago

Chinese french and Spanish
    French useless in America
    Spanish very useful in America and Europe
    Chinese useful in All of Asia.
    I prefer Chinese. Give students a choice

DON'T overburden the kids.Why can't we learn from the advanced world like The U.S.or Europe? My kids are schooling in US and at the basic level they taught in areas of science,English,maths and social studies. Because of this ...

• FORSON 7 years ago

Let them choose. .
    Chinese
    French
    Spanish

• Victor(Madrid) 7 years ago

Try to find only one language for ghanaian and stop impose the future of our contry on to someone's language. This can't help please. Try to unite us with just a common one of our languages.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

You are failuring to express yourself well or reading mandarin, as they say.
    On one hand, you want the child to be taught more than you had till secondary.

On the other, you don't want them over burdened.
    I think you on ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

...or writing mandarin instead of reading mandarin in paragraph 1.

• Osonoba 7 years ago

This is a good move but let them learn a few subjects at the foundation stage such as english, Akan, French, social studies, general science, ICT, RME, and maths.

• Commander 7 years ago

Science and technology is what is propelling nations, not foreign languages. How many of our children at the basic level can speak English? And he sits there talking about adding French. These so-called leaders and their infe ...

• Northerners and Ewes can't rule 7 years ago

Another stupid Asante man as a minister who can't think beyond their scope, foolish idiotic minister no wonder Africans are seen anywhere as less humans. Introduce french your stupid self will learn. Kwasea kwa. aboa bi ba, ...

• Chief Asare 7 years ago

U want to promote a foreign language whiles some of our local dialects are dying!!!! Is Paris making any of African language compulsory for their pupils at school. What an inferiority complex!!!!

• Stephen 7 years ago

The emphasis must be on Science and Technology as Ghana wants to follow the path of industrialisation. What has learning French language got to do with 1-district 1-industry doctrine? The minister should not confuse the gover ...

• kokotii 7 years ago

Black People don't have an iota of mere common sense
    what is this?
    Take a glance of the whole African continent
    government after government
    and it seems like we are just marching at a stand still.WHAT SORT OF IDIOCY IS T ...

• Hassan Anabah 7 years ago

Fool minister whie Europeans are rulling their self with their own locall language.and you fuking minister bringing french adding it to that fuking english which are forcing ourselves to learn.

• kojo 7 years ago

THIS I THINK IS WAYWARD AND CRAZY!!!! WE CANT EVEN WRITE AND COMMUNICATE IN OUR OWN LANGUAGE!! THIS IS WHY AFRICA IS LOST!! NOTHING INDIGENOUSLY IS PATRONIZED!! HOW WILL WE DEVELOP?? WE WILL NEVER DEVELOP AND THATS A FACT.UNL ...

• Augustine 7 years ago

Very nice to look at. But ples introdus4yrs at the shs levels

• Hubert Akrong 7 years ago

NEWS OF THE CENTURY. NICE

• Africa King of powers 7 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• Africa King of powers 7 years ago

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for positions and many more call for all h ...

• wayo 7 years ago

Good way to go. its shame many of us cant speak french when we are surrounded by french speaking countries.

• Dee dee 7 years ago

Very important cos if you don't speak English and French is hard for you to go places

• Dee dee 7 years ago

Besides long years ago we study french in basic and secondary level so what makes it wrong if they now coming to make it more effective if not for us not for our generation to suffer like we did

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• THE CITIZEN 7 years ago

NO.
    MR. MINISTER, STUDENTS IN GHANA NEED MORE TIME TO GRASP ENGLISH LANGUAGE WELL.
    BE PARACTICAL. ENGLISH IS ENOUGH.

• Consider 7 years ago

If Ghana is serious about sustainable development, then French is not the way to go. French is a dying language. It's likely Paris is behind this with Nana Ado's consent. China is overtaking America in terms of the largest ec ...

• Solo 7 years ago

Good work started by the minister. Indeed we really need french from the basic level. The guy with short memory can limit himself to dialects but we need language in addition.

