BoG governor under pressure to resign

Read Comments Comments (138)

• Ghana First 7 years ago

What sort of warped logic is that?

Is he not a Ghanaian?

The country is for all of us...

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

This NDC appointed BoG governor must be revomed no matter what before he makes any shit!

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

The Governor must stay just as ndc tolerated the chief justice. This constitutional provision needs to be respected. Am so sorry.

• Kwabena Owusu-Banahene Obeng 7 years ago

U are sorry for wat? Dat has been de nature of every NDC member. De moment u open ur mouth de next thing u see is shit. In any case wen ur government took office in 2008 did u allow de den Bank of Governor to stay?

• HHHHHHHHHH 7 years ago

This plan is not knew. They have been doing it anytime they get into political power. 'Apollo 568' is one of such vindictiveness credited to Busia. As for Kuffour he was the most shameless and brutish vindictive leader. They ...

• COSTAS SEVORDZI 7 years ago

FOOLISH BOY BOKOR. YOU ARE SO IGNORANT IT'S NOT RIGHT. READ THE PROCESS OF APPOINTMENT AND TERMINATION BEFORE U SPEAK NONSENSE. YOUR TRIBALISM HAS BLINDED AND CLOUDED YOUR THINKING. SUCH AN IDIOT.

• PREZ CHIMP 7 years ago

Do you think Ghana belongs to Nana's family or the NPP? If Nana and his NPP cannot work with the governor, Nana should rather resign. Who will be paying Nana, is it not ghanaian tax payer? You want the governor to leave so Na ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

THIS ISHAHAKU MAN STOOD THERE WHEN PRES MAHAMA AND NDC DIVERTED $250 MILLION DOLLARS OUT OF THE IMF LOAN INTO A PRIVATE NIGERIAN BANK UBA. THAT ACT ALONE IS NOT ONLY NEGLIGENCE BUT CRIMINAL AS IT IS CONTRARY TO THE FINANCIAL ...

• Dan Botwe 7 years ago

You are such an ignorant fool.

• Maa Be 7 years ago

Do you have evidence. Can you prove this when u sent to court?

• SBD 7 years ago

To help Ghana grow from the fiscal side you need monetary policy support. If the incoming government believes the current BoG board led by the Governor have different ideas that are not complementary to their policies to driv ...

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Your post was rather confusing. It should have been thinking outside the constitution and not the box! The box thinkers believe he can easily be changed but the provision is in the constitution. So brother think within the c ...

• PREZ CHIMP 7 years ago

Ghanaians voted for NPP knowing the governor is there and expect Nana to be able to perform far more than Mahama. Nana want it easy right? He wants his family to control Ghana right? Chief Justice-a relative, Ken Ofori Atta-a ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Stop being stupid all over this forum: who has appointed any of the people you mentioned in Nana Akufo Addo's govt? If the Governor is relieved of his position, it will be the discretion of the new administration. The only pe ...

• Larry Finch 7 years ago

The thin line between those who succeed and those who don't is in TAKING ACTION!
    The bonanza is still on for "Mobile Phones and Tablets Repairs : A Complete Guide for Beginners and Professionals ". Get your copy today before ...

• Amoaku Daniel 7 years ago

If the trust in him is there maintain him.However ,did a Philistine lead the Israelites to the battlefield against his own people?NPPs must be fast to analyse and seek God's intervention.If a Ghanaian team plays against a Nig ...

• NDC Man 7 years ago

Massa dis governor is corrupt. He must resign. Currupt NDC....

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Let's be fair on him. He is a good governor and innovative

• Abena 7 years ago

Supposed NDC Man do you know him. We tagged everyone as corrupt.

• salifu 7 years ago

N D C is not BoG

• JAY 7 years ago

Bank of Ghana Governor must go,remember President Mahama appointed him.

• Raymond Agbeli 7 years ago

It is not about who appoints him,its about abiding by the constitution.The chief justice,the Supreme curt justices,the Commissioners eg the EC,all have been appointed by the various presidents and the constitution insulate th ...

• Pike 7 years ago

My thoughts too. Let the shallow ones continue ranting

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

We remember who appointed him but who appointed the current chief justice?

• SBD 7 years ago

You are comparing apples to cassava. There is no warped logic here... Just argue your point and provide some insight to the issue and stop recycling worn out phrases!!

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Please paraphrase. You blast rough. Free education will be good for you.

