You are here: HomeBusiness2017 01 02Article 498269

Ponzi scheme blamed for financial misery in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (19)

• ghanaman 7 years ago

He an entry from Wikipedia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sergei_Mavrodi

• Kobi 7 years ago

Bank of Ghana needs to be audited immediately. It's badly rotten within. Insults upon insults anytime I bring this up. They're are using the little guy as a cover up.

• Dr. Kwabena Owusu Banahene 7 years ago

As Ghanaian economic and financial systems improve,many economic and investment opportunities become available. Many crooks will devise many schemes to defraud unsuspecting small investors.
    Ponzi schemes of different nature ...

• Niik 7 years ago

Ultimately its the responsibility of the individual to bare any risks of this too good to believe investments and not the government. This culture of get rich quickly should stop.

• $martphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Instead of ponzi scheme, Learn SMARTPHONE Devices Repair Techniques! Very Low Capital Business Entry costs...*BE SMART This Year* #Make Real Money; #Learn Micro BGA soldering; #Learn Repair Techniques, Metering & Troubleshoot ...

• Tutugyagu 7 years ago

Ponzi schemes aka Pyramid Schemes are going to spring up every day because they are easy ways to make money for both the perpetrators and the naive or 'sophisticated' investor. They come and go like a revolving door in the ...

• Andrew Naija 7 years ago

It crashed! And that's worse because no Govt is paying anyone foolish enough to buy into such a scheme. No Govt should waste scarce resources to reimburse an "investor" who simply recorded a loss.

• Dave 7 years ago

MMM was neither banned nor crashed. It froze only its get help (GH) which will be unfrozen 14th January 2017. The website is working and other activities like provide help (PH) is still going on.Get your facts right. I doubt ...

All these foolish people still believe MMM Nigeria will come back this month. It's not happening. Your money is gone with the wind boy.

• KWASIAMAN 7 years ago

IGNORANCE IS A SERIOUS DISEASE. MMM IS BOOMING LIVE IN NAIJA. RUMOURS THAT MMM IS BANNED IN SOUTH AFRICA, MMM HAS CRASHED IN SOUTH AFRICA. ALL STUPID AND FOOLISH JARGONS.bE ON YOUR EARS TO HEAR MMM IN FULL BIZ THIS JANUARY AF ...

What biz do they do to give 30% interest/month?
    How can the banks be angry when more people open bank accounts because of mmm?
    People say there's no central account but do you realise some of the accounts you PH into belo ...

• Eric Moore Nigeria 7 years ago

Mmm has not been banned by the Nigerian government period .

• Learn 7 years ago

So when are ghanaians going to learn. Is absurd me when I hear these.

• Agoojie-holland 7 years ago

MMM nigeria is still operating. Providing Help (PH) still on going . they had an issue with their system. You people should fooling us. Ghanaian and Africans are learning and they know that is only investing that is the way ...

• Agoojie-holland 7 years ago

These MMM and stuff are not Ponzi. BOG and Banks are afraid of competition and that is why they shivering. They cant stand the new idea for helping each other and these are basic financial ideas which have been kept under dar ...

• ras 7 years ago

what kind of scheme can return thirty percent of amount invested monthly?If you invest 100 Ghana cedis you get paid 30 Ghana cedis every month, which translates to 360 Ghana CEDI's annually.An annual interest of 360%! Well, ...

• Adongo the villager 7 years ago

Very soon people have forgotten the dkm scandal hmmm it's called chop today n cry the rest of your lyf

• Bitter Truth Pill 7 years ago

The more gullible and greedy the people the easier it is for a Ponzi to survive. The main problem is that instead of the regulatory investigating thoroughly and publishing the findings for all to learn lessons, the regulator ...

• Concern Ghana 7 years ago

DKMs, Pyram, R5 etc

A Ponzi scheme or Ponzi game)[1] is a fraudulent investment operation where the operator, an individual or organization, pays returns to its investors from new capital paid to the operators by new inves ...