• 0554892108 7 years ago

Have you ever thought of becoming a pilot in future, fly airplanes to destinations as a profession???
    Hurry!! Get admitted into our partner pilot training academy in Canada on protocol.
    Get your Canadian student visa with e ...

• 0554892108 7 years ago

BECOME A FLIGHT ATTENDANT(AIR HOSTESS) WITH A MAJOR AIRLINE IN THE WORLD, WORK IN FLIGHT AS YOU FLY TO DESTINATIONS AND GET PAID.

Applicants will receive admission from our partner school in Canada on protocol for the flig ...

• Atta 7 years ago

The French government is a beneficiary of this policy and should be made tio and French teachers over to teach the language. English should be the primary language for education. French could be compulsory at the basic level ...

• chale 7 years ago

when i read all the comments endorsing this then i know why africans where slaves and we will continue to be slaves for ever am here in belguim (vlanderen dutch speaking place) they dont even teach french any more even thou b ...

• Uncle Sam 7 years ago

Oh GHANA we are doomed with this language policy. Mr.Minister make TWI language compulsory for Ghana,that will help good Governances and Prosperity for Ghanaians and not forien languages, we already have English so what's yo ...

• SPAR. 7 years ago

FOOLISH,FOR WHAT REASON. ENGLISH HAS BRAINWASHED US NOW FRENCH.

• Maame 7 years ago

In fact, This Matthew Opoku Prempeh does not fit the kind of minister we expect from Nana Addo. this same person poured scorn on calls to teach our children to read, write and speak our local languages in favour of English, n ...

• PKay 7 years ago

Dr. Prempeh ...please we need our salaries...we have been posted since October but have not recieved a penny up till now

• faresko 7 years ago

So do we need democracy at all in Ghana? sometimes l wonder what our priority is as a country. we voted for people and they want to impose foreign language on us whilst we leave our own? Yes black man with black sense indeed. ...

• Naniama II 7 years ago

Ghana does not need another "foreign" language. Ghana needs a robust science and technology program to be relevant internationally. Have you heard of any European country "making a Ghanaian language compulsory"?

Team D Mi ...

• APPS 7 years ago

Previous governments have failed to see the significance in getting the country to speak French until this announcement from this administration. The only way to undo the subversive division that has been perpetrated on the A ...

• skippy 7 years ago

French ls already mandatory at basic school 1-9 Mr.Minister
    Yousa id you ll build 350 shs so olease concentrate there
    You are not an educationist & you cant be better than Prof naana opoku agyeman former vice chancellor o ...

• Naniama II 7 years ago

The messing up of schools is already in full gear now with the Team D Ministers.

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

And we wonder why in this day and age, we are where we are.

God our CREATOR gave us languages and wisdom to go with and hear we are, APING and MIMICKING others' languages and culture, expecting to be like them?

HOW STUP ...

• ScHoly 7 years ago

One, Already students are learning too many subjects. Two if it ends at basic school, what are the chances they will still know French later in their lives when they start professional work and will need the language most? Th ...

• koffi montreal 7 years ago

Thumbs up Mr minister oh,oh, you do have good vision towards Ghana and is big ,big plus for Ghana children(s).in education,is long overdue Ghana supposed to be bi-lingual.

• K Ofori 7 years ago

Mr Dr skills of foreign language are great but I strongly believe that French is irrelevant the world we are living today if it's trade that you're setting up a policy on then I suggest we learn Mandarin or Swahili these are ...

• villager 7 years ago

Why don't u speak TWI or Ga wen u attend an interview for job.Twi or Ga or Ewe is not marketable internationally. I think If u speak Twi ,you are a citizen of asante land but if u speak English or french, u are a citizen of t ...

• Abdul-Gaffar Nguissan 7 years ago

No Wonder,these people vote for NDC.
    To speak English better you need french
    To learn sciences better you need more french
    To better use technology, you need french
    To not abuse yourself with drugs, you need french