• Abena 7 years ago

Ignorance

• SD 7 years ago

Primitive thinking

• Saeed 7 years ago

Is it because he is from the North?

Don't bring your tribal issues here. No one mentioned north. They said ndc which I think is wrong to let him go. We should go beyond tribalism and ndc/npp issues. At time is also hard to trust people due to their party affili ...

• Raymond Agbeli 7 years ago

But Kofi,appointments of this kind is not always based on political or ideological beliefs,but professional and competence.

• Maximus 7 years ago

That's e point a lot of people overlook.Was he given e job bcos of his competence or his political affiliation? We must grow as a country n stop this pettiness.

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Remember, it could be both: political affiliation and competence. So, the latter would be a plus, but I can guarantee you that the former can spoil his chance of staying on.

• FRANKITY FRANK 7 years ago

Kofi you're right. No one is asking the BoG governor to go. Looking at the pressure he may face from his out gone party and the incoming party, it'd be better for him to vacate his post. The Bible says, No man can truely serv ...

• ISAAC ADU-ABREFAH 7 years ago

@Kofi.....I support all Wat u said fully!!

• KWAME BUABENG 7 years ago

KOFI, YOU GUYS ENGAGE IN EVIL TRIBALISM AND THEN YOU TURN AROUND TO POINT FINGERS AT THOSE WHO IDENTIFY YOU AS SUCH.

THE CLEAR REASON THE NPP WANT THE MAN TO RESIGN IS BECAUSE HE IS A NORTHERNER AND THATS ALL. NOTHING MO ...

• Antwerpen 7 years ago

Poor Ghana.

• Prince 7 years ago

Heyy man bi current, he's de one who among de NDC led gov't issued another $35m dollor to the Woyome's ISOFOTON company whiles the previous $52.1m dollors have not been fully retreived

Please let him serve his term. He can be changed later or appointed to another position outside the BOG

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Mr Narh was jumped over because he isn't a northerner. So logically he should be given back his post, even if he has two months to go on retirement.

• Blaque Marque 7 years ago

Millison Narh was jumped because he is fundamentally an Accountant, not an Economist...Simples!!!!

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Ask him whether he is the right person. Appointments are made for the future and not short term ism

• Blaque Marque 7 years ago

Pathetic!!!! That sums up your position, Dr. Bokor.

• mole in Npp Government 7 years ago

he must resign

• NOT GOOD FOR GHANA 7 years ago

He is more likely to support NDC COURSE

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Mindless fellow

• Abena 7 years ago

Should they appoint a party man? It is the same thing. He will help them misuse our money.

• Frank 7 years ago

FOOLISH NPP MEMBERS AT IT AGAIN. DID PROF MILLS AND MAHAMA ASK THE CHIEF JUSTICE, GEORGINA WOOD, TO RESIGN? CRAZY NPP FOOLS.

• Felibaby 7 years ago

Hohohooooo some people are scared?

• 3dem 7 years ago

Who at all is recycling this rubbish at Ghana? How much are they paying you?

• Many duah 7 years ago

They think that by posting the story several times over because the first one failed the test will work. No way. He will do his term

• Kd 7 years ago

The Chief Justice was appointed by kuffour, yet she works with both mills and Mahama while is this different. Those saying he should resign are saying it for their personal interest.

• JKMo 7 years ago

PLS WHY ARE DOING THIS TO OURSELVES? SO EVERYBODY IN GHANA IS CORRUPT EXCEPT NPP MEMBERS? THEY ARE THE ANGELS WHO HAVE ARRIVED AND THAT ALL OTHER PEOPLE MUST BE DEMONISED. DONT FORGET YOU HAVE BEEN IN POWER BEFORE AND WE KNOW ...

• INNO 7 years ago

Foolish talk, tell us what he has done wrong on that bases he shld resign. He won't resign 2day or 2moro, U can sack him if u wnt n pay his deserve money.

• Lincoln, Kdua. 7 years ago

The current Chief Justice was appointed by former President Kuffour under the Constitution. Within the same era other Justices of the Supreme Court(SC) were appointed in Tsatsu's case. President Mahama has also appointed two ...

• Abraham 7 years ago

Fools they did the same to our EC Chairman attacking and calling her names from the day of her appointment till we finish voting. Because she declared their Party Victorious nobody mention her name again. Shameful group of ig ...

• i am ekow 7 years ago

a governor of the bank of a great nation like Ghana holds a PhD in Agric and u think he must be there. it's best he resigns; no need to stay there after January 7

• Wel 7 years ago

Get you fact right....The new Governor holds a Doctorate degree in International Affairs and Development from Clark Atlanta University, an MBA in Finance and Strategic Management from Maharishi University of Management, USA, ...

• Gbormita I 7 years ago

It has started. Under Kuffour, "proceed on leave" was the jargon.

As I recalled, neither Mills nor Mahama asked the previous BOG Governor to resign.

Ghana must survive political parties!

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Institutions will work and the Governor must do his term even if he has no degree. Those elitist fools must stop. Paying money to write all these rubbish

• Bugli 7 years ago

Wow mbo

• Gh one 7 years ago

He is a qualified Ghanaian, hence, will not resign. You can go to hell.

• Red Eye 7 years ago

Deja vous: NPP and proceed on leave are equivalent in connotation.

• foreseeable future 7 years ago

The game of winner takes all
    By hook or crook

• Zakaria Niendoo Zeidu in Tamale, 7 years ago

I belief this Akoto Osei is a lonatic! Where in this part of Africa we can hear this stupid talks? was he not appointed by the head of state. Mr Nana Addo shouldn't allow this idiots to with sharp teeths to mislead his admini ...

• Bitter Truth Pill 7 years ago

Until the appointing authority, Presidents devise a consultative and transoerant mechanism for appointing truly independent Governors, the law is no guarantee of independence. Several of the independent constitution bodies ha ...

• pk 7 years ago

sometimes some political commentators speaks as if they know it all.Please Dr. Thompson invite your girlfriend to share your bed with your wife. This is Governor flirting all over the Mahmas and very close to Ibrahim and NDC. ...

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Oh yeah. The whole of bog is ndc right? Do you know monetary policy and how it works? Do you know it at all? Look, with zero financing from the central bank there is no way you can cry out. Idiot to speak like that. He wont ...

• pk 7 years ago

Dr Bokor, Go learn your profession well and come again. should you see your wife sleeping with your opposing friend would consider sleeping still with your wife or disown her. That is the scenario we are talking about and not ...

• Otumanyi 7 years ago

He should stay as the Chief Justice stayed with this same ideological nonsense. Wise up guys!

• maestro 7 years ago

They've started their with bullshit,Npp leave the governor alone!!!!

• drewss. 7 years ago

Primitiv ,a people without civilisation, simply Ghanaians .They lynch , defeacate in streets,destroy public property simply because they have won an election, destroy the enviroment with illegal mining. This country is after ...

• Akoo 7 years ago

They npp want him out because he is northerner

• yaw Don 7 years ago

must resign.

• Boamey Charles Kwasi 7 years ago

Nana, try him. Again let His Excellency Bawumiah school him in banking administration.

If he cannot cop up then let he himself tender in his resignation for a more competent Bawumiah trained one to take up.

• jt 7 years ago

On my own opinion,i think he desrve to serve as long as he is hard working and competent,why not he deserve to continuon,it does matter if he was appointed by ndc,npp,he is a Ghanaian and deserve it,patisan politic shld not r ...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Is just the beginning. More are yet to come ooh.trouble for Ghanaian

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Ghana to break if this is how some want to govern. Why should this even become news.

• tomlinson 7 years ago

He is an NDC man who ever contested and lost to Haruna iddris the position of member of Parliament and being prepared by Mahama as NDC running mate in future. This is the ideological complex he finds himaelf

• Abeeku 7 years ago

Nana please dont mind these ndc destroyers. Did Rawllence and all of the big ndc men not sack and clear every npp member occupying positions? Look, our people need those positions after all the Constitution says so. Dont al ...

• Dr. Bokor 7 years ago

Read it again. You mean Rawlings? Too far. Use Mills.

• Abena 7 years ago

The NPP did it first remember 2001 even secretaries were hounded.

• TAT 7 years ago

Gov.do u work as u were appointed to do let them stage their coup and we will teach them a lesson with our thumb

• Lula. Nooooo 7 years ago

Hahaha, They want to put their Guys there so They can divert Monies into their private accounts.Eiii Seeoòooo

• Stephen Kwesi Nkrumah 7 years ago

The argument that BOG boss must step down is bogus n unfounded! why, is not the same mahama who appointed the EC boss? has she not supervised elections to vote out the same mahama who appoints her!! Or npp fears that, since t ...

• Kobby 7 years ago

They simply want someone to help them redenominate the currency like what bawumia and Co did to steal from the ghanaian people.

• Larry Finch 7 years ago

The thin line between those who succeed and those who don't is in TAKING ACTION!
    The bonanza is still on for "Mobile Phones and Tablets Repairs : A Complete Guide for Beginners and Professionals ". Get your copy today before ...

• viv 7 years ago

i thought we are growing democratically,but comments like these from mr.osei tells me the change is going to be negative rather than positive we all wishing for

• clefee 7 years ago

show me your friend and I will show you your character.So if Mahama is corrupt so is the governor.So if Mahama is leaving he should take his dog's with him period.

• George Agyemang 7 years ago

Pls NDC man can never hold dis strong office

• John 7 years ago

That is stupidity, are they looking for their personal interest or what.

• Emily 7 years ago

The governor must stay and Ghanaian must stop individualism and focus on the country as a whole. what is NPP and what NDC without Ghana. It is because of some people's stupidity dat is why the country cant progress. It had t ...

• Albert c 7 years ago

It is NPP that behavior is like that, when NDC came to power all NPP members were at post, why all these things GHANA is for all of us please let the man work

• Nanaba kofi Addo 7 years ago

If Kufour appointed the CJ and the NDC administration adhered to the provisions of the constitution, allowing her to serve without persecution and pressure to resign. the NPP must reciprocate this gesture...in any case, Nana ...

• Cynthia A. Badasu 7 years ago

We should not forget that the presidential seat is not a traditional seat that is meant for a particular group of people. Do unto others what you want them to do unto you. Allow BOG governor to run his term of office. Is Ghan ...

• Gabriel A 7 years ago

His EX.NANA KUFOR ADDO PLEASE sacks them all NDC GOVERNMENT corrupt

• Nanaba kofi Addo 7 years ago

this is a very unfortunate comment.It is not helpful for any responsible and meaningful discourse. We must be discerning enough to know that it's competence over political ideology and petty vendetta.

• Frank voltared 7 years ago

we need competent peoples, if the man is competent then we can use him and fulfilled one of our promise which is all inclusive government

• no line 7 years ago

infact mahama is goin with all his subjects.no one is stayin so de governor shud pack nd go.since wen did u noticed dat dis country is 4 all of us? akor)nfo) ur tme is up.

• no line 7 years ago

any person appointed by mahama is like mahama himself.will mahama ever appoint smebdy who is nt corrupt?.impossible

• Dormenu Godsway 7 years ago

let him work not that n p p as a party will do one term in office because things will not go will it when they changed him

• Salia 7 years ago

Dr Issahaku must and need to resign because Npp governance do not need any helping hands from the outgoing opposition team

• Awake Bismark 7 years ago

Can NPP take as to the promise Land

• king Davíd 7 years ago

NPP why! because you want to come and steal money that 's why you are saying that

• Awake Bismark 7 years ago

God is the one we need in life

• Sky power 7 years ago

The NDC government they are corrupt more than the world corruption

• Maa Be 7 years ago

I'm highly surprised at some of the responses, regardless of who appointed who, the laws Must work. let's stop these ungraceful politics and move on, we want the laws to work and here we are. If we continue like this one day ...

• kojo abekah 7 years ago

can npp fuse woyome to pay Ghana money

• Opoku-Agyemang 7 years ago

The Governor must quietly step down to avoid disgrace ,l believe he seconded the policy of the outgoing president (1)nt to pay allowances, (2)the policy of which he entered and that 2017 no employment, (3)speedily trying in a ...

• James Tetteh Okutu 7 years ago

why must he go is he not a Ghanaian. Is that what Nana is coming to do using his own laws why is the constitution of the country.

• ADUSEI KOJO 7 years ago

THIS IS SIMPLE LOGIC , MASSA STEP DOWN HONORABLY . WE NNED NEW GOVERNOR

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

It is very shameful that Akoto Osei, a whole MP, and an intellectual with PhD. and some professorial experience would make such an undemocratic comment for a Government-in-waiting that claims to be a champion of rule of law a ...

• TAWFIC DANAA 7 years ago

U guys should cease fire. the governor will take his own decision based on his conscience; whether to resign or not. If the incoming government thinks he is not competent enough, they will find a competent replacement as NDC ...

• Daniel Owusu Mensah. 7 years ago

If possible, He should go to avoid any blame game.

• A.S 7 years ago

This is childish thinking. If it the outgoing president who appointed him , so what? Is he working for Ghana or NDC? AKUFO ADDO. Is a man with integrety so NPP buy respect for him rather than destroying his credibility.

• Pusiga Naaba 7 years ago

Kwamena Thompson you are wrong. The Governor must resign. He was imposed by this corrupt MAhama NDC govt. and he must be retained? How do you think. Remember he jumped over the next in line to get this job. It was pure cronyi ...

• abba 7 years ago

NO WAY FOR CRIMINALS TO POLLUTE AKUFO ADDO LED NPP ADMINISTRATION. WHAT EVER WILL BE THE COST HE HAS TO BE REMOVED BECAUSE NDC CRIMINALS ARE DANGEROUS THAN POISONOUS SNAKES. THEY ARE DISGRACE TO THE JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION.

• ABA 7 years ago

NANA ADDO SHOULD HAVE A TEAM HE CAN WORK WITH PERIOD.

• Isaac Santiago 7 years ago

BOG Governor Must Go

• Dua a Hua 7 years ago

If the Governor was involved in the gold Watches saga he should resign just on that basis.

• Jojo Hammond, New Jersey 7 years ago

Proceed on Leave part 2 in the making !!! They are back with their vindictiveness. These UP people never change their paws. Some democrats !! It is either their way or the high way.

• abba 7 years ago

IF BEST ECONOMIST DR. BAWUMIA WAS CHASED LIKE A DOG BY THE NDC AT THE BANK OF GHANA, THEN YOU SHOULD NOT DELAY TO SACK YOURSELF. WE WILL NEVER ALLOW YOU TO POLLUTE AKUFO ADDO'S ADMINISTRATION.

• jatta ba 7 years ago

He must step down

• CATAPULT 7 years ago

The question is what has the Governor been involved in prior to being appointed to the substantive position? He was the 2nd Dep.Governor of the BoG and going by the administrative structure of BoG, Millison Narh, after the re ...

• kojo 7 years ago

Ghana does not belong to nPp

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

JUST HOW AN NDC WRONGLY-APPOINTED GOVERNOR OF THE BANK OF GHANA WHO SUPERVISED AND GAVE HIS BLESSINGS TO WHAT IS N0W EVIDENT AS THE GROSSLY ECONOMICALLY UNVIABLE AND RECKLESS BORROWING FROM CHINA JUST FOR SELFISH INTERESTS, F ...

• Richmond K. Frempong 7 years ago

Ghanaians must not forget that Akufo was tagged anti-Northener by the NDC and therefore, your guess would be as good as mine,any attempt by the NPP to coerce the Governor of the BoG to resign before his tenure of office

Was he the only one qualified for the post as at then...is obvious he appointment was political they thought they were going to remain in power forever...he must go.

• just 7 years ago

You are fool paa! How many people can be appointed at a time for that post. Was it a crime to appoint a governor of BoG by Mahama? You are fool paaa!

• Abdul Ganiu on December 21, 2016 7:4 7 years ago

The administration of NPP should kindly give Dr. Issahaku two years probation before making the final judgement.

• KWEKU. 7 years ago

That's what NPP is coming to do. When it was KUFUOR'S time many Ewe's and others were removed from their position. Hahahahahaa lets cross fingers and see what is going to happen. But to AKUFFO ADDO be care full as time chang ...

• KWASI,KOJO,KOMENA,KWEKU,YAO,KOFI,KWAM 7 years ago

AKKUFO WOULD NOT LAST NPP WILL FALL THAT'S WHAT GOD TOLD ME.

• KOO NIMO USA CT 7 years ago

YES HE SHOULD RESIGN VERY WELL

• UK CITIZEN 7 years ago

resign massaa

• Agya Odi Asempa 7 years ago

Was it right for the NDC government to side-stepped Mr. Millison Narh, who was the First Deputy Governor and appoint Dr. Issahaku, who was the Second Deputy Governor to be governor, when the governor position became vacant? T ...

• hopeful 7 years ago

Dr Issahaku must go since he is seen more an ndc than an independent individual.He campaigned for the ndc and John mahama in the just ended elections.He is one of those planted by mahama to work against Nana Addo

• Hope 7 years ago

He must go he is good for nothing. All Hamaha appointees are hollow

• Tina UK 7 years ago

He has to serve his term as per the constitution.